Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Ideal Dinner Guests?

• 16-03-2010 3:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

If you could throw and Dinner Party and invite anybody (alive or dead) who would you invite and why?

Mine
    Springsteen
    Billy Connolly
    Gerry Ryan
    Howard Stern
    Bono
    Bianca Love
    Oprah Winfrey
    Degsy

With these guests I'm guaranteed some craic, good laughs, a few rows and getting my leg over at the end of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

In before the Stephen Fry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Hitler
    Stalin
    Bush Jr.
    Hussein

Im planning world domination over my bacon and cabbage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭wireless101

teddy rooselvelt
    benjamin franklin
    winston churchill
    stalin
    hitler
    henry david thoreau
    william james
    william james sidis
    william shakespeare
    evander holyfield
    mike tyson
    tom waits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

OutlawPete wrote: »
    If you could throw and Dinner Party and invite anybody (alive or dead) who would you invite and why?

Mine
    Springsteen
    Billy Connolly
    Gerry Ryan
    Howard Stern
    Bono
    Bianca Love
    Oprah Winfrey
    Degsy

With these guests I'm guaranteed some craic, good laughs, a few rows and getting my leg over at the end of the night.

With the exception of Billy Connolly this is a list of people who will be first against the wall when the revolution comes for me, acctually scrap that in Billy's current state he may as well join the rest against the wall, sure we will always have his DVD's

Oh excluding degsy but only because i dont know who this is! (Although it is the name of my friedns dog, why would you invite my friends dog to dinner) :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Anyone who posted nasty comments in this thread and Jedward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Frada

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Stephen Fry, Marilyn Manson, Natalie Portman, Ralph Fiennes.

Probably more I can't think of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Kate Moss
    Ashley Olsen
    Karen Carpenter

The food is MINE :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Same lads id like to go for a pint with! Richard Harris, Oliver Reed, Christopher Hitchens. Might throw in Eric Cantona for some football nostalgia and poetic nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭wireless101

Agricola wrote: »
    Same lads id like to go for a pint with! Richard Harris, Oliver Reed, Christopher Hitchens. Might throw in Eric Cantona for some football nostalgia and poetic nonsense.

what does agricola mean? is it a latin verb or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

He's a cola farmer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Queen Elizabeth I
    George Bernard Shaw (Have to get a special Veggie dinner for him)
    My brother Daniel
    Eddie Izzard
    Gerard Butler (As my date)

I would then have James Corden brought out on a spit, we wouldn't eat him I just want him to disappear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Any number of the Victoria Secret angels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the members of supergroup Crystal Swing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Prince Philip
    Michael Collins
    David Attenborough
    Flight of the Choncords lads
    Elisha Cuthbert (for looking pretty)
    James May
    Steve McQueen
    Friedrich Nietzsche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Agricola wrote: »
    1. Richard Harris - Dead
    2. Oliver Reed - Dead
    3. Christopher Hitchens - Possibly not dead
    4. Eric Cantona - Brain dead

Just why?

Why do so many people want to have dinner with dead people?*

*Rhetorical question, don't bother answering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

the cast of eastenders and John McCrirrick. poison the shower of ****ers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Bill Bailey
    Dylan Moran
    Russell Howard
    Michael McIntyre.

That would be pretty sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Carl Sagan, Stephen Fry, Tim Minchin and some homeopathy/astrology twat. Should be entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Oh excluding degsy but only because i dont know who this is! (Although it is the name of my friedns dog, why would you invite my friends dog to dinner) :confused:

Before you execute my Dinner Party guests, this post may make things a little clearer :p

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64442364&postcount=10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Billy Connolly
    Bono
    liah wrote: »
    Stephen Fry.
    David Attenborough
    and my best friend..to "keep it real" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 El Futurismo

Prince Philip
    Michael Collins
    David Attenborough
    James May
    Steve McQueen
    Friedrich Nietzsche

I'll take these

David Attenborough

And add Carl Sagan, Bob Marley and Billy West (providing he talks like Zapp Brannigan for the entire night).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Swampy wrote: »
    Any number of the Victoria Secret angels.

0 being the most realistic! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Why do people always pick high-brow, narcissistic **** from Hollywood and History....who wants to hear Alfred Feinnes or whoever grunting on about how 'generous' his co-stars were.....or Ralphe Einstein banging on about splitting the atom..........zzzzzzzzzzzz

I want some proper hellraisers at mine, the menu will be dogfood and cocaine. All booze welcome.

I'd have:
    Lemmy
    Bon Scott
    Me
    The boyfriend
    Some tramps from under the bypass
    Some groupies/hookers who have yet to discover meth and lose thier looks
    Some angry hillbillies
    Some drunk travellers

It will be held on a tour bus.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

George Clooney for eye candy, Steve McQueen in case the former turns out to be really boring, Jim Morrison for the after party, Ricky Gervais for laughs and Hitler for someone we can all laugh at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

The usual really, a bunch of pretentious types who've led far more interesting lives than me so I can initally revel in their company then later regret that I have neither the talent nor ambition to be as successful as them.

I mean woo, yeah, some porn stars. That female porn director politician. And I'll serve olive oil and whipped cream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Humphrey Bogart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

mojesius wrote: »
    Hitler for someone we can all laugh at.

yeah I would say he was a laugh a minute, just make sure to keep him away from the gas hob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Richard Attenborough,
    David Attenborough,
    Richard Feynman,
    Albert Einstein,
    J. Robert Oppenheimer,
    Dylan Moran,
    Bill Bailey,
    Anne Hathaway,
    Catherine Jenkins.

A nice dinner had by all.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jobucks

Auvers wrote: »
    yeah I would say he was a laugh a minute, just make sure to keep him away from the gas hob

and the shower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

I'd like the Biker Mice from Mars, Splinter, Poochy, and two sock puppets on either of my hands.

A night to remember.

El Siglo wrote: »
    Richard Attenborough,
    David Attenborough,
    Richard Feynman,
    Albert Einstein,
    J. Robert Oppenheimer,
    Dylan Moran,
    Bill Bailey,
    Anne Hathaway,
    Catherine Jenkins.

A nice dinner had by all.:D

Except Anne Hathaway who'd be ridiculed for 'Bride Wars' by everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Fred West
    Rosemary West
    My ex

I'll be late so start without me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Except Anne Hathaway who'd be ridiculed for 'Bride Wars' by everyone else.

Oh she's only there for something nice to look at.;) Same goes for Catherine Jenkins, although she'd probably belt out a few tunes!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

John Terry
    Wayne Bridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I wanna have dinner with Gershwin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

oh, I nearly forgot Crystal Swing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Auvers wrote: »

I can just get Jim Morrison to smash his face in with a guitar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

My Folks
    The Edge
    Larry mullen Jr.
    David Attenborough
    Obama
    Padraig Harrington
    Michael O'Leary just for laughs, he can bring his own food
    Bill Bailey
    The Teutul Trio, very intelligent guys (shame its over)
    Pete Souza (white house photographer, amazing guy)
    Lord Alan Sugar
    Steve Jobs
    A randomly selected person from US coast guard Helicopter SAR

and a few lovely ladies to make things interesting :) one in particular ;)

alexlyons wrote: »

and a few lovely ladies to make things interesting :) one in particular ;)

:(

John Terry
    Wayne Bridge

Ohhh, I can feel the tension already :p

@landsleaving

don't appreciate that, I'd like you to delete it immediately.

Sorry sir...

appreciate you actually doing it, many wouldn't. no hard feelings

Can I add Landsleaving and AlexLyons to my list .. it'd be gas :p

sure can, date and time? every single one of your guests has to be there or I'm not coming :p

Deal :D

Can I sit beside Bono so I'll look taller?

appreciate you actually doing it, many wouldn't. no hard feelings

No problem, didn't mean to offend you.