Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lord of the Rings - Blu Ray

• 18-03-2010 12:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭

Hey, saw an poster up in HMH of LOTR Blu Ray coming in the next month or so...loved all three films and bought the extended versions for all three. Don't know if it would be worth buying all three again....even though I'm sure the scenary alone would be amazing.

Fellowship is released first, then Two Towers, etc,....after those the inevitable Blu Ray box set...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Isn't it just the normal edition coming out? So they'll release the extended version next year, probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭splashthecash

You are actually spot on....the trilogy theatre version..

what a f**kin joke....squeeze as much dosh out of us movie fans as possible

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Flash86

Definitely will just wait for the extended edition.

Don't agree that they're trying to squeeze more money out of people. No one is forcing you to buy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sleazus

Flash86 wrote: »
    Don't agree that they're trying to squeeze more money out of people. No one is forcing you to buy them.

Well, given that they have the extended editions prepared and could just release them at the same time to allow people to make a choice, I'd say they are. The only reason to delay the release is to make some poor punter smack their forehead when the extended editions come out, having already forked over for the regular ones.

I think that anyone who is going to buy the trilogy on Blu-Ray will be aware that the extended versions will be out soon.

The company wants to make money, if they released them at the same they wouldn't make as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I think that anyone who is going to buy the trilogy on Blu-Ray will be aware that the extended versions will be out soon.

The company wants to make money, if they released them at the same they wouldn't make as much.

So they are trying to squeeze more money out of people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Never saw the extended versions, are they good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

themont85 wrote: »

Mainly depends on if you are a fan of the films or the books, either way they are worth a look, but if you enjoy the books you will enjoy seeing a lot of bits that were left out of the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

At the price they are being released at it is a rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Mainly depends on if you are a fan of the films or the books, either way they are worth a look, but if you enjoy the books you will enjoy seeing a lot of bits that were left out of the film.

No, never read them. Its on my 'to do list' though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

themont85 wrote: »

I'd recommend watching the extended versions - one dvd (half a film) per night, for 6 nights was just fantastic.

I'll wait for the Extended Editions on Blu-Ray, then for them to be on sale before buying them. I can wait! :pac: I have them on DVD and they look excellent on the Xbox/PS3 so I'm not really rushed.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    So they are trying to squeeze more money out of people?

They would be if you had to buy the theatrical editions before buying the extended. They're giving customers a choice.

LOL! A choice implies you can buy either - but only one is available.

I agree though, no-one's forcing you to buy either! I suppose hardcore fans who desperately need their fix of LOTR in full 1080p will buy both (when the extended comes out). It's not the end of the world :pac:

No they're not. They are waving a carrot in front of the hungry donkeys face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭Linguo

I have extended dvds and dont think ill be bothered buying the blue-ray ones, it is a recession after all:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

It's typical.
    We were all told about blu-ray's capacity but they still sell them individually!

foxyboxer wrote: »
    It's typical.
    We were all told about blu-ray's capacity but they still sell them individually!

You are not going to fit all three onto one Bluray disc without compromising the picture and sound quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Wow.

A company trying to make money, who'd of thought?

Just don't buy the normal version and wait a little bit longer for the extended version to come out, you'd swear there was a gun to your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 rez

leaked yesterday.... watched the Fellowship last night was amazing..... personally I'm happy enough with the theatrical versions, 3 hours is long enough for one movie!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

think ill hold off till the extended versions at the end of the year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

rez wrote: »
    leaked yesterday.... watched the Fellowship last night was amazing..... personally I'm happy enough with the theatrical versions, 3 hours is long enough for one movie!!

Me too. I nearly fell asleep when watching the extended version of The Two Towers.

hey up on the illegal download talk lads...they'll ban you for a few days :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

jaykhunter wrote: »
    I'd recommend watching the extended versions - one dvd (half a film) per night, for 6 nights was just fantastic.

Feck that... All of them over a weekend is the way to go!
    Watched Fellowship on a Saturday then finished off the trilogy the next day. Best lazy weekend I've ever had!

Doubt I'd watch them again for a few years, so don't mind waiting a bit for the extended versions to come out on Bluray (and drop to a reasonable price...)

tman wrote: »
    Feck that... All of them over a weekend is the way to go! Watched Fellowship on a Saturday then finished off the trilogy the next day. Best lazy weekend I've ever had!

Hardcore! I've tried to watch the extended edition of one film in one day and i end up conking out early on in the second disc :o Happened more than once :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

one good Friday just after the 3rd film came out on DVD myself and a few mates sat down with beer and watched all 3 extended films in one sitting
    we emerged bleary eyed and drunk 12 hours later :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sofireland

Does anyone know if Xtravision will have these to rent, i'm not gonna buy them but i want to see the bluray version, and i'll be buying the extended edition next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

I actually prefer the theatrical versions at this stage. A lot of the stuff that was cut does slow it down a bit, as interesting and entertaining as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

RichTea wrote: »
    I actually prefer the theatrical versions at this stage. A lot of the stuff that was cut does slow it down a bit, as interesting and entertaining as it is.

No way man, the extended editions are the way to go. Watched all 3 in a row last Monday (Bank Holiday) for the first time in about 3 years. Still great movies and definately better with the extended scenes. Well, IMO anyway :)

But they really are doing a George Lucas on it by releasing the theatrical versions on blu-ray first. I think the extended DVD trilogy will do me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭Linguo

I love the extended dvds too! We watched them over Christmas for the first time in ages and they're fab. If you're really into the whole story I would defo recommend the extended version although there are a few pointless scenes such as drinking competition between gimli and legolas and stuff like that but otherwise great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    think ill hold off till the extended versions at the end of the year..

Where did you hear it was the end of the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

They should be releasing Blu-rays with the option of watching either the extended edition or the theatrical cut.

For me no extended edition = no sale.

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Where did you hear it was the end of the year?

No one has any idea when the extended releases will be out, even Peter Jackson is in the dark about it. The people who put together the original DVD releases are not involved with the Blu Ray releases and Jackson has no invovlement with the new team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

They should be releasing Blu-rays with the option of watching either the extended edition or the theatrical cut.

For me no extended edition = no sale.

Good point. I bet they could fit it on the blu ray discs. Having the extra discs on DVD sucks too. Going from great quality to sort of blury old DVD footage aint good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Having only ever seen & owned the theatrical versions on DVD, can somebody please tell me what's in the extended cuts that isn't in the theatrical versions? And how long are the extended versions too, there's a lot of posts about splitting films over two days or getting tired/bored and I don't want to wait for the extended editions if they're not really worth the trade off.

BTW, not interested in extra crap like directors commentary, I just want the movies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Having only ever seen & owned the theatrical versions on DVD, can somebody please tell me what's in the extended cuts that isn't in the theatrical versions? And how long are the extended versions too, there's a lot of posts about splitting films over two days or getting tired/bored and I don't want to wait for the extended editions if they're not really worth the trade off.

BTW, not interested in extra crap like directors commentary, I just want the movies :D

Google is your friend. If I remember correctly they're at least 3 hours each. Maybe more, but as I said, google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

I'll be holding out for the extended editions also and I read somewhere recently that they'll be released around the time the first Hobbit movie comes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Dr. Loon wrote: »
    Google is your friend. If I remember correctly they're at least 3 hours each. Maybe more, but as I said, google.

I have, but I didn't find any list of scenes "in extended version/not in theatrical version" list. I like lists :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

Anyone know of a place where I can rent lord of the rings on blu-ray???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Each Extended Edition is about 3-1/2 hours long before the credits roll. There's a list of the EE scenes here. I didn't mind the drinking scene - a bit of light relief, complete with a cameo by Howard Shore (the soundtrack composer) as an Elf. I've never seen the theatrical releases, and there are some EE scenes that I'd regard as very important, especially in The Return of the King. For example, Merry talking to Faramir might not sound like much, but in the book it served to explain quite a lot about the world of Men, and why the next Age would be all about them.

Then there are all the extras, which show the amount of work that went in to the saga, what Peter Jackson out himself and everyone else through.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

bnt wrote: »
    Each Extended Edition is about 3-1/2 hours long before the credits roll. There's a list of the EE scenes here. I didn't mind the drinking scene - a bit of light relief, complete with a cameo by Howard Shore (the soundtrack composer) as an Elf. I've never seen the theatrical releases, and there are some EE scenes that I'd regard as very important, especially in The Return of the King. For example, Merry talking to Faramir might not sound like much, but in the book it served to explain quite a lot about the world of Men, and why the next Age would be all about them.

Then there are all the extras, which show the amount of work that went in to the saga, what Peter Jackson out himself and everyone else through.

Wait, what?! How did you get away without seeing them in the cinema!! Thanks so much for the EE link; couldn't find that list anywhere. The only downfall of the extra scenes (IMO) is that (Peter Jackson admits it) is when we see
    the leader of the dead army agrees to fight. It basically means the good guys have won. But sure by that point, even if you haven't read the books or seen the film before you'd've probably guessed a happy ending.

I'd consider the EE the "true" version and I can't imagine going back to the normal length versions; i tried once but kept saying "hey where's this bit?" :pac::pac::pac: the LOTR film have a lot of exposition and a slow pace that really relishes each scene, so the extended editions really flesh it out....and it's good to see what happens with smaller characters too... I can definitely hold out for a blu-ray release....the DVD upscaled still looks phenomenal...

I've seen this to buy, but i'm not buying until the EE. I don't think they can compress onto one disc with out impeding the quality of the picture and sound.

Though i'd be interested in renting these to check them out. I believe the sound is amazing.

Review here http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Motion-Picture-Trilogy-Blu-ray-Review/5174/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭RoRoCullen

Have a Blu-Ray player but Im not paying for this! Its just the cinematic version! No thanks! Love my DVD's and the quality is still great!.. Fantastic trilogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Scram

You are actually spot on....the trilogy theatre version..

what a f**kin joke....squeeze as much dosh out of us movie fans as possible

:mad:

Aye no doubt it will come out around xmas time to milk as much cash as possable

Was in xtravision today, they are selling them for €79.99 :eek:

Also was talking to one of the staff and he said that its extremely unlikely they'll be allowed to rent them out in the near future, or ever.

So its either buy or wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

sofireland wrote: »
    They can be picked up for less than half that online! :D

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B001SEQKJ2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Also was talking to one of the staff and he said that its extremely unlikely they'll be allowed to rent them out in the near future, or ever.

Play.com are doing them for 38.99 with free delivery, quite a saving.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

€80 :eek: I can never understand why people bother buying films on blu ray from shops in Ireland.

The very same set including postage is going for €38.99 on play.com

http://www.play.com/DVD/Blu-ray/4-/9351275/The-Lord-Of-The-Rings-Trilogy-Box-Set/Product.html

Or on Amazon.co.uk, it is going for £29.97 and qualifies for free postage to Ireland.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rings-Trilogy-Theatrical-Version-Blu-ray/dp/B001SEQKJ2/ref=amb_link_83432533_1?pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_s=right-4&pf_rd_r=0KAV8RJWZDRY7F8K6TX2&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=198472367&pf_rd_i=293962011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Snapity-snap-snap! :cool:

WOW that is an astronomical price. Anyone willing to pay that already has it on DVD....

wow, £30...now ye're shoppin'!

I know, its a mad price altogether, I saw amazon earlier, i was tempted, but want the EE not the Theatrical, however would love to see / hear the difference with HD.

Pity you can't rent them.