Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Do you rate your Local

• 19-03-2010 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭

now that the recession is having it's toll on us all we are all starting to count the €'s. Do you find your local is taking this into account ?. Have you noticed any changes in the price of the drink in general?.

I was in my local on St. Patrick's Day with a few friends having a good old time. Cheltenham was on the telly, the beer was flowing, fair play to the owner he put up sandwiches and cocktail sausages for the whole pub.

Do you find your local doing things like this to show their gratitude for your custom, or should they be doing more.

your welcome to give your point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My local is a kip, only knackers drink there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

My local is the city pubs and the good ones are still ripping people off.

Few places in Dublin with cheap pints buy they be kips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Drinks prices havent gone down as far as i can see. Its pretty typical that 2 years into our worst recession, certain things stay resolutely expensive.

Sandwiches and sausages! Yeah, in my place you'd be lucky to get a clean pint class. And you'd be thankful for it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

phasers wrote: »
    My local is a kip, only knackers drink there
    YOUR local? So that makes you a...? Very tired person! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

My local is literally 2 doors up from me and a proper country pub so it's always cheaper than a city pub.
    Happy days:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Well, a friend co-owns microbrewerie with some of his friends so the beer there is always nice and its not too expensive either. So my local rates very high!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I dont think prices have gone down but that results in the lounge girl getting about a 20c tip for 2 beers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

dont really have a local im from the suburbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Mine's a bloody TGI Fridays. They have good offers, but there's an off licence nearby so I drink at home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

My local is pretty decent.. €3.60 for a pint, €3 midweek, they've got Sky & Setanta & the remote is left on the bar for anyone who wants to watch something. Usually doesn't close till around 4 at the weekends & there's always a bit of grub thrown out around midnight, just before the doors are locked & the ashtrays are put out.

Could do with a bit of music every now & again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

dont really have a local im from the suburbs.

they have pubs i the suburbs too you know.

My local is great, the owner has no concept of closing time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The one I go to is great - it's got an old man section, then a younger section (with TV) so you can alternate between the two for a bit of variety. When there's a big match on, it's beeline to the old man section for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

yes but my estate is in a location where it has no real local...finnegans in dalkey maby but its not 'local'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Biggins wrote: »
    YOUR local? So that makes you a...? Very tired person! :D

In my defense the drink prices are quite reasonable :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

My local is the only pub in Ranelagh to sell a pint for sub 4 eur (3.65 for a Fosters). Grand spot, at least the staff know my name.

That being said it's a pity a few more places didn't take up Dicies strategy.

Dudess wrote: »
    When there's a big match on, it's beeline to the old man section for me.

Tee hee hee, Dudess likes old men :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

mines around the corner, a proper local, in a residential area, owner and staff know most of locals by name, and your drink after one round

food/snack baskets for all the tables on particular busy nights or big sporting occasions

a couple of free drinks at xmas

cant remember any major trouble in the place, have never had any bother to write home about

and i'm sure the round was slightly cheeper than normal on paddies night

so all in all, not a bad spot, will more than likely be in it at some point over the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

one of my locals dropped the price of a pint down to 3.50e for 3 months and all main courses to 10e,although two of the others did not pass on the full reduction that was brought in dec with the budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I'm in Chicago and I'd rate ours very highly.

Five domestic bottles for $10 (€7.40) served in a bucket of ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Well seems as mine is an infamous, northside pub nicknamed "the flying bottle" i rate it highly and one does not want to draw a savage beating on oneself!

As well as that my local pub at home in Leitrim is another of those places where everybody knows your name. They could charge a tenner a pint and I'd probably still go for that very reason.

smurgen wrote: »
    Well seems as mine is an infamous, northside pub nicknamed "the flying bottle" i rate it highly and one does not want to draw a savage beating on oneself!
    Close to that haunted house too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Had a great local, every sunday was like st patricks day.
    Now it's an Easons bookstore...

Nothing has really taken its place since :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Dudess wrote: »
    Close to that haunted house too.

maby the hauntee is an old client,still pissed at being barred or something!

Had a great local, every sunday was like st patricks day.
    Now it's an Easons bookstore...

Nothing has really taken its place since :(

apart from easons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Mines great. Concrete floors, toilets labeled "Jacks" and "Bean-Jacks" (as in woman in irish). And if you're short a few quid, you can buy cans to drink instead of pints. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Nevore wrote: »
    Mines great. Concrete floors, toilets labeled "Jacks" and "Bean-Jacks" (as in woman in irish). And if you're short a few quid, you can buy cans to drink instead of pints. :pac:

Sounds great, where you can go to be a man

If there was any pub close by that still had sawdust on the floor I would become an inhabitant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

My local is great. Its looks like a country pub and is decently priced. Not born and bred in the area, I'm treated amicably enough as a blown-in: meaning a condition that they seem to consider to be akin to a minor genetic abnormality that I can't really help; something that deserves sympathy and understanding, but still a little distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I never really had a local, living about 4 miles from cilvilisation, but that sits fine with me.

But my "local" local would be like something outta Craggy Island :D

Sounds great, where you can go to be a man

If there was any pub close by that still had sawdust on the floor I would become an inhabitant

I believe they call it "Coppers" on a Saturday nite....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Mine is a real yuppy pub.It is only 3 doors down but it wouldn't be for people my age.They do great lunches and when there is a match on it is a good laugh to head to 4 a little bit.The staff know me aswel so that is a nice bonus.It's kinda dead now though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

My local is Captain Americas, its pretty cool!! I spend a ridiculous amount of time up there these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

ha nice...used 2 head there 4 pre-drinks a good bit! 3 euro a pint

stovelid wrote: »
    I'm treated amicably enough as a blown-in: meaning a condition that they seem to consider to be akin to a minor genetic abnormality that I can't really help; something that deserves sympathy and understanding, but still a little distance.
    There's an extra dimension (pity?) to that if you're from Cork - I benefitted greatly whenever attending my local in Ringsend... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

€3 cocktail ftw!! So many cuba libre fuelled regrets :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'm in Chicago and I'd rate ours very highly.

Five domestic bottles for $10 (€7.40) served in a bucket of ice.

I don't care how cheap it is, or even if the botlles are served in a bucket of ice - no-one should be drinking Domestos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Pint of Guinness is €3 in me local but it's nearly €9 for a freakin' Irish Flag shot. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I have two locals. Neither of which I go to regularly.
    (I just refer to them as locals, because they're very near by.)
    I prefer heading in to the CC and going somewhere fun. I usually go where I know will be a bit fun, with a nice crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

My local is great. Its looks like a country pub and is decently priced. Not born and bred in the area, I'm treated amicably enough as a blown-in: meaning a condition that they seem to consider to be akin to a minor genetic abnormality that I can't really help; something that deserves sympathy and understanding, but still a little distance.
    ~Ahh, ye poor blow ins. My aul fella still gets apopleptic when the locals call him a blow-in. Me and the brothers are apparently born and reared in their eyes. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

My local is good for a lock in every single night of the week, if some one wants to stay drinking, then he will keep throwing out beer...

Pint of Guinness is 3.70 but he does do sandwiches and hot food every sunday and everytime there is an event (international matches, cheltenham etc.)

Bit of an old mans pub during the week and is home to some very well seasoned drinkers!!!

I heart it!!! :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

My local could best be described as a Bucket Of Blood.
    When i moved to the area years ago,my neighbour said "there's a pub round the corner.
    Dont go to it".

I've been a few times and its messy alrite..people dancing on tables in the middle of the day etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Degsy wrote: »
    My local could best be described as a Bucket Of Blood.

I think I know where you're talking about. Does the name of the pub include the name of the road that it's on and begins with C? :D

Lived very close to it for a spell. Went once, never returned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭OI

By multiplying it's rateable valuation as determined by the Commissioner of Valuation by the annual rate of valuation as adopted by the County Council in it's annual budget.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I think I know where you're talking about. Does the name of the pub include the name of the road that it's on and begins with C? :D

Yes..yes it does.

Somebody told me once that somebody tried to burgle the place through the roof and managed to get stuck for hours untill the barstaff arrived for work in the morning.

I have it on good authority he was dealt with "firmly".:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭mail4liam

A good shop!

A good pint!

A good atmosphere!

and good Bar Staff!

The Boomerang in Bray, a great shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

My local is nice and handy, 30 seconds from the gaff, good atmosphere and great staff. First time in there bar man went on about how it was the best pint of Guinness around, and how it was most probably the only pub in the area no one was shot in. So I kept drinking there :P

I have two locals. Neither of which I go to regularly.
    (I just refer to them as locals, because they're very near by.)
    I prefer heading in to the CC and going somewhere fun.
    I used to think the very same way about the local pub. When you start getting auld, you'll appreciate it more... :pac:
    smurgen wrote: »
    maby the hauntee is an old client,still pissed at being barred or something!
    If the hauntee is someone who managed to get barred from the Flying Bottle I'd be fucking scared too if I lived in that house... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

My local is ok .Its not in Ireland though.For the price of a round in Ireland you can shag one of the bar maids all night .They are brown sexy and fcuk like rabbits .Good times .Problem is now that i have a full time GF here i can not take advantage ;-(

My local is nice and handy, 30 seconds from the gaff, good atmosphere and great staff. First time in there bar man went on about how it was the best pint of Guinness around, and how it was most probably the only pub in the area no one was shot in. So I kept drinking there :P

thats always a plus