Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting started in Motorsport

• 13-03-2010 4:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭

I know this has probably been asked a 100 times before but I cant seem to find any good information and I really want to get started racing. Im 22 and all I've ever done is the 'arrive and drive' karting. I plan on doing a single seater drive at Mondello in the next month or two. Anyways, where would I start, am I too old to start out in kart racing. Also I'm a student so funds wouldnt exactly be plentiful. I talked about doing it lots of times before but ths time I'm determined to make a go of it. So hopefully you guys can help me out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

Money isnt the biggest issue, I would be able to put funds together, just that I'd be looking at the cheapest options. Also its karting or single-seater that I'd be hoping to get involved in rather than saloons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

The best thing you can do is go to a kart race and talk to the guys.The cheeper the class , the more open and friendly the guys are to talk to.Check out the Billands and Superpro karts.If you would prefer single-seaters then give David Sheane in Blainroe , Wicklow a call and have a chat with him.(formula Vee)

Cheers for the link LIGHTNING, lots of helpful info in the start up pack but I get the feeling that it would be the start of next season when I'd be ready to enter the series.

So guys, maybe I try and do some kart racing this year. What classes could I get into and what are the costs? Would I be able to rent a kart or would I have to buy one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

take a look at www.irishkarting.com

In terms of renting, its usually not a cheap option for 2 stroke classes. Superpro bunch are a nice group of guys at least there we 10 years ago whe I was racing in Ireland. Someone might have a kart for rent at a reasonable price in either that or bilands. Max or 125 Gearbox is going to be spendy to rent and yoiu dont want to start out in a 125 Gearbox to be honest.

Still amazes me that prokarts are gone....

Costs vary wildly. It depends on how competitive you want to be and how many races you do. Being mechanically inclined always helps. Starting out you will probably run tyres for longer than frontrunners and maybe even use used tyres to start off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭fixie

mstan,
    think you should really consider autograss,great fun aswell as well as been a cheap,fun and freindly sport.starts from standered minis all the way up to twin bike engine minis with well over 300bhp and v8 engined specials so you have a chance to do open wheel racing.have a look at these links and if you have any questions ask...
    http://www.national-autograss.co.uk/about.html
    http://downautograss.jimdo.com/
    http://www.donedeal.ie/find/all/all/Ireland/autograss
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jl-lK-dgWWM&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rsz2W4Qnv3M

Yea +1 on what fixie said. I didnt race autograss myself but looks like great craic and doesnt have to cost a bomb either.

thats the thing, at 5 pounds of an entry fee for a days racing in down or 15 euro in carlow it really cheap compared to say mondello at what? about €300?

and the great thing is theres lads racing in minis that cost €500 and then theres the class 7s and 8s with the motorbike engines that could cost a few grand...so theres racing for anyone,whatever your budget is

thanks for the info Fixie but it is single seater racing that I intend to get involved in. The plan is to race in Formula vee next year (from March 2011). In the mean time I would like to build some experience racing karts if it can be done on the cheap, possible renting a kart or something....

i know you want to race single seaters, thats what class 8,9 and 10 are in autograss...single or twin motorbike engined or car engined pupose built single seaters... http://www.national-autograss.co.uk/specials.html
    thats what these are http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rsz2W4Qnv3M

mstan wrote: »
    thanks for the info Fixie but it is single seater racing that I intend to get involved in. The plan is to race in Formula vee next year (from March 2011). In the mean time I would like to build some experience racing karts if it can be done on the cheap, possible renting a kart or something....

Generally Its not going to be cheap to rent a kart on an ongoing basis. My suggestion would be to buy a good example, then sell it when you are ready to drive the Vee. You might decide to stick with the kart though :D. Quicker and easier to put on the roof of a car/slap in the boot.

Maybe you have a friend that you can share costs with?

These two karts are probably worth considering. Its a pair of brothers that own them too, I think:

http://irishkarting.com/buyandsell_details.php?id=864
    http://irishkarting.com/buyandsell_details.php?id=850

I have a Tonykart for practice\backup this year and Wildkart are providing me with a drive in one of their new chassis (Warrior) this year. Both of them are good chassis, parts for the Wildkart are a bit cheaper but both of them handle pretty good "out of the box". To be fair to the Wildkart though the hardware is a bit more robust. No I'm not just saying that, theres a lot of rather nice billet aluminum parts on it :)

Yeah I would consider buying a kart but looking at the calender I think 3 races would be all I'd be able to compete in this year unless there is more races that arent on the calender on the Irish karting website?

I think thats all, bar rounds up north. You'll probably spend more time testing than racing. Get yourself a MyChron or Alfano for laptimes/data acquistion and have someome (Coby's Brennans or whatnot) coach you for a day after you've turned laps for a day or two. They'll give you the pointers you need to be fast, from there just test as much as you can to perfect the technique.

What would be the best class for a 22 year to start off in? I was looking at either Rotax Max, Super Pro or Billand. Also which of these classes would be the cheapest (kart price etc.)?

Anyone have any idea???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

There is a super pro on the Irish karting web site for €2000 with a lot of spares.If you go to Kiltorcan this weekend , I will introduce you to the super pro and bilands lads.
    PM me if you can make it.

Go to a race, talk to the guys in the different classes and decide for yourself. Superpro is probably going to be the cheapest to buy and run as well as simple to keep going. Max and Biland are a bit more challenging. So I guess starting out I'd lean towards Superpro.

My personal choice (after gearbox) would probably be Biland, depending on entry numbers. The Max engine is an abomination IMO and the superpros are a bit cumbersome for my liking. Any of them will net you good racing though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

I'm also planning to start kart racing this summer. As a complete novice which would be the best class, superpro or rotex max? which would involve the least amount of mechancial knowledge? also apart from the irish karting website where is the best place to find karts for sale?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 dunner :P

I would recommend rotax max for the quality of racing in this class(not taking away from they racing in billand or s/pro!) and also there is little maintenance on the rotax engine itself. It will basically run forever if you look after it, most of your time goes into kart set up etc. In my opinion karting would be you best option as costs are relatively cheap, it can be as expensive as you want it to be!

*edited*

re dunner :stop spamming the board in regard to the new track. I have left up one of your posts and removed the other three.

Im close to buying a Rotax Max kart. I also had a Superpro lined up. Am I making the right choice going with Max? Also is there any experts I could contact to get some advice about the kart before I pay for it?