Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Justin McCarthy

• 23-03-2010 8:41pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭

Just posted a similar thread on the Limerick Discussion forum.

Well done to all on Shannon Side. A final vote of 83-47 told it all. Well done for standing up to player power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Justin McCarthy is set to stay on as manager of the Limerick senior hurlers after defeating a vote of no confidence at a specially-arranged Limerick County Board meeting tonight.

Members from the county's 68 clubs came together in Claughaun GAA clubhouse where the delegates voted on McCarthy's future in the role.

The final result of the much-anticipated vote saw 47 votes cast for removing the current management, 83 against, 1 spoilt and 2 not returned.

It means the clubs have backed McCarthy to stay in charge and continue through this year's National League and the Munster and All-Ireland Championships with a depleted squad.

A two-thirds majority was needed in order to remove the current management team, but it was believed beforehand that McCarthy would have enough support to remain in charge.

The Limerick hurling row, which was the only item on the agenda tonight, has rumbled on since last October when a large number of the 2009 panel withdrew their services and refused to play under McCarthy's management after he wielded the axe and dropped a dozen players.

It is the second vote of no confidence that McCarthy has defeated. The previous vote, taken in mid-December, saw club delegate’s vote 70-54 in favour of retaining McCarthy.

The pressure has continued to mount on the Corkman, with Limerick's 22-point loss to Tipperary last weekend doing little for morale in county hurling circles.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/mccarthy-to-remain-in-limerick-hot-seat-451134.html

Delighted! Absolutely the right decision to take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

pointless exercise..
    what difference is this gonna make
    hes just a few notches above the u12 team coach down there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

conno16 wrote: »
    pointless exercise..
    what difference is this gonna make
    hes just a few notches above the u12 team coach down there

:confused::confused:

Almost as pointless as your post....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Yes, I personally can't wait to watch Limerick get hammered by every two-bit hurling team in the country, fantastic crack, lets see how quickly we can all destroy Gaelic Hurling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Great news from a selfish point of view. Dublin will definitely stay up in division 1. So will Offaly.

Bad news for Limerick hurling. They will be rubbish for the next 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Meh once they get relegated and the prospect of being tanked in the Championship sinks in there'll probably be a change.

Great news from a selfish point of view. Dublin will definitely stay up in division 1. So will Offaly.

Bad news for Limerick hurling. They will be rubbish for the next 5 years.

Correction - they will be dead in five years. But hey, they stood up to 'player power', thats all that matters, burn down the village to save it and all that.

KerranJast wrote: »
    Meh once they get relegated and the prospect of being tanked in the Championship sinks in there'll probably be a change.

Of course there will - Justin will be gone by the end of the year, Limerick will make a mockery out of Gaelic Hurling, Limerick GAA will lose ****loads of money and fans, its reputation will be destroyed, the striking players will have a nice holiday and the majority will be back under a new manager next season. Which makes this whole decision so utterly hilarious and short-minded. The players can bide their time, unlike everyone else.

Orizio wrote: »
    Correction - they will be dead in five years. But hey, they stood up to 'player power', thats all that matters, burn down the village to save it and all that.

Dead, rubbish its all the same. I fully agree with you. This is awful for Limerick hurling, very bad news for them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

But alot of the players will have lost a year of intercounty hurling. Given the age of some of them this year might have been their last. Cork players lost out on a shed load of training and this really showed in the championship. The same will happen to Limerick. They will get relegated, then, maybe sort things out and then get beaten out the gate in the Munster championship. Will the players be happy with that? County board? Fans?
    Lose lose situation.

Orizio in the space of 3 minutes you went from saying Limerick hurling will be dead in 5 years, to saying Justin will be gone and the players will be back by the end of the year. Either you're completely contradicting yourself or you've absolutely no faith in the players you want to see return in the first place.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    But alot of the players will have lost a year of intercounty hurling. Given the age of some of them this year might have been their last. Cork players lost out on a shed load of training and this really showed in the championship. The same will happen to Limerick. They will get relegated, then, maybe sort things out and then get beaten out the gate in the Munster championship. Will the players be happy with that? County board? Fans?
    Lose lose situation.

Look at how good Cork are this year though. If Limerick get their players back this year, next year they should be back and hurling well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Of course there will - Justin will be gone by the end of the year, Limerick will make a mockery out of Gaelic Hurling, Limerick GAA will lose ****loads of money and fans, its reputation will be destroyed, the striking players will have a nice holiday and the majority will be back under a new manager next season. Which makes this whole decision so utterly hilarious and short-minded. The players can bide their time, unlike everyone else.

Firstly Justin will not be gone and I can guarantee he will be there next year aswell.

Limerick are not making a mockery of hurling if anything they are saving it from itself.

They will not loose money quite the opposite and further proof you dont know any of the facts of this case. Real fans will support these committed bunch of players who only want whats best for their county.

As for the striking players, Justin was right most of them were a liability and were going through the motions, more concerned with been an inter county player than actually improving or striving for success.

What is hilarious is that your own counties fans have been so willing to accept your strikers back, well I have news for you Cork are the ones who are the laughing stock.

Laughing at the top of the league more like.

Dead, rubbish its all the same. I fully agree with you. This is awful for Limerick hurling, very bad news for them.
    Look at how good Cork are this year though. If Limerick get their players back this year, next year they should be back and hurling well.

Pride you seem to think that last years panel were actually going somewhere?

This will be the best thing that has happened Limerick hurling in years, that panel was rotten to the core and a clearout was exactly what was needed, ask yourself this - How long has Justin been involved in hurling, and has he ever felt the need to resort to such drastic actions, and secondly why has thwe clubs support of Justin actually increased since the last vote?

Pride you seem to think that last years panel were actually going somewhere?
    I dont think that, but there is a way of improving a team. It involves keeping experienced players and blooding the youngsters. Look at Waterford now, some youngsters coming through even though their underage teams are not the best in the world. Same with Cork.
    This will be the best thing that has happened Limerick hurling in years, that panel was rotten to the core and a clearout was exactly what was needed, ask yourself this - How long has Justin been involved in hurling, and has he ever felt the need to resort to such drastic actions, and secondly why has thwe clubs support of Justin actually increased since the last vote?

They will never get out of division 2 if the old players dont come back. I'd theorise the clubs are supporting them as he is going to pick their players instead of the best ones. Justin was booted out of Waterford before he could axe their panel. Waterford are all the better for it.

I dont think that, but there is a way of improving a team. It involves keeping experienced players and blooding the youngsters. Look at Waterford now, some youngsters coming through even though their underage teams are not the best in the world. Same with Cork.

They will never get out of division 2 if the old players dont come back. I'd theorise the clubs are supporting them as he is going to pick their players instead of the best ones. Justin was booted out of Waterford before he could axe their panel. Waterford are all the better for it.

Well pride isnt that what he was trying to do, bring in 12 new players and then the rest sulked?

Waterford and Cork have far better underage success than Limerick in the last few years.

What about the clubs of the striking players I know for a fact many of them have voted in favour of Justin.

Again your comment about Justin and Waterford smacks of ignorance, Waterford hurling was brought to a new level by Justin and they would not be the established top tier team they are now without his contribution.

And as a side who would you appoint as the Limerick manager because hilariously the two names I have heard mooted are TJ Ryan and Ciaran Carey one as unsuitable and unqualified as the other.

Daysha wrote: »
    Orizio in the space of 3 minutes you went from saying Limerick hurling will be dead in 5 years, to saying Justin will be gone and the players will be back by the end of the year. Either you're completely contradicting yourself or you've absolutely no faith in the players you want to see return in the first place.

How exactly is that a contradiction? Who said I rated the players who left? Bar Gavin O'Mahony and Seamus Hickey, I don't, although even rubbish players are better then completely ****e ones. Please don't make assumptions based on things I haven't said.

And please do tell us why you are delighted that Limerick hurling will continue to be a shambles for at least another year, besides some petty close-minded hatred for 'player power'.

Well pride isnt that what he was trying to do, bring in 12 new players and then the rest sulked?

Justin dumped half the team and didn't even have the decency to tell them why or thank them for the hours of effort and work. Disgraceful thing to do, and it was that lack of respect that has put Limerick hurling into the ****.

Yes yes, I'm sure the Limerick GAA fans (all 4 or so that will be left) will be laughing their asses off next year when we are competing at the top level of inter-county hurling whilst they are getting hammered in Division 2 and the Christy Ring cup, I'll be having a great laugh as well... :pac:

BTW - Donal Og, Sean Og, John Gardiner, far greater GAA men then the likes of you could ever dream of being. ;)

How exactly is that a contradiction? Who said I rated the players who left? Bar Gavin O'Mahony and Seamus Hickey, I don't, although even rubbish players are better then completely ****e ones. Please don't make assumptions based on things I haven't said.

And please do tell us why you are delighted that Limerick hurling will continue to be a shambles for at least another year, besides some petty close-minded hatred for 'player power'.

Easy buddy! I never assumed anything, that's why I just asked what you meant in the first place :) I was only wondering because if you're confident the players will return by next year's championship with a new manager, yet you STILL think Limerick hurling will be dead in 5 years, then why not do what Justin plans on doing and build for the future? Limerick hurling is going to have a very tough few years no matter what happens, so surely the sooner something is done about it the better?

Anyway you of all people know I have no petty hatred for player power. I backed the Waterford players when Justin left in 2008 and I eventually backed your own counties players against Gerald McCarthy last year too, so you dont go assuming things either!

I'm delighted that the Limerick clubs and the county board have backed Justin in realising that something had to done to Limerick hurling. Justin didn't go about things the right way in dropping the players, I admit that. But neither did the players. We never heard a peep from them about issues behind the scenes with the manager, then Justin drops a group of players and suddenly the players use that as a catalyst to complain about problems nobody ever heard about in the first place. That was wrong too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

As a result of this vote we are going to suffer some serious hardship. I have nothing against the players on the panel at present but we are realistically facing the prospect of not coming close to winning a game in either the league or championship this year which means relegation to division 2 and Christy Ring. I suspect Croke Park will somehow protect Limerick from droppind to Christy Ring by introducing yet another format change, but either way we still wont be winning a single game this year. A massive step backwards no matter what side you're on.

At this stage, the boards and clubs who voted to retain Justin should put their money where their mouths are and offer him a 3 year term because he is going to need at least that length of time to get anywhere with this panel of players- players who are not going to learn how to win hurling matches in the coming years. At this stage, either they stick by Justin for the long term or they will be shown up for treating this as some kind of power play or as some kind of a way of making a point to the players who have made themselves available. And if the latter is the case then we truly are a laughing stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Waterford and Cork have far better underage success than Limerick in the last few years.

What about the clubs of the striking players I know for a fact many of them have voted in favour of Justin.

Again your comment about Justin and Waterford smacks of ignorance, Waterford hurling was brought to a new level by Justin and they would not be the established top tier team they are now without his contribution.

And as a side who would you appoint as the Limerick manager because hilariously the two names I have heard mooted are TJ Ryan and Ciaran Carey one as unsuitable and unqualified as the other.

Waterford went about ten years without a win of any kind at minor or U21 until recently.

While Justin is certainly an excellent coach, he is a terrible manager. Thats why Waterford players had enough after 7yrs. He'd have no strike if lads had been treated properly and been spoken to letting them know why they were dropped. Justin sees himself as above all that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

To be fair though premier, the Cork players who went on strike had actually won All-Ireland medals, they had proved their worth to the squad and that is why they were welcomed back with open arms. The Limerick players have won nothing, thus hurling fans on Shannonside do not hold them in the same stead that fans on Leeside hold their players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

grenache wrote: »
    To be fair though premier, the Cork players who went on strike had actually won All-Ireland medals, they had proved their worth to the squad and that is why they were welcomed back with open arms. The Limerick players have won nothing, thus hurling fans on Shannonside do not hold them in the same stead that fans on Leeside hold their players.

I take your point fully Grenache re the difference in the 2 county's players, but Im glad some county had the balls to stand up to this player power before it reaches down into club level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭treatyman

I think long term this could be a good thing.. This year is obviously a write off... Justin is a great coach and we know he treated the players badly.. Some of the players themselves are probably no angels either so it takes 2 to tango..

Hopefully some of the younger players will come back onto the current squad and from here Limerick hurling can start afresh.. the older lads on last years panel would have been gone in a few years anyway so it mightn't be a bad thing that they are gone..

Would people in general think that there is probably a few ring leaders that caused the other players to pull out of the panel??? Peer pressure is not fair either is this is the case!!!!

cornerboy wrote: »
    I take your point fully Grenache re the difference in the 2 county's players, but Im glad some county had the balls to stand up to this player power before it reaches down into club level.

You do realise that this kind of thing has happened regularly with players and teams throughout the country for decades now?

People genuinely seem to be under the impression that before Cork last year, no player or team has ever refused to play for a particular manager. Its hilarious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Yes, I personally can't wait to watch Limerick get hammered by every two-bit hurling team in the country, fantastic crack, lets see how quickly we can all destroy Gaelic Hurling...

There is a way that this could be stopped however. i.e. The best hurlers do what they do best by pulling on the green and white shirt of Limerick again.

Its early days yet for Cork and every other county. The only cups handed out yet are secondary provincial ones. Theres a long way to go yet before the major provincial and national ones are handed over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

Fair play to the clubs. A man was hired to do a job, let him get on and do it. No one, in any county, has a right to be included in an intercounty panel. its an honour, one that should be reviewed as a whole each and every season, and obviously reviewed individually as seasons progress.

If certain players don't want to play for a manager, then let them go and do something else. the same goes for anyone fortunate enough to be selected in an intercounty panel by any manager in any county. Whatever about player power and all that, surely its the selectors that should be picking a panel, and not the panel picking themselves. Limerick may suffer short term, but they will emerrge stronger for it eventually. As would any other county if they hadn't capitulated for short term gain.

Deise Tom wrote: »
    There is a way that this could be stopped however. i.e. The best hurlers do what they do best by pulling on the green and white shirt of Limerick again.

If you seriously think that it is as simple as that then you have no idea what has gone on and are in no position to comment.

jordainius wrote: »
    If you seriously think that it is as simple as that then you have no idea what has gone on and are in no position to comment.

Tell all of us outside of Limerick so what exactly has gone on, because there appears to be players causing trouble in Limerick long before Justin arrived. How many managers have come and gone in the last ten to fifteen years.

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Tell all of us outside of Limerick so what exactly has gone on, because there appears to be players causing trouble in Limerick long before Justin arrived. How many managers have come and gone in the last ten to fifteen years.

How many managers? This link will show you exactly how many.

Exactly as many managers as Cork and Tipp (John Considine took charge of 2 league games for Cork last year so I won't count him) and only one more than Clare.

That post clearly shows that we are not as bad for changing managers as some people would let on. Tipp and Cork do it as often. (I don't know what the story is for Leinster teams and Galway but I'd imagine that all bar Kilkenny have had a similar amount of managers.)

I'll try to post what exactly has gone on tonight as it would require a long post and I don't have time right now. But in a nutshell the catalyst to 12 players eventually withdrawing their services was the dropping of 12 players from the panel by Justin without informing them. A phone call wasn't a lot to ask.

It isn't what Justin did that was the problem, it was how he did it.