Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nepotism in GAA

• 18-03-2010 1:36pm
    Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭

Anyone else come against this problem besides myself ? I find it disgraceful when daddies just take over a team and play their son every match where he wants regardless of performance.

This is at minor level. We have lost nearly every game so far with embarrassing performances yet still these relations of the selectors play every match even when it is obvious to all they have no place out there.

My story goes: I'm a decent player in my last year of minor football. 2 years ago I played every single game and in general played well. This year a new manager and team of selectors have come in and made sure their sons play each match. The 3 worst players on the team all have their fathers as selectors. All 3 have been dire in every game so far and all the rest of the lads know this.

The other embarrassing thing is that they are all younger than me, 16, even 15 years of age. I know this is sounding bitter but in all honesty 2 years ago the team was up there with the best around. Now we are bottom of the table scraping only 1 win. I have been told by people around the club that I should be playing ahead of player X and Y. This adds to the frustration.

The worst thing is you are sitting on the bench not knowing who to cheer for. You want your friends to win, but you also want these idiotic selectors to be proven wrong and to get even 10 minutes as a sub.

I'm sorry to say I'm contemplating giving up football completely. I love it but I'm at that age now where these decisions have to be made. If you are struggling to get on in your last year of minor there isn't much of a future for you. It will also save the embarrassment of not getting playing.

If anyone has any advice it would be appreciated. Feeling so depressed right now...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Transfer out....

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

It happens I am afraid, forced me out of GAA totally with regards playing.

Same as yourself, played county U16 and minor the following year (was eligible for another year at minor), new lad took over club minor team and I sat on bench for 90% of the games while he played his nephew (it was rumored that I took his place on the minor team)

As said I handed in a transfer but it was blocked for over 2 yrs due to "Parish Rule" down here.
    In the end I packed it in.

This thread is so true on so many levels and i don't think this problem limits itself to GAA, but soccer as well, but it is more rife in the gaa.

I remember a bizarre case back in 2004 when Na Piarsaigh of Cork got to the county final down there and Setanta O'Hailpin came back to play in it. I mean there is no doubting Setanta's class as a hurler but out of respect to the guy who took his place on the panel and trained all year only to be gazumped on probably the most important club game of the year and perhaps most important he'll ever play in for a guy who had gone off to play another sport professionally in the far side of the world is totally wrong. dont get me wrong i respect Setanta greatly but still

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

This thread is so true on so many levels and i don't think this problem limits itself to GAA, but soccer as well, but it is more rife in the gaa.

I remember a bizarre case back in 2004 when Na Piarsaigh of Cork got to the county final down there and Setanta O'Hailpin came back to play in it. I mean there is no doubting Setanta's class as a hurler but out of respect to the guy who took his place on the panel and trained all year only to be gazumped on probably the most important club game of the year and perhaps most important he'll ever play in for a guy who had gone off to play another sport professionally in the far side of the world is totally wrong. dont get me wrong i respect Setanta greatly but still

You can see that for example in the Carling Cup, like of United or Arsenal (have ye ever got to the final :) ) play kids for the 1st few rounds and then bang out the big guns for semi or final and the young lads get pushed out. :rolleyes:

yop wrote: »
    You can see that for example in the Carling Cup, like of United or Arsenal (have ye ever got to the final :) ) play kids for the 1st few rounds and then bang out the big guns for semi or final and the young lads get pushed out. :rolleyes:

I can provide proof to the contrary that arsenal stick to their philosophy of playing youngsters all the way in the competition and united's so called fledgling philosophy barely if at all exists but that's for the appropriate forum. :)

Anyway back on topic, I can relate totally to what the op is saying. Sport in Ireland from a young age i find if you don't show potential at your first ever training session, so called coaches will put you out in the cold. They don't want to develop you, take you to one side and give you advice, They want to win with the strongest kids and nurture their fragile ego's and put that feather in their cap. Years later we have wasted generations of young disillusioned young people and a nation or in gaa circles whole county cribbing that we don't win anything because of our small numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Unfortunately this does happen, happen to us in Junior hurling championship, when the manager brought in loads of minor b's, including his son and his mates. They're grand lads and decent enough players, but some of the regulars were dropped after playing all year.

The opposite often happens as well. When my brother was a youngster, the manager would always take his son off first just to avoid any accusations of bias. The son eventually packed it in, eventhough he was decent.

It's a thin line, and contentious issue in sport. There are players who will us it as an excuse, why they aren't getting a game, eventhough they mightn't be good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Firstly, this isn't an example of nepotism, so I'm not sure why you are bringing it up here.

Its actually an example of the selectors putting the team before one individual, which is what they should do. It may be unfair on that individual dropped to the bench in your opinion, but its (A) whats right for the team as a whole rather then whats right for one individual and (B) it's the chap who was dropped's fault for being an inferior hurler to Setanta.

Regarding the nepotism issue, the GAA needs to put in place a policy of not allowing parents to become selectors/managers. What the OP should do imo is first officially complain to the people who run the club (preferably with other lads who have been hard done by) and if that doesn't work transfer out of the club.

Orizio wrote: »
    Firstly, this isn't an example of nepotism, so I'm not sure why you are bringing it up here.

Its actually an example of the selectors putting the team before one individual, which is what they should do. It may be unfair on that individual dropped to the bench in your opinion, but its (A) whats right for the team as a whole rather then whats right for one individual and (B) it's the chap who was dropped's fault for being an inferior hurler to Setanta.

Regarding the nepotism issue, the GAA needs to put in place a policy of not allowing parents to become selectors/managers. What the OP should do imo is first officially complain to the people who run the club (preferably with other lads who have been hard done by) and if that doesn't work transfer out of the club.

So they judged his superiority based him playing a completely different sport down under? What book of logic are you reading? The reason he was picked was based on his previous reputation and his family's reputation. If selectors really want whats best for a team they pick the guys WHO ACTUALLY TRAIN. Setanta was a pro Aussie rules player and no longer a Cork/Na Piarsaigh hurler

Well done to SOH for making a go of things in Oz and all and i have respect the guy as a sportsman. i don't blame him for taking such a huge opportunity, but i blame the management at Na Piarsaigh who i imagine have a large catchment are in Cork City to pick from. I dont think he should be allowed to walk back and get his county medal. The players who train in the muck, and sh*t all year round should be top priority.

If hypothetically lets say Shane long or Matthew Macklin was to come back and play for tipp in the All Ireland final im sure a couple of players would be well pissed off with the fact that they just walked back to play in the final. Players who trained all winter in all sorts of weather and who made sacrifices with their family and work life.

This may not be nepotism directly but its another element to the gaa which sucks and it goes on everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

The players who train in the muck, and sh*t all year round should be top priority.

The priority of the management is to win, not to keep individual players happy. Setanta was young player of the year, you think they should have turned him away?

To the Op, theres not much you can do I'm afraid. It's a **** situation to be in.

The priority of the management is to win, not to keep individual players happy. Setanta was young player of the year, you think they should have turned him away?

To the Op, theres not much you can do I'm afraid. It's a **** situation to be in.

He was young player of the year in 2003
    He then went to Australia and came back the week of the county final in 2004.
    On the basis he was out of match practice yeah i think he shouldnt have played. that is all i have to say on that.

where im from there is alot of cases of nepotism and the sons of the coaches are undroppable. there is also cliques and sort of arrangements developing between selectors (drinking buddies).
    These selectors which are a cancer on grass roots sport in ireland, have no interest in developing player skills, its all about their ego. they want to emulate cody or sheedy or alex ferguson, etc.

It happens on the other side of the coin too where a manager will be harder on his own kids in case he is accused of it as one poster said. At the end of the day people want a game regardless of what grade they play in- be it senior or junior E. They don't want to rot on a bench every game. They play hurling or football because they love to play the game first and foremost and not because they are gunning for the all ireland medal nice as that would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

So who will look after the teams? The big problem is getting people to look after teams and then actually getting people who know what they are doing, we cant be to fussy

I coach the team my son is on and the other side of the coin is he was always first to be taken off I felt it was not only important to be fair but to be seen to be fair. He is an intelligent lad and would tell you out straight he should have got full game. I packed it in for over a year but went back after I was approached. We had a meeting with players and parents and told them what we expected. My son trains more than the rest of the team, he is not as strong but has fairly good skill. Balance is what we need.

Clubs often are the problem here where there are no clear guidlines about or standards about the commitment players give from a young age. Its pretty clear in our club now and has improved things a lot.

As for the O.P this happened me and I know I was a fairly decent player. I got a pain in my BOLL** being dropped and one day just let rip in the dressing room on Thursday night. I was picked the following Sunday, never forget it scored a few points and told the manager I would be still scoring them when the soccer lads were gone. (THAT DIDNT GO DOWN WELL) But I had to say it it meant a lot to me.

I agree with Orizio, you must complain to the people who run the club and make your case fairly, I would then challenge the manager.

This type of sh*t drives me bananas. Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

So they judged his superiority based him playing a completely different sport down under?

Please don't be intentionally idiotic, you know exactly what I said and meant.
    What book of logic are you reading? The reason he was picked was based on his previous reputation and his family's reputation.

You have no proof that he was picked because of his family name, even even this was true this still isn't nepotism.
    If selectors really want whats best for a team they pick the guys WHO ACTUALLY TRAIN.

No, they pick the best players available to them.

Beyond the above, I'd just be repeating myself. Selectors put their team first, which is what Na Piarsigh did.

No, they pick the best players available to them.

Beyond the above, I'd just be repeating myself. Selectors put their team first, which is what Na Piarsigh did.

Nepotism/Cronyism both run parallel so for me its practically 2 issues that lie within the GAA.

I would be of the opinion that the selectors weren't picking the best team available to them. They chose a guy who was out of practice and playing a different sport thousands of miles away for a guy who has been with the club thru thick and thin and who i may add was sufficient enough to get them to the co final in the first place.
    Do you think Brian Cody would bring him back into the side if it was Kilkenny that were in a final? I honestly think Cody would rather play the guy who is with the squad throughout the year and i have to say that's why he gains the admiration and respect from the general public.

LeoB wrote: »
    I agree with Orizio, you must complain to the people who run the club and make your case fairly, I would then challenge the manager.

This type of sh*t drives me bananas. Good luck

On that note i feel that if i were a coach and a young fella came up and said "look im not getting my game, im getting fed up, whats the story?" i would be delighted as it shows the player genuinely cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

On that note i feel that if i were a coach and a young fella came up and said "look im not getting my game, im getting fed up, whats the story?" i would be delighted as it shows the player genuinely cares.

Yeah:confused: Some lads would not have the balls to stand up to the manager
    I as a coach would be happy to explain to any lad why he is not getting what he describes as a fair crack of the whip, he is overweight, lazy, not putting in the effort or simply not up to it? Most lads with a morsel of kop on would know it anyway, but would they like to hear it?

This is where we need to seperate club and county. My own view is I always reward 100% loyalty. I am not a great fan of "stars". I know everything about what my players are at over the weekend. None of them drink the week of a club game because they as younger lads had a fair bit of success and know whats required if they want it at senior level. The juvenile team I coach while they are not the strongest group of players I have had it would be most unusual not to have full turnout at coaching and this is sewing the seeds for what they expect from me, honesty, integrity and commitment and any other man lucky enough to have them in future. The day I cant be honest and do what is right by the players and pick a neighbour or a friends son I will simply be told to F**K Off by the committee.
    I simply could not mess around with any young lads head, its neither right or fair.