Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Building up speed

• 13-03-2010 10:22pm
    Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭

Hey,hope ye can help...I tore my cruciet last year and just getting back to football and hurling...ive lost alot of speed so just wondering whats the best way to get quicker? Thanks

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Doing sprints on a football pitch worked well for me.

I would jog around the pitch a few times to warm up, and then sprint across the tops and bottoms of the pitch, while jogging up the sides of it (this doesn't really make any sense written down).

What I mean is start at the bottom of the pitch, jog up the long side, then sprint really fast across the top of the pitch, jog then the opposite long side, sprint really fast across the bottom of the pitch, and repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Provided you've done all your rehab/strenght and conditioning, then try downhill sprints to help increase your speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭mrDerek

would sprinting uphill be beneficial to gaining speed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    Provided you've done all your rehab/strenght and conditioning, then try downhill sprints to help increase your speed

I'd be carefull with that especially if coming back from injury and even if as you mention all rehab has been done. The mechanics of running downhill will be different to normal running. There will be a lot more breaking and it'll be very hard on the knees. Uphill running will someway simulate the acceleration phase of a run so thats grand but downhill is different, in my opinion.

would sprinting uphill be beneficial to gaining speed?

No, it won't make you faster.
    I'd be carefull with that especially if coming back from injury and even if as you mention all rehab has been done. The mechanics of running downhill will be different to normal running. There will be a lot more breaking and it'll be very hard on the knees. Uphill running will someway simulate the acceleration phase of a run so thats grand but downhill is different, in my opinion.

Well, if the OP HAS done the rehab etc, then he IS in a position to start working on getting his speed back. BTW, I'm not suggesting he tries this down sand dunes:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

David out of curiosity, why would downhill sprints make you faster? And uphill not?

Or were you being funny?

David out of curiosity, why would downhill sprints make you faster? And uphill not?

David?? even my Mum doesn't call me that....well at least when I'm not in the doghouse:). Running downhill forces you to utilise a longer stride which if you constantly work you will get in the habit of using the longer stride when you sprint. How would uphill make you faster? It will certainly work stamina and endurance but will not help you to go faster as you have to use a SHORTER stride going uphill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I'm not taking the piss but are you sure you have that the right way round?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

I'd say the OP is looking for acceleration speed? if that is what is required would uphill sprints not be better???

Running downhill forces you to utilise a longer stride which if you constantly work you will get in the habit of using the longer stride when you sprint.
    So you mean overstriding which will result in very poor mechanics and loss of force each time you hit the ground. There will be very large breaking forces on each foot contact. You will be wasting huge energy trying to stabilise your body as you are 'running away' from yourself. Your hips will be sinking as your hips will be way behind the foot strike. Your thighs will be behind hips so again you'll lose force. All in all, any perceived increase in speed you might get will be offset from the more critical factor of running with a lead ass and terrible form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭J-Fit

Running up hill will improve speed mechanics because it forces you to run at a low 45 degree angle and drive your legs. Anyway, I do think everyone is jumping the gun here (sorry!). To be fast, you first need to be strong. You cannot propel your body mass forward if you do not have the strength to do so. Nor can you side step quickly if you cannot absorb force efficiently and exert it upon take off. You can do sprints all day long but if you don't combine it with strength exercises you're not going to make much progress. This is irefutable. GAA guys are notorious for just doing on-field stuff and ignoring the need to get strong which will improve both quickness and agility. The best exercises in my opinion are a progression from split squats to bulgarian split squats to lunges. Back and front squats are great for max strength but you should use single leg movements to convert that strength to a gait-mimicing pattern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Been through same thing as OP. Squats, squats, squats dude! I'm exhausted right now so please forgive the following retarded description of something with a very simple name that eludes me altogether: changing gears when running, 1/2 speed, 3/4s, full burst, back down and repeated and mixed and done over and over and over...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Running downhill forces you to utilise a longer stride which if you constantly work you will get in the habit of using the longer stride when you sprint. How would uphill make you faster? It will certainly work stamina and endurance but will not help you to go faster as you have to use a SHORTER stride going uphill.

Ahhh... shorter strides = faster acceleration, from standing. just thought i'd point out how completely arseways you've got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 dricco

Plyometrics (can't beat it). Check out a few youtube videos on it. I use P90x, very tough but worth it.

plyometrics while still recovering a cruciate injury? Really?

If he's going back playing contact stops like hurling/football, then I think he should be able to handle a few session of plyo.

On what basis do you believe he should be doing plyometrics?

dricco wrote: »
    If he's going back playing contact stops like hurling/football, then I think he should be able to handle a few session of plyo.

You think or you know? Best to err on the side of safety here. If he hasn't hit the weight room yet, plyo's may not be the best option though for non-injured guys they do have a place at a certain stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

most people have no idea how to design a plyometrics session, or do the exercises correctly. And they are pretty much useless without a good strength foundation

So, like J-Fit said, the goal should be to become stronger.

Over the last few years, Ive gained a lot of weight, and done a lot less running, but I am much quicker because my lower body is so much stronger and more powerful than before

J-Fit wrote: »
    You think or you know? Best to err on the side of safety here. If he hasn't hit the weight room yet, plyo's may not be the best option though for non-injured guys they do have a place at a certain stage.

Fair point. Always, Always best to err on the side of safety. Best ask his pysio but plyo from my experience is the best way to increase speed.

The best way to increase speed is by doing speed, with proper mechanics. Weights, hills, plyos etc all are needed but running fast in training is the most important. You get strong in the gym, you get fast on the track (or pitch or court).

Wow, some great "experts" here:rolleyes:. Certainly NOT experts at reading!!
    Anyway, I do think everyone is jumping the gun here (sorry!). To be fast, you first need to be strong. You cannot propel your body mass forward if you do not have the strength to do so.
    If he hasn't hit the weight room yet,
    And they are pretty much useless without a good strength foundation

For those who wrote the above comments, forgive me but I did say
    Provided you've done all your rehab/strenght and conditioning

Now for the "REAL" expert,
    Ahhh... shorter strides = faster acceleration, from standing. just thought i'd point out how completely arseways you've got it.
    I'm trying to make sense of your comment and don't know if you're been sarcastic or if you've misread what I've written:rolleyes:, but if you're suggesting that shorter strides WILL give you faster acceleration, then you're not worth bothering to reply to. Finally, either re-read what I've written, its not that complicated AND I'm not suggesting you try sprinting down Killamanjaro:rolleyes:

Just to clarify, do you still stand by the downhill running?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

Wow, some great "experts" here:rolleyes:. Certainly NOT experts at reading!!

How ironic, it is you who needs to work on your reading.

This post:
    podge57 wrote: »
    And they are pretty much useless without a good strength foundation

wasnt even directed at you, and had nothing to do with downhill running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

And thusly I'm confused further.

Dave (:P), I just don't see how running downhill will make you faster. If anything it's easier to run downhill and as such you won't concentrate on technique/positioning as much.

I'd have thought sprinting uphill which is tougher would make you a faster sprinter when on level ground.

if you're suggesting that shorter strides WILL give you faster acceleration, then you're not worth bothering to reply to.

While I would agree that its not simply a case of shorter strides = faster acceleration, its not simply a case of longer strides = faster acceleration either. The danger with saying longer strides is the way forward is that people may overstride and this is catastrophic for the reasons already mentioned. Sunk hips, planter felxion of the foot, low knee drive. I would say in acceleration the focus is driving strides (as opposed to long or short) and big ground impact. The closest way to simulate or over emphasize the initial strides in acceleration (outside of actual acceleration itself) is uphill running based on body position etc.

I would also say there is a place for downhill running at a subtle angle but there are probably safer and better ways of over speed like using a cord but again that needs someone knowing their athlete well and knowing how to use a cord correctly (something I'd be terrified of using). Downhill running is probably more suited to developing top end speed as opposed to acceleration in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

Dave Joyce is correct. You need to increase your stride speed which can be helped by over-running downhill or by being towed by something like a scooter, seriously. Your muscle memory has to get used to moving at an increased rate.

There is a place for over-speed work and it's for advanced guys who are strong, already fast and have their speed mechanics down to a tee. Again, no pun intended here but you need to walk before you run.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

I don't have a scooter but my mate has a 1100cc Aprilla, would this be okay?

hard sprints, pulling a sled with weights on it. or one of those harnessed chutes to increase resistance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭RealistSpy

hard sprints, pulling a sled with weights on it. or one of those harnessed chutes to increase resistance

That only increase like start -30m acceleration. You want to sprint without one.

for anyone who has played GAA: you only need to run fast for 30-40m. repeatedly. so acceleration speed is crucial.
    the rest of the game is done at slow running speed

I meant to say GAA players normally only sprint 10m. repeatedly. there have been studies done on this in Croke Park

very rare for a 30-40m sprint.

so acceleration speed is vital.