Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I propose a boycott of Cola Coca

• 14-03-2010 1:47am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Not naming the brand of course but I propose a boycott of Cola Coca. Simply because of the price reductions in recent months. In my local shop last month it was 2.70 for a 2L bottle! (no thanks, not that thirsty)....now it's 2 2l bottles for €2. Also on cans and small bottles the price has come down so much. So it begs the question how much were they actually making from the stupid Irish during the boom considering they can drop their prices so much and so fast? We were all ripped off. Especially us Cola Coca addicts. I feel bad, I feel angry and upset so I propose a boycott of Cola Coca.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

what the f*ck...
    your complaining about cost reductions?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

What do you mean you're not naming the brand????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

If you're an addict, how are you going to wean yourself off the habit????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

A company put a price on its product to make a profit. We paid that money happily, I paid it happily. They realise money is a bit tighter so they reduced their prices. Sensible business. Supply and demand.

Why were you so happy to spend a certain amount of money on Coca Cola in the past?

Edit: Why change the brand name?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

No way am i turning to Pepsi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Making It Bad

Irish people will complain about anything and this just about proves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Coca cola is foul sh*te, been 'boycotting' it already, except on the rare occasions where my rum needs a bit of colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

You Sir, need to get out more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

When there is nothing left to say...
    this thread comes out to play....

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

darkman2 wrote: »
    Not naming the brand of course but I propose a boycott of Cola Coke. Simply because of the price reductions in recent months. In my local shop last month it was 2.70 for a 2L bottle! (no thanks, not that thirsty)....now it's 2 2l bottles for €2. Also on cans and small bottles the price has come down so much. So it begs the question how much were they actually making from the stupid Irish during the boom considering they can drop their prices so much and so fast? We were all ripped off. Especially us Cola Coke addicts. I feel bad, I feel angry and upset so I propose a boycott of Cola Coke.:mad:

You do realise its Coca Cola and not Cola Coke, don't you?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Prices are too high, now they're too low. FFS some people make me so angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Irish people will complain about anything and this just about proves it.

Including the Irish themselves!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

dannym08 wrote: »

I do now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

This protest is going to make a huge difference and I,for one,am going to stop using cocaine for one day.Viva La Katie French.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Thread title wins op :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Obviously, you are taking the Pepsi.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

K-9 wrote: »
    Obviously, you are taking the Pepsi.

Pepsi Coke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cullen5998

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: who cares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭preilly79

... So it begs the question how much were they actually making from the stupid Irish during the boom...
    more than they are now.

even at these prices, you don't actually believe there's even close to €2 of ingredients in it, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Seems weird that you can name a product like Coca Cola but then can't mention a shop like Spar (educated guess).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

I dont drink the piss so work away :eek:

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Seems weird that you can name a product like Coca Cola

I did not name that brand. Im talking about Cola Coca - don't know what ditch water you are talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I did not name that brand. Im talking about Cola Coca - don't know what ditch water you are talking about.

Lol. Sorry, I must have misread the thread title... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Pepsi Coke?

No, Cepsi Poke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Go ahead, Coke is manky anyway. Coca-Cola also invented Santa Claus!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Ah, the old Coca-Cola protests.

The amount of times I've had people telling me to boycott Coca-Cola only to watch them drink a bottle of Deep Riverrock or Fanta!
    Ruu wrote:
    Coca-Cola invented Santa Claus!

Yea, originally he was German and blue! :D

Let's not bring race into this. Cola Coca is a blackish colour of a type of sh*t commonly found after a night out amongst Guinness drinkers - don't ask me how I know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I've heard of many reasons to boycott Coca Cola, from human rights abuses to the additives they use in their products. This is the first time however I've ever heard of a boycott being organised against a product for lowering their price. The mind boggles sometimes.

AH gets increasingly stupid by the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

What a stupid ****ing thread. Get a life, OP. Have you nothing better to worry about?

Magenta wrote: »
    What a stupid ****ing thread. Get a life, OP. Have you nothing better to worry about?

No. This is an important issue. Like Suez or the North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I remember hearing that the paper cups cost more than the drink. It would be great if they set up dispensers in shops and you could bring your own containers and be charged by the litre. I would cut out most of the expensive stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭Greyfox

No, what you have done is opened the most pointless thread ever! You need to realise that theirs this thing at the bottom of your stairs called a door, and if you go out that door you'll find 200 million more interesting things out their then the price of a popular soft drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Products have been having price reductions for years. Have you seriously never noticed til now? Have you never bought a jumper or a pair of shoes in a sale before? Same thing- they were all more expensive at one point but are now cheaper.
    I bet the shop you saw the Coke in had plenty of stock at reduced prices, but no, let's piss and moan about Coke, it's the trendy company to piss and moan about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It really gets my rag that we pay the same for diet coke even though they take the sugar out - the only decent ingredient added to water that is worth paying for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

excuse me am i seeing correctly?
    you're actually complaining about a price reduction?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭BrokenHeels_Ox

Ruu wrote: »
    Go ahead, Coke is manky anyway. Coca-Cola also invented Santa Claus!:eek:

correction, they did not invent him, they re-invented him, he was originally green, not red!
    Duggy747 wrote: »

Yea, originally he was German and blue! :D

Or ya know, blue, whatever :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Didnt we have this before ?
    Mike 1972 wrote: »
    You know there are many good reasons for boycotting coca cola and have been for many years decades.

But since they involve things which happen to dark skinned foreign types in faraway countries nobody in Ireland really gives a toss until something happens at home.

Then people start squealing "why arent you boycotting coca cola ? where is your solidarity ?" :rolleyes:

dannym08 wrote: »

Damn I thought this thread was about some product out of one of those head shop places.
    Jimmyboss wrote: »
    If you're an addict, how are you going to wean yourself off the habit????
    Substitution with headshop products ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

think i'm gonna buy more coke but boycott lucozade, my shop only reduced the price of that, and stopped selling pepsi altogether, sod it, gonna boycott the shop totally

:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭UnderpantsGnome

Step 1: Lower prices

Step 2: ???

Step 3: Profit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

The price of petrol at my local garage changes every few days. Same with my heating oil company.

Im never going to leave my freezing house again damnit.

Isn't this the shop doing promotions? And nice thread title. And nice logic boycotting a product you like when it gets cheaper.

Link to your newsletter OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

A 2l of Coca Cola is around 1.78 when not on promotion.

Cadet is where its at anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Successful troll is successful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Not naming the brand of course but I propose a boycott of Cola Coca. Simply because of the price reductions in recent months. In my local shop last month it was 2.70 for a 2L bottle! (no thanks, not that thirsty)....now it's 2 2l bottles for €2. Also on cans and small bottles the price has come down so much. So it begs the question how much were they actually making from the stupid Irish during the boom considering they can drop their prices so much and so fast? We were all ripped off. Especially us Cola Coca addicts. I feel bad, I feel angry and upset so I propose a boycott of Cola Coca.:mad:

Last time out we had a Coca-Cola boycott as a result of the murder of trade union activists in Colombia. Excellent idea again, if only to enrage this grade A feckin' eejit once more.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

/Ignores complaining in OP

Guys, 2x2L Coca Cola in Dunnes for €3, I stocked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Not naming the brand of course but I propose a boycott of Cola Coca. Simply because of the price reductions in recent months.

It is quite astounding the price cuts over the last 12-18 months alright - main dealer car servicing being a prime example.. hotel room rates , green fees for golf etc. etc.. It's quite scary to think what kind of profits they were making in the "good times".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

And here was i suspecting something about columbians....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

I'm shaking with rage.... arrrrrh.....how dare them ba^#*rds reduce their prices.... don't they know there's a recession on........oh wait?, is that not what we want - lower prices!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I refer you to my earlier post.

Point proven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

The 2x 2L for €2 is a promotion. It won't last forever. That said the 2x Twix/Mars/Snickers for €1 has been going for a year at this stage :D

The downside of some of these price reductions for some small retailers is the grief we are getting from more and more customers. Its such and such a price in the other shop.....Yeah thats a promotion in that shop, the 'real' price hasn't come down and the distributors haven't delivered us our promotional stock just yet. I can't give you the promotional price when I am still using the stock I paid full price for....

I also sometimes wonder why we didn't join the overpriced feckers in the good times. Got no extra credit or business from customers because our prices were lower, because in the good times people couldn't be arsed boycotting the price gougers. Save 10c on this bar, that bar, litre of milk. Nah couldn't be arsed giving the business to calibos and walk the extra 3 minutes to his shop for the sake of 30c.

But now in the bad times we have people moaning that we haven't dropped our prices across the board like a lot of other places. Hello!! The gougers are dropping their prices closer to the price level we always had even during the boomtimes. We don't have to drop them because we are already at and always were at the lower prices.

Kinda had that with a tenent in the flat above too. They wanted a rent reduction because hey, everyone is getting rent reductions. Just because the tenant of a similar flat elsewhere got his rent reduced by 200 from 1100 to 900 doesn't mean you get yours reduced by 200 from 900 to 700. I'm not the bad guy here for not reduing your rent, I am the good guy for never charging you 1100 for the last god knows how many years in the first place!!

ie. getting no credit where its due and getting grief where its not due. I sometimes think that being fair and nice gets you nowhere. Should of gouged the lot of ye while I had the chance and at least then I'd be richer and the grief I am getting regardless would be deserved!! :D