Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hot Tub Time Machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

That looks fairly weird and good craic though the whole time travel thing will probably wear think after about five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

looks bad enough it could be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

It looks to be selling itself on the premise alone, which is never a good thing. If I wanted to see how camp the 80's where I'd watch films from the 80's.

There wasn't really much in that trailer (or any of the trailers I've seen for it) that I found particularly funny.

I predict a medley of:
    1. Black guy feeling oppressed in the 80's (fitting the stereotype, being loud and saying "Oh, hell no!!!" ad nauseum)
    2. Computer/Tech geek confused in the 80's (look at the various ways that technology in the 80's is different to now, how funny is that)
    3. Cusack giving various nods to "Better off dead" and his other films from the 80's
    4. A plethora of jokes about the clothes and hairstyles from the 80's (omg, flock of seagulls, hilarious)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,960 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

L31mr0d wrote: »
    It looks to be selling itself on the premise alone, which is never a good thing. If I wanted to see how camp the 80's where I'd watch films from the 80's.

There wasn't really much in that trailer (or any of the trailers I've seen for it) that I found particularly funny.

I predict a medley of:
    1. Black guy feeling oppressed in the 80's (fitting the stereotype, being loud and saying "Oh, hell no!!!" ad nauseum)
    2. Computer/Tech geek confused in the 80's (look at the various ways that technology in the 80's is different to now, how funny is that)
    3. Cusack giving various nods to "Better off dead" and his other films from the 80's
    4. A plethora of jokes about the clothes and hairstyles from the 80's (omg, flock of seagulls, hilarious)

Heard good word about this film... think I'll go and see it rather than "predict" what it'll be like...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

looks awesome!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I think that looks quality. Yeh pure cheesy but funny all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,006 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm kinda surprised John Cusack would do a film like this tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I have to say I am slowly becoming a fan of Craig Robinson!

"Are you crying"?

"Hey no, it's just some water splashed in my eyes from all the fúcking"!

:D LMAO

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Bar one of two big films in recent years the majority of his work has been direct to DVD ao perhaps the prospect of a big paycheck, an easy film and guaranteed to go diect to theatres was more than enough to tempt him. Plus it does look like good fun which should be reason enough for any actor to do a film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

L31mr0d wrote: »

I predict a medley of:

I'm glad to report it is nothing like you thought :D

Its 16's rated, so the really funny stuff, they couldnt show in the trailers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Wow, to be honest I thought it looked terrible, even the title put me off so I'm very curious about these reviews.
    I'll have to go see it now so hopefully I'm completely wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Saw it a few weeks back and thought it was good. Not the funniest film I've seen in recent times but definitely worth a few hours. There's a few great laugh out loud moments.

For me Craig Robinson steel the show. Big fan of his!

One thing that struck me is just how old Cusack looks in this. Maybe it's because I haven't seen him in much recently but he's aging rapidly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Actually.. I'm not generally the biggest fan of popular comedy (insofar that I can't stand the Will Ferrell/Jim Carey types and I didn't particularly think the Hangover was anything to get worked up about, and that it was, in fact, rather annoying more than anything else) but this certainly wasn't what I expected from the trailer.

It's not hilarious, but I have warped standards for hilarious anyway. But it's certainly nothing horrible other than a few eyeroll moments. They didn't put as much pressure on the idea of the 80's as you'd expect, and instead used it as a device to get close to the characters. Well, as close as one of these comedies can, really.

Could just be because I love John Cusack though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

liah wrote: »
    Actually.. I'm not generally the biggest fan of popular comedy (insofar that I can't stand the Will Ferrell/Jim Carey types and I didn't particularly think the Hangover was anything to get worked up about, and that it was, in fact, rather annoying more than anything else) but this certainly wasn't what I expected from the trailer.

It's not hilarious, but I have warped standards for hilarious anyway. But it's certainly nothing horrible other than a few eyeroll moments. They didn't put as much pressure on the idea of the 80's as you'd expect, and instead used it as a device to get close to the characters. Well, as close as one of these comedies can, really.

Could just be because I love John Cusack though..

My perfect woman...

I would go see this movie based on the title alone and I fully planned on. Then I saw the delivery of "must be some kinda... Hot Tub Time Machine" and I thought "Okay, I have to see this!" Then I saw John Cusack and I searched for my credit card to book tickets. Then I saw Chevy Chase and fainted. Can't wait for this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

My perfect woman...

I would go see this movie based on the title alone and I fully planned on. Then I saw the delivery of "must be some kinda... Hot Tub Time Machine" and I thought "Okay, I have to see this!" Then I saw John Cusack and I searched for my credit card to book tickets. Then I saw Chevy Chase and fainted. Can't wait for this!

Hah I love that delivery because the character stares at the camera knowlingly straight after :D Might go see this myself, loved Rob Corddry ion Daily Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Go see this, it's good craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Haha ... so things were different in the 80's to how they are now? It practically writes itself!

Thanks for posting the trailer and saving me €9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

Clark Duke (the guy with the glasses) is pretty funny, he was also good in Kick Ass. You should check this out if you have the time.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6mvUkFFVJQ :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

bonerm wrote: »
    Haha ... so things were different in the 80's to how they are now? It practically writes itself!

Thanks for posting the trailer and saving me €9.

Wish I saw this before spending 9 quid last night :(

Renn wrote: »
    Wish I saw this before spending 9 quid last night :(

If you makes you feel I'm better I'm sure your money is has already been thrown into a pot labeled "Hot Tub Time Machine 2 : 2030"

Well that I'd like to see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Any actor who doesn't take himself too seriously is okay in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

i enjoyed this but i much preferred the hangover thats just me though

How are the two films comparable? Apart from the obvious that is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

Saw it there last Friday. Absolutely hilarious! Craig Robinson is brilliant as always. I'm not really familiar with Rob Corddry, but some fantastic bits from him, particularly the
    Mötley Crüe bit at the end
    which had me cracking up throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Saw this today. Pretty funny. Plenty of quotable dialogue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Hyndsy85

The director co-wrote grosse point blank with cusack. I reckon he took the role as a favour for his mate. It probably helped get the movie made. Also I have no idea why this is being compared to the hangover, it's a pretty average film (hot tub time machine) that is. And I think Clark duke is friggen terrible in everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

watched it yesterday,not bad at all!!a well made comedy i'd say :D is that type of film for watch it with the lads,good fun!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I saw this last night as well, and really enjoyed it. Its probably the best comedy i've seen in the cinema since Superbad (i dont generally watch comedies in the cinema). Yes, there are plenty of penis jokes, but there are plently of good penis jokes. Some very quotable lines in there too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

There's a few laughs in it anyway.

Found it hard to switch off my brain though. Spent a lot of the time thinking through the massive plot holes in the film.

Worth a watch anyway, just try to switch off your brain for a couple of hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,584 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Hyndsy85 wrote: »
    The director co-wrote grosse point blank with cusack. I reckon he took the role as a favour for his mate. It probably helped get the movie made. Also I have no idea why this is being compared to the hangover, it's a pretty average film (hot tub time machine) that is. And I think Clark duke is friggen terrible in everything

He was the funniest actor in Kick Ass imo, thought he was brilliant in that, no quite up to the same standard in this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Hyndsy85

Liam O wrote: »
    He was the funniest actor in Kick Ass imo, thought he was brilliant in that, no quite up to the same standard in this...

He had about 5 one liners in that movie, i dont see how you could think he was the funniest.

In HTTM he was really only in the movie as a narrative sort of way if you get my meaning. the other 3 were the main guys and he was there to keep the plot and characters together.

Anyways if you enjoy him, thats all that matters. I personally do not like him one bit but hey, if everybody felt the way i did he wouldnt be in movies

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

YAY!....DVD and Blu-Ray is just out, ooh i was waiting to watch this flick UNRATED!

:-)

Just watched it there and loved it. It's one of the best comedies I've seen in a long, long time. It's rare that I'll buy a comedy on Blu Ray but it's one I'll be revisiting time and time again I think.

One thought that went through my head was
    that the entire film could be taking place in Lou's mind as he slowly dies. Would explain all the inaccuracies, he's remembering the 80s as he experienced it and not how it really occurred.

that the entire film could be taking place in Lou's mind

You seem to get that a lot from movies. Can I ask are you on any medications at present? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭antocann

its a feckin great movie , the suspence of waiting to see how he looses his arm ,
    no matter how many times i watch it it cracks me up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭antocann

Liam O wrote: »

i think his best movie was sex drive ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

that the entire film could be taking place in Lou's mind as he slowly dies. Would explain all the inaccuracies, he's remembering the 80s as he experienced it and not how it really occurred.

Dude you seem to think that about lots of movies - what gives?

Just watched it there and loved it. It's one of the best comedies I've seen in a long, long time. It's rare that I'll buy a comedy on Blu Ray but it's one I'll be revisiting time and time again I think.

You'll accuse me of stalking again but since this pops up in my CP (since I've posted on this already) I have little option but to reply to the above comment.

This was not one of the best comedies in a long, long time. It's essentially lazy filmmaking. Everything you expect to happen, happens. And when it does happen it's not even funny in the slightest. We all know what's going to happen with the kid, but when it does happen it's terribly cringeworthy. Also interesting to note that when I saw this in the cinema very few actually laughed throughout it, you would have never have guessed it was a comedy judging by that. Don't get me wrong, I'm not expecting anything amazing from this but it couldn't even provide us with something new, everything we see on screen has been done to death before.

From what I remember from this horrible little movie is that the first joke is a poo joke - hillarious. Then they go on to make Rob Corddry out to be one of the most unlikeable characters I've ever watched on screen. Nothing he does or says is funny in the slightest. Considering he featured in Old School, maybe this isn't much of a surprise.

It's pretty much the lowest common denominator of film entertainment. Michael Jackson 'jokes', the calling of the nine year old girl etc. Maybe that movie Idiocracy has some truth to it afterall.

Also, if I want to hear Jessie's Girl in a movie, I'll watch Boogie Nights thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

Great movie.
    Rob Corrdry is class and steals the show.
    Chevy chase and John Cusack for that retro 80's feel.
    I am not that surprised that Cusack starred in it as this is the type of movie he started his career on.
    One Crazy Summer , Better off Dead etc.
    One of the funniest comedies I have seen in a while.
    I never got the fuss about the hangover, it just seemed like a wannabee "Very Bad things" but funny and failed miserably where this on the other hand was more than the gags seen in the trailer.

This movie somewhat annoyed me towards the end.
    They went to the Ski resort because Lou was suicidal. They got into the hot tub and then went back in time. Yet when Lou decides to stay back in time at the end of the movie, he lives a good life. Meaning that they would never have gone back to the Ski resort to try and cure Lou suicidal behavior, thus they never go back in time so the whole entire movie is made null and void.
    Won't somebody PLEASE think of the Space Time Continuum?? <faints>

I dunno - maybe I've been watching too much Star Trek.

Oh and - some parts were funny, but nothing amazing.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

They went to the Ski resort because Lou was suicidal. They got into the hot tub and then went back in time. Yet when Lou decides to stay back in time at the end of the movie, he lives a good life. Meaning that they would never have gone back to the Ski resort to try and cure Lou suicidal behavior, thus they never go back in time so the whole entire movie is made null and void.
    Won't somebody PLEASE think of the Space Time Continuum?? <faints>

You seem to get that a lot from movies. Can I ask are you on any medications at present? :pac:

Yes, saying that were two films that were they to take place in the minds of one of the characters would make for a far more interesting film obviously means I get it from a lot of films.

Cool. Thanks for confirming.

Lou's suicide occurs while he's listening to Home Sweet Home by Motley Crue. The film then ends with Lou as the lead singer of Crue singing Home Sweet Home which kind hints to the audience that the entire thing was a dream as Home Sweet Home came out in 85. Also note the New Super Mario logo on the side of the arcade machine and numerous outher inaccuracies.

Are you sure you're not reading too deep into what you would normally call a brainless popcorn flick?

Renn wrote: »
    Are you sure you're not reading too deep into what you would normally call a brainless popcorn flick?

Not necessarily, just because it's a summer film doesn't mean it has to be brain-dead.

Given that there are numerous moments which stand out as being out of the time means that perhaps there is more to it.

For me, there's nothing to this movie. You can see my post on the previous page which is just a quick write-up on how terrible it all was. Definitely one Cusack was doing for the money, that's for sure.