Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mother got the wrong end of the stick (?)

• 18-03-2010 7:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Over the weekend a friend of mine (male) came back to my house as he was too drunk and had no money to pay for a taxi home. My dad was away, and my mum was in her room sleeping. This would have been around 3 in the morning. My brother and sisters live away from home. During the night my friend got sick in my brothers room and so came into my room around 7 o clock and asked me to budge over. I did so, being hungover and indifferent at that particular time. Mum wandered in in a couple of hours and saw me and the mate lying the bed together half naked. To be honest the thought never occured to me until today that she might have thought that I was gay. She was acting funny since this and hasn't been saying much to me and making some strange comments.

I should also add that she didn't find out about him getting sick, I'm 22 (I was only at home for the weekend, i don't live there) and I am definately NOT gay!

Is this just me being paranoid? Because it'll make it awkward between us otherwise. I've no problem with gay people whatsoever, I tend to be very liberal about this kind of thing. Probably why it didn't occur to me until today. The difference is that my parents and my father in particular are more old school (Like most peoples parents really) and if they thought I was gay they almost certainly wouldn't bring it up (If anything, theres a good chance they'd throw me out if i was) What's more, there's no way I could tell them I amn't gay if I'm only being paranoid about this! It's a strange situation all round...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

What happened to the sick in your brothers room? Did you or your friend clean it up? You might have done a poor job of it and that's whats got your mother acting funny towards you...bringing drunk friends home at all hours esp when you don't live there full time any more. Did she know the friend in question?

notgay! wrote: »
    (I was only at home for the weekend, i don't live there)

(If anything, theres a good chance they'd throw me out if i was)

If you don't live there how can they throw you out? What exactly is it your worried about? That they might think your gay? but your not so what's the issue?

If it's really such a worry that you think your mother might think your gay why not say it to her that your friend got sick in your brothers room [hence why he crashed in yours] Not to worry you cleaned it up but in case she finds there's a smell [which there might be if your brother isn't living there and the room isn't aired much] you thought you should let her know. Thus she has reason for your friend sleeping in your room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

It's not uncommon for two drunk mates to pass out in bed together as such, I'd think that'd be a pretty big leap for your mother to make.

Really though, if you're paranoid about it, just casually mention a date with a girl or something next time you talk to your mother. ie next time you call her you can end with "Gotta go mom, meeting up with this girl in an hour and have to shower and get dressed up and all."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

cafecolour wrote: »
    It's not uncommon for two drunk mates to pass out in bed together as such, I'd think that'd be a pretty big leap for your mother to make.

2 of them in bed half naked... not that big of a leap. :D

OP its highly likely she thinks you might be gay. What you can do is tell her about your friend getting sick in the other room so then she'll know why he was in your room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

OP youre 22 years old, you dont live at home, does it really matter whether your mum thinks you are Homosexual, Hetrosexual, Bisexual or all of the above ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

Not wanting to make light off this but she would be far more worried if it was a girl... and besides after seeing the opining program off Cougar Town she probably fancied the guy herself. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

profitius wrote: »
    2 of them in bed half naked... not that big of a leap. :D

OP its highly likely she thinks you might be gay. What you can do is tell her about your friend getting sick in the other room so then she'll know why he was in your room.
    Nah, she'll probably see it as a Yarn.

I would just bite the incident and leave it alone. She will think what she will think and I think trying to defuse it will only serve any paranoia of hers.

Better to let time do its thing and eventually there will be too many naturally occurring holes in her "My son is gay" theory to give it any more credence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

it's really none of her business so don't entertain her! why does it really matter to you what misconceptions your mother has?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Satyr_The_Great

Ah im sure she is just waiting for you to make the first move, as in for you to tell her what happened or what didnt happen in this case. But i can also see the funny side to it too..no offence..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Shayman

Yeah. Just sit down and talk to her. Don't let it fester.

(Sorry, but I thought it was amusing as well! I'm sure she'll see the funny side and she can recount it at your wedding some day)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

You brought a drunk friend to your mother's house and he threw up in your brother's room ?

That's why your mother is being odd.

And personally if someone threw up in one room and then came into mine and told me to push over I'd tell them to feck off and clean up the other room.

Of course, if they were male I'd tell them feck off regardless of the drink or puke.