Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should Brian Cody be sacked?

• 14-03-2010 10:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭

I know it's early in the season but back to back defeats is hardly a good way to start the season albeit it's the league. That said KK take the league seriously. Is is possible that players have grown tired of Cody's management and a fresh pair of eyes is needed? His tinkering may point to signs of discomfort with his methods in the camp.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,969 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Are you just back from the pub? Seriously??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

That's fantastic, your brain obviously needs a lobotomy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

+ 1 with the last two posters :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 zillion

Hahaha, a joke I'd imagine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

100% agreed. His record over the past 4 years is a disgrace tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

You from Tipp by any chance OP?:pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

First round exit in the walsh cup and couldn't win the shield either...cody out!!:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Yes he should get sack and so should all the 30 man panel on the team.

Give the rest of us a chance anyway:D

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Are you just back from the pub? Seriously??

jesus im a tipp man and even i am appalled at what OP is saying, i dunno, was he even in the local hemporium with that sort of outrageous talk?! behave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭twitch1984

I know it's early in the season but back to back defeats is hardly a good way to start the season albeit it's the league. That said KK take the league seriously. Is is possible that players have grown tired of Cody's management and a fresh pair of eyes is needed? His tinkering may point to signs of discomfort with his methods in the camp.

Can I have some of what your on:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Thanks for giving me a laugh! He is on a par with Alex ferguson, untouchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

That Cody fella is pure useless altogether. Sack him, you will never win anything with him in charge:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

I suggest that Cody be sacked and the Cats disband never to hurl again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Great thread, I needed a good laugh :D I never realised two league defeats outweighs an unbeaten run in the Championship stretching back to 2005!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

What a statement!

Sack Cody, sell King Henry.

Personally, I thought he should've walked after the abuse he gave poor Marty after the AI final last year and this has now been compounded with his bullying of Liam Sheedy in Semple last week :rolleyes:

This has to be contender for "Thread of the Year" and we're only in March!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Teddy Chips

dcr22B wrote: »
    Personally, I thought he should've walked after the abuse he gave poor Marty after the AI final last year
    I am glad you raised this point because I think it's important. Cody has been damaged psychologically by this which takes some going for a man of such mental reserve. A lot of hurling fans lost a lot of respect for the man after that needless outburst. Morrissey is hardly an interrogating heavyweight and Cody acted like a cranky baby. The psychological overhang from this has seeped in to this years squad and players are now unsure of Cody's mental capacity for ruthlessness.
    I know a lot of people have laughed off my question but the whisperings have already started and they will continue to grow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

ha ha brilliant always said he was a fluke anyway :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

I personally thought Kidney should have gone after the French debacle and Fergie after Everton beat them the other week.

I am glad you raised this point because I think it's important. Cody has been damaged psychologically by this which takes some going for a man of such mental reserve. A lot of hurling fans lost a lot of respect for the man after that needless outburst. Morrissey is hardly an interrogating heavyweight and Cody acted like a cranky baby. The psychological overhang from this has seeped in to this years squad and players are now unsure of Cody's mental capacity for ruthlessness.
    I know a lot of people have laughed off my question but the whisperings have already started and they will continue to grow.

Brian stop taking the piss now, trying to unsettle other teams by making up audacious speculation about yourself on an internet forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

Lay off the glue

I am glad you raised this point because I think it's important.
    Eh, obviously I was taking the p1ss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Totally disagree with o.p. Hope Cody stays and gets 5 in a row. (Im a Dub)

However in the o.p second post here they may have a point, has Cody's armour been damaged last autumn again I didnt like Marty's line after the final it was a bit insulting imo, could Cody be feeling the pressure.

Heard 2 stories about his kindness and 2 of his players during the winter which would do your heart good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Not sure why any neutral would want KK to win another All-Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

Orizio wrote: »

Perhaps due to the 5 in a row never been done previously i would imagine.would like to see them do it myself.limerick have to be the clear favourites at this moment in time though.rolleyes.gif

If they did do the 5 in a row I hope to god some team puts a stop to them after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Orizio wrote: »

Look at what they and Cork, Waterford and Tipp have brought to Hurling over the last 10years. Magnificint stuff. To be top of that pile so often is some feat and I really would like to see them do 5 in a row.

Its as close to history as we get without going into Collins Barracks;)

B.T.W I dont think Tipp will be the team to stop K.K but Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

He should take over the footballers imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

WOW- Just wow.

Whisperings will continue to grow?

The only whisperings are the ones you are whispering to yourself. And you and your whisperings would want to wake up. The most sucessfull manager in the history of the game has to go for a league defeat?

Are you insane? This thread must have been started by Cody himself to get some reassurance.

Doesnt everyone say your only as good as your last game.with this in mind cody has to go.even if they do win 5 in a row everybody will be talking about losing 2 league matches back to back in 2010 around 2083.

for shame cody.please go now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

What i'd like to know is why the mods haven't closed this thread yet, its clearly trolling.

grenache wrote: »
    What i'd like to know is why the mods haven't closed this thread yet, its clearly trolling.
    I think it's being kept open out of interest to see how far it can go ;)

Trolling my....kilkenny are in serious danger and with tough tests against the likes of the new and improved limerick to come yet they are in serious danger of getting relegated to division 2 where they could struggle.look at the score the kerry hurlers (who should get promoted to divison 2)put up yesterday.3-30!!!!!!!!

3-30.when was the last time kilkenny even came close to putting up a score like that in a meaningful game i ask you.

the buck stops with cody on this one im afraid.a terrible shame.all those all irelands since 1999 count for nothing this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Outburst :pac:

And what do you think Marty?
    Did you think it was a penalty :D

Brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Teddy Chips

WOW- Just wow.

Whisperings will continue to grow?

The only whisperings are the ones you are whispering to yourself. And you and your whisperings would want to wake up. The most sucessfull manager in the history of the game has to go for a league defeat?

Are you insane? This thread must have been started by Cody himself to get some reassurance.
    The hyperbole does nothing for your post. What do you wish? That all opinions be equal and that we all bow down and lick the boots of Cody? That we never say a bad word about him or heaven forbid have a difference of opinion from the sheep? I'm telling you that I have heard from a few mates in Kilkenny that not all is well in the camp and the common denominator is Brian Cody.

I'm telling you that I have heard from a few mates in Kilkenny that not all is well in the camp and the common denominator is Brian Cody.
    I believe you, no seriously if your mates in Kilkenny say it's true then it must be.
    You heard it here first people, this thread will be ressurrected in 2020 when the great man is sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Creative writing thread is this way

A few points...*puts on mod hat*

I've been out all day so I've only been able to catch up with the thread now. Regardless of how you may feel about Teddys opinion, we can't just close a thread because nobody agrees with what the OP is saying. It just doesn't work that way.

Teddy, I'll remind you that we take a zero tolerance policy here when it comes to unfabricated rumours regarding GAA players, managers or officials. We have lots of people here who think they're "in the know" but most of the time just end up spreading wild lies about individuals without any source to back it up. I'll remind you to think about what you post before you do so, and if you've any problems with that bring it up with me via PM and not in the thread itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Daysha wrote: »
    A few points...*puts on mod hat*

I've been out all day so I've only been able to catch up with the thread now. Regardless of how you may feel about Teddys opinion, we can't just close a thread because nobody agrees with what the OP is saying. It just doesn't work that way.

Teddy, I'll remind you that we take a zero tolerance policy here when it comes to unfabricated rumours regarding GAA players, managers or officials. We have lots of people here who think they're "in the know" but most of the time just end up spreading wild lies about individuals without any source to back it up. I'll remind you to think about what you post before you do so, and if you've any problems with that bring it up with me via PM and not in the thread itself.
    Daysha, with all due respect, the guy is a troll, threads of this nature are normally and rightly locked in other forums. Its not even that he's talking rubbish, he's just posted a silly and rather pointless thread relating to Brian Cody's position as Kilkenny manager. I fail to see the point of this thread. OP is nothing more than a WUM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

this thread is hilarious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Daysha, with all due respect, the guy is a troll, threads of this nature are normally and rightly locked in other forums. Its not even that he's talking rubbish, he's just posted a silly and rather pointless thread relating to Brian Cody's position as Kilkenny manager. I fail to see the point of this thread. OP is nothing more than a WUM.

No,I'd tend to back my fellow mod and let it be open.After all,Ted's opinion is valid on this forum just as much as yours or mine whether we agree or not.

The modding of this forum is fair and flexible.Lets see how the thread unfolds before we make a decision.

Mod hat off: As for this thread and its notion.....hahahahahahaha.:D

I knw Cody goes out to win every game but once he gets the Ballyhale Shamrocks contingent back,Kilkenny will be back to their old selves.

blackbelt wrote: »
    I know Cody goes out to win every game but once he gets the Ballyhale Shamrocks contingent back,Kilkenny will be back to their old selves.
    I hope the Ballyhale contingent makes themselves unavailable for their trip to the Nell on Sunday.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

They won't be back by Sunday anyway and probably wont be back for the week after either as Cody usually gives them a bit of time off after the club championship ends. I would say Easter weekend in limerick will be the ealriest we will see them.

However we should start to see more of the likes of Brennan, Comerford, Larkin etc as the league progresses

Grenache if you have a problem with a post, you know where the report button is. Calling someone a troll and a wum in the thread helps nobody, least of all yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Players win all irelands not mangers How many titles did mick o dwyer win after leaving kerry-none
    The marty incident and then cody coming out with his book has annoyed alot of people not least the kilkenny players.His days are numbered

Right...why would players be annoyed about the book, there was nothing in it!!
    The only people annoyed by it were those who paid there hard earned cash for it, or detractors who had hoped he would say something controversial....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

the book basically said kilkenny would have won nothing without me and if the rest of you want to win all irelands read my book and you will find out how its done

no it didn't. Thats just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

I´m with the Mods ... if yer man wants to me an eejit of himself let him off.

& as for sacking Cody .... we´ll swap ye .. ye can have Davy & we´ll take Cody

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Players win all irelands not mangers How many titles did mick o dwyer win after leaving kerry-none

Some of the opinions on this thread are as bad as your punctuation,
    BENDYBINN wrote: »
    His days are numbered

It's not April 1st yet is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

This is what is wrong with modern sport.. lose a match or two, blame the manager. Why not blame the players who actually lost the game? Back to back defeats in any sport should not mean get rid of a manager. It should mean the management sit down re-evaluate and strategise.

Winning takes preparation, preparation takes TIME.