Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Cheika leaving Leinster for Stade

• 19-03-2010 11:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2010/0319/leinster.html

Have to say I'm a bit surprised by this. Still wish him all the best, as he helped us step up to the next level, but didn't think he was leaving us to move to another European team. Little bit disappointed by this.

(maybe with his fashion connections he's just gone there to sort out their jerseys?? :D )

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Well we always knew he was leaving, thought he might stay in Europe when the Super 14 gig collasped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Thought he was going back home myself. Ah well, wish him all the best. Think he's leaving at a good time, before we get stale.

Done so many wonderful things for us.

And some crazy things.....remember Nacewa at 10? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Thought he was going back home myself. Ah well, wish him all the best. Think he's leaving at a good time, before we get stale.

Done so many wonderful things for us.

And some crazy things.....remember Nacewa at 10? :pac:

Bringing back Guy Easterby at 36 - 37? A lot of his imports haven't exactly impressed either. But overall, a superb coach.

I was thinking the other day who'd win a match Cheika's best team which let's say was the Heineken Cup last year, or Matt Williams' best Leinster team i.e. with a fit Spooner playing at 10 i.e. the team which won the Celtic League final with only 14 men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭nosco

I was thinking the other day who'd win a match Cheika's best team which let's say was the Heineken Cup last year, or Matt Williams' best Leinster team i.e. with a fit Spooner playing at 10 i.e. the team which won the Celtic League final with only 14 men.

No contest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I'm disappointed. I like Cheika and I'm not a big fan of Stade after all their BS in the last couple of seasons. I wish him well anyway, but wish he had picked another team.

On the bright side, maybe he'll bring in a change of attitude there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Stade are a decent side, why all the negativity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

I'm a bit dissappointed too. I also thought he was leaving to go home.

I wish him all the best at Stade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I don't understand why people are dissapointed, the guy is an Australian coach of an Irish team who is moving to coach a French team who may compete against each other in one tournament every year.

What's there to be dissapointed about?

Bringing back Guy Easterby at 36 - 37? A lot of his imports haven't exactly impressed either. But overall, a superb coach.

I think we can forgive everything just for Rocky! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

razorblunt wrote: »
    I don't understand why people are dissapointed, the guy is an Australian coach of an Irish team who is moving to coach a French team who may compete against each other in one tournament every year.

What's there to be dissapointed about?

Not sure really. I had the impression that he was going home, and didn't want to coach a team that might play against Leinster. It's not a huge deal. Still wish him all the best in the Top14, and plenty of losing final appearances in the HEC. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

buck65 wrote: »
    Stade are a decent side, why all the negativity?

Probably because they buy more than build a bit like Chelsea in football!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Who's in the frame post Cheika?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

the clermont backs coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

Josef schmidt

Have to say, the more I think about it, the more I look forward to whats going to happen next year. I love the sense of renewal a new coach brings to a team.

Hopefully he can continue building were Cheika leaves off.

Any word on the staff and if they're staying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Thanks folks, don't know how that managed to pass me by!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Hopefully he'll get one more game in his new club's hometown before he leaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I flagged this a couple of months back, not Stade particularly but a move to France. The people crawing on this thread about him moving are embarrassing. What do ye expect the man to do? Exclude himself from any other European club out of some sense of loyalty. Lol, seriously. Good luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Stade great club but no patience, particularly for foreign coaches.

He'll need to hit the ground running or he'll be gone in 18 months. Personally I think he'll flourish. Leinster play in a style very simalar to a lot of the better T14 clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Good coach, good move. Fair fcuks to him.

Glad he's sorted us out, and then taken us on to the next level. Could be exactly what les Parisiens desperately need, especially with Racing breathing down their necks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Aidric wrote: »
    I flagged this a couple of months back, not Stade particularly but a move to France. The people crawing on this thread about him moving are embarrassing. What do ye expect the man to do? Exclude himself from any other European club out of some sense of loyalty. Lol, seriously. Good luck to him.

Oh ffs! Crawing, embarrassing? Get a grip.

I thought I remembered him saying something about moving to Southern Hemisphere when he announced he was leaving, so he wouldn't be playing us. If I'm wrong in that, well fair enough. I wasn't expecting him to never coach in Europe. :rolleyes:

But as I said, I'm delighted for him, wish him well. It's a big coaching gig. (Although something of a poisoned chalice alá Real Madrid??). Best of luck to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Josef schmidt

Have to say, the more I think about it, the more I look forward to whats going to happen next year. I love the sense of renewal a new coach brings to a team.

Hopefully he can continue building were Cheika leaves off.

Any word on the staff and if they're staying?

Jono Gibbs is confirmed as staying on as forwards coach, which is great news, however Gaffney and Kurt are not yet confirmed.

Gaffney will probably take his Irish role on full-time and hopefully a new backs coach will be confirmed as replacing him (wouldn't want Schmidt taking on too much) and Kurt is probably the most vital part of the Leinster coaching set up, but believe he might be moving on, but hopefully we can keep him. I seem to recall a rumour that he will be going to the Oz national team after this season.

I don't see what the big deal with Cheika's move is, he's put in 5 good years with Leinster and was very upfront over a year ago that this would be his last season. Wherever he seeked out a new challenge is largely irrelivant.

I'm a Stad fan though, and more so now, and wish him the best, and thanks for all the work he put in to develop Leinster into the team with the set up that's in place now. Didn't always agree with selection policy, but no more so than last season, and there's no better way to shut up your critics than to win the Heineken Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Legion2008

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Jono Gibbs is confirmed as staying on as forwards coach, which is great news, however Gaffney and Kurt are not yet confirmed.

I'm almost certain that Gaffney has said he's stepping down from Leinster next year ... he had a 2 year deal which is coming to an end. Think it was on a TV3 interview or something.....

quick update ... it was discussed here before http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055772014&highlight=alan+gaffney

shawpower wrote: »
    Oh ffs! Crawing, embarrassing? Get a grip.

I thought I remembered him saying something about moving to Southern Hemisphere when he announced he was leaving, so he wouldn't be playing us. If I'm wrong in that, well fair enough. I wasn't expecting him to never coach in Europe. :rolleyes:

But as I said, I'm delighted for him, wish him well. It's a big coaching gig. (Although something of a poisoned chalice alá Real Madrid??). Best of luck to him.

He was heavily linked with the Melbourne Rebels but he was never in the running by all accounts.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

shawpower wrote: »

He said he wouldn't coach another team in the ML. There was never any real likelihood of that anyway.

I've been massively pleased with Gibbes I must say, great to hear that he's staying. He's certainly made the transition to coaching beautifully. Keeping McQuilkan must be the highest thing on Schmidt's to-do list surely? Leinster have had the best defence in Europe two years running now, and when you consider the base point they were starting from that is incredible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

As far as I can see the real change happened in Leinster when Jonno Gibbes came along. I think that could turn out a better signing then keeping Cheika.

profitius wrote: »
    As far as I can see the real change happened in Leinster when Jonno Gibbes came along. I think that could turn out a better signing then keeping Cheika.

I think signing some decent forwards and the emergence of some home grown ones was a bigger factor to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭David900

I was listening to Newstalk last night and they were talking about this. Apparently he has always loved Paris, he speaks fluent French and has owned an apartment in Paris for years. He looks like it was something he always wanted to do so for that reason I think fair play to him. He probably sees it as a bit of a challenge as apparently it is a larger role than he had at Leinster, titled Director of Rugby or something similiar. I was surprised too that he wasn't going to Super rugby next year and I was kind of hoping he would to see how he would get on in that league. That probably would have given him a better chance at the Australian coaching job too which I assume he wants one day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Co45

David900 wrote: »
    I was listening to Newstalk last night and they were talking about this. Apparently he has always loved Paris, he speaks fluent French and has owned an apartment in Paris for years. He looks like it was something he always wanted to do so for that reason I think fair play to him. He probably sees it as a bit of a challenge as apparently it is a larger role than he had at Leinster, titled Director of Rugby or something similiar. I was surprised too that he wasn't going to Super rugby next year and I was kind of hoping he would to see how he would get on in that league. That probably would have given him a better chance at the Australian coaching job too which I assume he wants one day.

He's lebanese so not all that suprising. I Wish him luck anyway