Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do you buy your CO2 cartridges? (Group buy)

• 11-03-2010 5:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭

Just wondering. A pair of 16g screw in cartridges from cyclesuperstore cost about €8 while http://www.co2cartridges.co.uk/eu/ will ship 30 of them to Ireland for about GBP30 or 300 of them for GBP180...

Are 16g what you need or will 12g do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I got a stock of them from Planet X at 84p each when I was buying a bike anyway.

30 for £30 sounds good, you could get a few people together on that one.

You want 16g for full pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Nice find! Presumably they're surface shipped?

Group buy?

12g are a bit marginal, I use 16g.

I want a musket now.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

A musket? I had to ask.

el tonto wrote: »
    A musket? I had to ask.

Innovations - Musket Adapter (5053)

Form a square!

zulu_1532370c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

if it's a group buy, count me in

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Does one need an adaptor thingymagjig for these? I've only used one once, which was borrowed from someone else. Froze my hand to the bloody thing.

Yes, you need an adaptor. AFAIK there are basically two types of canister, threaded and unthreaded, and different capacities (specified in g), and that's it.

Mine is threaded, I assume this is more common?

What the hell so, I'll go in for a few if someone organises a group buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

CRC used to have both types, unthreaded are cheaper..but threaded have smaller delivery systems(unthreaded have to hold the cartridge in place)

Most are threaded, you only need an inflation head which is tiny. Some people use an all-in-one pump, these are much bigger but include a pump. Need to use gloves when applying all right.

blorg wrote: »
    Most are threaded, you only need an inflation head which is tiny. Some people use an all-in-one pump, these are much bigger but include a pump. Need to use gloves when applying all right.

The all-in-one pump is handy for clinchers, because you can frame mount both the pump and a canister and carry patches for when you run out of tubes.

I guess it makes no sense for racing with tubulars, since you have a limited number of reinflation opportunities determined by the number of spare tyres you are carrying (most likely zero or one, and maybe an extra canister to top up after using gunk?).

when crc had them it was 2 - 3x cheaper for unthreaded..you don't need gloves too i guess is a bonus, but mine is alot bigger than yours alright.

On this site they appear to be the same price...so I think its time for a tiny lil threaded thingy for me.

To be honest, even with a few cartridges, I'd still leave the pump strapped to the frame. It's pretty unobtrusive and handy for back-up in the even to multiple punctures or CO2 cock-ups.

Lumen wrote: »
    frame mount both the pump and a canister
    I'd still leave the pump strapped to the frame.
    I always carry a pump but gentlemen, it goes in the jersey pocket, you know the rules.

That's just a different class of failure. Do pros ride with a pump sticking out of their jersey? No. So it's not Euro.

Team car FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Worst. Offender. Of. The. Rules. Ever.

Lumen wrote: »
    Team car FTW.
    Indeed

1231409679414-jato6fvz3qgr-850-65.jpg

The only pumps that can fit easily in a jersey pocket aren't worth a toss anyway.

EDIT: Oh yeah. Blorg. Pot. Kettle.

The only pumps that can fit easily in a jersey pocket aren't worth a toss anyway.
    I'd disagree, I have a Topeak that certainly works, it is a pain in the neck (why I carry CO2) but as a backup it is fine; it will certainly get me home (or around another 150km of a sportive) after 5 minutes of pumping.

I carry it in the jersey mainly as it didn't come with 10 frame mounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Errm, what about the notion of carrying a pump so you can test if you repaired the darned thing right in the first place before breaking out the canister? Or do you all just swap over tubes and patches be damned?

Right. If I can get 9 takers, 30 x 16g cartriges comes out at EUR17. Less than 9 takers and the price per 30 starts to go up due to shipping. More than 9 and the shipping jumps again.

Any takers?

So we're each buying 30 is it?

What's the best way of sorting you out if this happens? Paypal?

cdaly_ wrote: »
    Errm, what about the notion of carrying a pump so you can test if you repaired the darned thing right in the first place before breaking out the canister? Or do you all just swap over tubes and patches be damned?
    Swap over tubes, if you are going to patch and wait for it to get tacky to do properly then you are hardly a prime candidate for CO2. With practice you can fix a puncture in 2 mins with CO2 and a tube swap. Tubes you can get for under 2.50 in bulk, you can either keep them and patch later or throw them. Advisable to keep if you are early in a long cycle BTW whether you eventually patch or not, I have certainly regretted throwing them.

My prime reason for CO2 is the can't-get-decent-pressure-with-a-pump one. Have 10 tubes from CRC for EUR22 just arrived so I guess I'm ready...

@el_tonto: Cash, cake? I've not received money by paypal thus far. Don't they charge you for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Sign me up for some screw in canisters! Handy on the commute too. The freezing thing is a bit of a problem with both schrader and presta valves. For presta you just squash the yoke on and squeeze, but then the valve is freezing and it's quite fiddly screwing the locking part back in. With schrader you have to screw the head onto the valve and unscrewing it is also bloody awkward with the freezing head of the sprayer. All very confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Yeah count me in for some threaded.

I carry a pump too, you can give the tube a small bit of pressure to give it shape and make mounting it on the rim easier, then blast it with the cannister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Sign me up for a lot 30 of threaded too - that's a very good price!

Gavin wrote: »
    Sign me up for some screw in canisters! Handy on the commute too. The freezing thing is a bit of a problem with both schrader and presta valves. For presta you just squash the yoke on and squeeze, but then the valve is freezing and it's quite fiddly screwing the locking part back in. With schrader you have to screw the head onto the valve and unscrewing it is also bloody awkward with the freezing head of the sprayer. All very confusing.
    Most MTBs these days are presta surely?

EDIT: At OUR level. Yak.

OK so. We're looking at a box of 30 x 16g threaded CO2 cartridges for about EUR17 based on 10 takers (including myself). Shipping costs change in jumps so the price per box will depend on the numbers.

Thus far we have:
    1. cdaly_
    2. Raam
    3. el tonto
    4. Gavin
    5. DirkVoodoo
    6. CheGuedara
    7. Nietzschean

@was that a yes? Lumen?

@Lumen, can you edit the thread title to include a 'group buy'?

yes i'm in

I have lots, I don't need more!

Yes, me too please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

If there is still space I am in!

UPDATE.

We're looking at a box of 30 x 16g threaded CO2 cartridges for about EUR17 based on 10 takers (including myself). Shipping costs change in jumps so the price per box will depend on the numbers.

Thus far we have:
    1. cdaly_
    2. Raam
    3. el tonto
    4. Gavin
    5. DirkVoodoo
    6. CheGuedara
    7. Nietzschean
    8. Lumen
    9. AstraMonti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭King Eric

Can I jump on board too

Thus far we have:
    1. cdaly_
    2. Raam
    3. el tonto
    4. Gavin
    5. DirkVoodoo
    6. CheGuedara
    7. Nietzschean
    8. Lumen
    9. AstraMonti
    10. King Eric

Lemme know who I need to give money to :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Glitterangel76

Any chance I could join this list?
    I've a SKS Airchamp Pro Cartridge Pump.

UPDATE.

We're looking at a box of 30 x 16g threaded CO2 cartridges for about EUR17 based on 10 takers (including myself). Shipping costs change in jumps so the price per box will depend on the numbers.

Thus far we have:
    1. cdaly_
    2. Raam
    3. el tonto
    4. Gavin
    5. DirkVoodoo
    6. CheGuedara
    7. Nietzschean
    8. Lumen
    9. AstraMonti
    10. King Eric

Provisionally
    11. Glitterangel76

@Glitterangel76: 10 on the list gets the best price. Adding one more jumps the shipping and the price per box goes up about €2. It seems to stay that way up to 20 takers. If everyone's happy to go to about €19 (shout if you want to get off, otherwise I'll assume you're happy) I'll add you to the list and wait for a few more takers.

NOTE: I don't know if these will fit your inflators, it's up to buyers to make sure for themselves. Proposed Cartridges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Glitterangel76

@ cdaly - its grand, i'll survive with what I have for the mean time :)

OK. I'll close it with the 10 listed.

We're looking at a box of 30 x 16g threaded CO2 cartridges for about EUR17 based on 10 takers (including myself).

In the list we have:
    1. cdaly_
    2. Raam
    3. el tonto
    4. Gavin
    5. DirkVoodoo
    6. CheGuedara
    7. Nietzschean
    8. Lumen
    9. AstraMonti
    10. King Eric

Payment by cash on pickup I guess. If you want to pre-pay by paypal (€17.50 to cover paypal fees), PM me with your email address by end of day.

Collection from Glasnevin (working hours) or by arrangement on the cycle home to Baldoyle.

Anything else I'm forgetting? Should I be gathering cash first?...

Sounds good. I was going to say I'd take two extra boxes, but if you're going on ahead, cool, it will stretch out for ages otherwise.

I'll pay with cash, should be able to meet you in Glasnevin, Thanks !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

i just put a pair of gator skins on my bike ,problem solved. ( i hope ):)

Sounds good. I was going to say I'd take two extra boxes, but if you're going on ahead, cool, it will stretch out for ages otherwise.

Extra boxes would cost about EUR23 per box (dropping to EUR20 if the total goes up to 19 boxes). I'm not putting in the order until Monday afternoon so, if there's enough interest to make it worthwhile, I can add more. Between Gavin (x2) and Glitterangel76 (x1) extras would cost about EUR23.50. 5 extra boxes are EUR21, 7 extra are EUR20 and 9 extra are EUR19.50

Alternatively, if existing purchasers are happy to do so, the price to all goes from EUR17 to EUR18.50 (or less).

Possible extra boxes:
    [list=11]
    [*]Gavin
    [*]Gavin
    [*]Glitterangel76
    [/list]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

can i join the extra boxes also please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭solid 5

Count me on please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭solid 5

Count me in even !!! Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

Me too!

6 extra boxes are EUR20.50, 7 extra are EUR20 and 9 extra are EUR19.50

Alternatively, if existing purchasers are happy to do so, the price to all goes from EUR17 to EUR18.00 (or less).

Possible extra boxes:
    [list=11]
    [*]Gavin
    [*]Gavin
    [*]Gavin
    [*]Glitterangel76
    [*]Kenmc
    [*]Solid 5
    [*]Fenris
    [/list]

Put me down for another box, so 4 in total for me.

+ another one. 5 for Gavin

Are you cycling on ground glass or something?...
    1. Gavin
    2. Gavin
    3. Gavin
    4. Gavin
    5. Gavin
    6. Glitterangel76
    7. Kenmc
    8. Solid 5
    9. Fenris

Err, +another one, lads from the MTB club. 6 in total.