Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London Olympic torch to make Dublin Visit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

No doubt the looney priest has ironed his kilt for this occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Letting a Brit torch into this country, while its fiery Brit forebears set alight to the thatch roofs of starving Irish families while nefarious landlords looked on with mirth.

For shame. For shame.

stovelid wrote: »
    Letting a Brit torch into this country, while its fiery Brit forebears set alight to the thatch roofs of starving Irish families while nefarious landlords looked on with mirth.

For shame. For shame.

Well the Brits did accept our biggest flamer into their country, so fair is far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

stovelid wrote: »

For shame. For shame.

What about the Irish Catholic landlords ? there were many if you read all the history not just the bit that suits your agenda

Love and peace man its in the name of sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Poll should read: which would you prefer to visit: the British Queen or the Olympic torch?

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Poll should read: which would you prefer to visit: the British Queen or the Olympic torch?

How about option 3 : British Queen AS olympic torch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

m@cc@ wrote: »

Torch the Queen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Winty wrote: »
    What about the Irish Catholic landlords ? there were many if you read all the history not just the bit that suits your agenda

Irish catholic: good

Brits: bad.

/logs out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I hate crap stunts like this. Seriously, what kind of people actually give a flying f*ck about some crappy torch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

The Olympic torch is a symbol of celebration of all humans, not just specific countries. Since there is literally no chance of Ireland ever hosting the Olympics, I think we should be honoured to have the torch come here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I have no problem with the Olympic torch being in Ireland, however, given there is an overseas ban on the flame there is a political implication in the notion that Ireland is not, and on that basis, NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Charco wrote: »
    I hate crap stunts like this. Seriously, what kind of people actually give a flying f*ck about some crappy torch?

I bet quite a few will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Charco wrote: »

People not fom Cork.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

dsmythy wrote: »
    I bet quite a few will.

Especially when some skanger nicks it and bolts it to his boy-racer bonnet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Ireland isn't overseas though is it. The torch may well pass through a land border on its way here.

Anyway, I don't think it should come here until it has apologised for all the pain and suffering caused by fire in the past.

Ireland isn't overseas though is it. The torch may well pass through a land border on its way here.

The people calling for a united Ireland don't seem so clever now, hmmm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

Can we have a not really bothered if it comes or not option? I like to sit on the fence about such things. :D
    But not sure it should come here, not because of the whole what they did to us for 800 years argument that have been non stop in recent days. But just that GB are hosting it and not us, don't think just cause we are a neighbour it should come here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Anyway, I don't think it should come here until it has apologised for all the pain and suffering caused by fire in the past.

Yaaawn.

Hear hear! Actually I'm pretty sure this particular torch is related to the ones used to heat the tar used by the British for pitchcapping during the 1798 rebelion! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Yes, bring on the torch for the craic, what's the worst that could happen?

Anything to further improve British/Irish relations anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭dasdog

DamoDLK wrote: »
    Yes, bring on the torch for the craic, what's the worst that could happen?

It could get torchnapped by the Real IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

dasdog wrote: »
    It could get torchnapped by the Real IRA.

Well i'd be flaming mad if that happened..

/gets coat leaves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

will it be going to france too then via the channel tunnel?? given their so mad for neighbourly love all of a sudden.

it annoys me enough already the amount of people including a lot of english people who think we are part of britain, the british isles, etc etc-this will just lead to more of that.

anyways this will mean more expense on guards for security and all that, plus traffic diversions for the streets blocked off for it to go down. i drive a lot so no thanks on that front.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Where is this stuff about the touch not being allowed to go to other countries coming from?

2008 Summer Olympics Torch Relay

The 2008 one did a pretty round about route to get from Athens to Beijing, and I'm sure the 2004 one did more than juts the couple of mile trip down the road from where they lit it to the stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

nipplenuts wrote: »
    I have no problem with the Olympic torch being in Ireland, however, given there is an overseas ban on the flame there is a political implication in the notion that Ireland is not, and on that basis, NO!
    Now, would you deny Belfast a visit of the torch? If not, then surely going from Belfast to Dublin is not "overseas"?
    df1985 wrote: »
    will it be going to france too then via the channel tunnel?? given their so mad for neighbourly love all of a sudden.
    Also not "overseas". :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

London is the closest the Olympic games will ever get to Ireland, so why not mooch off of it?

We should be advertising Dublin as being "only one hour from London city" and renting out our homes to people going to the games.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

seamus wrote: »
    London is the closest the Olympic games will ever get to Ireland, so why not mooch off of it?

We should be advertising Dublin as being "only one hour from London city" and renting out our homes to people going to the games.

Both the Jamaican and US teams have already signed deals to head to Birmingham for their training cams before the games starts, clicky. Anywhere in Ireland managed to rent out their facilities to any countries yet and bring in a bit of foreign money?

seamus wrote: »

Sure why not just hand outselves back to the Empire before 2012 while we're at it. As well as the few quid we could milk out of it they might even give us a few of the swimming heats or a womens football qualifier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

dvpower wrote: »
    Torch the Queen!
    I wouldn't mind having a wicker man here. That'd be a real show. It'd be that Beijing ceremony hands down.

I wonder will there be any strong nationalists/republicans who go out and try to splash water over the torch in protest at the English occupation of the North, a la those pro-Tibet types in 2008?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭flowersagogo

careful,could be a trojan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The IOC wants to ban global routes because of protests. Simple case, send them a copy of the Love Parade riots and the torch won¨t coem anywhere near Dublin :D job done.

And how come no one has demanded this be moved to the Dublin forum...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Can we really trust the veracity of a story written by a clealy beardless man named Matthew Beard?

I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

bonerm wrote: »
    Sure why not just hand outselves back to the Empire before 2012 while we're at it. As well as the few quid we could milk out of it they might even give us a few of the swimming heats or a womens football qualifier.

There are a lot of Irish builders and construction companies involved in knocking together all buildings Olympic, so I think there will be gold medals handed out for hod-carrying, nail-gun shooting, tea-drinking and synchronised JCB driving.

Victor wrote: »
    Now, would you deny Belfast a visit of the torch? If not, then surely going from Belfast to Dublin is not "overseas"?

Well, given that the Olympics are awarded to the city of London, then Belfast is overseas from there. It being in a different country than London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭flowersagogo

how do they get the feckin thing through security?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

ejmaztec wrote: »
    There are a lot of Irish builders and construction companies involved in knocking together all buildings Olympic, so I think there will be gold medals handed out for hod-carrying, nail-gun shooting, tea-drinking and synchronised JCB driving.

ejmaztec has highlighted a very important point.

Since the arse has fallen out of the Irish construction industry the Irish guys working on the Olympic site are grateful for the work.

The Olympics can do nothing but good for both our economies

Well, given that the Olympics are awarded to the city of London, then Belfast is overseas from there. It being in a different country that London.

London isn't a country, the UK is though.

robinph wrote: »
    London isn't a country, the UK is though.

That's my point. The award is not to a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

In my opinion when the country get all excited about non-events such as this it is the equivalent of eejits who stand behind news reporters hoping to get their face on d'telly. Nobody in any other country will give two damns if the torch passes through Dublin or not. It will be a complete non-event yet no doubt the streets will be thronged with people waving their tricolours thinking that this is some enormous priviledge. I really do find it pathetic and indeed indicative of just how insignificant Ireland is when this kind of thing is actually seen as being significant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

;)Once nobody dies or gets injured I dont think it matters if it comes or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

+1 for this reason only.

If it's not allowed into another country, then it's not allowed. Period.

In actual fact, if it's worded as "overseas", then it probably couldn't even go to Northern Ireland.

Then again, if it's not allowed "overseas", how are they going to get it as far as Britain ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Well, given that the Olympics are awarded to the city of London, then Belfast is overseas from there. It being in a different country than London.

It's in the same nation, though.

That said, it would have to cross the "Irish Sea".
    Earthhorse wrote: »
    Can we really trust the veracity of a story written by a clealy beardless man named Matthew Beard?

I think not.

It was good enough for ZZ Top! ;)