Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got my first Springer Spaniel

• 11-03-2010 12:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭

Hi folks,

I got my first Springer yesterday and he is 12 weeks old on Saturday. I am just getting him settled into his new home and will be looking for some tips if you can help me. He seems to be settling in quickly enough thank God. :D Anyone out there got any tips/methods on the best way to start with the basic training and obedience etc... Also, I would look to be getting him used to being with me and the guns. Any advice on either of these aspects would be greatfully appreciated,
    Thanks in advance, BB....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

strangely enough I got one last week to, heres a very similar thread I started!!:D http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055846116

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

Best of luck Bunny Buster, put up a picture when you get a chance. I'm getting one shortly also, so keep this thread up to date with your progress.

I was once told Consistance, Persistance, Perswasive and Gentle or something like that. I am sure someone will correct me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 pkeohane

let him enjoy his puppyhood for a while yet, maybe try to get him is sit, just play with him, and grow a bond, once he shows signs to start hunting, then let the training begin, by being to hard on him now you could knock the hunt out of him, and he does not need to see or hear the gun for some time time come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Lads if ye don't mind - where did ye pick up the SS's from? (general area) or can you recommend a good litter to go look at? Tx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

mods would it be worth while creating a sticky for tips on training your gun dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Ooh touchy subject Dicky, don't go there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Bunny Buster

Cheers for the response lads ! I had him out and about today for a few walks today and he was very good and stuck with me when I took the lead of him a few times. I was glad to see he wasn't inclined to run off or anything like that, good start :D . I will call down to you in a bit No6 and reaquaint him with his sister and see what happens:cool: . I was down at a friends house earlier and introduced him to a Collie, an Alsation and 2 ****zu's, was hilarious the male ****zu gave him a VERY welcoming reception ;);) and the rest didn't seem 2 bothered nor did he ! Yessam, I will post a picture of him in a few hours time as I don't have a right one yet. Pkeohane, I have tried your advice and considering I only have him 2 days he seems to be paying some degree of attention to what I say and do, so Thanks ! LB6, I got him in Mayo from the same litter as No6's one !

Ooh touchy subject Dicky, don't go there! :D

cen fath? are the mods a bit selective with their stickies?:rolleyes:

Here is a picture of the famous Ollie , he will be 12 weeks old this Saturday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

My advice for anyone shooting over a Springer Spaniel... buy a good bike to keep up with him :D

Here is a picture of the famous Ollie , he will be 12 weeks old this Saturday...

Fine strong looking pup. Could be a buster yet! :D
    Is he mostly white on the body?

Best of luck.

dicky82 wrote: »
    cen fath? are the mods a bit selective with their stickies?:rolleyes:

Got very heated while back when brought up.
    Im with you on it though...:cool:

A good strong pup. I see you have him sitting already..

seems worth while as there is alot of lads wanting to learn and alot of lads willing to share knowledge and experiences. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Lovely pup and best of luck with him :cool:

yessam wrote: »
    A good strong pup. I see you have him sitting already..

He is a tough cookie alright. I have him less than 3 days and already he is responding to the " sit " command over 90 % of the time, patience really is a virtue ! ;) He is a very placid and obedient little fella and behaves himself when he is off the lead ! He came from the same litter as No6's pup Belle, came from very good stock ! :D He is fairly fond of my armchair in the kitchen beside the stove, a bit of a case of monkey see monkey do :p .

greenpeter wrote: »
    Lovely pup and best of luck with him :cool:
    Thanks greenpeter, I have had a good start with him and hopefully it will keep going that way !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

dicky82 wrote: »
    seems worth while as there is alot of lads wanting to learn and alot of lads willing to share knowledge and experiences. .

Perhaps if the mods are being nice we could have a poll in wheather to have a Gun Dog training sticky or not, I know I for one would like one as I am sure i will learn everything the hard way with mine and I will be plagueing the lads who know aobut it as I go along!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Thanks greenpeter, I have had a good start with him and hopefully it will keep going that way !
    Thats entirely up to you BB,
    Start as you mean to go on and take your time,
    I ruined my first springer from expecting and pushing him to much.
    Make it fun for you and him and enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

greenpeter wrote: »
    Thats entirely up to you BB,
    Start as you mean to go on and take your time,
    I ruined my first springer from expecting and pushing him to much.
    Make it fun for you and him and enjoy it.

I got to agree with you on that greenpeter, i seen a lad ruin a good pup by putting too much pressure on it too early, its time enough to start training when a springer is six or seven months old, in the meantime just let it be a pup..:)

When you say let him be a puppy until he is 6 or 7 months old, would you recomend not doing anything with him only maybe leting the kid have fun with him for a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭endasmail

fine looking pup there BB
    best of luck with him/her

good idea on the stickie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭SpringerF

While the pup is asleep on your lap after you have fed him, cleaned him, exercised him, played with him and taken him everywhere with you I suggest you read this book

Training the Rough Shooters Dog
    By P.R.A. Moxon

yessam wrote: »
    When you say let him be a puppy until he is 6 or 7 months old, would you recomend not doing anything with him only maybe leting the kid have fun with him for a few months.

The only things I would be doing is socialising the pup and making sure he didnt pick up any bad habits, so that when the time comes I have a pup that hasnt been tainted in any way and is ready for some basic training.
    its time enough , 7 months would be about when i would start to train, todays springers are quite biddable and easily enough handled withouit too early a start.
    As for kids as long as they know the rules ie: no throwing things and no chasing the pup type of stuff thats fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭SpringerF

As for kids as long as they know the rules ie: no throwing things and no chasing the pup type of stuff thats fine.

The above is 000's of times harder to achieve than training a dog.

And its not only the kids have to very quietly and tactfully trained you have to train the wife too.................try that one

SpringerF wrote: »
    The above is 000's of times harder to achieve than training a dog.

And its not only the kids have to very quietly and tactfully trained you have to train the wife too.................try that one

so true!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Ahhhh yes......... here it is, http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055799234

oh how we laughed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭lucy333springer

Good Luck Bunny Buster, to you and your dog,
    my springer is ready to pup on the 6/4/10, vet scaned her and
    say's there is 5+ pup's in her, I don't think I was this much excited
    in a long time. 333.