Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 24, Day 8, Hour 13 [4 a.m. - 5 a.m.] [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 23-03-2010 9:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭

TVRage.com summary:
    CTU is paralyzed and their only weapon left is Jack Bauer.

http://www.tvrage.com/24/episodes/1064830613/8x13

Ok, that officially sounds like the best synopsis ever :D and after last week's entry, I'm actually looking forward to this episode (first time in awhile)...

What did you think of Day 8, Hour 13? 37 votes

Who needs CTU when you've got Jack Bauer?
    0%
    Jack's good, but not that good...
    56%
    Mr EomahaidoklaKiithSherifuSuper Sidiouswhosedaddy?DemocAnarchisMr. KunreggdMagicMarkerMr VeloDeeper BlueBeanstalkthebigcheese22Glico ManExclamation MarcpahKeithM89_oldJigga 21 votes
    OMG! They took out CTU... now what?
    27%
    SeiferJ-blksiodaAldebarantok9SillyMonkeyMr Freezedon ramoZxcBrien 10 votes
    Who needs CTU or Jack Bauer?
    10%
    ManachMinstrel27James74irishdub14 4 votes
    More Dana please!
    5%
    Simimetalfest 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Not a bad episode at all more fem Jack fantastic
    Chloe with a gun didn't think she could even use one
    Twist in the Dana Story just slightly but kinda the same story again mole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Another mole... still it's good that they did it, when she killed the officer in CTU I was thinking "this story is getting ridiculous, why would she do anything like that?"

The 2 agents with Jack and Cole could really do with listening to people, in particular the first guy and when it's Jack Bauer giving you a command!

Chloe is ridiculously annoying... shes lucky she is good at her job. Pulling out a gun, ha..

It sounds like i didn't enjoy the episode but i actually did..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

<3 Chloe, what a leg-end

Solid episode. Liked the Dana twist cause it finally gave her some sort of significance in the series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

sioda wrote: »
    Chloe with a gun didn't think she could even use one*
    Didn't she use a semi-automatic at the start of season 5?

I think I'd have a brain aneurysm if I even attempted to try to understand the logic of the Dana storyline.
    Still at least the season is on an upwards curve. :)

*Removed spoiler tag as thread title already warns about spoilers within

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Ye Chloe has used a gun before,M16 I believe,looked badass while killing some bad guy a few seasons ago.annoying as hell but you have to love her really.

Another mole in CTU?? Feck sake,I didn't think they would even dare going down that route again,that's probably why they did actually,because everyone figure there is no way they can do another storyline with a mole. I suppose on the other side of things,it now makes Dana half interesting.

Also fed up with stupid agents who don't listen to Jack and end up getting killed. The could see the red shirts being killed off from the point the car got attacked. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

ok so this is what i'm worried about...
    dana is a mole, which will inevitably lead to her either

a) being killed before the end of the season
    b) looking for immunity and being shipped off to tristan da cunha or wherever they ship them lot.

anyway, what happens to the parole officers body? it'll start smelling in a few days. i found a dead mouse in a house i was in a few years ago after being bugged by the smell for a few days, but a big dirty man is gonna really stink the place out.

anyway how did her secret phone survive the emp? if she was using a phone that the nsa gave her then the boyo with the smig should've at least checked caller id before he answered. and if i were him i wouldn't go around answering unknown numbers at this time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Yeah! pow pow pow, they're flanking us!
    The writers are also flanking us with these crazy storylines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Stupid ridiculous twist but very fun so it's all good :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

http://24.wikia.com/wiki/Mole

Season 3 is the only season that didn't have a mole in one of the federal agencies or in the Government. LOL :)

When Dana went all Starbuck on Prady's ass I was like WTF :confused: Then I groaned out loud when she called Mehran. MOLE - AGAIN? Of course only Jack will figure it out !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

I still wish the yokel parole officer had killed Dana instead... Still, now that she's been revealed to be the mole, she's not long for this world :D. My guess is that to add to the "dramatic tension", events will lead to Cole eventually killing her...

Good episode overall, probably the second best after last week's (pretty funny how the two best episodes had to rely on the old "favorites" though: taking out CTU and identifying a mole :)).

Those two younger CTU guys that got killed were morons of the highest order. Even the terrorists were like "oh wow, that's Jack Bauer! He's like, awesome!" and the agents still disobeyed his orders... Morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

3 good episodes in a row now. After a terrible first third, 24 has finally turned a corner this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

It was quite good with the terrorists having a love in when they saw Jack. Those two CTU noobs were always getting plugged. I actually didn't expect Owen to make it this far...

The Dana storyline doesn't make any sense. I'm open to correction but wasn't she visibly upset watching Kevin's buddy beat up the cop in the storage facility. And now we're supposed to believe she's a hardcore terrorist...? I'll let the whole mole thing slide.

Chloe is just awesome, love her.
    anyway, what happens to the parole officers body? it'll start smelling in a few days. i found a dead mouse in a house i was in a few years ago after being bugged by the smell for a few days, but a big dirty man is gonna really stink the place out.

You're forgetting this is 24 and Dana only needs to stay undercover for a few hours at most until they can detonate the bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

The Dana thing was coming, not because they left any clues to it , but the fact they persisted with her terrible terrible story line

Also, i know they would have been a little busy, but why the hell didnt Dana just get the terrorists to deal with Kevin? If she was that important to them and he was getting in the way......

Do CTU not background check people? She either

A: Has a previous conviction and changed her name

B: is working under a false identity, which surely CTU would be able to spot holes in her story!?

Jack wasnt exactly having a good day with the ol assualt rifle was he? Renee comes along and and takes out two with 4-5 shots with a pistol (one was close range in fairness)

Saying that It was a very good episode.

The "sniper" scene reminded me of full metal jacket (but i assume thats a common enough tactic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

it kinda make sense having dana as a mole i suppose, she was fairly pissed off when yerman attacked the cop in the lock-up, sure she knew her cover would be blown if she was identified, although she was willing to turn herself in an hour previous, so seriouly WTF

ya noobs, are they ever gonna give jack a team of commandos out in the field, he must be sick to death giving uligies for these morons, i liked the sniper scene though, it was worked well, and how in the name of god did renee get there so quick, jacks place must only be around the corner, any new yorkers here able to make out the route,

chloe was bad ass in this episode, thought it was funny later when he went to thank her, and she just said she doent do well with compliments, :D

starting to look good now, also
    does anyone know if tony is gonna be coming back this series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

don ramo wrote: »
    and how in the name of god did renee get there so quick, [/SPOILER]

in those classy heels man, they almost echoed around the whole yard. it was like harcourt street on a saturday night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

What a stupid cliche-fest.
    Shock, the guying worried about the armour broke formation! Shock, Renee turned up in the nick of time!
    Twist with Dana makes so little sense it's not even worth thinking about.
    Really need to wrap it up after this series as they're clearly out of sane ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Zxc

This episode was right out of the playstation game.
    The shoot-out, the snipers, the trying to fix some circuit thingymibob before being caught, etc.
    Still great to watch tho!

Poor Jack - even with a collapsed lung, you bet he'll be up and running and chasing bad guys in the next hour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Good episode, but Dana being a mole was just idiotic, it's almost turning into an M. Night Shyamalan offering. Twists for the sake of twists at this stage. I thought she was turning herself in an hour ago??

I am enjoying this series now that it's taking off, but this Dana twist just defies logic. As a previous poster said, she would have been found out by now, and if the parole officer was so sure (as he said he was) he would have just gone straight to Hastings about it as opposed to waisting hours waiting on a confession he knew he'd never get.

Looking forward to Ortiz (hopefully) taking out Dana, she's wrecked my head since the start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Who needs CTU or Jack Bauer?
    Good episode, but Dana being a mole was just idiotic, it's almost turning into an M. Night Shyamalan offering. Twists for the sake of twists at this stage. I thought she was turning herself in an hour ago??

Exactly. If she was with the bad guys, why would she be turning herself in an hour before? Also why would she have bothered with Kevin and his friend. It is incredibly lazy writing. Her presence makes me wonder what the writers were thinking. This season of 24 could have been fantastic if she was never there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Well the good thing about Dana being a mole is that she most likely will get a messy death sometime in the next few hours which we can all celebrate and cheer wildly. :)
    Either that or she gets granted f***ing immunity :mad:.

Btw why does Jack even bother with body armour?
    Even if he hadn't been wearing a vest those few bullets to the chest wouldn't have done him much harm. After all he's been stabbed in the stomach a few hours ago and it hasn't put a cramp in his style. Last season he even inhaled nerve gas for the craic and all it did was to make him lose his balance a couple of times.

Also gotta love Chloe - in a short few hours she's gone from being worried about possibly losing her job as a result of not being up to date with the new tech to being promoted to head analyst and knowing enough to splice the network back together after it got taken out by an EMP. That girl learns fast :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

The season is finally picking up a bit, but this Dana storyline is brutal.

Ok, she is a mole now, and needs to maintain her cover. She was done a brutal job of that up to now so, why even bother with Kevin in the first place if she was a mole, its makes no sense, even for 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭whosedaddy?

classic 24 episode - defying all logic and hugely entertaining.

Jack back in CTU will sort it all out... after Kayla was looking at those secret files - I'll bet you Dana's face will show up.

classic 24 episode - defying all logic and hugely entertaining.

Jack back in CTU will sort it all out... after Kayla was looking at those secret files - I'll bet you Dana's face will show up.

Christ yeah, completely forgot about that! Good call there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

I've stuck with 24 for ages but that was one of the worst episodes in a loooong time. A cliche ridden mess, ANOTHER mole, "you can't handle the truth" hamfest, idiot redshirts who can't follow simple orders and worst of all the bones of an hour of Jack, Cole, Dumb & Dumber shooting at terrorists who were in minimal cover and hitting sweet FA. Then Renee turns up and caps 2 or 3 with a pistol. :rolleyes:

KerranJast wrote: »
    I've stuck with 24 for ages but that was one of the worst episodes in a loooong time. A cliche ridden mess, ANOTHER mole, "you can't handle the truth" hamfest, idiot redshirts who can't follow simple orders and worst of all the bones of an hour of Jack, Cole, Dumb & Dumber shooting at terrorists who were in minimal cover and hitting sweet FA. Then Renee turns up and caps 2 or 3 with a pistol. :rolleyes:

See I can put up with most of that, but the Dana mole story, eugh. Seriously, how inept can one agency be if they keep hiring moles almost yearly, it's like the most retarded vetting system of all time in the US. I just hope now that we know she's a mole that its quick and painless, and that it's not going to take 8 episodes to out her. Last week was soooo good, and once again, the undo their good work just a week later.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Zxc wrote: »
    Poor Jack - even with a collapsed lung, you bet he'll be up and running and chasing bad guys in the next hour!

Don't forget he was only stabbed a few hours ago. I wonder when the dressing has to be changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

anyway, what happens to the parole officers body? it'll start smelling in a few days.

He's not really dead. He became a vampire in From Dusk Till Dawn :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

They must have had a last minute storyline change with dana - as mentioned the terrorists could have killed Kevin.

Thoguht it was stupid anyhow before that there was no suspicion of dana/ortiz being gone for so long. Hastings would have grilled them for an explanation, ongoing crisis or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Yeah

Could you imagine just leaving your job for an hour "to sort something out"

Wouldn't cut it in an office, or McDonalds, let alone CTU!
    DeepBlue wrote: »
    Also gotta love Chloe - in a short few hours she's gone from being worried about possibly losing her job as a result of not being up to date with the new tech to being promoted to head analyst and knowing enough to splice the network back together after it got taken out by an EMP. That girl learns fast :D.
    Makes sense though, her issues at the start were OS / Application based

She's always had a good knowledge of systems hardware

Woulda been a lot better if Arlo was the mole. Could have turned out the drone at the start of the series didn't actually "miss"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,961 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Don't mind the ridiculousness (that a word?) of Dana being a mole, how about she getting a job in the first place with CTU with a fake name!!! Sounds like anyone could get a job there. Nice background check Counter terrorist chief!!!

When the parole officer said he wanted to meet with Hastings and said he knew Dana was involved, I was like "Oh just kill him already!!" and then she did, it was very weird.

Plus the 2 guys with Jack and Cole were awful. Some really bad characters this season, bring back Tony!!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

unreggd wrote: »
    Woulda been a lot better if Arlo was the mole. Could have turned out the drone at the start of the series didn't actually "miss"
    There's still 11 episodes left :P

I know but I meant instead of Dana

This episode was kinda crap plot-twist-wise

Especially with Owen, the second he came into the show, you knew he'd end up ****in up, but then he did ok in the hospital with Marcos. Then they revert back to him bein a sap and gettin killed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

I quite enjoyed this episode, the last three have been rather good. Yeah, hopefully Cole will waste Dana, like Jack did Nina in Season 3. It's also the first episode I've seen since the news of the cancellation, so it's a little bittersweet!

Haha just read that way back at teh start, Katee who plays Dana auditioned for the part of, yes... you've guessed it.... KIM

haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

unreggd wrote: »
    Haha just read that way back at teh start, Katee who plays Dana auditioned for the part of, yes... you've guessed it.... KIM

haha

Both inconsistent annoying characters... makes sense

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

gscully wrote: »
    He's not really dead. He became a vampire in From Dusk Till Dawn :)

He was a vampire in True Blood too lol

If Dana is such a badass, why did she bother try to help her badboy ex and his friend, she could have gotten one of her terrorist buddies to sort it out for her without risking her cover

The only thing more pointless than the Dana storyline, is trying to explain it :P