Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

April 2010 Xbox Call Of Duty Tournament details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    Nay a bother mate :)
    Say about 9 o clock?
    Or is that too late ?

One of the lads is struggling for Thursday, will let you know tomorrow. We may be able to swing a sub if needs be. We usually play a small bit later than that, 10.30 onwards. Is that too late?

BTW Shammy is lacing my boots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Ah yeh no bother :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

Shammy wrote: »
    Damo yourfriends list is full so i am unable to add you, Shane i need your up to date gt .

Cheers

I'll be playing with Ix KARMA xIx instead of the I ShaMRocK X account.

How does it work with 2 live accounts on one xbox?
    Can i simply sign up again and pay sub and us both on the one xbox by logging in etc?
    If you get eg the map packs on one account can you use them on the other on the same xbox

sorry with the ot question's:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

micks wrote: »
    How does it work with 2 live accounts on one xbox?
    Can i simply sign up again and pay sub and us both on the one xbox by logging in etc?
    If you get eg the map packs on one account can you use them on the other on the same xbox

sorry with the ot question's:D
    Yup thats right , and yes one download of the map pack will do all accounts , although if your xbox breaks and you get a new one it will only work for the account you downloaded it for, the way round that is you just have to sign in on both accounts.

Enigma IE wrote: »

BTW Shammy is lacing my boots!

Your promoting me :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,028 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Shammy wrote: »
    Your promoting me :):)

Right so 9:40 it is then ye? Nice one :)

Enigma if u and ur team mates are available to play tonight then so are we :D
    Even if u only want to play one of the fixtures tonight then play my teams home fixture tomorrow.

Good fun tonight lads well done great game. Needed that after the CL game!

Yeah , thanks to , tbh2006,jedipunk1912 and schplonk for a good game , see ye at our home fixture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

oh my god we got totally creamed :) but it was enjoyable all the same, I would like to think we learned a thing or two, and we met some sound people and that's what it's all about. We're going to change our name to whipping boy :D thanks for the game lads, really enjoyed it.

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    Enigma if u and ur team mates are available to play tonight then so are we :D
    Even if u only want to play one of the fixtures tonight then play my teams home fixture tomorrow.

Sorry Damo only reading this now. We were all on last night, will check with one of the lads about later, if he can't make it, another one of our mates should be able to sub.

Lookin forward to the game tonight Enigma :D
    If all of yous are on earlier than half 10 and are able to play then would ya let me know ? Thanks.

tbh wrote: »
    oh my god we got totally creamed :) but it was enjoyable all the same, I would like to think we learned a thing or two, and we met some sound people and that's what it's all about. We're going to change our name to whipping boy :D thanks for the game lads, really enjoyed it.

lol, I think its been said before tbh but fair play for all the organization. Great idea. Its way better craic then playing online against randomers

Good game Enigma :)

Damo, we have you next but I'm away next week. Does sunday week suit you? the other two lads have a sub in mind, but fair warning, he's way better than me :)

Will check with the other lads and see wether theyd rather play next week or the week after :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Okay, I want to post something on my first impressions of the league, but don't want to come across as a bad sport or ranter etc.

We lost our first game last night fair and square and well done to Damo and the lads. We got our asses handed to us on the first map, won a tight second map game and then got destroyed in the last game. There was no cheating and there was no smak talking etc. There were loads of different tactics used and it was played fairly by the rules. Overall it was a good experience, and fits in with what the league was intended to do.

However. I have to say I think it's really worth looking at the rules a bit at this early stage. The last map was Terminal, and basically we got NoobToob'd to death with some Danger Close and Thumpers thrown in for good measure. It was the most frustrating piece of MW2 I've played in a long time. I didn't mind losing badly in the first map on Skidrow as they were just better than us, but the Terminal game was just a pain in the hole.

Although I was frustrated with them at the time, I'm not criticising the other lads for using those weapons/perks, because the rules are that anything goes. But to be honest, I really think the rules need to be tweaked to ban all the launchers. Make it a gun/knife game. Allow killstreaks if that's the preference, but I'd really like to ban the launchers from the league. My impression was that the league was to set up some friendly games between boards players, (with maybe some some skillful competition thrown in :D). IMHO those NoobToob games elliminate all skill from the proceedings, and are going to cause much frustration.

Anyone else have any thoughts on this?

congrats on raising the issue so well - it's a difficult point to raise without sounding bitter, and you did it perfectly - that's not sarcasm, by the way :D

As I said earlier, I've no problem with tweaking the rules as long as everyone agrees. We've nine teams, if we get 5 votes to change, that's cool.

So, I'm guessing you vote to change, I'll vote with you.

The reason I'd vote is because I want to be able to play better - me and my mates really did pick up some points from shammy mark and trilla, and we wouldn't have if they'd just been blasting us. I'd rather it be a skill-based result than a luck-based result, so I'll vote to change.

to clarify: I'm not saying we should ban noob-tubes, but the combo of noob-tube, danger close and scavenger. two noob-tubes per life is fair enough afaic.

shawpower wrote: »
    Okay, I want to post something on my first impressions of the league, but don't want to come across as a bad sport or ranter etc.

We lost our first game last night fair and square and well done to Damo and the lads. We got our asses handed to us on the first map, won a tight second map game and then got destroyed in the last game. There was no cheating and there was no smak talking etc. There were loads of different tactics used and it was played fairly by the rules. Overall it was a good experience, and fits in with what the league was intended to do.

However. I have to say I think it's really worth looking at the rules a bit at this early stage. The last map was Terminal, and basically we got NoobToob'd to death with some Danger Close and Thumpers thrown in for good measure. It was the most frustrating piece of MW2 I've played in a long time. I didn't mind losing badly in the first map on Skidrow as they were just better than us, but the Terminal game was just a pain in the hole.

Although I was frustrated with them at the time, I'm not criticising the other lads for using those weapons/perks, because the rules are that anything goes. But to be honest, I really think the rules need to be tweaked to ban all the launchers. Make it a gun/knife game. Allow killstreaks if that's the preference, but I'd really like to ban the launchers from the league. My impression was that the league was to set up some friendly games between boards players, (with maybe some some skillful competition thrown in :D). IMHO those NoobToob games elliminate all skill from the proceedings, and are going to cause much frustration.

You sound like Alex in his post match interview after Bayern knocked them out
    Where do you stop? If a team no scopes me to death can that be banned?
    Marathon/lightweight......... Usain Bolt with a knife ?
    Heart beat sensor?
    A team camping for entire game?
    Claymore?
    C4?
    Lobbing grenades blindly?

allowed your opinion but why wait you should have known it would happen at some stage?
    as regards toobing if you cant beat them................
    and no skill you obviously aint tried it properly

Heart beat sensor?
    Claymore?
    C4?

allowed your opinion but why wait you should have known it would happen at some stage?

Are you a noobtube (danger close) & baby monitor man yourself micks? I'm struggling to to understand how it involves actual skill?

If you say so. I tried to be fair in what I said, so it's a pity if you think that. I'm not trying to reverse a result or anything like that. I'm simply trying to pose a question for the rest of the games.

In relation to all your other class questions, I've no problem with any of them. Yes, if we were trying to copy other competitive gaming rules (Gamebattles etc) then most wouldn't be allowed, but I'm not suggesting we go that far. All those other guns/perks/equipment have ways of combating them using regular weapons or perks. HBS v Ninja, Commando v Shotgun etc etc. The only tactic for NoobToob & DC is to run with it yourself. Which means you end up with games of pure toobing. Maybe you want the league to end up like that. My vote would be for it not to, and to try to stop it as early in the league as possible.

I posted before the whole comp started asking to clarify rules like this. I'm not just saying it after the event. I was worried this might happen, and it did in the first game. It might just be a problem on Terminal, thanks to how the map is laid out and the YouTube videos showing 100+ kills using this tactic on that map in particular, but I suspect others like Baleout etc will suffer from it.

Of course I've tried toobing before, and there is skill to certain aspects of it, such as firing through small gaps to clear out a bunker etc. But a team running Toob/Danger Close/Thumper/RPG etc isn't based on skill. They take one shot and you're dead, regardless of accuracy. Anywhere in your vacinity and you've been blown up. If you try to shoot them with any other gun, you need 2-3 bullets minimum. You can't hope to win that gunfight.

You think I'm being bitter, and the thanks you've gotten on your post (from cableguy so far) suggests you are not alone. That's a pity. But either way, the organiser has decided to put it to a vote. Lets see what everyone else thinks.

Enigma IE wrote: »
    Are you a noobtube (danger close) & baby monitor man yourself micks? I'm struggling to to understand how it involves actual skill?

At a guess i'd say 10% of the time toobing mostly for a laugh and when someone else does
    HBS - never picked it up before a few weeks ago have used in the last few weeks and find it a negative on MY game/score/kills ie much better without

tbh wrote: »
    congrats on raising the issue so well - it's a difficult point to raise without sounding bitter, and you did it perfectly - that's not sarcasm, by the way :D

As I said earlier, I've no problem with tweaking the rules as long as everyone agrees. We've nine teams, if we get 5 votes to change, that's cool.

So, I'm guessing you vote to change, I'll vote with you.

The reason I'd vote is because I want to be able to play better - me and my mates really did pick up some points from shammy mark and trilla, and we wouldn't have if they'd just been blasting us. I'd rather it be a skill-based result than a luck-based result, so I'll vote to change.

to clarify: I'm not saying we should ban noob-tubes, but the combo of noob-tube, danger close and scavenger. two noob-tubes per life is fair enough afaic.

I've vote to BAN noob tubes, danger close, OMA. But at the end of the day, its a part of the game, some people prefer to use these tactics, just not me. Remember the glitched lobbies where people had unlimited tubes, that's what the match in Terminal was like.

At a guess i'd say 10% of the time toobing mostly for a laugh and when someone else does
    HBS - never picked it up before a few weeks ago have used in the last few weeks and find it a negative on MY game/score/kills ie much better without

Noob tubes and HBS are for noobies, gives them somewhat of a chance when they get matched with the big boys.

I'm on the same team as shawpower. The match in Terminal was a farce, reminded me of the glitched lobbies when everyone had unlimited tubes - each to their own, it's all part of the game, just not my game.

If you say so. I tried to be fair in what I said, so it's a pity if you think that. I'm not trying to reverse a result or anything like that. I'm simply trying to pose a question for the rest of the games.

In relation to all your other class questions, I've no problem with any of them. Yes, if we were trying to copy other competitive gaming rules (Gamebattles etc) then most wouldn't be allowed, but I'm not suggesting we go that far. All those other guns/perks/equipment have ways of combating them using regular weapons or perks. HBS v Ninja, Commando v Shotgun etc etc. The only tactic for NoobToob & DC is to run with it yourself. Which means you end up with games of pure toobing. Maybe you want the league to end up like that. My vote would be for it not to, and to try to stop it as early in the league as possible.

I posted before the whole comp started asking to clarify rules like this. I'm not just saying it after the event. I was worried this might happen, and it did in the first game. It might just be a problem on Terminal, thanks to how the map is laid out and the YouTube videos showing 100+ kills using this tactic on that map in particular, but I suspect others like Baleout etc will suffer from it.

Of course I've tried toobing before, and there is skill to certain aspects of it, such as firing through small gaps to clear out a bunker etc. But a team running Toob/Danger Close/Thumper/RPG etc isn't based on skill. They take one shot and you're dead, regardless of accuracy. Anywhere in your vacinity and you've been blown up. If you try to shoot them with any other gun, you need 2-3 bullets minimum. You can't hope to win that gunfight.

You think I'm being bitter, and the thanks you've gotten on your post (from cableguy so far) suggests you are not alone. That's a pity. But either way, the organiser has decided to put it to a vote. Lets see what everyone else thinks.

We'd 6 or 7 games the other night with Manufan's team
    I dont think there was a toob fired in he first 3 ( the comp) not planned just happened that way, last 2 in particular one on Highrise both teams had a good laugh with non-stop toobing

its part of the game you started with toobing and then in the in the group you're up to 4 things you want banned where do you stop?

Heart beat sensor?
    Claymore?
    C4?

Seriously , have you come up with a team that uses noob tubes and thumpers , i have on many occasions and it is annoying, the only counter is to do it yourself imo.
    With regards to skill using the noob tube , No not a lot once you have danger close plus the back up of thumpers.
    I also asked if there were any rules regarding restrictions well before this started and there wasnt any, yes this is only a fun tourney but if you want to turn it into a tube tourney so be it, i can use the tube probably better than most, but i dont , why because its cheap, i believe in fairness , when we played TBH's team the other night i started using heartbeat sensor , (2on their team were below 29) i switched from it 2 minutes into the game as i felt i was at an advantage, and it was unfair just because they hadnt reached those levels.
    My 2 cents worth anyway.

its part of the game you started with toobing and then in the in the group you're up to 4 things you want banned where do you stop?

You keep saying that, and I've answered you each time. Leave everything else in as they have direct ways of combatting them. (HBS v Ninja Pro etc). Also, no one so far has asked for anything else to be banned.

As I've said, it's up for a vote. So far it's 3 teams have said they'd preferred to lose the Toob/Launcher & Danger close mix, while your team have said they'd like to keep them. Lets see what the other 5 think and then make a call on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭cableguy.ie

I just liked to say i thanked mick because he raised a valid point. In that you cannot change the rules for a tournament after the first few matches.Basically we would have to start again.
    I do know where your coming from but we all knew before we signed up to the tournament that basically anything go's.
    And no i do not think your bitter at all as was previously mention you raised the issue well.

Sorry about that man, i was thinking that and said that to the lads "why are yas noob toobin" But tbf, 2 of yous were doin the same on skidrow and one or two of yas where runnin round with tac knifes :P
    It was a good game and id rather play private matches all day rather than playing with randomers :D Looking forward to our second fixture and will definetely tell the lads to stop actin the eejit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

Avatan-halen has no team mates yet he's got a team in the league!? We're in the pre game lobby now and he's got no mic sending Shammy a msg saying he'll play 3 on 1!?

Whats the story there like?