Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Transitions Championship

• 19-03-2010 4:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭

Harrington contending for a second week running. -7 thru 16 of his second round, one off the lead of Furyk.
    Coverage all weekend on Sky Sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Birdied the 9th, his 18th for a 65 and -8. One behind Furyk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Furyk bogeyed his last so himself and Harrington hold the joint lead on -8.

Edit: Furyk doubled according to the pga so now Harrington is in the sole lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Fair play to Harrington, great round from him today

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Woah there horse...
    Looking like an interesting preparation for Augusta for him... the bit of "in contention" going into the weekend should sharpen him even more.

Licksy wrote: »
    Woah there horse...
    Looking like an interesting preparation for Augusta for him... the bit of "in contention" going into the weekend should sharpen him even more.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I just mean I don't want him to peak too soon :)
    much rather he had a solid top 5 again this week an won the masters... Obviously.
    Not usual to see him so competitive this early after his long winter break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

They showed his card a few minutes ago on SS...very tidy, just the one blemish, on the front 9. I was hoping the Yanks would show some of his highlights...but oh no, that would be asking too much. :rolleyes:

madds wrote: »
    They showed his card a few minutes ago on SS...very tidy, just the one blemish, on the front 9. I was hoping the Yanks would show some of his highlights...but oh no, that would be asking too much. :rolleyes:
    He'll feature strongly in tomorrows coverage given his position. Well at least he should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

come on paddy just watching on shottracker and he is all over the shop. long way to go though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

Is there any coverage online? Strange that there's nothing on Justin or atdhe.net. Speaking of Justin, there seems to be no golf on there at all anymore, what the story there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Suspiria79

No Tiger woods, no one feels like streaming it.
    Impossible to find streams lately.

probably nothing on till 8. try www.myp2p.eu me i got sky sports but cant listen to rob lee [EMAIL="tw@t"]tw@t[/EMAIL]

9 players covered by a shot, should be an exciting back 9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Daithio9

Aidric wrote: »
    9 players covered by a shot, should be an exciting back 9.
    Not as exciting as the back nine on Sunday.

hope paddy isnt on a slippery slope.

scrubber72 wrote: »
    hope paddy isnt on a slippery slope.
    poor so far. needs to go on a run soon enough.

Harrington missed 2 10ft birdie putts in a row. Over par for the round when nearly everyone else is burning up the course. Sounds depressingly like last weekend.

Furyk caught a massive break there, ball heading straight for the pond and cracks off a branch to land plumb in the middle of the fairway.
    Harrington's putting has been comical. That's four straight birdie putts from within 10 feet that he's missed.

me thinks paddy is done for this week. hangin out with cowen must of really wrecked his head this week;). Still like him for something big in the coming weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Harrington is atually playing very well from tee to green, his swing looks good.
    But his putting today is leaving a lot to be desired. All in all though he is looking good for the Masters so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

scrubber72 wrote: »
    me thinks paddy is done for this week. hangin out with cowen must of really wrecked his head this week;). Still like him for something big in the coming weeks

He's 3 behind the leader with a few holes + an entire round to go.Not sure how that equates to 'done for this week'.The leader after 3 rounds often has a poor/ordinary round on the last day, so he has a great chance of winning this yet.T3 last week, surely at least a top 10 this week, optimism to be had for the Masters.

...And he bogies the last. Moving day how are ya.

I'm laughing here at Peter Oosterhaus's reaction to Rob Lee's increasingly bizarre questions. He is obviously trying to fill air time but an ad break would honestly be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭RocketRonnie

Cant see Furyk losing now... really thought Padraig would do it, roll on the Masters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Problem is, your putting needs to be a1 for the masters.

Harrington has made a bright start to birdie the first. He is now in a group of six players on -8, 3 off the lead of Furyk.
    Play currently suspended due to lightning.

Sad to see Paddy not be able content again this weekend. Hope he gets it together for the masters.

Yep, bombing again. I'm only following it on shot tracker but erratic would sum his round up well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Harrington missed too many fairways to get into contention in the final round. He was 30-50 yards short on two par-4's on the front 9 and failed to get up and down on each occasion iirc. Furyk comfortably found the green on both holes in comparison. All said, another week where he has featured. Fingers crossed all departments of his game come right for Augusta and he gets some luck also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

in fairness its some achievement being so utterly dire off the tee and yet still finishing in a tie for eight.

in the last 12 months, despite his strong finish to last season, anything has been possible off the tee for podge...
    one of these days he'll top the ball completely and it'll rise straight up and clatter him in the snout!

i just cant understand it. it totally baffles me as to why he cant find a way, while on course, to minimize the lunacy. maybe swing at 80% and try and get some consistancy?... screw distance.

watching him on shot tracker is like watching someone play battleship on crack.

padraig, for the love of god... and my nerves... get your sh1t together with the big stick or i'll go out there & wrestle it off Flood and break it over his head.

Or bin that wilson piece of crap and get yourself a decent whopper.... with wilson stickers on it. whats he using? a wilson spine?.. those things are an abomination. the sound off them makes my ears want to die.

lets all pitch in and buy bob torrance a plane ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Or bin that wilson piece of crap and get yourself a decent whopper.... with wilson stickers on it. whats he using? a wilson spine?.. those things are an abomination. the sound off them makes my ears want to die

post-6145-1250389532-2.jpg

Harrington is always changing Drivers, above is an example, however he won all of his majors swinging the Wilson Staff DD6+. Then again he is a man who changes aspects of his swing and equipement regularly(irons less so) and as all know he has and is still changing his swing after winning 3 majors.

Some stats this year:

Driving Distance 279.6 94th
    Driving Accuracy Percentage 54.66% 171st
    Greens in Regulation Percentage 62.96% 165th

Regardless of distance he needs to hit more fairways and greens to have a chance, his putting is under huge pressure because he is having to up and down more for par which won’t have him contend. I think he will improve in the coming weeks and its good to see him at the likes of The Transitions tournament in Tampa because before he never really played much before Augusta.

considering he hadnt been around the course before i suppose he had a pretty impressive go at it. still tho, desite all the tinkering, he's struggled off the tee for the last 12months at least and i, personally ( speaking from the heart here padraig! ) am tired, tired, tired of all the rationalization of all the various elements he's trying to bring together to bring about the sweetest strike that'll have us all weeping at its beauty & pureity... feck all that... how many events last summer did he wrestle himself into contention only to fold or fade or make a complete banana of it and then we're treated to excuses on mondays about "not being quite there yet".

I WANT TO SEE SOME CRAZY EYEBALLS, i want to see him pissed off on-course about missed putts.... and less of this smiling easy going nice guy everybody likes playing with. If he gets himself into the mix with 9 holes to play and doesnt convert i'd prefer it if he was mightily cheesed off instead of so circumspect afterwards.

... that or find some fairways.... i just want to enjoy sunday nights hunched over the laptop more.... its all about my needs really.

Is he still using Rotella? All he ever talks about in interviews is tinkering this and tinkering that. He is never satisfied with his game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

same as tiger phil v.j. they always have something to work at......always have some swing-thought

Aidric wrote: »
    Is he still using Rotella? All he ever talks about in interviews is tinkering this and tinkering that. He is never satisfied with his game.

yep, rotella aparantly gave him grief a few weeks back because P was reverting back to old bad habits... mentally that is.

looking at that photo.... podge should get FTI tattooted on his teeth there... some innovative and clever product placement.

i dont mind the tinkering so much.... like was said, theyre all at it, arent we all? its really the total inaccuracy off tee that i cant fathom. are the days of pulling out the 3wood gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

considering he hadnt been around the course before i suppose he had a pretty impressive go at it. still tho, desite all the tinkering, he's struggled off the tee for the last 12months at least and i, personally ( speaking from the heart here padraig! ) am tired, tired, tired of all the rationalization of all the various elements he's trying to bring together to bring about the sweetest strike that'll have us all weeping at its beauty & pureity... feck all that... how many events last summer did he wrestle himself into contention only to fold or fade or make a complete banana of it and then we're treated to excuses on mondays about "not being quite there yet".

I WANT TO SEE SOME CRAZY EYEBALLS, i want to see him pissed off on-course about missed putts.... and less of this smiling easy going nice guy everybody likes playing with. If he gets himself into the mix with 9 holes to play and doesnt convert i'd prefer it if he was mightily cheesed off instead of so circumspect afterwards.

... that or find some fairways.... i just want to enjoy sunday nights hunched over the laptop more.... its all about my needs really.

Your frustration shared!!
    1230581502708_2.jpg

thats the ryder cup right? heard from a reliable source that it wasnt neck pain at all but a monstrous bout of wind after the previous days faldo inspired vindaloo sandwiches. the neck pain was another cover-up.

that faldo eegit... sandwich list eh?... what a douche bag.

he's back in action at the houston open in 2 weeks... it'll be interesting to see how he preforms off the tee on day 1.

if we see no improvement off the tee.... he's obviously gay.

( hope your reading this PH )