Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4x4 on the beach

• 17-03-2010 4:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭

Is there any good beaches in Ireland where you can take your 4x4 and go mad? I'd like to imagine a helicopter folowing me twisting and turning, spraying surf as I hoor up and down the beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 aravan2010

Wouldn't think it would be socially acceptable to go mad on them but Duncannon in Co. Wexford and Brandon Bay in Co Kerry seem to be ok about it.

I may very well get contradicted buy the locals though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

You can in Duncannon alright but if the weather is half decent the beach will be packed from the village end and it's the only way on.

As well as being slightly anti social, it's embarrasing if you end up in the local paper after getting stuck in a soft spot at low tide! Don't go alone and don't go too mad or you'll get us all banned ;)

Shame we don't have some very long beaches (and a warmer climate :rolleyes:), some beaches in Oz and NZ are the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Good point on getting stuck, you don't want to be that person! I very nearly was a few years ago in Louth, think it was Laytown. Went in at night trying to impress a young wan :o

80 mile beach in Western Australia would probably be ideal for ya so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

Inch and Rossbeigh beaches are good for driving on. Both are spits a couple of miles long. Although a large chunk of the Rossbeigh dunes have been washed away so it's now split in two!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Don't damage the dunes. Drive on the sand if you like but stay off the dunes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

I took my 4x4 onto an empty beach years ago and got pulled by the peelers. Wasn't doing anything mad. So, be warned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I saw a newish Shogun get stuck in soft sand in McGilligans point co Derry,
    The tide came in and took the whole car away before it could be pulled out.
    Beach driving is OK on firm wet sand, anything else and unless you know the beach like the back of your hand could be an expensive disaster more suitable for Destroyed in Seconds than your helicopter movie fantasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

CJhaughey wrote: »
    wet sand

is the other problem, as the wetness is salt water (aka rust accelerant :D)

the "road" (at low tide only) to Coney Island, Sligo

Sligo%20November%202007%20kipper%20059%20copy%20%5B640x480%5D.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Manys a yoke drove out and was towed back 8 hours later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

there is a place in galway from carraroe to omey island (spelling) on the wesport road. tis made for driving on and the island is even better. you should try that depending on the tied. guaranteed not to get bogged down or sink. ive trided it in a 2.8 pajero and not a bother. great craic!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Ive done a bit of beach driving before, great laugh. Only when the beach is deserted though. Otherwise its a bit dangerous alright & no doubt someone would call the gards.

If theres nobody around theres not much the law can say to you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

stoneill wrote: »
    Is there any good beaches in Ireland where you can take your 4x4 and go mad? I'd like to imagine a helicopter folowing me twisting and turning, spraying surf as I hoor up and down the beach.

Go to dollymount beach.there you can blend in with all the scumbags down there that like to joyride,wreck cars and ruin the beach for everyone else..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

paddy147 wrote: »
    Go to dollymount beach.there you can blend in with all the scumbags down there that like to joyride,wreck cars and ruin the beach for everyone else..

That's a bit uncalled for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

paddy147 wrote: »

that's very helpful... :rolleyes:

OP make sure you know how to drive on sand as it can catch you out very quickly, and if the tide comes in quickly it could be the end of your pride and joy. Letting down your tyres on soft sand and having an air compressor on hand to re-inflate them, have a shovel and sand ladders if your going playing on really soft sand would be some things to keep in mind.

Seen a D40 Navara stuck on a beach in East Cork last year and he was very lucky to get it out. Been stuck myself on another beach and luckily was with buddies who helped me get out. ;)

Good luck with your search, and play carefully. Remember the beaches are there for everyone to enjoy!

oh...and wear proper tyres! road tyres are brutal with sand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

Found these on YouTube... Turn down your speakers for the first one!!
    2nd one's nothing to do with Beaches but what the hell!