Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woeful Interviews

• 24-03-2010 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭

In this day and age, when people are scrambling for jobs, its still amazing how many people are crap in an interview!

We're currently hiring for a few different P/T positions in the hotel, and Buddy Christ, we've had some horrendous people.

Yesterday.

One interview, the girls phone rang. Fair enough, you might think, she forgot to turn it off, give her the benefit of the doubt. She stops it ringing. 2 Minutes later, it rings again! She didn't even turn it off the first time. THEN proceeds to take it out, and text someone! At that stage, its a case of "Dear John"

Another interview, for a P/T waiter, one guy came in, gave the perfect interview really, presented himself well, excellent command of English, until it came to the expected salary requirements. €2500 a month on a PT waiter her was expecting. Was told "You do know this is a PT waiter position?" "No, Management." "But there's no management positions available, its for a waiter" "Oh, but I don't want that" And he didn't ever have any experience in management!

Anyone have any interview/interviewee horror stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Ill take a job. Management experience in the service industry right here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

I worked in a recruitment agency for a while and some of the interviews were hilarious. One guy arrived in wearing a bicycle helmet and full on cycling gear including bright yellow skin tight shorts. When I asked him if he considered himself to be a good team player he said 'Oh yeah, I'm a striker and we haven't lost a game all season'

Then there was the girl who burst into tears when I asked her where she saw herself in 5 years time. She said her boyfriend had just broken up with her and she didn't know if she could make it through 5 minutes let alone 5 years!
    Ehhh...people are crazy. I hated that job.

Just so you know recruitment consultants write really awful things on your chart to such as 'fat & smelly' or 'Monobrow...ugh'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Had one where a guy was applying to work nights. He showed up a day early for the interview. Bad enough but these things happen, got date wrong. Was long drive for him, so arranged interviewer to come in, be about an hour though. Considering interviewee lived hours away, least we could do.
    Every 10 minutes he comes to desk, asking is he here yet. When he isnt asking, he is standing BEHIND A PILLAR, Peeking out from behind it every few minutes like a gopher on groundhog day, startled by his shadow.
    Eventually he disappeared before interviewer came, without saying anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    video...

Jaaaaaaysus that was painful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

"But there's no management positions available, its for a waiter"

Quoting for Grimes.

Pity, your about a week shy of applying for Bar Manager/C&B Manager, Exec Head Chef, HR Manager, Reception Supervisor and Spa Manager positions.

Damn pregnancy, there must be something in the damn water, everyone frigging preggers.

I wish I could get pregnant, damn my lack of ovaries and inclusion of my testicles.

Had another one ages ago, for a waiter position. Got the CV, English:Fluent. Grand I thought, we'll give this a blast. Called her, got someone, could barely understand them, but phone was given to someone that had fluent English, said they were the person on the CV, and that a child had answered the phone.

Arranged an interview. In she came. Sat down, Hi, Thanks for coming in.

She smiled and looked at me.

So, tell me about your current job.

Its ok, don't be nervous, what do you do in your current job?

She smiled and looked at me, and shook her head.

Ooook, what do you think would be involved in the waiter role?

Dawned on me then. Smiled at her, and asked, "Do you understand what I'm saying?"

"Purple monkey dishwasher"

"Right, thanks, bye"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I interviewed a Russian guy for an English-speaking role the other day. Most uncomfortable 10 minutes ever. He managed a total of about 6 words during the whole interview, turned bright red with the effort of stringing two together and then just grinned sheepishly as I repeated the simplest questions over and over.

Why would you put yourself (and an interviewer) through that? There are some things you can bull**** about being able to do and not get caught straight away, but speaking a language is not one of them. (although, he could have been lying about speaking fluent Russian and I'd never have known).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Quoting for Grimes.

Pity, your about a week shy of applying for Bar Manager/C&B Manager, Exec Head Chef, HR Manager, Reception Supervisor and Spa Manager positions.

Damn pregnancy, there must be something in the damn water, everyone frigging preggers.

I wish I could get pregnant, damn my lack of ovaries and inclusion of my testicles.

Had another one ages ago, for a waiter position. Got the CV, English:Fluent. Grand I thought, we'll give this a blast. Called her, got someone, could barely understand them, but phone was given to someone that had fluent English, said they were the person on the CV, and that a child had answered the phone.

Arranged an interview. In she came. Sat down, Hi, Thanks for coming in.

So, tell me about your current job.

Its ok, don't be nervous, what do you do in your current job?

She smiled and looked at me, and shook her head.

Ooook, what do you think would be involved in the waiter role?

Dawned on me then. Smiled at her, and asked, "Do you understand what I'm saying?"

"Purple monkey dishwasher"

"Right, thanks, bye"

Did she get the job?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

When I read this thread,

http://humour.200ok.com.au/jobint.htm

this immediately sprung to mind. Happy reading!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Dave! wrote: »
    Did she get the job?
    smiles and looks at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Em, no, she didn't. Shame though, would have brought a bit of totty to the restaurant.

Not that I'm advocating only hiring good looking girls as waitresses.

Any coffee shop or restaurant I ever worked in had that as policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Smokin_Aces

Whenever I'm being interviewed for a job, the interviewer would notice something in my ear and would ask me what it is. So I'd say it's my hearing aid you know, because I am partially deaf. Then they would just clam up, often the most awkward moment you can be in. Then when they do speak, it's like " Can hear me, Is my voice loud enough, Do you want me to slow down as if I'm a child" Then they would attempt to use some sort of Sign Language as if I was fully Deaf. Now, I'm thinking that they were talking to me perfectly fine before this, answering them politely and whatnot, but when they hear the Deaf word, everything change's and you guessed it, no.

Are employers afraid of dealing someone who is deaf? I'm sure it does not happen all the time but in my case it does.

Whenever I'm being interviewed for a job, the interviewer would notice something in my ear and would ask me what it is. So I'd say it's my hearing aid you know, because I am partially deaf. Then they would just clam up, often the most awkward moment you can be in. Then when they do speak, it's like " Can hear me, Is my voice loud enough, Do you want me to slow down as if I'm a child" Then they would attempt to use some sort of Sign Language as if I was fully Deaf. Now, I'm thinking that they were talking to me perfectly fine before this, answering them politely and whatnot, but when they hear the Deaf word, everything change's and you guessed it, no.

Are employers afraid of dealing someone who is deaf? I'm sure it does not happen all the time but in my case it does.

The simple answer is: Most people are idiots.

Oh wait, sorry:

MOST PEOPLE ARE IDIOTS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Scien wrote: »
    I did manage to attempt their A4 based request though and I always wondered if a sketch of Duplor the warrior king, mounted on a Horse was indeed what they were looking for...

We tried calling you for weeks afterwards. That sort of idiot savant management was exactly what we were looking for boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

"What would you say your biggest weakness is?"

"Kryptonite."

Best answer ever. YOU'RE HIRED!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I interviewed a guy one time for a tech support position. His english was broken but he passed all the technical questions, and as I was finishing up I asked him what did he like to do in his spare time.

Me: What do you like to do in your spare time?
    Him: Programming, and networking, and scripting and working with computers
    Me: Ok, but when your not at your computer what do you like to do?
    Me: Maybe I am not being clear when your away from the computer, what do you like to do?
    Me: When your A-WAY from the computer what do you like to do?
    Me: Do you understand away? I mean not at your computer.
    Him: Yes I understand.
    Me: Ok, so when your away from a computer what do you like to do? //Thinking to myself if answers this correctly he has saved himself
    Me: Ok, well thanks for coming in we will let you know how you got on.

syklops wrote: »
    I interviewed a guy one time for a tech support position. His english was broken but he passed all the technical questions, and as I was finishing up I asked him what did he like to do in his spare time.

Me: What do you like to do in your spare time?
    Me: Ok, but when your not at your computer what do you like to do?
    Me: Maybe I am not being clear when your away from the computer, what do you like to do?
    Me: When your A-WAY from the computer what do you like to do?
    Me: Do you understand away? I mean not at your computer.
    Him: Yes I understand.
    Me: Ok, so when your away from a computer what do you like to do? //Thinking to myself if answers this correctly he has saved himself

Damn Spambots applying for jobs. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

In defence of the incredibly stupid people interviewing, I would like to throw out one re-occuing issue that I had with multiple interviewers.

While living in the States back I was working for the United Center in Chicago. This is the home of the Chicago Bulls (Michael Jordan) and Chicago Blackhawks (Ice hockey) as well as concerts, conventions etc.... I was also working in contractor roles for various IT positions that would come up.

I would walk into interviews well prepared, suit pressed, shoes shined, hair perfect etc. I would have extra copies of my CV because there was often a second interviewer in training present. Good eye contact, warm hand shake ......everything planned but still loose.

The interviewer would pick up my CV have a look at the first position listed in the paper and say 'Oh, you work at the United Center'

At this point, I would start the stopwatch function of my watch

<<3>>
    <<2>>
    <<1>>

'Can you get free tickets?'

I am not exagerating, that this happened to me in close to 20 different interviews. The interview would then take a turn that would always go completely away from what we were there for. I would change the subject and then......

'Do you know Michael Jordan?'

'What is Dennis Rodman like?'

It got to the point, where I was doing everything that I could to stay focussed and not jump over the table at these people. The amount of time I wasted because these people were interested in 'free tickets' really drove me insane.

So while I absolutely believe that there are the incredibly stupid masses out there interviewing. I want to let you know of the ones that managed to find jobs.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It got to the point, where I was doing everything that I could to stay focussed and not jump over the table at these people. The amount of time I wasted because these people were interested in 'free tickets' really drove me insane.

So while I absolutely believe that there are the incredibly stupid masses out there interviewing. I want to let you know of the ones that managed to find jobs.

But if they hired you, then you would no longer have a job at the United Center and couldn't get free tickets, wheres if they didn't hire you, there's no chance you'd get them free tickets...

In defence of the incredibly stupid people interviewing, I would like to throw out one re-occuing issue that I had with multiple interviewers.

While living in the States back I was working for the United Center in Chicago. This is the home of the Chicago Bulls (Michael Jordan) and Chicago Blackhawks (Ice hockey) as well as concerts, conventions etc.... I was also working in contractor roles for various IT positions that would come up.

I would walk into interviews well prepared, suit pressed, shoes shined, hair perfect etc. I would have extra copies of my CV because there was often a second interviewer in training present. Good eye contact, warm hand shake ......everything planned but still loose.

The interviewer would pick up my CV have a look at the first position listed in the paper and say 'Oh, you work at the United Center'

At this point, I would start the stopwatch function of my watch

<<3>>
    <<2>>
    <<1>>

'Can you get free tickets?'

I am not exagerating, that this happened to me in close to 20 different interviews. The interview would then take a turn that would always go completely away from what we were there for. I would change the subject and then......

'Do you know Michael Jordan?'

'What is Dennis Rodman like?'

Well in fairness, if the thread was about woeful interviews that people had gone to as opposed to interviews they had chaired, I am sure this thread would be a hell of a lot longer than 2 pages by now.

Some of the interviews I have had for places were ridiculous.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    "What would you say your biggest weakness is?"

"Kryptonite."

Best answer ever. YOU'RE HIRED!

I'm so going to use that!

I was the second person in an interview and the other interviewer asked What are your weaknesses?

Candidate: "Absenteeism and lateness".

We gave him marks for honesty though.

But if they hired you, then you would no longer have a job at the United Center and couldn't get free tickets, wheres if they didn't hire you, there's no chance you'd get them free tickets...

You remind me of Forest Gump's mama.

You have a way of making me understand.

Bless you Sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

The space on the application which reads 'hobbies'

This is to ensure that none of your passtimes will involve your taking time off work!

You have been warned, that's all I'm saying:rolleyes:

Elenxor wrote: »

This is to ensure that none of your passtimes will involve your taking time off work!

Good to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Elenxor wrote: »

Reading and walking ;)

In other words, Boards and toilet breaks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I had a terrible interview a few years back. They basically kept asking me the same question over and over again making it ever more obvious that they didn't like the answers I was giving. By the end of it, I was getting pissed off and thinking the job wasn't worth it. It turned out the answer they were looking for was one that was so obvious I thought it couldn't be the answer : "ask for help". I'M HARDLY GOING TO RUN THE WHOLE ****ING SHOW MYSELF!!!!

To make things worse I heard from a different manager in the company a few days later that the job had been filled weeks before but they had to go through the interview process due to HR rules........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

So any chance of a ticket to a Hawks game no? :pac:

donmeister wrote: »
    So any chance of a ticket to a Hawks game no? :pac:

I'ma hook you up.

Holla.

Word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

i find a little bit of speed helps :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Where do you see yourself in five years?

I dunno, making you get a coffee for me?