Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Heroic Moments

• 07-03-2010 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭

i'll probably get a lot of stick for this but i recently found a wallet in college that had nearly 300 euro in it, student id, bank cards, you name it..EVERYTHING! a couple of the lads were saying just take the money but i said it was too lousey so i handed the wallet into the reception and she got the wallet..i didnt even wait for her to come down, just left and didnt think twice about it so...

what did u do lately that made someone happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

That's not heroic! That's just you not being an ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭dave 27

ok maybe a bad choice of words, heroic in the recipricants eyes anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

Like a predictable human being, you wanted to squeze any drop of self-gratification you could out of doing good deed, so you told people online. Hoping for a pat on the back. How selfish. You should have just kept the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Like a predictable human being, you wanted to squeze any drop of self-gratification you could out of doing good deed, so you told people online. Hoping for a pat on the back. How selfish. You should have just kept the money.

An honest person would have shat in the wallet so that they couldn't feel the sin of pride, such is the true path to heaven.

eh..no, i thought id make a thread on this as theres loads of individual posts going around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Let me set the scene for you. It's a 7-10 split (the hardest shot in bowling). It was all up to me -- -- so I got up all my courage. Right away, my lips started to move, and I came up with the chant that won the match!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Perhaps the title of the thread should have been "My heroic moments..." as you clearly are more interested in talking about yourself.

Obviously people are encouraged to contribute to their own threads but its fairly obvious what this thread was created for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Formal shorts

If that's heroic, you must be an awful jerk normally

Kirby wrote: »
    Perhaps the title of the thread should have been "My heroic moments..." as you clearly are more interested in talking about yourself.

Obviously people are encouraged to contribute to their own threads but its fairly obvious what this thread was created for.

what? how the hell am i supposed to create these threads so like?! if i posted it without a story at the start the first post would be you post something u did first or gtfo crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

thats cool dude. dont mind these nerds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭anti-venom

What you did op was the right thing but it was hardly heroic. I'd bet, though, that your first reaction was to keep it and you probably had to struggle with your conscience to do the right thing. Am I right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭neil_18_

Jesus everyone is bashing the OP, its a forum rule that he has to contribute his own input, thats all he did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Saved my dad's life - he was drowning on holidays when I was about 15, so I got him to poolside.

To this day I question that decision :P

anti-venom wrote: »
    What you did op was the right thing but it was hardly heroic. I'd bet, though, that your first reaction was to keep it and you probably had to struggle with your conscience to do the right thing. Am I right?

ya heroic is a wrong use of words, heroic in the sence of the person thats on the recieving end i suppose, i dunno really i was more in shock finding a wallet with all that was inside it, she even had her drivers liscence in it!

but as i mentioned post stuff you did that helped other people, i remember seeing a post not so long ago about some guy that bought an abrakebabra for all the homeless people so it got me thinking on doing this thread

that is heroic man. you could have easily taken it but you were a good person and little things like that make people view the world more positively. you dont have to be like peter parker to be heroic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

When I was 7, I ran into my burning house and saved my little sister. I got slightly burned doing so.

Beat that! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

thats cool dude. dont mind these nerds

Nerds! How Dare You! Bloody Rugby Playing Jocks!

Yeah so anyway I stood up to this guy that was badmouthing people on boards and calling them ''nerds'', that was my most heroic day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

dave 27 wrote: »
    i'll probably get a lot of stick for this but i recently found a wallet in college that had nearly 300 euro in it, student id, bank cards, you name it..EVERYTHING! a couple of the lads were saying just take the money but i said it was too lousey so i handed the wallet into the reception and she got the wallet..i didnt even wait for her to come down, just left and didnt think twice about it so...

Was she hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Saved a dog from drowning. Old woman came up to me, 'My dog, my dog is old and can't swim' jumped in, grabbed the collar and pullled 'Toby' out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

In McDonalds at Christmas time eating a burger with a friend. We were sitting at the window and accross the carpark there was what looked like a bum messing around with the bin.
    He was putting stuff into it and clearin out a bag he had. Anyway it was taking him ages as he was changin his mind what to bin and dropping ****. We were laughin at him I'm ashamed to say. Anyway right before we finished our food, he finished up and walked off but as he did something dropped out of his pocket. We said we'd walk over to see what it was. Gettin closer I realised it was money. A bundle of 50's in fact. I didn't count it but the guts of 300 anyway.
    Your man was gone about a minute up the busy street so I legged it after him and spotted him. Said " Sorry sir, you dropped this back at McDonalds", and handed it to him. Poor guy was not with it I'd say but shoved it in his pocket thanked me and walked off. Was relly proud of myself after that. If I hadn't been looking out the window (and lauging at him I'll admit), he'd never have got it back. Some cnut would have pocketed it. Considerin it was probably all he had for Xmas made it even sweeter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Healium

I once ate a whole packet of Toxic Waste all at once :rolleyes:
    My poor teeth!
    http://www.toydirectory.com/monthly/hgg/candydynamics/toxic.jpg

:( According to Wikipedia,
    "It is warned on the packet that the consumer should not put more than one in the mouth at once as it may cause damage to the consumer's taste buds"

Kazooie wrote: »
    In McDonalds at Christmas time eating a burger with a friend. We were sitting at the window and accross the carpark there was what looked like a bum messing around with the bin.
    He was putting stuff into it and clearin out a bag he had. Anyway it was taking him ages as he was changin his mind what to bin and dropping ****. We were laughin at him I'm ashamed to say. Anyway right before we finished our food, he finished up and walked off but as he did something dropped out of his pocket. We said we'd walk over to see what it was. Gettin closer I realised it was money. A bundle of 50's in fact. I didn't count it but the guts of 300 anyway.
    Your man was gone about a minute up the busy street so I legged it after him and spotted him. Said " Sorry sir, you dropped this back at McDonalds", and handed it to him. Poor guy was not with it I'd say but shoved it in his pocket thanked me and walked off. Was relly proud of myself after that. If I hadn't been looking out the window (and lauging at him I'll admit), he'd never have got it back. Some cnut would have pocketed it. Considerin it was probably all he had for Xmas made it even sweeter.

i would have kept it its not like he needed it for anything....well except for booze and prob heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Theres a trend these days when people return sums of money that have been lost. Which is that the grateful person who lost it in the first place rarely rewards honesty by giving them afew quid.
    In our local town, a woman managed to lose her handbag in which she happened to have 800 euro in the purse. The person that found it got the owners name and address from a note in the bag and returned it in person. She didnt even offer her 20 lousy quid for being so honest. I think if i lost the bones of a grand, I would give the person that returned it to me a cash reward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

The receptionist is probably 300 euro richer now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

I wouldn't call it 'heroic' my any means but I did help a blind guy get money from an atm, which I admit was kinda weird. And no I didnt steal any money from him ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

i once saved my boss from a nasty beating .......

i held my temper :D

runs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

Neighbors kids were home alone during a storm that spawned a tornado. I seen them out at the garden so i ran across the street and got them up into the bath tub and covered us with a matress. The whole house was destroyed. Got a write up in the local paper because they wreckon they would have been killed if they just hid downstairs. Mother had only gone to the store for 10 minutes and got stuck due to how quick the weather changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Somebody once held out for me 'til the end of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I go kayaking so have done a few heroic things involved in that.I dropped my phone on the bus and some girl called me and we met up and she gave it back to me.I gave her 20 quid because I was just so grateful.A taxi driver came to my home a few days after I had dropped my phone in the taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I try not to take a dump on Sundays, with it being the Sabbath and all. I suppose around here, that kind of an effort will no doubt lead to me being awarded my second a Purple Heart.

I was awarded my first one for refraining from shooting my elderly next door neighbour for hanging her laundry outside to dry, despite her knowing that the sight of oversized granny knickers fills me with rage.

I think you will agree the age of chivalry is alive and kicking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I've done some good stuff I hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Stephentlig

dave 27 wrote: »

I suppose I feel the most heroic act I've done in life was saving a woman from being raped. I also prevented a woman from being beaten to near death by her husband in my town.

there are probably other things I did but they are the most disturbing and first ones that always come to mind and definitely not something I wish to even expand on.

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Neighbors kids were home alone during a storm that spawned a tornado. I seen them out at the garden so i ran across the street and got them up into the bath tub and covered us with a matress. The whole house was destroyed. Got a write up in the local paper because they wreckon they would have been killed if they just hid downstairs. Mother had only gone to the store for 10 minutes and got stuck due to how quick the weather changed.

This happen in Finglas??:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

When I was 10 a guy broke into my friends house who just came out of the looney bin,we were in my others friends house playing((Next door)) when he cmae running up.His brother was in bed((Like 20 something at the time)) and so we all ran down.Twas in the afternoon and the parents were all there about too and they thought we were playing a game the eejits.So we were watching the guy from the windows as he walked around the house going through stuff and what not and then went to the brothers wino,knocked on it but he didnt belive us as some of the guys wouldnt stop laughing((Still a twat to this very day)).So we ran back up to the other house and then I got a stick and went back bymyself and went to the house and woke him up telling him there really was a man in the house.

The guy was upstairs at thise stage and he tried calling him down but after threatening him several times form the stairs we both ran back up to the other house and called the guards...In which then the parents believed us

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

My grandson recently asked me was I a hero. I said no. But I served in a company of heros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭SeanKev

I was staying in my Nana's one weekend, Grandparents were down in Wexford. Had a bit of a 'gaff' :rolleyes:

My 2 mates missed the last bus home so I let them stay (thankfully)

Me and Kev (username) stayed in my cousins double while Luke stayed in the spare room.

At about 2-ish Luke comes into our room, he's always messing and we thought he came in to pour shaving foam on us or something. :D

He tells us that he heard the front door being opened, I knew it was definitely locked but we all went downstairs to check anyway, nothing, back to bed. Me and Kev stayed awake for a while, talking.
    We're wondering if Luke really did hear something.

*Creak* back door opens,
    Luke comes in, swearing someone is there.
    We all sneak to the landing and listen, footsteps in the kitchen.
    Sounds like only one person.

It was right there we ignore all the risks, he could have a weapon/more people etc.

It was a mixture of Alcohol/Adrenaline & Fear, we all creep downstairs and rush into the kitchen, straight at the very surprised man.
    Gave him a terrible beating, we then take turns holding him down while waiting for the guards.

Guards come, tell us we're brave lads and take him away. :D

Could of been very different if my mates had of gotten the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

A stray dog followed me home from the shops last year. He was only a pup and looked hungry so I took pity on him and brought him in to the house. Still here to this day and costing me a fortune in food and vets fees. The vet sent him a Christmas card.:rolleyes: Worth it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

FFS what twat picked today's post and thread of the day.

This is a disgrace, the post of the day is some moralising idiot and this Thread just shows how begrudging we all are....

:mad:

http://blogs.nerve.com/modernmaterialist/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/larry-david-yelling.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Effluo wrote: »

This is a disgrace, the post of the day is some moralising idiot and this Thread just shows how begrudging we all are....

http://blogs.nerve.com/modernmaterialist/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/larry-david-yelling.jpg

Is this post your most heroic moment??:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Senna wrote: »
    Is this post your most heroic moment??:rolleyes:

no comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I know a woman who found a wallet chock full of cash and cards just a week before Christmas. Both her and her husband were out of work and were facing a very lean Christmas. They have two children. She told me it was very hard to hand it over in her financial circumstances but she said she couldn't live with herself if she inflicted the hardship she was facing on someone else. She handed it in and got a phone call of thanks from a very grateful owner later that evening.
    I'm proud to count someone with that strength of character as a friend, she is a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Effluo banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭spudmonkey17

From a couple of months back...

A taxi driver in New York drove 80km to track down a woman that left $21,000, some jewellery and a couple of passports in the back of his taxi. When the woman offered him some of the money as a reward he declined. Borderline heroic if you ask me...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/8455897.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Effluo wrote: »

There's a Post/Thread of the day????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 ldee

once i agreed with the point the OP made. it made him feel good. that's pretty heroic...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭genie_us

saw someone walking ahead of me drop something at heuston station, when i got closer I realised it was money - €500 note. Picked it up and for a split second considered putting towards our upcoming wedding, but ran after your woman and gave it to her and the look of pure horror first when she realised she had dropped it followed by absolute relief, she started crying. was glad I didn't keep it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

As a child, I seen my parents killed by a young criminal. I vowed to avenge their deaths in a lifelong battle against crime as the Batman to conceal my true identity.

Gotham City is under the control of crime boss Carl Grissom. Despite the best efforts of newly-elected district attorney Harvey Dent and police commissioner James Gordon, the Police department remains corrupted. Reporter Alexander Knox and photo-journalist Vicki Vale begin investigating the rumors of a shadowy vigilante figure dressed as a bat who has been terrifying criminals throughout the city.

Vicki and Knox attend a benefit at my Manor, where i'm taken by Vicki's charms. Knox, however, appears somewhat jealous of (as well as a little intrigued by) the chemistry between me and Vicki. That same night, Grissom's second in command, Jack Napier , is sent to raid Axis Chemicals factory. After the police receive a tip-off and arrive to arrest him, Jack realizes I's been set-up by his boss, angered by his affair with Grissom's mistress. In the midst of the shoot-out, I arrive and take out Jack's henchmen.

In a bizarre accident caused by his own ricocheting bullet, deflected by my metal-reinforced gauntlet, Jack's face is ripped open. Reeling from the pain, he toppled over a platform rail but manages to grab a lower rail with one hand. I momentarily clutched Jack's free hand, but the grip is soon broken, and he falls into a large vat containing an unknown chemical solution. Shortly thereafter, he emerges from an adjacent reservoir, his hair and skin discolored. Following a surgical attempt to repair his face, Jack is left with a permanent and twisted grin, giving him the appearance of a grotesque clown. Driven mad, he fashions himself as "the joker".
    After killing Grissom, the Joker takes over my empire and holds the city at his mercy by chemically altering everyday hygiene products, causing those using a certain combination of products to laugh to death. I attempted to track down the Joker, who has become romantically interested in Vicki. It is revealed to me that the Joker, as a young criminal, was the very man who killed my parents. I destroyed the factory the Joker used to make the poisoned products. The Joker holds a parade through Gotham, luring its citizens on to its streets by dispensing money, intending to kill them with lethal gas. I foiled his plan, but the Joker kidnaps Vicki and takes her to the top of a cathedral church. After a fight with me, the Joker falls to his death from the bell tower. Commissioner Gordon unveils the Bat signal along with a note from me read by Harvey Dent, promising to defend Gotham whenever crime strikes again.

I felt pretty heroic after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Everyday without fail I get up and continue this hollow charade of a life without once ever taking a lump hammer to the morons that fill my days with idiocy and annoyances.

Where's my medal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Everyday without fail I get up and continue this hollow charade of a life without once ever taking a lump hammer to the morons that fill my days with idiocy and annoyances.

Where's my medal?

We're not that bad, are we? :(

Also, here's your medal ;)

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_AA0RzEeWT-0/SXnshZz8BuI/AAAAAAAAAEk/ZoLY_WwsdOY/s320/Circle_5K_Medal.jpg

And sure have one of these :D

http://www.jonburgerman.com/images/uploads/BP11badge.jpg