Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tips for beginner runner ( serious about training)

• 12-03-2010 9:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭

ips for beginner ( but serious runner) Hey people , Any tips for me for running?

Ive started training last month in attempt to be able to run the pre dublin marathon races during the summer. ( and if i DO live through them ill think about the full marathon in Oct.) But without even thinking about that yet i wanna get some things sorted first to help my training go well.

At the moment im followin the 21 week training programme from the Dublin Marathon website. Was wonderin if u guys think thats a good one to follow ?

Also im lookin to get a PROPER pair of running shoes , anyone know any shops in town? ( Dublin City center )
    Any other tips or guidelines much appreciated people.
    smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

For getting shoes - Runways on Parnell St or Elverys on Suffolk St. Both will do gait analysis (put you on a treadmill and watch how you run) and recommend suitable shoes.

That 21 week training programme starts off with 16 miles of running in the first week, for the slowest group. That is a lot of running for someone who's just starting off.

Why not start the 21 week programme at the beginning of June, and in the meantime do a 5k running plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

RayCun wrote: »
    For getting shoes - Runways on Parnell St or Elverys on Suffolk St. Both will do gait analysis (put you on a treadmill and watch how you run) and recommend suitable shoes.

That 21 week training programme starts off with 16 miles of running in the first week, for the slowest group. That is a lot of running for someone who's just starting off.

Why not start the 21 week programme at the beginning of June, and in the meantime do a 5k running plan?

Ah thanks, ill go on monday to have a look, is it dear gettin the analysis done?
    Well im not exactly startin off, more like gettin back into it. I used to play football a lot so was used to ruinning then. At the moment it seems to be going grand but if i start aches and pains ill definitely reduce it down. And also at the moment its only really a "jogging" plan, still havent gotten to the brisk running sessions yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I think most places that well shoes will do the analysis for free, Amphibian King do anyway, I think.

You're going to find it very hard at the beginning and you'll be thinking to yourself Jaysus I can't do this, I'll take a short cut home through here. Don't give in, having a positive attitude imo is more important when starting out than having a good pair of runners. It can be just so easy to not go out when you have any little excuse, it's rainy, I'm tired, there's something good on telly, etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

There's no charge for the analysis, but they do expect to buy some shoes afterwards.

If you try to do too much running at the start, you'll either get injured or give up. Best to start easy, no more than three days a week, day off between the runs, take walking breaks when you need them, and don't go for more than half an hour at first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

Jip wrote: »
    I think most places that well shoes will do the analysis for free, Amphibian King do anyway, I think.

You're going to find it very hard at the beginning and you'll be thinking to yourself Jaysus I can't do this, I'll take a short cut home through here. Don't give in, having a positive attitude imo is more important when starting out than having a good pair of runners. It can be just so easy to not go out when you have any little excuse, it's rainy, I'm tired, there's something good on telly, etc etc.

Cheers pal, ill keep that in mind, so far i had loads of them mini excuses at me but didnt give in... the THING I CANT stop giving into tough is crappy food! , i been easing it away slowly INCH BY INCH! ,.... ILL GET THERE EVENTUALLY! ha