Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underwear

• 12-03-2010 1:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3 confusedd

Ladies,

Last night my boyfriend commented on my underwear being back and said "you know what they say about black underwear?"

Ummm... no.

He didnt explain, told me to look it up. Out of curiosity i have and found a few maybes.

1. I want sex tonight.
    2. I want to have sex one day (taken from the film "10 things i hate about you")
    3. You want someone to see them.
    4. Period pants.

Did i miss the underware code somewhere along the way, since when did guys start noticing this kinda stuff, if shes in her underware your doing well guys.

So any thoughts of what black underware really signifies? ha.

Cheers

x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Less washing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

confusedd wrote: »
    Ladies,

Last night my boyfriend commented on my underwear being back and said "you know what they say about black underwear?"

Ummm... no.

Slutty.

Obviously not true but that's what teenage lads think. Sorry about your boyfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 confusedd

Ok the answer to that question would be number 1 but in reality i couldnt due to number 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Eh I wear whatever my hand falls to first! I didnt know there were certain colours to mean different things :confused:

Must be the country girl in me :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 confusedd

oww maybe this would be best suited in the gentlemans club:P

can i move it please?:confused:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

I have my own underwear code, but it's nothing to do with colour. Didn't know there was one.

Wouldn't have actually thought black knickers meant you were gagging for it either. Scarlet red, frilly scraps of lace that disappear up your bum with the slightest movement would be more indicative of that in my book.

I hate lacy underwear. Gak. Makes my skin itch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

betafrog wrote: »
    I think the real question here is, did you actually want to have sex?

Can't answer the above question if you don't tell us whether the assumption was true.

That is ridiculous logic. Some kid's assumption based upon stupid shít he's heard from his friends has no bearing on reality. Whether the OP wanted to have sex or not is:

a) Impertinent information
    b) Not and excuse for the twerp to say crap like that to her
    and
    c) None of your business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Eh, what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

confusedd wrote: »
    So any thoughts of what black underwear really signifies?
    It signifies that I'm wearing a black outfit 9 times out of 10 tbh.
    maple wrote: »
    I have my own underwear code, but it's nothing to do with colour. Didn't know there was one.

Wouldn't have actually thought black knickers meant you were gagging for it either. Scarlet red, frilly scraps of lace that disappear up your bum with the slightest movement would be more indicative of that in my book.

I hate lacy underwear. Gak. Makes my skin itch.
    Qft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Once upon a time decent women and good girls wore white or pastel knickers only
    and only harlots wore black or red or none.

/shrug it's under wear, I never wear white clothes so don't see the point in whilte underwear, all if my knickers are black, have been for the last decade, there is no underwear code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

the fact that they can see your underwear to check the colour would be more an indication that you want sex, no?

99% of the time my underwear is black. it means nothing whatsover :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

When I wear black underwear all it means is that all my silly flowery, stripey multicoloured Penneys underwear is in the wash :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

I had to actually check what colour undies I had on when I started reading this thread. They have little frogs on....what does that mean? lol

I would say over the top frilly undies covered in bows or roses or other stupid bits that itch WITH the matching bra with equal amount of itchy frill means your expecting sex - colour doesn't really come into it. Only time I ever wore matching bra and panties was when I knew I would be seen with nothing else on later in the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

Sometimes I find white underwear sexier than black, black just seems normal. Red is the sexiest! IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

jellie wrote: »
    the fact that they can see your underwear to check the colour would be more an indication that you want sex, no?

99% of the time my underwear is black. it means nothing whatsover :)

Really? even when you are bending down in a supermarket to get something or if they are out on the line? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

Doesnt really mean anything to me. The color is irrelevant. They just happened to me the ones I grabbed when I stuck my hand in the drawer.

If I know someone is going to see my underwear

1) I match. During the week I wear the oddest combination of bra/kinckers
    2) They wont be lace - makes me itchy
    3) They will be red - just cos I like that color.

Ill wear black undies on purpose if Im wearing a dress with black tights. Dont wanne be bending over and someone seeing your wearing big fcuking pink frillies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I think the colour underwear you chose is about as illuminating on your attitide to sex is, as one of those "what type of flower are you" type quizes on Facebook :rolleyes:

Like most people I wear colours that won't show through my clothes or won't look lumpy under a tight top :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Dublin Hibby

And there was me thonking that no underwear signified a desire to engage in sexual activity,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

And there was me thonking that no underwear signified a desire to engage in sexual activity,

Or maybe a desire not to have a great big bra strap showing when wearing a backless dress ;)

ztoical wrote: »
    I had to actually check what colour undies I had on when I started reading this thread. They have little frogs on....what does that mean? lol
    One could surmise that frogs on a pair of undies would signify a person is looking for a jump. :D (frogs jump, jump = sex, geddit?)

Christ, that was a terrible pun even by my standards.
    I would say over the top frilly undies covered in bows or roses or other stupid bits that itch WITH the matching bra with equal amount of itchy frill means your expecting sex - colour doesn't really come into it. Only time I ever wore matching bra and panties was when I knew I would be seen with nothing else on later in the night.
    It's sods law tho that the night you're wearing mismatched undies or your biggest granny panties or the grey ones found down the bottom of the knicker drawer, you will get lucky.
    She Devil wrote: »
    Sometimes I find white underwear sexier than black, black just seems normal. Red is the sexiest! IMO.

My favourite knickers are a pair of polka dot navy silk bikini briefs. Love them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

It's sods law tho that the night you're wearing mismatched undies or your biggest granny panties or the grey ones found down the bottom of the knicker drawer, you will get lucky.

O that's what normally happens - I once had these xmas undies with xmas trees and santa on them that had been given as a joke pressie, never wore them but one night I was rushing to get ready to go out and my dryer had died so no dry undies and I just grabbed them from the bottom of the drawer and of course got lucky that night but there was a quick odd look of "why are you wearing xmas undies in June?" though only for a moment cus then the undies were off :p

In my earlier post I was just saying if I knew sex was def 100% on the cards I might make the effort to match bra to panties but that's as far as I've ever gone when it comes to picking undies.

The most effort I've ever gone in relation to my underwear to was to spend an extortionate amount on silk stockings, suspender belt, basque, bra, french knickers, the complete matching set.

It was my first adult relationship, it was my first year living away from home in an apartment of 4 girls and it was a golden summer.

Himself loved it and I felt so sexy and feminine in it, a total goddess.

God to be that young, harmless and even that bothered again! :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

QFT. The first night I slept with himself, I was wearing a bright yellow bra with ancient, faded, horrible wine coloured knickers from Penneys. I was morto!

I also hadn't shaved my legs in a couple of days :o

Anyway, I rarely match my bra and knickers unless I think someone will see them. I match my bra to the top I'm wearing, and then pick random knickers. My favourites are actually a cotton bra and cotton hipsters from La Senza that are rainbow striped. They're so colourful! But could not be described as sexy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Faith wrote: »
    QFT. The first night I slept with himself, I was wearing a bright yellow bra with ancient, faded, horrible wine coloured knickers from Penneys. I was morto!

Anyway, I rarely match my bra and knickers unless I think someone will see them. I match my bra to the top I'm wearing, and then pick random knickers. My favourites are actually a cotton bra and cotton hipsters from La Senza that are rainbow striped. They're so colourful! But could not be described as sexy...
    And the more important question that I think many women should think about, especially given the answer is, did he care?

To many women get hung up on getting caught out with non matching underwear or un-shaved legs IMO..

Don't get me wrong it is nice and appreciated when a woman takes pride in her apprentice, But I don't think women should stress about this as much as some do.

It's sod's law. :D

I was out one night, smooth & silky with matching undies and convinced I was on a promise with this guy I was seeing and ended up going home alone.

The following weekend we were all out again, bog standard undies and fluffy legs and sure enough ended having a night of passion with himself. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

Oh god, the days I have to put on a pair of bikini bottoms because I can't find anything else :rolleyes::rolleyes: are the days that you are guaranteed of a RAP (random act of passion) :) HAHA I never let on though, just tear 'em off before he notices! AND he wouldn't care, he would just laugh, and laughing is passion!

As for hairy legs ....... As IF I am going to be shaving my legs every second day!!!!!!
    I keep that for rotten job for once a week :):)
    Its not like we grow into gorillas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Wow. :eek:

I'd actually never wear underwear that didn't match! Ok, I might not wear a set every single day, but I'd never wear a black bra and red pants! I don't wear underwear for a man, I just feel better myself knowing I'm not wearing giant, grey pants!

Never knew underwear had a secret code! I just wear stuff I think is 'pretty', don't particularly care what anyone else thinks of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

If my boyfriend was going by my underwear to fingure out if we were having sex or not id say the poor chap would be awfully confused.
    I have two big drawers of knickers and bras all of which get worn when pulled out at random.I could easily have a thong on one day and gigantic cartoon printed knickers the next.dosent say anything about my mood because at 7 in the morning the last thing i think about is my undies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

when i was a student, the professor of obstetrics and gynaecology (a very old guy) told us that he used (but no longer) have a rule of thumb that "black knickers + abdominal pain = fallopian tubes full of pus until proven otherwise"

personally, as much as is feasible, i wear matching undies.

irrespective of whether sex is on the cards, i just like to do that

i like knowing that i have sensuous undies on, even if noone else sees them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

in my case when worn the morning after a great night, it means in mourning for a dead, well you figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Don't you all wish sometimes that matching bra and knicker sets came with 2 knickers per bra?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

sam34 wrote: »
    when i was a student, the professor of obstetrics and gynaecology (a very old guy) told us that he used (but no longer) have a rule of thumb that "black knickers + abdominal pain = fallopian tubes full of pus until proven otherwise"

That is plain scary.

• sam34 wrote: »

What a disgusting thing to say. I'm actually horrified.

I have bought matching sets but barely ever wear the knickers part of them, as they're usually lacy and uncomfortable. I always wear completely different underwear, today was a pink bra with blue and grey stripey undies. I really couldn't care less most of the time.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

i usually wear calvin klein bras and pennys knickers. god love him trying to figure out the 'code' in that:D..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Underwear code?

I'm lucky if my bra and knickers are the same colour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Giselle wrote: »
    That is plain scary.

[quote=[Deleted User];64889255]What a disgusting thing to say. I'm actually horrified.[/QUOTE]

i know

he said it in jest, but only half so

an old school guy:mad:
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Different colours :confused:

Ok I know a few of tha chaps have given their view but here's mine.
    Colour: Some women like to colour co-ordinate so when they don't have a certain pair of underwear in the drawer to match their clothes they'll grab a black pair because, black goes with everything, right?

Type of underwear: Now, a womans underwear is her choice but, we do have our preferences.

For me I dislike thongs and G-strings on a female massively. A turn off even, at times. Full knickers and french knickers do it for me. Not on a sexual basis but they just have a much more secure and confident image to them.

Also, some women will wear a thong or string to avoid knicker lines but, any eagle eye can spot a knicker line no matter what underwear you're wearing. Granted, he'll have to look a little longer but he'll most likely still be able to find it.

The bottom line is comfort zone. Whatever she is comfortable in she's gonna wear it. Maybe she just likes black underwear. Does red and pink underwear with embroided designs and fancy bits mean she's looking for some lovin' tonight? For some women, maybe this is true. For others, maybe she just likes having a glance and giving herself a wink and a "Dayum you look good today".

Heck, I know I do it passing the full length mirror in the bathroom after a shower :pac:
    It doesn't mean I'm vain to any extent and likewise for when a girl does it. You just like to see that you've something on that looks good and it's a bonus if it complements you in some wat, shape or form.

My god women are complicated :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Thaedydal wrote: »
    /shrug it's under wear, I never wear white clothes so don't see the point in whilte underwear, all if my knickers are black, have been for the last decade, there is no underwear code.

same here, all my underwear is black, apart from a handful maybe of different colours...
    It's sod's law. :D

I was out one night, smooth & silky with matching undies and convinced I was on a promise with this guy I was seeing and ended up going home alone. The following weekend we were all out again, bog standard undies and fluffy legs and sure enough ended having a night of passion with himself. :D

+1,000,000 *ALWAYS* happens!!!

But yeah, 90% of my underwear is black, bras included, but hey least that way i wont be caught morto with an un-matching set!!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

I always wear matching underwear except those 5 days a month :p I love having sets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 katcha

I decided recently that sets are the way to go, or at least slightly matched ie. the same colour! like all clothes i think it makes you feel sexier and more confident, silly i know considering they might not be seen, and i dont think my bf notices too much either way. just another small thing that gives me a confidence boost! esp in the bedroom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

normally it depends on what i am wearing as to what coulour my bra / panties are

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

sam34 wrote: »

i like knowing that i have sensuous undies on, even if noone else sees them

This! I'll have a bit of a spring in my step those days ;)

There's a bit in the film 10 Things I hate About You when a few of the characters go looking through a girl's underwear drawer. They find a black pair of panties and say that she must want to have sex. I've never ever heard it outside the film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

Twee. wrote: »
    There's a bit in the film 10 Things I hate About You when a few of the characters go looking through a girl's underwear drawer. They find a black pair of panties and say that she must want to have sex. I've never ever heard it outside the film.

That's what immediately popped into my head when I first read the thread, that's the only place I've ever heard that either.

Anyway I can't remember the last time I wore matching underwear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Clementine

I love the rare occasion of when I'm getting undressed and find that I have been wearing matching underwear all day without realising, makes me feel like my subconscious is trying to help me make more of an effort :)

TBH I prefer mismatched, I get to wear more colours and patterns that way! It all ends up coming off in the end anyway ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

All my matching underwear is "good" underwear - sexy stuff that I only wear when someone is going to see it (so, never these days! :(). But I do enjoy wearing matching underwear so I'm going to buy a load this summer when I'm working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Never spent more than €20 on undies in my life and even then, that rather large (by my standards anyways) sum was towards a pair of Spanx to hold my jelly-belly in during the dreaded Debs.

Still have the pair, incidently. Haven't worn them since as the memories assosiated with that night are akin to having a Vietnam War Flashback. All that fake tan and hair product... *shivers*

I generally have a rather OCD approach to my undies. Not sure where or why it started but I'll buy a pack of plain black bikini briefs or high-leg panties from Penneys for about €2 and as soon as they've been worn a day, I feck them into the bin. With the exception of the patterned, rainbow striped variety, I rarely keep my pants for the wash, prefering to spent €2 a week on a fresh pack rather than wash the ones I have.

Part of it is to due to certain gynacological issues but lately, it's more out of habit than anything else. I disgust myself with such a wasteful habit but it's been firmly ingrained in me since I was old enough to buy my own pants.

In regards to the color debate, I grew up being told that red undies meant you were a "good time girl", white meant you were "practical" and black meant "your gee was in mourning."

Probably the sexiest bit of lingerie I own would be my black basque and even for a corset, it's pretty damn modest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Quirky-K

100% Cotton, cotton underwear is me on a daily basis, I don't like wearing man made fabrics that often. I love the boy shape briefs in Dunnes, beacuse the Penney's ones have changed to hipsters and I don't like them anymore.

But I have my other underwear, and I'm very fond of it. My last fella loved a nice bit of lingere, and I have a good collection going. Only thing is I hate handwashing all of my nicer pieces. If I'm going out or meeting someone I always wear something matching and nice. But on a day to day basis, I'm a girl for comfort, nothing worse than an uncomfortable pair of knickers!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

only black, ever, I dont own anything that isnt, oh I lie one nude one for light clothes, but if its all black it always matches. In my case its pure lazyness.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

All my matching underwear is "good" underwear - sexy stuff that I only wear when someone is going to see it (so, never these days! :(). But I do enjoy wearing matching underwear so I'm going to buy a load this summer when I'm working.
    I try to always wear matching underwear.. it just makes me feel good about myself and an extra bit of confidence with the person who matters most- ME! :D (and I love red underwear, but mine is all from Penneys) :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

God.. It makes undies sound like a traffic light.. Only this time "black" means "GO GO GO!!!". What a load of rubbish! :rolleyes:

Underwear is the only thing really I would spend alot of money on. I also have the strangest OCD where not only do they have to match each other but they also have to match what I'm wearing.. :o