Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the Coolest Nationality?

• 07-03-2010 4:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭

All the happy people in the 'how cool are us guys' thread saying we're a nation of drunken losers, got me thinking.

What is the coolest nationality?

I'd say the Italians. They couple a healtly aversion to hardwork with a love of good food and fine wine (& women) They take the month of August off every year, love their football, dress well, look good etc etc.

Ok so theres some national stereotypes there but you get the general idea.

Who is coolest and why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Iceland. They just told the Brits and the Dutch to F-Off. Big Brass Balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Jamaican.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Antartican

Fookin freezing down there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

norweigan,swedish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The English - because of all the cool stuff to come from there: music, film, TV, fashion, literature, theatre, newspapers, magazines, comedy, to a lesser extent football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

I think the Russians are s**t cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Australian.

Ever hear a hot Australian chick talking about partying on the beach? In that accent? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Dudess wrote: »
    The English - because of all the cool stuff to come from there: music, film, TV, fashion, literature, theatre, newspapers, magazines, comedy, to a lesser extent football.

I hope RebelHeart is on a day off! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

This wont end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Agricola wrote: »
    I'd say the Italians.

have to agree, any nation that can pull off wearing shades at night gets my vote!

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Robin Wren

The French, especially on the mediteranean coast,
    cool, laid back, and sexy women.
    Cafes, restaurants and nice weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

Irish. No contest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

"Cool"...umm...is'nt that one of those words which means absolutely nothing in objective reality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

Has to be the Dutch, fcuk yeah!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

greenland, have you seen the temperature there at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

you'd think it be americans but i find them to be very uncool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Xluna wrote: »
    "Cool"...umm...is'nt that one of those words which means absolutely nothing in objective reality?

Yep, thats why I asked people to explain why they thought certain nationalities were cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

I'd say the Italians because of the way they look, the way they dress, the food they eat etc. The Swedish are pretty classy/cool as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

The Atlanteans - they were too cool for this world so they sunk their own island. Beat that.

Loose Czech women are very, ahem, cool.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

dolliemix wrote: »
    I think the Russians are s**t cool.

As opposed to sh1t hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

ddef wrote: »
    Irish. No contest.

I'm guessing you've never been at a GAA match?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I just said that we were like a drunk uncle and that people are cool, not nationalities...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

ejmaztec wrote: »
    As opposed to sh1t hot?

They're that as well!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Gingers.

If they can be their own race, they can be their own nationality too.

And they're cool...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Gingers.

If they can be their own race, they can be their own nationality too.

And they're cool...

I would want to be president of that nation. (even though I'm not ginger)

It would easily be the worlds coolest nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

The Belgians.

Nah, just kidding :p. Italians probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Trinidad and Tabogiananiansaiannnaiais

People from Trinidad and Tabago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

The Chinese. A great bunch of lads. Look at them there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Style, culture and great food, it's got to be the Italians alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Ever hear of natural born pussies?

If i wasnt irish id be the scotish..the rest can die in a hole

Mad for the ould fascism as well.:pac:

ah cool country doesnt give a **** what others think...that immediately excludes the irish who are obsessed with the worlds interpration of them. ireland is too conservative and people not stylish enough to be cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

And the French Canadian. I certainly thought so anyway when I went on holidays to Quebec City and Montreal. Classy people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Brazillians! Big happy samba dancing feckers with their footballing prowess to boot. :p

u should take a little stoll through a favella and see what walking around with a big smiley mug gets ya!!!! shot thats what

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Agricola wrote: »
    What's the Coolest Nationality?

Freisens from Saarland in Germany.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Oh Jesus. Isn't it just an *amazing* coincidence that all the "cool stuff" in life happens to be in the only language you understand. Amazing. Wow. How on earth do the French, Russians, Italians, Austrians and Germans - among others - manage at all with such a paucity of music, literature, theatre, newspapers and the like.

Yeah, so there, Beethoven, Mozart, Vivaldi, Verdi, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Baudelaire, Hugo, Chekhov, Camus, Dumas, Von Karajan, Versace, Dolce, Gabbana, Armani, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky, Sarte, Proust, Ravel, Dante ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

I think the Polish are pretty cool! :) Also i've always wanted to meet a real life Jamaican, I wonder if they are anything like the stereotype... probably not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Black Americans, from 'Da Hood, yo'.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Truley wrote: »
    I think the Polish are pretty cool! :) Also i've always wanted to meet a real life Jamaican, I wonder if they are anything like the stereotype... probably not.

Yeah, they're a lot more stabby and shooty than ya'd think.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I'm guessing you've never been at a GAA match?

hehe. Yeah, 'cool' is probably not the word. But GAA matches are definitely one of the very, very best things about Irish culture and society. Great craic, roguery, plámás, abuse, camaraderie and huge characters at every match. It's a great way to spend an evening. Brilliant fun above all else.

Today, and for the past year at least, the Icelandic people - all 300,000 plus of them - are up at the very top of 'cool'.

We should set up an international solidarity group to support that tiny, tiny country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Oh Jesus. Isn't it just an *amazing* coincidence that all the "cool stuff" in life happens to be in the only language you understand. Amazing. Wow. How on earth do the French, Russians, Italians, Austrians and Germans - among others - manage at all with such a paucity of music, literature, theatre, newspapers and the like.

Yeah, so there, Beethoven, Mozart, Vivaldi, Verdi, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Baudelaire, Hugo, Chekhov, Camus, Dumas, Von Karajan, Versace, Dolce, Gabbana, Armani, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky, Sarte, Proust, Ravel, Dante ....

Assumption much?

Coolest Nationality, Jamaican, simply because saying "Beer Can" in a Jamaican accent sounds like "bacon". And my two favourite things are Beer and Bacon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

The Swiss, French (for striking so often and being naturally stylish!) and the Singaporeans (for turning a country from a sh**hole into a world class country in less than 70 years!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Rebelheart wrote: »

I really like the culture to come out of England - I like stuff to come out of other countries too, but the majority of what I'm into comes from England. I can't see where I said or even implied there's a dearth of culture from other countries.
    As for the language thing, do YOU read Tolstoy in Russian? And I didn't know you needed the language of a particular composer to listen to their works...

But of course the above isn't actually what this is about - it's about your resentment of Britain for historical reasons... so much so that you'll even bring it into a thread which isn't serious and which has nothing to do with history or politics.

I like a load of stuff to come from England - I just do. The fact it's from England isn't anything to do with it. It doesn't mean I'm cowing to the Brits or that I've an inferiority complex about being Irish or that I'm anti republican or unaware of Ireland's history. Fucking deal with it.

Christ, if a person said they liked loads of music, film, literature etc to come out of Germany, that would be that. But replace Germany with England, and even though it's the very same thing, it has to be jumped on...

Such hatred and bitterness - what a miserable way to live...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

you'd think it be americans but i find them to be very uncool.

dont be silly!

I really like the culture to come out of England - I like stuff to come out of other countries too, but the majority of what I'm into comes from England. I can't see where I said or even implied there's a dearth of culture from other countries.
    As for the language thing, do YOU read Tolstoy in Russian? And I didn't know you needed the language of a particular composer to listen to their works...

But of course the above isn't actually what this is about - it's about your resentment of Britain for historical reasons... so much so that you'll even bring it into a thread which isn't serious and which has nothing to do with history or politics.

I like a load of stuff to come from England - I just do. The fact it's from England isn't anything to do with it. It doesn't mean I'm cowing to the Brits or that I've an inferiority complex about being Irish or that I'm anti republican or unaware of Ireland's history. Fucking deal with it.

Christ, if a person said they liked loads of music, film, literature etc to come out of Germany, that would be that. But replace Germany with England, and even though it's the very same thing, it has to be jumped on...

Of course you are perfectly entitled to like whatever you want. However, it is more than ironic that for a poster who is always lecturing the rest of us about being narrow-minded that your cultural and intellectual world revolves around a single country, England. The hypocrisy is galling.

It's a big world out there and it is myopic in the extreme to shut that out and focus on the cultural output of a single country as you've done. To take one example of many, you are clearly not into classical music because if you were your cultural world would out of necessity be a lot larger than England. Open your mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Assumption much?

Coolest Nationality, Jamaican, simply because saying "Beer Can" in a Jamaican accent sounds like "bacon". And my two favourite things are Beer and Bacon.

Its either Jamaican or German for me....