Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Everything Mothers' Day here

• 14-03-2010 2:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

Just thought I 'd say:

Happy Mother's Day to all the AH regulars who are Mammies o/

Hope you all get breakie in bed :D

Are you doing anything special for the day?

Tough time for people who's Mam's are not around but for the rest of you, what did you splash out on??

I got the Mam the usual card that has things written inside, no irish man would dare say and tickets to see Tommy Tiernan.

Share past Mother's Day stories too, sure why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

It's also another day but we'll leave that out :D

Card, newbridge tea set (she likes that stuff), box of Roses and flowers. Happy Mammies Day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Ehhh shit.

I've got a memory like a fcuking sieve.

I smell a box of chocolates and a card coming on.

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Ehhh shit.

I've got a memory like a fcuking sieve.

I smell a box of chocolates and a card coming on.

24 hour Tescos save your life, run, run!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

It's days like these I wish I was a mother. I'm gagging for a few Roses. :(

IvySlayer wrote: »
    24 hour Tescos save your life, run, run!

That is exactly where I plan on going soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

That is exactly where I plan on going soon enough.

Whenever I go into the one in Dundrum at night for just a few items, I ended up coming out with fcuking DVD players all sorts.

It's eerie been in a place that big and no one there shopping only serial killers buying buckets.

I seen a guy one night buying a hacksaw and and a mop :eek:

Happy Mother's Day! o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Happy Mammys day to my 2 mammys :)

OutlawPete wrote: »

Lol wtf!
    You don't happen to sell any bags of lime here do you? I also need a shovel.

Whenever I go into the one in Dundrum at night for just a few items, I ended up coming out with fcuking DVD players all sorts.

It's eerie been in a place that big and no one there shopping only serial killers buying buckets.

Happy Mother's Day! o/

That's pefectly normal. I bought Die Hard 4 for 3 euro. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Kiera wrote: »
    Tehe you has to buy 2 pressies now :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Kiera wrote: »

twice as nice fair play to havin 2 mammies... (not even gonna try to figure that out)..

Let's all go out now, mad AH shopping session for the craic :p

Ughh Die Hard 4. You got ripped off.

It was a great film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

*sets reminder on phone to send text to mammy in the morning before the other siblings*

It's all about who gets there 1st these days, guys! :p

Duggy747 wrote: »
    *sets reminder on phone to send text to mammy in the morning before the other siblings*

No way, huggles are the only way to win.

It was a great film.

Agree to disagree I suppose. I thought it was bloody awful.
    The whole plot was fairly stupid.
    Plus McClane doesn't need a sidekick, certainly not one who isn't a badass like Sam Jackson.

Lol wtf!
    You don't happen to sell any bags of lime here do you? I also need a shovel.

It's right beside the mountains too.

As he drove off I was tempted to run after the car and knock on the boot and say: "Is there anyone in there??"

Then it hit me, sure she'd be gagged so I went back inside and bought some Marshmellows, Hit's Of 1988 CD and Hannah Montana blow up doll, they have everything in that place :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Would absolutely love to be at home so I could make my mammy brekkie in bed.

Sent her a card and a pressie tho, so will have to make do with that. :(
    My mammy rocks!

G'Won The Mammies Wooooo.

That is all. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I tried to make my Mammy a cake when I was around 7 or 8.

I got up at like 7 o'clock and went to the kitchen and got a 5litre mayonnaise bucket(yano the Hellmans ones) and half-filled it with cold water, put in rice, flour, uncracked eggs, milk, orange juice, 2 whole oranges, an apple and a Yorkie.:D

baz2009 wrote: »
    I tried to make my Mammy a cake when I was around 7 or 8.

I got up at like 7 o'clock and went to the kitchen and got a 5litre mayonnaise bucket(yano the Hellmans ones) and half-filled it with cold water, put in rice, flour, uncracked eggs, milk, orange juice, 2 whole oranges, an apple and a Yorkie.:D

Don't think you needed that Yorkie.

Sorted.

Box of Dairy Milk and a card.

€7.50 for a box of chocolates, feckin rip off.

Sorted.

Box of Dairy Milk and a card.

€7.50 for a box of chocolates, feckin rip off.

I thought you were messin' .. the thread really reminded you of Mother's Day :D

No, no, I really am that forgetful.

Nice one for the thread Pete, I'd be lost without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Balls forgot the card!
    Will have to run down tomorrow (later today)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

Wats a good last minute present to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Yankee candles if ya can afford them. Got two for my mom yesterday after the rugby. She is happy out now

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Dick in a box.

Dude, that's sick. Even for this time.

I'd say a box of chocs and a card. At least it's possible to get that stuff locally.
    Or some flowers, women generally really like flowers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

Mc Love wrote: »
    Yankee candles if ya can afford them. Got two for my mom yesterday after the rugby. She is happy out now

Ah candles thats a great idea! cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭ElBarco

Ah Mothers Day morning - garages everywhere selling overpriced cards and manky flowers by the truck. I've done it enough times myself

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I didn't even know it was mothers' day.

I did know it was Steak and Blowjob day though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

I did know it was Steak and Blowjob day though.

Oh yeah baby. Every time I was reminded it was Mother's day on 14th I just kept telling people it was Steak & Bj Day.

Must be a few extra people goolging it today to prove to the oh's :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Steak and BJ day was sooooo yesterday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

No today actually

It's everyday for me. Y'know, being female and vegetarian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Chocs or flowers?

Boring I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

It's everyday for me. Y'know, being female and vegetarian.

And single?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

stovelid wrote: »
    Chocs or flowers?

Boring I know.

Flowers. they won't make her feel like a fatty fatty bum bum.

And single?

You know me so well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Damien1989

From Centra's Facebook Page:

Happy Mother's Day, mothers. And if you're ooking for a last minute treat for your mothers, we've got Lilly O'Brien's Dessert Collection at half price and others last minute treats. And in honour of mothers everywhere, Kate Bush's wonderful. Mother stands for Comfort http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOCI446c2JE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

What do you Or did you call your mother?

I'm a mam man myself.

Mum was always a posh boy's call around our neighbourhood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Great. Do you work for Centra? Do you know there are 1,000,000,000 threads on this already today? Is your mother a big ride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

WindSock wrote: »
    Is your mother a big ride?

Confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

boards.ie, todays sponsors, centra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

mum, and i didn't buy her a present from centra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭UnderpantsGnome

That's a great question. I call my mom "Judy". She doesn't respond though because her name is Valerie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Mum or Mom, NEVER Mam, i think it sounds very country! Dont mean that as an insult

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm a northsider, from Ballymun - its 'Ma', although when I was a child it was Maaaaaaaa" but I'm posh now.