Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Long Distance Illumination

• 22-03-2010 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

Hello lads,
    Does anyone know anything about this ND-3 laser designator lamp that Ardee sports are advertising on the back of this months shooters digest.
    The website isnt very informative.Maybe some of you have come across it elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

bruskey wrote: »
    Hello lads,
    Does anyone know anything about this ND-3 laser designator lamp that Ardee sports are advertising on the back of this months shooters digest.
    The website isnt very informative.Maybe some of you have come across it elsewhere.
    just purchased one hope to have it by the weekenk, supposed to be the way to go, gerry scully has sold a few (?). ill let you know how i get on. (Ill be the guiny pig:()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭bigted

any more update on this cheers

bigted wrote: »
    any more update on this cheers
    Ardee will have mine by wednesday, hopefully post it to my local shop before weekend, call them they are good to talk to, untill then this is the only info i have

ND3 Green Laser Designator for hunting and EMT | Laser Genetics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 imincanada

Are these thing even allowed here?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Was shown one a month ago in Atlantic Sports in Carlow. He had it as a demo. Think he is ordering or has them in. Didn't get to try it out. Must see if he got them in. They seem to be good.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Are they big money lads?

greenpeter wrote: »
    Are they big money lads?

Scully was quoting 295 Euro seems to be about right around the country

imincanada wrote: »

well they are only a green light after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Not that bad, wounder what they would be like on lamp shy foxes:confused:
    Lot of them around

hit em the first time and they wont get a chance to be shy:p

Lots of lads around me who think a shot gun range is 100yrds +:rolleyes: and ye i do miss at least i'm honest;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

A lot of bucks $$$$$$$$$$$$$$ for a lamp. Range of 5 miles that's great wow if you can shoot that far.

Did i read it ain't good in the cold??

I have ordered 3 long throw torches, 6 rechargeable batteries and a charger from DealExtream.com total €120. There are on the way now. I hope to put one on the scope for foxing

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.8686

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.22934

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.6965

greenpeter wrote: »
    Lots of lads around me who think a shot gun range is 100yrds +:rolleyes: and ye i do miss at least i'm honest;)

Well I cant talk Peter, I havent even got me rifle yet:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

This light is made by BSA Optics from what I can gather and seems to have some problems with cold and damp conditions.
    Make sure you do your due diligence. ;)
    http://www.bsaoptics.com/family.aspx?familyID=17&filter=VH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

imincanada wrote: »
    Yes, but they're controlled the same way that lamps are for lamping (that's all these actually are, a fancy lamp).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭yog1

Sparks wrote: »
    Yes, but they're controlled the same way that lamps are for lamping (that's all these actually are, a fancy lamp).

what do you mean "controlled" what is the law on lamp's for hunting

yog1 wrote: »
    what do you mean "controlled" what is the law on lamp's for hunting

You are only allowed to use them during daylight hours.

what:eek:, your having me on aren't you

clivej wrote: »
    You are only allowed to use them during daylight hours.
    yog1 wrote: »
    what:eek:, your having me on aren't you

Just getting in some practise for 9 days from now ;););)

clivej wrote: »
    Just getting in some practise for 9 days from now ;););)

thank f**k i didnt bite then, so what is the offical line on this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

This light is made by BSA Optics from what I can gather and seems to have some problems with cold and damp conditions.

Cold and damp conditions?
    Sher thats Ireland???

BSA, Big sore arse/Birmingham small arms or Asian sh1te marketed as European?
    My cousin had a squires bingham rifle. As English as _________insert word:D

One can buy a BSA motorbike, made from the finest Indian steel :D
    The price normally dictates the quality
    Lamps for hunting. Lightforce are amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Ah!

The companies manking those and Ecco boots must be related. As when I brought back a pair of "Waterproof" Ecco boots to the shop I was informed they were only meant for hiking in "dry" places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Lazer Genetics:
    I have one out on loan at the moment, it's the hand held vertion and quite impressed with it.
    For what it's worth, I would buy the rifle mounted vertion as it's brilliant when looking through the scope for the shot but I'd stick with the regular lamps for scanning..... Although this hand held would be good for lamp shy foxes.

It was a clear night last Friday but there was still a beam of light comming from the lazer torch and the beam is not wide, not great for scanning fields as it will only illuminate what you are shining it directly at.
    I will definitly buy one of the rifle mounted ones though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

I use a semi-auto s/g sometimes could it be mounted to one do you reckon ?

Have ya won the lotto or lost the run of yerself man? If you want something to mount to a shotgun buy a small torch like the one I did a while back. Does the job and enough change out of that other yoke for a weekend away :D

johngalway wrote: »

Have ya won the lotto or lost the run of yerself man? If you want something to mount to a shotgun buy a small torch like the one I did a while back. Does the job and enough change out of that other yoke for a weekend away :D

Remind me JG:(

Had a look, am interested, what did you order JG? any hassle with shipping?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

It would mount on a shotgun allright, but a total overkill to be honest,(excuse the pun) buy a LED torch

1 EagleTac T100C2 MKII WEAPON KIT - COOL WhiteEagleTac T100C2 MKII WEAPON KIT CW $80.99 $80.99
    Smooth Reflector/Tail-Stand Switch
    Subtotal $80.99
    Grand Total $80.99

Took the lazy route and copy and pasted from my email :o

They added another $10 for shipping.

No, there were zero problems with shipping, all went very smoothly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 generalp

murph226 wrote: »
    Well I cant talk Peter, I havent even got me rifle yet:p

get ur finger out murph:mad:

On the way Patton, You must call out for a look at the scope, its class;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

I brought back a pair of "Waterproof" Ecco boots to the shop I was informed they were only meant for hiking in "dry" places.
    :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Desert Boots for sure John.

:pac::pac::pac::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

The only waterproof boots in my opinion are still the old fashioned military ones made of old fashioned cow hide leather with liberal applications of greasy polish.

I got 2 LED torchs in from china from Dealexstream.com and its looking like they will do the business right enough for the foxing about $40 each.
    All have long throw beams and I tested it out the back and the one I was testing can throw a narrow beam past 150y and when looking through the scope @x12 I can pick out the stones in the field.

I have fitted one to my scope and will give a review of them later.

Super Thrower Far Projection 3W Cree P4 Flashlight 2x18650 2x18500

Price: $35.43

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3356
    sku_3356_1.jpg

sku_3356_10.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Anyone tried one of these in the field yet??

The only waterproof boots in my opinion are still the old fashioned military ones made of old fashioned cow hide leather with liberal applications of greasy polish.

I gave up and went back to wellies. Getting a bit warm for them now though!

Anyone using these yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 generalp

the nd3 is they kid lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭dan17

Anyone tried one of these in the field yet??

have one of them green nd3 lights. super light fox dont even take notice of it. great range and ability too adjust beam width is a big help for different ranges

dan17 wrote: »
    have one of them green nd3 lights. super light fox dont even take notice of it. great range and ability too adjust beam width is a big help for different ranges

Thanks, a friend is on for buying one i wont complain just think there a bit pricey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

dan17 wrote: »

how far is it possible to shoot with one of these?
    do you think its a good job for lamp shy foxes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

I tried one of the nd3 lights, and TBH thought it was no use. Hard to pick up eyes and too fiddly. We found it more useful pretending it was a light sabre. I honestly think you can't beat a lightforce