Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much does a kid cost from birth to adulthood?

• 11-03-2010 11:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭

I don't want one or anything, just curious. I'm guessing between €200,000 and €250,000.
    It's not 350

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Very narrow bracket. I'd say somewhere between €50,000 and €50,000,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I've seen a figure of 100 to 120,000 in a few articles, covering birth to 16 or 18 years old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

Yah., and there's no refunds!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Very narrow bracket. I'd say somewhere between €50,000 and €50,000,000
    I wonder could it be done in Ireland for less?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Can't imagine the basic requirements being particularly costly - after that, it's up to the parent.
    Bizarre thing to think about though by people who were children themselves, imo - as if a child is a luxury or a demanding cost like car insurance or something.

A woman at work was saying the other day: "I've two kids and that's it - no more... kids are too expensive!"
    We were all just "wtf?" I understand perfectly a person wanting no more than two kids, I wouldn't want any more than two myself, but for the cost to be the main factor in this...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

sh*tloads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Whats with all the baby threads :eek:
    Is there something going on that i don't know about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Dudess wrote: »
    Can't imagine the basic requirements being particularly costly - after that, it's up to the parent.
    Bizarre thing to think about though, imo - as if a child is a luxury or something, by people who were children themselves.

A woman at work was saying the other day "I've two kids and that's it - no more... kids are too expensive!"

We were all just "wtf?"

Probably around the €100-150,000 figure.

Well, saying they are too expensive is a bit OTT, but the financial costs should be taken account of.

If she had a third child, she'd just have to cut back on things.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I guess it depends on what you want to buy...do you get a house with more bedrooms so kids can have one each, do you shop in penney's or at oilily, do they get brand new everything, private school, university fees, holidays, cars? I'm sure there's a basic minimum but I'd say most parents spend an awful lot more than that.

SugarHigh wrote: »
    I wonder could it be done in Ireland for less?

I'm sure it could. Lots of people have to and many others would make a point of it. I don't know whether children's allowance etc. is supposed to be factored into the total, but families with moderate incomes and many children wouldn't have more than 50 grand a head to raise each child I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

the good aul days of economy of scale in Irish families has gone out the window.

hand me downs, gone.
    bath groupage, out the window.
    sharing a room with a sibling, possibly still around, but I reckon, 90% gone.

you're going to live longer, get more kids in on the support act or you'll be working til you're 90!

El_loco's ill informed opinion (haven't spawned a nipper i know of:) :
    1-2 kids, most expensive per head, have to allow for the boy/girl scenario, can't even use the same toys!!! :( oh noes.
    3-4: going to have at least a match, older sibling's stuff of the same sex can be recycled.
    5+ now you're talking, you can start your own cottage industry there.

So, to prepare for the descent back to a 2nd world country, get yourselves some offspring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

A woman at work was saying the other day: "I've two kids and that's it - no more... kids are too expensive!"
    We were all just "wtf?" I understand perfectly a person wanting no more than two kids, I wouldn't want any more than two myself, but for the cost to be the main factor in this...?

Of course cost comes into it when thinking about having kids. It would be irresponsible not to think of such things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Dunno, but I plan to keep track of it all and then hand them an invoice on the day they reach 18y/o and I get to kick them out of the house.

EL_Loco wrote: »
    So, to prepare for the descent back to a 2nd world country, get yourselves some offspring.

2nd world countries like China? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

It depends what you define as "until adulthood" tbh. I know some mammy's boys n girls still livin at home until they're 29/30, handing up 100 quid a week for everything, and still thinking they're self-sufficient.

In reality, with current economic conditions etc, we could well be looking at a culture of a lot of kids being in the family home until their mid twenties, which obviously greatly increases the cost due to the inevitable extra cost to their parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

They cost alot more then methods to prevent them anyway :P

Bizarre thing to think about though by people who were children themselves, imo - as if a child is a luxury or a demanding cost like car insurance or something.

"by people who were children themselves"
    As opposed to?

Whats wrong with rational view points instead of emotive ones?

It IS emotive, I agree. I don't usually roll that way, but in this instance... I used that phrase (which is obvious I know) because, well, would you like to have been discussed in terms of what you cost to your parents? It's a bit clinical, that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Some of those figures always sound high to me. I guess they factor in probable childcare and college education costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

How much does a kid cost from birth to adulthood?
    It would all depend on if you are rearing a spoilt brat or not.

It IS emotive, I agree. I don't usually roll that way, but in this instance... I used that phrase (which is obvious I know) because, well, would you like to have been discussed in terms of what you cost to your parents? It's a bit clinical, that's all.
    Maybe not when I'm around but it's a conversation that needs to be had when considering having another child instead of just thinking "I'm sure we'll cope somehow".

It's usually about assessing how much expense is actually necessary. For some people I know, it appears that buying a car for a college student is deemed a valid expense of upbringing.

My current family income is significantly more than what my mother and father had and we were all reared OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I get the impression that you've just been handed a big invoice.:eek:

The fuckers wouldn't even let the bibs go... :mad:

stovelid wrote: »
    It's usually about assessing how much expense is actually necessary. For some people I know, it appears that buying a car for a college student is deemed a valid expense of upbringing.

My current family income is significantly more than what my mother and father had and we were all reared OK.
    I'm sure the cost of just basics would be quite low but it's about quality of life. If you have can't afford to give a child a good quality of life* then you probably shouldn't have kids.

*This is obviously subjective.

I'm sure the cost of just basics would be quite low but it's about quality of life. If you have can't afford to give a child a good quality of life* then you probably shouldn't have kids.

I'm not talking about rearing children on bacon rinds and potato peels. I'm talking about how surplus expenses can affect the projection.

Some people just spend far more money on their kids and some expenses, for example, college, are not applicable to all families.

As for who should have kids, I just worry about the ones that fall under my jurisdiction.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/news/datablog/2010/feb/23/cost-raising-child
    The average cost of raising a child to the age of 21 has crashed through the £200,000 barrier for the first time (to £201,809 to be precise)

consultech wrote: »

In reality, with current economic conditions etc, we could well be looking at a culture of a lot of kids being in the family home until their mid twenties,

You're taking the optimistic view that people will still have their family homes?
    SugarHigh wrote:
    *This is obviously subjective.

Possibly the most subjective notion in existence. We had a mammoth thread on this a few days back; hopefully we won't have to sit through another one.

I wonder what the Sun's figure would be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Wan millyun yuro.

Roughly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Seems like a rip off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Over £200k per child - Not far off of €400k before tax income considering euro conversion and increased cost of living in Ireland? What a load of bollix!

It implies the average worker would have to work 10 years of his life and not spend a cent on anything else to cover one child. I don't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

smcgiff wrote: »
    Over £200k per child - Not far off of €400k before tax income considering euro conversion and increased cost of living in Ireland? What a load of bollix!

It implies the average worker would have to work 10 years of his life and not spend a cent on anything else to cover one child. I don't think so.

I guess it depends on what they are including in their calculations; cost of a bigger house, car with a back seat, extra food, bigger bills, possible loss of income from being at home looking after kids, petrol for the school run, baby equipment, clothes, all the way up to school/uni fees...for 21 years.

I always find that thing fairly pointless anyway. Like studies that calculate how much of your life you spend on the jacks or the metric volume of methane you egest from your arse in a lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

That Grauniad article links here, a spreadsheet with detailed cost breakdowns. It doesn't include private school fees, but it does assume both parents are working, requiring full-time childcare. Holidays are fully costed - as if people without children don't go on holiday? (OK, I am able to do it on a much tighter budget than a family can.)

I suppose that, to individual parents, their children are precious and essential. On a societal level, however, the way the cost of living keeps shooting up, they are indeed looking more and more like luxuries. Is society better off merely because you had children? I'm not talking about such selfish questions as "who's going to pay for my old age?" - I mean in a "big picture" sense. If I ever have kids (unlikely), I'm sure as heck going to do a better job than my parents did.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

If people are spending 200 grand on raising their kids, they obviously have that money to spend, so whether it's spent on gilded nappies and diamond-rim perambulators or on Ferraris and helicopters makes sod-all difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

Elenxor wrote: »
    Yah., and there's no refunds!!!!

of course there is !
    you can get the kid to do all the work !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

mine will cost 40,000-60,000 just on medial expenses for her diabetes (paid for by the state) not inclucing doctors/consultant fees.

she has cost vhi 15,000 on hospital treatment in the last 3 years.

i could not estimate what we spend on each child (we have 3) but 200k wouldnt be far off if you include food, travel, petrol, days out, birthdays, x mas, new clothes, new shoes, hobbies, gas, heating, electric, phone credit, maybe a second hand car for their 18th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I'm guessing between €200,000 and €250,000.

You trying to settle on a figure for kidnapping ransom ? Wait until the Daily Mirror get involved, that pushes up the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

It depends really.

Am I building the Cellar myself or am I hiring someone to do it?

I've always wanted kids but just had a thought.. I only live once, fuk the effort of kids and live a savage life. Still think kids could be a better idea tho someday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Silly question

How muuch does a new car cost ?
    How much does a house cost ?
    How much does a pair of shoes cost ?
    How much does a bottle of wine cost ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭__________

Too f**kin much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

I've seen a figure of 100 to 120,000 in a few articles, covering birth to 16 or 18 years old.

Most expensive nights work ever done so :eek:. I reckon I'll stay on the dole TBH :D.
    It depends really.

Am I building the Cellar myself or am I hiring someone to do it?

Josef, is that you??? :pac:.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Silly question

How muuch does a new car cost ?
    How much does a house cost ?
    How much does a pair of shoes cost ?
    How much does a bottle of wine cost ?
    http://www.mathsrevision.net/gcse/pages.php?page=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

It depends on your budget. I got something to suit everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭fuelinjection

Think of a kid as an asset and not a liability.

When they reach the legal european working age of 8, send them out picking fruit and potatoes. They will thank you for it later in life and also earn valuable euros at the same time.