Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do guys think of earings on a girl?

• 07-03-2010 6:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭

Just wondering really...
    Do you guys like them/dislike them/care either way?

I dont have pierced ears. Me mother always said if God had wanted you to have holes in your ears he'd have put them there Himself! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

dont like them tbh, dont see the point.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Kepti

Doolee wrote: »
    Just wondering really...
    Do you guys like them/dislike them/care either way?

I dont have pierced ears. Me mother always said if God had wanted you to have holes in your ears he'd have put them there Himself! :D

If your ears don't have holes, seek medical attention immediately ;)

It depends less on the earring and more on the girl that's wearing them in my opinion. They can be anywhere on the spectrum of classy to trashy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Doolee

Kepti wrote: »
    If your ears don't have holes, seek medical attention immediately ;)

It depends less on the earring and more on the girl that's wearing them in my opinion. They can be anywhere on the spectrum of classy to trashy.

:) Its a classey/trashy thing really and also as said, what is the point?! If a girl has tiny ones on, you can hardly see them, then huge feckoff hoops look mank in my opinion. I dunno, guess its a taste thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

:) Its a classey/trashy thing really and also as said, what is the point?! If a girl has tiny ones on, you can hardly see them, then huge feckoff hoops look mank in my opinion. I dunno, guess its a taste thing.

You might also ask what's the point in wearing any jewellery then?

dearg lady wrote: »
    You might also ask what's the point in wearing any jewellery then?

Yeah I suppose. Of course theres the obvious answer, but maybe its cause you have to physically put a hole through a part of the body or something. No offense intended though, ok. Its just a thing i was wondering about really:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

studs and small earings are ok ...... big feck off hoopy ones ....definate noooooo.

like the other posters have said ...all depends on the gurl !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

Yeah I suppose. Of course theres the obvious answer, but maybe its cause you have to physically put a hole through a part of the body or something. No offense intended though, ok. Its just a thing i was wondering about really:o

None taken :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Well I've always had a thing for Pat Butcher....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Little studs, pretty things are fine. Big yokes are a no no, my gf recently got back from holidays and has 2 new piercings on her right lobe, for now shes just got 2 little studs cos the piercings are new obviously, Im dreading the day she dons monster hoops.

Preferably, less is more :) also Im a fan of kissin ear lobes.. is that weird?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Also agree with the studs and small earings, I really dislike hoops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

I always like the little white pearls. Never liked the hoops though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭candlegrease

love big hoopy ones....apparently the radius of the hoop is inversely proportional to intelligence and directly proportional to likelihood of being up the pole by age 15.*

*I've seen the graph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

you can get classy loopy ones just as long as they are very thin and silver.

ie, not big thick pikey goldgy ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

The more ear ring/piercings the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

as long as i cant throw a basketball through them, it's fine by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

As a general rule I dont like piercings at all however that being said, ears I can live with if the earrings are tasteful.

Wow,

In general its not looking good for earings, big or otherwise it seems. Might keep my lobes intact!
    Thanks for all the replies. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I like them generally. I went out with one girl who didn't have her ears pierced and thought that was unusual (though it didn't bother me).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Doesnt bother me really and Ive never had a preference either way.I would however draw the line at the big assed chav style hoop earrings,no,just no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

The more the better imo. Tattoos are a big plus too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

To each their own I say, as long as the girl is happy with her ear rings or whatever she decides to wear that's the main thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

Don't mind them at all. I think it it can look pretty cool when a girl has a row of smallish studs in her ear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

TO be honest piercings in gneral are mank to me. I dpon't like earrgins particularly as in i don't want someone to have them, but they are so common that I can appreciate nice ones. The one piercing I do like on a lass, weirdly, is a single small nose stud on the side of the nose. For some strange reason I find that very attractive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Depends on the girl, a woman can wear a nose stud and look funky and another can wear it and look like a big scobe, same as anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

MediumWell wrote: »
    Also agree with the studs and small earings, I really dislike hoops.

+1.

I wear 2 studs in each ear. I'd never wear hoops because most of the time, they end up looking quite ... tacky, I think.

I prefer to wear little earrings that are quite inconspicuous ... They're pretty, without being OTT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I have each ear done three times! All my other piercings/tatoos and stuff are hidden.

I wear one pair of studs at all times and when I go out I put dangly ones in - I never wear hoops because they dont look right on me but I wouldnt have a problem with them if they did suit me!

Big skanky ones can look good on certain people if you dress accordingly!

Piercings are a personal preference!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

As long as they are nice and easy on the eye [ Pat in E.Enders take note] I think they are fine, although I may need to compromise as I am covered in Tattoos myself. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

hoops yuck:

E067-hand-made-gold-hoop-earrings-noble-jewelers-1.jpg

...these fine...

earrings-large-diamond-stud.jpg

.. these also fine...

Pearl-Earrings.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Cicero wrote: »
    hoops yuck:

Hoops are yuck- thats a given, I agree the middle ones are nice and discreet and tasteful.

But Cicero, really.

Those last ones shouldn't be seen on anyone under 65.
    Possibly 70.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I dont mind hoped earings i mean some are really trashy and look more like horse rideing stirups then hoops in which case tyhere cheep nasty looking things.....

tho normal circuler hoped rings can look good on some women In any case, its not something.... I'm to fussed about......

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

I wear hooped earrings, pretty much all the time outside of work, i wear studs in work.

I've been told that I look Spanish/Mediterranean (due to my colouring) or that i'm working the boho chic look but obviously they were lying and I just resemble a dirty pikey. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

You're probably the trendsetter the pikey's have been trying (and failing) to look as good as, Maple!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Giselle wrote: »
    You're probably the trendsetter the pikey's have been trying (and failing) to look as good as, Maple!

:D but of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I used to have a big thing against earrings when I was young and it sorta still sticks in the back of my mind. I like them on girls but some types really throw me and put me off.

Don't start me on the huge ones that create a huge hole in your ear. Total turn off. something crusty about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

maple wrote: »
    I wear hooped earrings, pretty much all the time outside of work, i wear studs in work.

I've been told that I look Spanish/Mediterranean (due to my colouring) or that i'm working the boho chic look but obviously they were lying and I just resemble a dirty pikey. :(

Excuse ME

I said hooped earings where fine its the ones that represent stirups which arnt il try explain these below

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_Wn2yww3gK94/SxZ45Vshj1I/AAAAAAAAAHA/WllVEuv82BQ/s400/oval-tube-hoop-earrings.jpg

kinda like these except the earing has some sort of broach style staue welded on to the lowest part of the earing... and useually worn with tracksuit bottems hair worn tightly back, I wanna throw up!!!

but normal circle ones look really nice it depends on how the womans dressed to I mean you cant just say i hate circle earings..... its like saying I hate the mugs in star bucks because a capochino tastes wrank with a mug :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Giselle wrote: »
    But Cicero, really.

Those last ones shouldn't be seen on anyone under 65.
    Possibly 70.:)

..yea, 100% .....when I posted it first I had the same reaction...reminds me of Dustin Hoffman playing Tootsie :D....I said I wouldn't bother changing the photo but ure spot on.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I don't have mine pierced and never will.
    I'm very funny with jewellery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Ok everyone, if we've reached a point where we're talking about pikeys and we have ladies (loverly as you are) discussing earring fashion I think then we've reached the end of usefulness for this thread in tGC.