Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DAMN GUARDS

• 18-03-2010 9:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭

so i was walking around my town yesterday and have to say that the police are complete gob****es!! im sure its not all of them but one fool in particular, he called us over and started threatening to bring us home if we were drinking ( which we werent), but while he was talking to us another group of teens walked past, bottles in their hands (filled with vodka and coke) one of them even had a can out in the open, yet he still proceeded to threaten us, even though were 100% certain he saw them:(:(

i have to say he was very intimidating, did anyone else have any problems yesterday??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Damn them all for what one did to you? Isn't that a bit drastic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

I saw too many young people around drinking, I wish the Guards had stopped and threatened more of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Were you a group of chavs gathering on the boardwalk perchance?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

the gaurds were racing on the cycle paths around my way yesterday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

.SONIC. wrote: »
    i have to say he was very intimidating, did anyone else have any problems yesterday??

I lost my keys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭.SONIC.

I lost my keys.

im sorry to hear it!!!!#

and magnus yes it is drastic, but i like being drastic!!! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

What guards where these, the ones from the local Spar or the shopping centre ?

I would have reported them to the gardai, bloody guards everywhere getting too big of their boots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Can someone PM the garda, I'd like to hear his side of this story

Stee wrote: »

pm sent :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

so i was walking around my town yesterday and have to say that the police are complete gob****es!! im sure its not all of them but one fool in particular, he called us over and started threatening to bring us home if we were drinking ( which we werent), but while he was talking to us another group of teens walked past, bottles in their hands (filled with vodka and coke) one of them even had a can out in the open, yet he still proceeded to threaten us, even though were 100% certain he saw them:(:(

It's amazing how since I've grown up and can act in a normal sociable manner, the Gardai seem to never bother me in comparison to when I was a younger loud gobsh1te.

"When I was a boy of 14, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be 21, I was astonished at how much he had learned in seven years." - Mark Twain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I had problems alright. There was a bunch of annoying teenagers around but I got the Gardai on their case and they gave them a bit of hassle for me and put them in their place.

The Guards are great lads altogether so they are.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I had problems alright. There was a bunch of annoying teenagers around but I got the Gardai on their case and they gave them a bit of hassle for me and put them in their place.

well thats good, if theyre gonna be arseholes and disturb everyone else then you did the right thing!!

but waht were we doing, nothin!!!! we dont drink, yet we still get hasseled??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

You should have told them(the guards) that there was free donuts down the road. They would have disappeared faster than a free beer at a piss-up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

My friend nearly died yesterday. He drank vodka on an empty stomach and he just passed out. I have never seen someboy that drunk. We had no idea about what to do. Only one friend was able to help him properly (lying sideways etc). I tried to get him bread and water to try to
    help him and when I came back the Gardai were there. They were very helpful and have clearly dealt with that kind of incident before. They could very well have saved his life. He was brought to hospital and can't remember anybodies name (parents included). He will probably have to get his stomach pumped too.

Confiscating drink is done for a reason. To stop stupid people like my friend from harming themselves or others. They put up with a lot of **** in their line of work and yet I have rarely heard of incidents of police brutality.

If taking drink off idiots will stop serious accidents from happening I am all for it.

but waht were we doing, nothin!!!! we dont drink, yet we still get hasseled??

Ye were annoying me by just being young and loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Fail thread....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Right, so you and your mates were just roaming around minding your own business when this Gard decided to give you grief?

I'm betting you and your mates looked as dodgy - air max and tracksuits by any chance? Scanda's? Tracksuit bottoms tucked into socks?

I'm just making generalisations here, but I doubt the Gard stopped ye without any reason whatsoever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Some can be dicks, same as every other walk of life.. there's way more good than bad though. At the end of the day it's better to just grin and bear it and do what you're told, it'll save yourself and the Gardai the hassle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

What are you whining about? The guards didn't take you off in the back of their car, they basically asked you what you were doing & made sure you weren't up to no good. That's common procedure on St. Patrick's Day, maybe you should stay at home next year if you can't handle it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

did anyone else have any problems yesterday??

Only with some piss heads in the local supermarket. I went home soon after and continued with my celebration of Wednesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

so i was walking around my town yesterday and have to say that the police are complete gob****es!! im sure its not all of them but one fool in particular

Can someone change the thread title to "Damn one guard in particular", so ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

http://www.gardaombudsman.ie/gsoc-garda-ombudsman-contact-us.htm
    If you are that concerned about it then get in touch with these people. I presume that since you are complaining about it on the internet you were smart enough to take his number???

On what is probably one of the hardest days in a year to be a member of the Gardaí is it that bad that one out of ~15000 of them was allegedly a little over eager in asking a bunch of teens if they were drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

AnonoBoy wrote: »

The Guards are great lads altogether so they are.

you know what you sound like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Fail thread....

Excellent contribution, so let me add.

Post fail :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭FunGoose

OMG!! I saw loads of Gardai yesterday, seriously, there must have been hundreds of them and every single one was doing thier job properly so don't just single this one Garda out.

I hope you can get over this awful experience and hopefully the next time the Gardai will treat you and your friends like kings, Rodney Kings!! Until then stop your moanin'.

Excellent contribution, so let me add.

Post fail :rolleyes:

Kettle, pot? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Indeed! your so right a kettle could be a pot.(Oh xavier he's so cool he knows a kettle from a pot):rolleyes:

OP I had a discussion with a guard yesterday I seen several gardai man-handling someone I had seen ejected from a bar for no good reason, I was (at that time) still a sober person and I tried to tell the gardai this gentleman had in fact done nothing and was told if I didn't **** off I would be arrested.

Charming little nazi garda she was, anyway i did **** off because she could very well have done what she promised still though no need to be like that at all.

Problem here OP is gardai are people, and some people are just Cnuts no matter what job they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

what i saw yesterday were huge groups of gardaí strolling around stephen's green stopping well dressed and seemingly well behaved randomers and smelling their soft drink bottles, then when i reached the central bank/temple bar area there were 2 scummy looking people passed out on the ground, and also 2 incidents of scummy teenagers starting fights with passers by while gardaí stood in full view and did nothing.

while i agree with xavier that this is indeed a shyte thread and not all gardaí are cnuts, i'd say the gardaí were definitely picking their battles yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

They done a fine job as far as I could see.

Around 4pm they escorted around 250ish kids down Abbey St from loitering around the Henry St / O'Connell St junction.

What is it with that spot that has them gathering there?

OutlawPete wrote: »
    They done a fine job as far as I could see.

Around 4pm they escorted around 250ish kids down Abbey St from loitering around the Henry St / O'Connell St junction.

What is it with that spot that has them gathering there?

Headshops ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

genericguy wrote: »
    what i saw yesterday were huge groups of gardaí strolling around stephen's green stopping well dressed and seemingly well behaved randomers and smelling their soft drink bottles, then when i reached the central bank/temple bar area there were 2 scummy looking people passed out on the ground, and also 2 incidents of scummy teenagers starting fights with passers by while gardaí stood in full view and did nothing.

while i agree with xavier that this is indeed a shyte thread and not all gardaí are cnuts, i'd say the gardaí were definitely picking their battles yesterday.

That in fairness is my major issue with the Guards, and it's an attitude not exclusive to them either, it’s bloody endemic at all levels of society and it’s generally making a mockery of the very notion of a fair and just society.

For example, whenever I’m on the Luas and a ticket collector gets on they don’t even bother asking the skobies to produce a ticket but rather bypass them and make a bee line for me instead. A mate of mine got so furious about this practice that he refused to show his ticket to an inspector once. When the flabbergasted inspector insisted that he needed to have a ticket to ride, he simply said, “Oh I have one alright, and you can see it once you’ve asked for a ticket off everybody that you just bypassed”. Naturally the guy just rolled his eyes and walked on.
    You wouldn’t mind so much enduring a little imposition now and again if you saw the letter of the law applied to everybody, but the lip service to the law paid by most of those in authority, be they the guards, or say the financial regulators that blithely ignore real offenders and harasses the law abiding public infuriates folks and only reconfirms the fact that the system is broken because the system is a lazy, bureaucratic mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭coldwood92

The guards don't give a damm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

but waht were we doing, nothin!!!!

So you were standing around on the street doing nothing?... hmmm i wonder why the guard stopped to talk you you lot...

i dont think i have ever seen a bunch of young lads standing on a footpath doing nothing and thought to myself "Hmm, they are doing nothing, that definitely doesn't look suspicious/dodgy"...

drdeadlift wrote: »
    you know what you sound like

A really cool dude? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I seen several gardai man-handling someone I had seen ejected from a bar for no good reason

Maybe they've started imposing the rules of grammar ?
    was told if I didn't **** off I would be arrested.

Maybe they'd seen your username ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I have to say he was very intimidating, did anyone else have any problems yesterday??

No, but last year a gaurd told me there'd be nitelinks and then there wasn't :mad: (just thought i'd hop on the bandwagon).
    Fuhrer wrote: »
    I saw too many young people around drinking, I wish the Guards had stopped and threatened more of you.

I noticed coca-cola stopped doing those gold and silver bottles they used to do around paddy's day, I liked to think they were cashing in on young'uns desire to drink stealthily on that particular day :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Hanging around eh? I hate when people do that, I don't see the appeal in it. When I'm in town I'm either waiting at a bus stop or walking from one street to another, there's no point in just hanging around, it's cold out.

I do find the Gardai to be rather useless though. The amount of times I've been assaulted only for them to do feck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

we got stobbed yesterday started asking questions and sh!t...paddys day everybodys drunk go arrest some rapists not teenagers having a bit of craic for god sakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

marko91 wrote: »
    we got stobbed yesterday started asking questions and sh!t...paddys day everybodys drunk go arrest some rapists not teenagers having a bit of craic for god sakes

Are you upset that they won't appoint you field marshal and give you pitchforks and burning tires?.

By the way, yesterday was thursday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

DubMedic wrote: »
    Are you upset that they won't appoint you field marshal and give you pitchforks and burning tires?.

By the way, yesterday was thursday.

yes we got stopped yesterday and i was on bout the teens on wensday...is it a crime to walk to the shops now is it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Stee wrote: »

Could somebody actually PM a link to this thread so his views with be expressed publicly and not just with one being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

yes we got stopped yesterday and i was on bout the teens on wensday...is it a crime to walk to the shops now is it:rolleyes:

I wouldn't know, I'm not a Gard :cool:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Counselling may help you get past this OP, but you may well be left a recovering "intimadatee".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

I lost my keys.

Class :D
    I wanna hear more about this poor guy's keys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I never have any problem with the guards.

I'm always decently dressed, and respectful and polite when I engage with them. That's what allows me to get away with blatantly illegal behaviour ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

^^^^^

Seán Fitzpatrick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

old_aussie wrote: »
    You should have told them(the guards) that there was free donuts down the road. They would have disappeared faster than a free beer at a piss-up

Thats the funniest thing I've ever read...EVER.

Pause not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

we got stobbed

p goes like this <<<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I think this thread has gone as far as it can go.

Case closed.