Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CELTIC POKER TOUR IN CAHIR AND MONAGHAN 12th and 14th March

• 08-03-2010 10:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭

celticpokertourlogo.jpg

WHO S RUNNING THE EVENT ;CELTIC POKER TOUR

THE PORPOSE; COMMERCIAL

DATE AND VENUE;
    The Cahir House Hotel Friday 12th March Reg 7 For 8

The Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan Sunday 14th March reg 3 for 4

REG AND START TIME;SEE ABOVE

ANY PREREQUISITES;NO

TICKETS;ON THE NIGHT NO LIMIT ON NO`S

TYPE OF TOURNAMENT;NO LIMIT TEXAS HOLDèm

COST OF ENTRY;€100 WITH 1 REBUY OR TOP-UP @€;50

COST OF REG;€20

THE % PAYED OUT ;100%

ANY MONEY HELD BACK;YES €1000 GRAND FINAL TICKET+ 150 PLAYERS LEAGUE

ANY GUARANTEE;YES ** Friday €5000 Sunday €5000 Mothers Day Special
    THE NO.OF RE-BUYS; 1 ONLY

STARTING STACK;10,000

REBUY/TOP-UP STACK;15,000

BLIND STRUCTURE;SEE BELOW

TIME FRAME;25 MINS Progressive

PLACES PAYED;10 % OF FIELD

ANY PRIZES OTHER THAN CASH;YES , ON FRIDAY NIGHT TICKETS FOR THE 10K GAME IN TEMPLEMORE SUN ;SPOTS APPROX €300 DEPENDING ON FIELD

WILL THERE BE DEALERS;YES HIGH STANDARD

ARE THERE DOCUMENTED RULES;YES 2009 TDA

IS THERE A T.D.;YES

HOW ARE DISPUTES HANDLED;T.D. HAS FINAL SAY

WILL THERE BE CASH GAMES;YES RAKE 4% CAPPED @ €15

BLIND STRUCTURE

50 - 100 N/A
    100 - 200 N/A
    150 - 300 N/A
    200 - 400 N/A
    300 - 600 N/A 30 MIN BREAK HOT FOOD SERVED
    400 - 800 N/A
    500 - 1000 N/A
    500 -1000 100
    800 -1500 100
    1000-2000 200
    1500-3000 300
    2000-4000 400 10 MIN BREAK
    3000-6000 500 30mins
    4000-8000 500 30mins
    5000-10000 1000 30mins
    8000-15000 2000 30mins
    10000-20000 2000 30 mins
    15000-30000 3000 ETC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 reraise

dream. wrote: »

celticpokertourlogo.jpg

The Four Seasons Hotel Monaghan Sunday 14th March reg 3 for 4

ANY GUARANTEE;YES ** Friday €5000 Sunday €5000 Mothers Day Special

WHY!!!! is this sunday only e5000 gtd when all of your sun games r e7000
    i dont see nothing special about it
    i was gonna go down to this but im not sure now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭dream.

HI YA YEP the cross border classic is also on and with mothers day we see 5k as reasonable, if numbers stay at the level from the last game here we could hit 10k ;)

the cross border classic is on friday and shud b well finished by sun, this is just another way of CPT doing what they want and to hell with their poker following.
    in my opinion if u want to start the new year with a new START then if u gtd yr fri tournys @e5000 and yr sun games @e7000 then u should stick with the format, regardless of who else is on or watever the occasion is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭maudgone

reraise wrote: »
    the cross border classic is on friday and shud b well finished by sun, this is just another way of CPT doing what they want and to hell with their poker following.
    in my opinion if u want to start the new year with a new START then if u gtd yr fri tournys @e5000 and yr sun games @e7000 then u should stick with the format, regardless of who else is on or watever the occasion is.
    It seems you just can't win with some people Liam. There were no complaints the last couple of weeks when numbers were down but ye still paid out the guarantee with a big overlay in some cases. People just have to be realistic in these tough times, and realise that numbers at poker games are in decline. Everybody has to adjust their estimates from time to time. Cross border classic will have an effect on this CPT game as some people will only be able to play the one event per weekend. Keep up the good work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭theacher

maudgone wrote: »
    It seems you just can't win with some people Liam. There were no complaints the last couple of weeks when numbers were down but ye still paid out the guarantee with a big overlay in some cases. People just have to be realistic in these tough times, and realise that numbers at poker games are in decline. Everybody has to adjust their estimates from time to time. Cross border classic will have an effect on this CPT game as some people will only be able to play the one event per weekend. Keep up the good work.
    no opinions allowed anymore.
    the victim is always rught(sorry customer).;)

Thanks for that feed back always good to get info and will take it into account, however we try to take account of the issues which affect the running of each game , in this case the cross border classic looks like being a great success and is a two day game, prob have some affect, mothers day will prob have some also, if they dont then the payout will be bigger and we all win ah! :). Thanks again .

maudgone wrote: »
    Thanks for that hopefully the numbers will be good but i think this is a reasonable figure, and if it suits people to play they will .

theacher wrote: »
    no opinions allowed anymore.
    the victim is always rught(sorry customer).;)

Always good to talk i say :D

depends who your talking to :cool:

ANY PRIZES OTHER THAN CASH;YES , Tickets for the 10k game in Templemore, number depending on the field.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Thanks for that hopefully the numbers will be good but i think this is a reasonable figure, and if it suits people to play they will .
    As long as you guy,s are happy id leave it alone.

Cheers Damo i suppose after winning the cross border you ll come along to do the double:D:D

Afraid not liam , Im playing the charity gig in the Jackpot on friday and the team event also on sunday so i wont be around , but the best of luck with it , i dont think the crossborder game will affect your no's but i think it being mothers day might.

DAMO72 wrote: »
    Afraid not liam , Im playing the charity gig in the Jackpot on friday and the team event also on sunday so i wont be around , but the best of luck with it , i dont think the crossborder game will affect your no's but i think it being mothers day might.
    ye me to me ma is in her 80's and living in the town on her own gotta bring me three kids to see her but hope to make cash tables in cahir hope to c u good buddie:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Hi Reraise,

It the best thing you could do is put on a game with guarantee's like Liam is offering and comeback to us and after a few months and let us know how you got on.

JP Poker wrote: »
    Hi Reraise,

It the best thing you could do is put on a game with guarantee's like Liam is offering and comeback to us and after a few months and let us know how you got on.
    yip JP is right it must be so hard losing €750 a week and yet hes still guaranteing
    hes some man for one man, must have a great job or something thanks liam from all your customers
    so reraise that:D:D

JP Poker wrote: »
    Hi Reraise,

hi jp
    iv played in your games and i dont know why u r posting here about this
    all i did was ask why the gtd is only 5k when sundays games r 7k
    what do u mean comeback to us r u involved wit CPT????

hi jp
    Hmmmmm the plot thickens . Im off for me popcorn:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭gazman59

hi jp

what a w**ker.. your obviously not from the poker scene? cause if you were you would know jp is one of the most respected torney organiser in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

hi jp

Hi Reraise,

I am in no way involved with CPT.

The reason I said that you should try running a few games like Liam is doing with guarantee's and to come back to us after a few months is....

Because most players simply don't understand how tough it is out there at the moment. Putting on any sort of a guarantee at the moment is a HUGH RISK!!

Numbers are down everywhere as a result of less disposable income and increased competition (of which CPT are competition to me). Some tournaments will continue to get big numbers as players follow the action.

Simply put Guarantee's are very risky and the fact that Liam is willing to put a guarantee on mother's day is even more risky and the reg fee's on the good days don't cover the overlay's on the bad days.

You should have a look and see what is on offer in other countries compared to Ireland. Irish poker players really get a great deal from the like of Liam, Neill, Connie ect.... It's the reason so many of the many travel here for our festivals.

Hey Guys thanks JP for that, best of luck with the masters in May, reraise, we put a guarantee on our games as a base line if it turns out that the no s are better than expected then the payout is bigger as we now payout 100% of prize pool as you know, so come along on Sunday enjoy the game hopefully cash or better still win it out, and come to the grand final in April €100,000 guaranteed. ;):cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭tommyombomb

what time does anyone think the cash will start in cahir tomorrow. Pretty broke and only up for playing the tournament if i can get some cash in before and try and win the entry fee. Prob will play either way. Always love the celtic poker nights. great work guys

hi jp

so we have established that JP is not involved with yoiur organisation but

after you telling us about taking down the photo of Mick ( the last known

owner) taking the money in the game you organised in Portlaoise. Well is he

the owner still, yes or no would do, very straight forward? come on liam give

us a straight answer did Mick give you his darling lorry Betsy???????

I thought the picture was the one of me on the final table , w o w l o l lmao such fun fcuk w o w :D;):):rolleyes::rolleyes::pac::pac::pac::confused::confused:

Ah now just like you admitted to the boys on the mayo thread the picture of

Mick Foley (CPT owner) with his eyes looking down on the money in

portlaoise was taken down still again very good at avoiding a straight answer.

guess we'll never know not that it makes any difference its run the exact

same way, with just half the guarantee:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭span

Seriously man, what is your problem with CPT???? You keep asking about what hidden agenda Liam and Fionn have, but what's your agenda in all this. you have tried to derail every single CPT thread.

Saying the tour is run the exact same way is a joke, obviously you haven't been to a CPT game lately then. Yes the guarantee is reduced but how in gods name could you expect anyone to guarantee 10K twice a week in the current climate. I'd guess less than half the amount of people playing poker last year are still playing this year.

So rather than scolding Liam and Fionn for reducing the guarantee they should be commended for still offering a guarantee in these harder times. And another thing to be commended is the fact that the guarantee is honoured. I know of several games that have guaranteed a certain amout but when it looked likely that the guarantee would not be made, the games were simply cancelled or the guarantee not paid out. Twice this year, the guarantee was not reached yet Liam and Fionn dipped into their own pockets to pay out the advertised guarantee.

Changes have been made to the tour since Liam and Fionn took over.
    - 100% payout
    - new poker clock giving players more information throughout the tournament
    - Progressive clock with blinds being extended later in the tournament
    - extra blind levels added in

Yes this looks the exact same as before :rolleyes::rolleyes:

I work as a dealer with CPT, all of the above are my personal views.

Theacher, I've given you straigfoward answers to the questions you've asked. Could you tell me what your gripe is with CPT??

Still avoiding answering a very simple question liam should have been in

politics yes or no will do. You think everyones out to get you just be

straight and then noone will have any problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭winstons pt

Still avoiding answering a very simple question liam should have been in

politics yes or no will do. You think everyones out to get you just be

straight and then noone will have any problems

Who gives a fcuk, are we here to play politics or poker

nice one on the phil helmuth (an idiot with a stack).:D:D

commend your loyalty gavin .but just let the dog bark for himself, and who are these people cancelling games trying to get out of guarantees come on spill.tell mick i was asking for him when ye get the cpt truck tonite;)oh and just me personally i thought the craic and atmosphere was to greedy .kinda desperate.now will ye let me go and make some poker vouchers for tonite .

Originally Posted by theacher viewpost.gif
    might be but why take down herr flicks picture takin the money in portlaoise.?
    he takes a good snap and is a peasant oul character.
    Christ it was a terrible snap eyes shut and everything lol lol lmao . I promise to put up a nice one if i can find one biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif .Worked for the old one, Running the New one w o w hard work but great craic [/qoute]

This is what i posted in Mayo, the piicture was of me and I looked terrible so I took it down ( Vanity huh)
    Cheers theacher

Liam Delaney 0851104484 : pokerliam@yahoo.ie : Athy Current owner of CPT

yes alright liam it must have been you in one of the six photos taken down in

the first portlaoise game you with white hair and a beard, the other games

have 12 photos but whos counting. it was nice of mick to hand you over the

whole cpt package including that lorry of his, his pride and joy without having

anything to do with cpt he would be like that or is he, is he part of the

organisation yes or no will do:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

no

finally hope that wasn't to hard

nope:D

Well we'll leave it at that... just one thing just got word the CPT lorry is still registered to Mick foley you might want to fill out a RF2 form:confused::confused:;):p:D:D

Cheers thanks for that must check it out
    Kind of you to let us know,see you soon ;)

cheers no problem hope to make it for the late cash tables you know the score hard to get away sometimes wife wants me to come back to bed but the pull of cahir such choices cheers buddy:)

LOL:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 THE_GEEEZER

after reading this i think that the cpt have changed and im gonna go up on sun and give them a spin after staying away for 2 years. BECAUSE THE LAST TIME I WENT i was chipleader at the final table wit 440,000 (nxt had 210,000) and i only had 10BB'S:confused:
    i finished 7th as it was allin or fold mode

c u sun guys:cool:

"i'd rather b lucky than good"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭philcassidy

after reading this i think that the cpt have changed and im gonna go up on sun and give them a spin after staying away for 2 years. BECAUSE THE LAST TIME I WENT i was chipleader at the final table wit 440,000 (nxt had 210,000) and i only had 10BB'S:confused:
    i finished 7th as it was allin or fold mode

c u sun guys:cool:

you were never chipleader in your life gary:D;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 THE_GEEEZER

i remember it well phil it was feb 2008 and it was raining!!!! and it was also the last time i won a coin flip. edit: last time i WON:o:o
    god i used to love winning at holdem:D
    do u still get 2 cards in your hand at the start:D

Cheers yep those days are gone thank god, lots of play at the final tables these days, clock adjusted as needs be .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 zeton

can u post results from cahir liam please.:rolleyes:

Good night in Cahir again Friday 46 runners, prizepool of €6800. The top five places getting payed.
    1. Terry Loughnane €2750
    2. Caroline Murphy €1400
    3. Thomas O Brien €900
    4. Michelle Brookes €700
    5. Kathleen Butler €600
    Players league €150
    Spots €300

See you all again soon thanks again .

Oh lord very tight again tonight just made it , top 5 got payed as follows
    1. Eldon Orr €2100
    2. Rodney Mc Vitty €900
    3. Dean Reynolds € 700
    4. Gavin Dunne €550
    5. Francis McClean €400
    €150 players League
    €200 spots

Happpy mothers day to all see ye again soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭maudgone

Good night in Cahir again Friday 46 runners, prizepool of €6800. The top five places getting payed.
    1. Terry Loughnane €2750
    2. Caroline Murphy €1400
    3. Thomas O Brien €900
    4. Michelle Brookes €700
    5. Kathleen Butler €600
    Players league €150
    Spots €300

See you all again soon thanks again .
    Nice one Liam. Nearly a clean sweep for the Roscrea pubs,with Terence from Loughnane's, & Caroline and Michelle from The Full House in the top 5. Best of luck with the Templemore game this Sunday night. Hopefully I might make this if I can wriggle out of the bus run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭tommyombomb

great tournament. sorry for the sick bad beat on the river.

cant wait for sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Hot-Rod

Well done laim and cpt on a well run tournament. Havent played with cpt in maybe 18 months but will be back. Didnt turn into a crapshoot, replaying levels at the correct times allowed some play.

Nearly took it down, but i will take 2nd place. Well done to Eldon who won, some excellant moves at the final table.

cheers lads trying to give as much value and play as possible with the one day game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭ChaosFromHaden

Congrats Hot-Rod, nice cash out. And I for one am glad to see CPT in Monaghan. It gives gives us a decent weekend tournament to play in that you don't have to travel too. Long may it last!