Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Passport office strike escalation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭tomcollins97

What exactly is 'protective notice'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

lucy2010 wrote: »

Not good news if you are waiting on a new passport. This country again proves itself to be once again a disgrace with this carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭lucy2010

What exactly is 'protective notice'?

I dont know hun hence throwing it out there.... All out strike ? Shut the place ? No more passports ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I just think they are serving notice that they can strike in 7 days time officially and all that. I am sure someone else can clarify.

This whole this has been the biggest PR disaster imaginable for the Unions. The CPSU are supposed to represent the ordinary public sector workers those on the low end of the pay scale yet they have the whole country against them now, even Labour are telling them to cop on. They tried to pull a sly one with a work to rule but now they have no idea how to get out of this mess without losing face. If they go on strike they will lose pay and the public will hate them even more, if they continue the work to rule they get paid but the public will hate them anyway, if they go back to do their jobs properly then they lose face and will be seen to have caved in to public pressure. Any future threat will be met by more bad press.

The unions yet again living in the dark ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

jank wrote: »
    I just think they are serving notice that they can strike in 7 days time officially and all that. I am sure someone else can clarify.

Exactly, they have served notice of strike action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

On RTE they say that they will strike if the government docks pay! Hope they don't dock pay, sack any of them that refuse to do their duties!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭lucy2010

jank wrote: »

This whole this has been the biggest PR disaster imaginable for the Unions. The CPSU are supposed to represent the ordinary public sector workers those on the low end of the pay scale yet they have the whole country against them now, even Labour are telling them to cop on. They tried to pull a sly one with a work to rule but now they have no idea how to get out of this mess without losing face. If they go on strike they will lose pay and the public will hate them even more, if they continue the work to rule they get paid but the public will hate them anyway, if they go back to do their jobs properly then they lose face and will be seen to have caved in to public pressure. Any future threat will be met by more bad press.

The unions yet again living in the dark ages.

I have many friends in PS, teachers , principals etc & last thing anyone wants is strike - They, like everyone else cannot afford it... Big boo-boo by unions by the looks of it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

There are plenty of people on the dole who would work for what they're getting. Fire those who are not doing their duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

Fair play to them! I hope they don't back down on this issue - they are repersenting the rest of the public and civil service. I hope they continue not to take this sh*t from those who believe they have the right to bully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Cian92 wrote: »
    Fair play to them! I hope they don't back down on this issue - they are repersenting the rest of the public and civil service. I hope they continue not to take this sh*t from those who believe they have the right to bully!
    And you trying to tell us that the actions of passport workers and their union isn't bullying?

Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

At least now everybody see that PS unions are ruling country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

they are repersenting the rest of the public and civil service.
    Are they? Are they really now?
    I hope they continue not to take this sh*t from those who believe they have the right to bully!
    That's it, big bully's they are. Sure, it's not like the cuts are because they can't afford the wages or anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭C Eng

Its about time they copped on a bit here. Either go back to work and stop moaning. FFS at least they have a job and guaranteed job and income.
    Or welcome to the real world, sack them and replace them with people currently out of work who would gladly do a full days work and perform all job tasks productively and efficently.

It wouuld show them up for what they really are!

The goverment, as much as I can't stand them need to hold tough and let the CPSU inplode. I feel the days of the normal joe public having any patience with them is wearing a little thin now

C Eng wrote: »
    The goverment, as much as I can't stand them need to hold tough and let the CPSU inplode. I feel the days of the normal joe public having any patience with them is wearing a little thin now
    I agree. They are probably at the same level as taxi drivers.

Before the strike, people thought the PS and CS did nothing all day, now that an escalation begins - chaos ensues!

People have a right to strike, so really those of ye suggesting fire them etc is just ridiculous. ( An example of bullying again...)

Yes people have a right to strike but Employers also have a right to sack.

And what an easy vote winner for FF. Let the PS p*ss everyone off and then sack them.

Before the strike, people thought the PS and CS did nothing all day, now that an escalation begins - chaos ensues!

No it's an example of do your job or get lost. 9 weeks of go slow all because they can't afford to strike. Let them go on strike the union can't afford to pay them and let them see what reality is like for a while.

Yes people have a right to strike but Employers also have a right to sack.

Of course they do! - But not because somebody is a member of a trade union or striking!

So what's your point?

Still pushing the bullying tagline are we?

When Sir Liam Doran in all his greatness, told people who were not part of the talks process to "shut their mouths" because it was none of their business and they didn't know what they were talking about?
    Blair Horan telling the government he "can't be sure how his members will react" if pay is docked for non-performance?
    Union heads "predicting" "civil unrest"?
    The recent actions down on Molesworth Street?

The PS are bringing the "bullying" upon themselves.

Its not that they do nothing all day, its that they are not productive all day, every day . They are a well groomed class of master skivers who are wrapped up cotton wool and protected from the real working environment. They up to now, have been able to play the system to their full advantage beating on about the boom and how they never gained from it. Ohh wait a minute and then benchmarking came along. So money and T&C improved, well now that the boom is over they have to realise that what was there before is not there now, boom over means reality check, and balencing the books thats the bit they cant handle. Private sector on its knees and massive redundancies and cut backs. So likewise they have to alter their ethos like every other person in the county

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Imagine someone working in Tesco who refuses to work the checkout for example... why is it so different for these goons?

IrishTonyO wrote: »
    No it's an example of do your job or get lost. 9 weeks of go slow all because they can't afford to strike. Let them go on strike the union can't afford to pay them and let them see what reality is like for a while.

Nothing wrong with going on a go slow - it is a right.

I really think it would be the public who would suffer if an all out strike was called - no passports would be created at all.
    We should be thankful they are still making passports in emergency circumstances - and even for businesses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

They are not representing me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

No its not.

I really think it would be the public who would suffer if an all out strike was called - no passports would be created at all.
    We should be thankful they are still making passports in emergency circumstances - and even for businesses!

Why should i be thankful its my constitutional rioght to have a passport.

If i went on a go slow i would be out the door in seconds. Why is it different for the PS? Iv taken a pay cut twice this year. So what, tough luck. Im lucky to have a job.

Excuse me a go slow is a right??? Like to show me where you found that? Not doing your job is a right? Typical of the self entitlement attitude of the unions. You got benchmarking in good times, now why not negative benchmarking in bad times?

Good idea, and while their at it, dont just stop at outsourcing the passports, might as well throw in a few more tasks and departments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Banks and other financial institutions already have the processes and systems to authenticate names and addresses. This service could be outsourced quickly and at this stage should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Are you not the same people who moan about bankers stealing your country's wealth?Our country is ****ed and it's not the fault of the passport office workers,why should they get docked when the bankers get bonuses,have you all Stockholm syndrome?

A go-slow is NOT a right. That is not doing your job properly.
    A work-to-rule, which I think is what you meant, is a right since you are working your contract to the letter.

Closing counters when your job is to man counters, is NOT working to rule.
    Not answering phones when your job is to deal with queries, is NOT working to rule.
    Not printing passports when that is your job, is NOT working to rule.
    Thankful? IT'S YOUR BLOODY JOB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

the only people been bullied are the public , what fools we are to tolerate it .i hope the public service go on an all out strike and that the irish people take their frustrations out on them in a violent way , a public service thats as disfunctional as the goverment minsters , which after all is made up of 75% ex public servants ie teachers etc ,anywonder the country in such a mess with that level of brainpower leading us .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭JohnfromGalway

Aren't they already on strike?

ie. not answering the phone or refusing to deal with the public. Are there any stats on how much time these "servants" spend on their tea-breaks?

I don't know many people happy with their lot post-Celtic Tiger, but anyone hanging on to a pernsionable job should count their blessings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

digme wrote: »
    Are you not the same people who moan about bankers stealing your country's wealth?Our country is ****ed and it's not the fault of the passport office workers,why should they get docked when the bankers get bonuses,have you all Stockholm syndrome?

They should get docked because there not doing there job properly.
    Nothing to do with the banks at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Lynfo

Legally, can they be sacked and replaced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Brayruit

People have a right to strike

I agree.

However "low level industrial action" including a bar on hiring relief workers during the expected busy period is craven cowardice - a way of getting paid while the public suffers real anguish and loss. I have no respect whatsoever for CPSU or the workers involved. No b*lls, no morality, no bodylikesthemanymore.

What has Stockholm syndrome got to do with anything?

Have the Passport Office workers taken (literally) some hostages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

digme wrote: »
    Are you not the same people who moan about bankers stealing your country's wealth?
    Why public services (financial regulator and central bank) didn’t stop them?
    Why we cannot fire all incompetent staff from central bank and financial regulator, who was travelling around world with their spouses on taxpayers expense?
    Why PS unions did everything to let NAMA passed?

Lynfo wrote: »
    Legally, can they be sacked and replaced?

Yes anyone can be legally sacked. And even if there are any problems doing that it's the government who make the law.

Seriously, so many people are p*ssed off now, it would be a very good vote winner for FF to engage in. They'd certainly get my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 fconno316

These people need to wise up. their pay should be docked, and if they refuse to go back to work fire the lot of them. i'm sure people who are trying to find work at the moment would gladly work in the passport office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

It's not a right, it's theft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Just reading the Travel forum and their thread on passports and it would appear that the Cork office have a better handle on things and are dealing with the public in a far more reasonable manner than their Dublin colleagues.

Is this because the number of applications is far less?
    Are they more productive than their Dublin colleagues?
    Is the Dublin office plagued with more Union militants?

I am glad it appears that are now considering protesting in a more honest fashion that the sneaky and underhanded way they have been behaving before now. Now lets hope the Government stand firm and ensure there is no climbdown against the bully boy tactics of the CPSU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

To Digme;

Its not all the Bankers fault alot of it is the general public fault, actually most of it is our fault.

Looking for pay rises all the time

If we didnt keep paying the developers the expensive money for the houses the prices wouldnt of kept going up and banks wouldnt of been in this situation. We demanded the extra money, us the consumer

So we are the ones who cause it all and now we have to put it right.

This country is now officially a basket-case.

Public servants who should be on their knees thanking the population for their jobs are now on strike & expect to be paid for it.

What's most disappointing is that we all seem to be prepared to tolerate the political staus quo & will elect a small variation of the same politicians next time out.

A revolution of sorts is required - rip the whole system up & start again.

It's not like we have so much to lose now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭bagus

The country is on it's knees. Where will the money come from to reverse the public sector (PS) pay cuts? The answer is certainly not strikes etc...

The ones responsible for this mess will get it at next election.
    Those mistakes are all in the past. Don't add to them. Look forward and be positive.

If the PS want a pay increase, get back to work, work hard and earn it. Eliminate inefficiencies, respect the tools provided to you, and look after the ones that actually pay your wages (the public).

Niall Collins (Fianna Fail) on Newstalk now saying that CPSU have provided the best evidence yet to privatise the Passport Office and other departments. That would shut them up. Make them employees of a private company and bring them into the real world, where you don't do your job, you get sacked.
    He says the government is not going to back down on the pay cuts. So looks like strike will be on the way. Get your passports fast people if you need them. Can imagine the queues there tomorrow!!!
    He says he thinks the time has come now for the government to look at the whole social partnership process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

To be honest going by what was in papers this morning we are still quite close to a Greece Situation.

If this happens the public Service will certainly know what a pay cut is and the rest of us will certainly know what tax hikes are.

To Digme;

Its not all the Bankers fault alot of it is the general public fault, actually most of it is our fault.

Looking for pay rises all the time

If we didnt keep paying the developers the expensive money for the houses the prices wouldnt of kept going up and banks wouldnt of been in this situation. We demanded the extra money, us the consumer

So we are the ones who cause it all and now we have to put it right.

What eejit would say no to a pay rise?

That's what regulation is all about.

When are we going to see the principle of benchmarking in action? ie. all those pay rises being reversed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

LOL of the 400,000 odd people on the Dole how many do you think would apply to work in the Passport office if a private company was appointed??

Be careful what you wish for......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You can fire someone for not doing their job and/or not turning up to work.

Which is exactly what striking is.

Striking isn't a divine right of employees to be enacted whenever they like. I would like to be paid more money. I have the right to decide to not come into work tomorrow until my employer increases my pay, and my employer has every right to then take disciplinary action against me, leading to firing me.

This is fundamental constant whether or not one person is striking or 100,000 people are striking.

The only difference is that it's much harder to replace 100,000 people on short notice, that's why strikes are used and that's why people rarely get sacked for striking. It's a form of mass blackmail and should only be used in cases where employees' legal or fundamental rights are being compromised.

Striking because you're simply unhappy with your lot and calling it "civil action" is showing massive disrespect to those workers who set up the first trade union movements and used the method to get some basic rights in their workplace (like the right to take the odd break). I would be ashamed if I was a member of a union which was trying to paint some kind of "struggling against tyranny" persona while sitting in well paid, well pensioned, secure job where you can turn up and do almost no work without getting fired.

The public service unions should be glad that they have an employer who puts up with their members and get on with doing some work.

Hopefully this will lead to all-out strike action from the unions. I can actually see the unions' members themselves walking out on their unions and going back to work. Most of the unions are held together by a small core group of stalwart bullies in the PS who keep everyone else too scared to make their own choices. Just because your union has called a strike, doesn't mean you are required to participate.

I wonder why the unions actively tell their members the opposite?