Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When a shopping trolley doesn't fit in your car

• 06-03-2010 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭

In the spirit of stuff that doesn't fit in your car, I seen this at liffey valley this afternoon.

106911.jpg

The shopping strolley is somehow stuck/clued/welded to the rusted roof. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It's a redneck roof rack :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭TheColl

ahem... scrappage deal... ahem...

when a micra looks good beside your car, surely it's time to change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

Ha, I only say that car on the M4 the other evening. It's one of those rat look cars, guy driving it needs to cop-on he was driving like an @rse :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Ha. The lad that owns it is over on fci.
    I'll let him know your opinion NeilW ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I like what he done to the reg plate. Very "devil may care" look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

It looks like Mad Max's school-run, pickin-up-the-messages car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

SV wrote: »
    Ha. The lad that owns it is over on fci.
    I'll let him know your opinion NeilW ;)

Someone needs to alright, he cut up two cars crossing to get to an exit at the last minute. Nice maneuver ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 RevOC

Yeh that's actually my car, nobody asked you to like it, it's a fun car for taking the piss, if ya want to borrow it to go shopping for a sense of humour just let me know

Also I'm the so called "@rse" that drives it, if ya don't like my driving, blow me dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Let's use grown up talk please, this isn't a school yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

RevOC wrote: »
    Yeh that's actually my car, nobody asked you to like it, it's a fun car for taking the piss, if ya want to borrow it to go shopping for a sense of humour just let me know

Also I'm the so called "@rse" that drives it, if ya don't like my driving, blow me dick

did that pass the nct:eek:

bladebrew wrote: »
    did that pass the nct:eek:

Yep passed NCT in January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

I'm all for the "rat" look, can look pretty good sometimes, so thumbs up for doing your own thing, but your attitude here sucks, and if you did pull off that maneuver as described please don't do it again. I wrote off two cars when the driver in front of me tried (very unsuccesfully) to avoid an arsehole who decided to cut across two lanes at a motorway junction :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

I'm not up on the latest fads, but is the "rat" look is where you deliberately make your car look shít?

BTW, I also saw you driving like an ass, in Leixlip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

"The rat rod is the visualization of the idea of function over form. Rat rods are meant to be driven, not shown off. Sometimes the customization will include using spare parts, or parts from another car altogether"

There appears to be a re-curring theme here with the driving skills though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 --paul--

Yep passed NCT in January

not with a f**king shopping trolley glued to the roof it didn't,also your allegedly driving like an ass with unsecured metal poles sticking out from your roof.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Neilw wrote: »
    he cut up two cars crossing to get to an exit at the last minute.
    JHMEG wrote: »
    BTW, I also saw you driving like an ass, in Leixlip.

OP, maybe you want to consider a less distinctive looking motor.

Actually, never mind. You'll be driving a tow truck as soon as an off-duty/unmarked garda sees you pull one of those stunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭DrivingsCool

its about time cars like this came on the road!

Everyone got very stuck up with the new Wealth.

Bring back the laugh and the bit of craic.296340034.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

Whats written on the back of this intriguing 'rat rod'. I think I can make out "pump up the volume".
    How is that "roofrack" attached?
    Any more customisations besides said "roofrack" and numberplate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

whats written all over it is " Target for the Traffic Corps".... if you want to drive one like that, make sure your paper work is beyind reproach and your driving likewise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

Do you have to put a token in the trolley to start the car?

--paul-- wrote: »
    not with a f**king shopping trolley glued to the roof it didn't,also your allegedly driving like an ass with unsecured metal poles sticking out from your roof.....

I don't see any "unsecured metal poles" sticking out of my roof, and the car is in the gargen infront of me
    OP, maybe you want to consider a less distinctive looking motor.

Actually, never mind. You'll be driving a tow truck as soon as an off-duty/unmarked garda sees you pull one of those stunts.

What's wrong with having a distinctive looking car?
    its about time cars like this came on the road!

Everyone got very stuck up with the new Wealth.

Bring back the laugh and the bit of craic.296340034.jpg

Too right, life is too short to be stuck up and give a ****, take a few chillaxatives and enjoy life
    Whats written on the back of this intriguing 'rat rod'. I think I can make out "pump up the volume".
    How is that "roofrack" attached?
    Any more customisations besides said "roofrack" and numberplate?

Yup you read the sticker correctly, there used to be a decent ICE install in the back, but it's all been removed since

I have lino replacing the carpet, and fake grass floor mats
    corktina wrote: »
    whats written all over it is " Target for the Traffic Corps".... if you want to drive one like that, make sure your paper work is beyind reproach and your driving likewise...

But of course
    Do you have to put a token in the trolley to start the car?

No, it uses this new fangled invention called a "key" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 dottytegr

good car fair play to u son seen her in the mh carpark on the 26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Dear Lord, shed of the week, OP should post this on barryboys :D I'm all for having fun with a car but only in the right circumstances, cutting up other drivers just shows ignorance and a lack of proper experience on the road, it's not fun or courteous to other road users...then again I don't think you give a toss about other people RevOC, given your posts here :pac: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Dear Lord, shed of the week, OP should post this on barryboys :D I'm all for having fun with a car but only in the right circumstances, cutting up other drivers just shows ignorance and a lack of proper experience on the road, it's not fun or courteous to other road users...then again I don't think you give a toss about other people RevOC, given your posts here :pac: :rolleyes:
    Easy now, you're getting very close to personal abuse there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

mate of mine owns that, hes a mad man, it was originally an intact red clio when it started, the trolley is kept on with rivets, the cars been impounded by the gards before (unsurprisingly) , its actually hillarious the amount of stuff thats been done to that car, when he first put the paint on a bunch of people with chalk drew knobs all over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 annialationn

well in rev lad, love this car, its the most different car i have come accross in a long time...ever screw the haters, keep up the good work
    osd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

FTW

pic-by-stephan-repke-vw-speed-a10a4.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

colm_c wrote: »
    In the spirit of stuff that doesn't fit in your car, I seen this at liffey valley this afternoon.

The shopping strolley is somehow stuck/clued/welded to the rusted roof. :eek:

Wow, this is scary, since I saw the same car today morning in Clonee village:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Anan1 wrote: »
    Easy now, you're getting very close to personal abuse there.

Got it Anan1, apologies to RevOC, didn't mean to come across quite so harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

<clears throat>

"LOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooOOOOoooook how much personality I have. I'm mad and I just don't care what you or anybody else thinks. That's how I roll"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

then there would be this (in)famous one:
    dsc00795mh5.jpg
    dsc00796im9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

You gotta love the people who register solely to defend RevOC...

As long as its safe I don't care what you drive and I'm sure its a laugh.
    You must get some looks of bewilderment though... and alot of people saying
    "How is that POS allowed on the road?"

As you said yourself its a fun car for taking the piss, so don't get so offended when people give you the exact reaction you're trying to provoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

I think the rat looks suits old skool 30's to 60's american hotrods (the guys who invented the look out of necessity, as every cent was spent on the engine!).

I think the rat look on 80s and 90's european cars just looks like tack of the highest order!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Thought it suited the more retro classic cars alrite, seen it done to a few
    Ford Cortina's in Oz and the Odd VW beetle. Otherwise its a rusty piece
    of junk, but i suppose each to the own.

B00MSTICK wrote: »

As you said yourself its a fun car for taking the piss, so don't get so offended when people give you the exact reaction you're trying to provoke

aha finaly somebody with an objective and sensible point of view, who sees things as they are, take note folks...smart guy ))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

B00MSTICK wrote: »

I personally dont mind what the car looks like, infact fair balls for keeping something different on the road. But its the indifference to other drivers in terms of road manner and general awareness that causes issue. If thats the case here someone needs to check themselves.. Besides that the car is pretty fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

, it uses this new fangled invention called a "key" :rolleyes:
    Ah yes I heard of those things!
    Have you had any hassle from the guards? like have they pulled you over to see whats on the roof etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

cantdecide wrote: »
    <clears throat>

"LOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooOOOOoooook how much personality I have. I'm mad and I just don't care what you or anybody else thinks. That's how I roll"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Also I'm the so called "@rse&quot; that drives it, if ya don't like my driving, blow me dick
    dottytegr wrote: »
    good car fair play to u son seen her in the mh carpark on the 26
    well in rev lad, love this car, its the most different car i have come accross in a long time...ever screw the haters, keep up the good work
    osd

I have a funny feeling you three are the same person!

BTW, brutal looking car!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 dottytegr

dont wont to hurt ure feelings but ure wrong:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Grahamo999 wrote: »

Don't assume that just because you don't like the look of a car then nobody else could either. I, for example, would sooner look at that Clio than another 520d with MPack any day.;)

WRONG
    DIFFERENT PEOPLE ALL TOGETHER LOL, NICE TRY THOUGH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I'd go for mates, or mustered via another forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

id say its the same person, i come across it all the time on a forum i mod, quick ip check and bobs ur uncle

even when ya tell them ya know its a rereg they still deny it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Hilarious that none of them can spell :D

guil wrote: »
    id say its the same person, i come across it all the time on a forum i mod, quick ip check and bobs ur uncle

even when ya tell them ya know its a rereg they still deny it

WHAT PART OF
    WRONG
    DONT YOU UNDERSTAND??
    ARE YOU IN THE GOVERNMENT OR SOMETHING?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

why so capslock?

I'm struggling to think of a reason to keep this thread open at this stage.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Hilarious that none of them can spell :D

BET YOU HAD YOUR SPELL CHECK ON WHEN YOU WROTE THAT LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

eoin wrote: »
    why so capslock?

bit of entertainment

eoin wrote: »
    why so capslock?

ITS ACTUALLY GETTING YOUR SITE SOME PUBLICITY, BELEIVE IT OR NOT..
    GOOD A REASON AS ANY...