Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bill Cullen

• 15-03-2010 7:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭

Funny - upon reading Bill Cullen's rant towards Michael O'Leary in a newpaper a few weeks back - I took it upon myself to post a message onto the ranting and raving section of boards.ie and call Bill C nothing more than a meeja W***e.

I don't think my post got past the moderators for some reason.

So it's a relief to me to see The Phoenix magazine have taken it upon themselves to totally obliterate Cullen's character themselves this week!

Leadership is right! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Linky?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

EKRIUQ wrote: »
    Linky?

No linky for you, Phoenix have decided to be annoying and have a completely subscription based website. But the article is called 'Bill Bullsh*t Cullen' and is basically an attack on him.

The article deals with his various business interests and how pretty much every single one is up the creek without a paddle.

In all honesty though, I believe that all his possible misdeeds and egomania can be forgiven when it is considered that it was he who bought Breffmania to the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

ya there are some classics in it

I actually burst out laughing to myself while reading it about 6 times - thats rare!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I always laugh when Bill goes along the lines "you wanna work for my organisation?"

Yeah Bill, the organisation that consists of cars, property and training? O did I forget about a hotel that's never turned a profit? I suppose you could class that property too.....

That being said I still respect the man but lets call a spade a spade in fairness....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭BennyBlanko

Bills chock fulla shyte.

Glad to read it's been highlighted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

Funny - upon reading Bill Cullen's rant towards Michael O'Leary in a newpaper a few weeks back
    It did Cullen no favours. O'Leary was right about Dublin airport etc. Cullen sits on the board of the DAA. O'Leary leads the world leading airline, having built it from humble beginnings out of Ireland. A remarkable success story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭janullrich

I must buy the Phoenix and read it. I don't like Bill Cullen at all and I think the Apprentice is worth looking at for its "cringe-factor" and nothing else. I shake my head seeing it. Mick O'Leary may be very voiceful in his comments but a lot of time he talks sense unlike Cullen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭tedshredsonfire

what is the trait we Irish seem to have in trying to knock people down? I listened to cullen on marian finucanes show in january and completely reversed what i thought of him. Listen to it first don't judge him by the apprentice.

Very few business's are flying today lads and the hoteliers that are in the game decades say its the hardest its ever been so give the lad a break ffs.
    Will ye be happier if it all goes tits up and we have more job losses? how many people do you guys provide a wage for every week? Answers on a postcard please or stop your whinging.

O' Leary is a class act but Ryanair would never be what it is today without the subsidy it got in the beginning. the same subsidies O' Leary cries about when he sees others getting it and calls it an unfair advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Mrannoyed

Ted,

Its not about the Irish knocking people down... Ill ask you one question, have you ever done work for one of Bill Cullens successful businesses?? No? Well if you did you would have such an upbeat tone. One of his businesses made money and that has basiacally carried his other "FAILING" businesses. His hotel owes local businesses and businesses around Ireland a small fortune. Most suppliers wont deal with them anymore because of non payment.. Do you realise how bloody annoying it is to see him on TV telling people how to run a successful business when you know his business cant pay its bills???? VERY annoying....

Look I know in a large corporation the top dog doesnt always know what his staff do or dont do, pay or dont pay but my experience comes from dealing with him and his giant ego and his educated girlfriend basically thinking they can push people around because they are on TV, if you guys only knew the half of it you would be shocked...

Bill and Jackie are not good business people, Michael O Leary is, totally different ball game..........

Jackie Lavin is notably educated - news to me ! - care to elaborate!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭tedshredsonfire

Mr A, point taken. I hadn't realised he was stinging people which wasn't mentioned in any of the above posts. I have to say I would find that very hard to take if it was my business he owed money to and then saw him on the telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Bills not even looking for apprentices any more judging by his last Apprentice show. All he wanted was a fully formed car salesman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Mr A, point taken. I hadn't realised he was stinging people which wasn't mentioned in any of the above posts. I have to say I would find that very hard to take if it was my business he owed money to and then saw him on the telly.

That's the beauty of boards....by the people for the people!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 julies boy

the aprentace show should have being called the waffling s### show.
    saying that iit was entertaining (certanaly not edicaniatal )and all he got in the end "a sales man for 100k "dose anyone know if he is still their and what he is doing (a car sales rep?????)lol
    most of them came with their own company (market stalls would have being to good for)or corprite experance(6 months in a call center just as good)i watched it and was thinking i must give him a call 100k for them i could get 250k at least.lol:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Good show but v poor candidates, i think a company car is part of that 100k salary too so not that great really

how many sponsors did show have?

42 listed here:

http://tv3.ie/sponsors.php?locID=1.65.131&pagename=theapprentice

So they all throw in 2 or 3k each and thats the 100k covered anyway!!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

how many sponsors did show have?

42 listed here:

http://tv3.ie/sponsors.php?locID=1.65.131&pagename=theapprentice

So they all throw in 2 or 3k each and thats the 100k covered anyway!!!! :rolleyes:

I read somewhere, Sunday Business Post I think that it's between 70,000-100,000 to be the main sponsor of each show, Cullen doesn't have to stump up the money as the sponsorship pays for the winners wages. So he can't really complain about the candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Bill Cullen is a media whore who loves to force his opinions down peoples throats, he comes across a salt of the earth taxi-man type wearing a Louis Copeland tailored suit and Gucci loafers.

I was watching him on The Frontline a while ago, typically on his soapbox, telling unemployed graduates that they are a lazy shower of moaners and that they have it easy compared to his generation. He then went on to explain how he had to get up at 4am every morning to work when he was 14 and he didn't even have any shoes. He really would bring a tear to a glass eye :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

julies boy wrote: »
    the aprentace show should have being called the waffling s### show.
    saying that iit was entertaining (certanaly not edicaniatal )and all he got in the end "a sales man for 100k "dose anyone know if he is still their and what he is doing (a car sales rep?????)lol
    most of them came with their own company (market stalls would have being to good for)or corprite experance(6 months in a call center just as good)i watched it and was thinking i must give him a call 100k for them i could get 250k at least.lol:D:D

I hope Bill doesn't read your post!:eek: Jaysus, he'll go mental!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Raekwon wrote: »
    I was watching him on The Frontline a while ago, typically on his soapbox, telling unemployed graduates that they are a lazy shower of moaners and that they have it easy compared to his generation. He then went on to explain how he had to get up at 4am every morning to work when he was 14 and he didn't even have any shoes. He really would bring a tear to a glass eye :rolleyes:

O but they do have it easy... and yes.... that particular audience were a shower of moany bastards.....

Firstly apologies, my statement was supposed to say Jackie Lavin is ILL educated not educated, god what a mistake!!! The thing that annoys me the most about the pair is they think they are All that and that everyone should bow down in front of them. Nobody stands up to them and they treat their staff like S h i t e... They hire experts to do things and then make there on decisions on the situation even if its to do with engineering or something that one needs a qualification for, all because they think they are awesome cause everyone tells them they are...

There are only a handfull of people who should be presenting the apprentice, usually they are successful, very rich and own very large companies. Michael O Leary is one, he'd be hilarious as the judge.. Who else fits the Bill cause The Bill doesnt as hes not successful, not loaded and doesnt own a huge company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Dazzler88

Micheal O'Leary is a great businessman but would be to headstrung for the Apprentice and he has an awful vocabulary,it would mean it would have to be shown after mignight,at the rate he swears.
    He probably wouldnt have the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 adrianfl1

can you give more details about yours and others experiences with dealing with Bill Cullen's businesess?Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Penisland

Mrannoyed wrote: »
    Firstly apologies, my statement was supposed to say Jackie Lavin is ILL educated not educated, god what a mistake!!! The thing that annoys me the most about the pair is they think they are All that and that everyone should bow down in front of them. Nobody stands up to them and they treat their staff like S h i t e... They hire experts to do things and then make there on decisions on the situation even if its to do with engineering or something that one needs a qualification for, all because they think they are awesome cause everyone tells them they are...

There are only a handfull of people who should be presenting the apprentice, usually they are successful, very rich and own very large companies. Michael O Leary is one, he'd be hilarious as the judge.. Who else fits the Bill cause The Bill doesnt as hes not successful, not loaded and doesnt own a huge company.

You're fired! Now f*ck off! :P

stepbar wrote: »
    O but they do have it easy... and yes.... that particular audience were a shower of moany bastards.....

I'd agree that some are total slackers. They don't have a great work ethic, they aren't pro-active enough and generally have no hobbies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 chowdown

Bill Cullen just spouts easy answers. If you listen to him, what he says is just empty nonsense.

"Work harder, apply for more jobs - they're out there, get up at 4am, I was born into a poor family." It's just crap.

If he really was that successful he wouldn't need to whore himself around TV studios picking up bits of media work here and there.

If I could Id tell ye the real dirt but both me and good old boards would get into trouble so I cant go into details. But he is not what he is made out to be on the TV series. He doesnt (from my knowledge) own the Continental GT on the start of the show which is sad that they's show a borrowed car, he isnt as wealthy as made out and he isnt as shrude as made out.. He's made out to be a small god but he really isnt. Himself and Jackie treat anyone not in a position of power like dirt and they put people down and insult people in front of others to make themselves look good. Its pathetic. I wouldnt work for them for a 100k, believe you me its not worth it...

Sorry adrianF1 I cant give details.. I dont like the man but I cant say things in a public forum that could get us into trouble, free speech, ya right!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 adrianfl1

Thanks anyway. I'm just fascinated by entrepreneurs like him who have a public perception of -a rags to riches legend and then finding out that its all a ruse/lie .But even after being exposed(i.e proof from articles that he has been recently posting losses of 14 million etc.) people still want to cling onto a myth about him..You can still email me if you want on brianpeters42@hotmail.com.Ta