Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A new income stream for the Government!

• 04-03-2010 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭

Its nice to see the Garda helping out the government coffer’s this morning on the Navan road opposite the Blanchardtown centre. Three lanes of traffic crawling along the inside lane is the bus lane and two lanes of regular traffic. After the bus lane sign at the end of the slip road, there is three signs gone up showing the inside lane is for north bound M50 traffic, so the cars filter into the bus lane as per the signs. This morning after the last sign we had two Garda’s pulling in the cars in the bus lane.

I assume its tax and insurance and roll we to the Garda, roll down the window and the Garda asks me do I know I’m driving in the bus lane? I say I do but I was just following the signs on the road. The Garda says what signs? And I indicate to the sign 20 meters back up the road from him. He walks up to the sign, takes a looks at it, walks back up to me and tells me to carry on. I look in the mirror to see him pulling in the car behind me.

It’s a new earner for the government to direct cars into the bus lane then fine them for driving in the bus lane!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

When a garda is clearly wrong like you describe you are entitled to make him pull down his trousers and jocks and he must walk around your car 4 times saying "i'm a gobshíte".....it's in the constitution.....at the very back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

NORTH1 wrote: »
    After the bus lane sign at the end of the slip road, there is three signs gone up showing the inside lane is for north bound M50 traffic, so the cars filter into the bus lane as per the signs.

You're contradicting yourself. Were you stopped in the bus lane or after the bus lane? If the signs indicate you should use lane 1, they mean you should use it approaching the next junction after the bus lane has ended. How is this confusing - it's either a bus lane or it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

markpb wrote: »
    You're contradicting yourself. Were you stopped in the bus lane or after the bus lane? If the signs indicate you should use lane 1, they mean you should use it approaching the next junction after the bus lane has ended. How is this confusing - it's either a bus lane or it's not.

"After the bus lane sign"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

markpb wrote: »

Sorry I was not clear "After the Bus lane sign"

1 I was in the bus lane.

2 there are three signs directing north bound M50 traffic to use the inside lane, which is the bus lane.

There are only three lanes on this section of road, the sign shows three lanes and the inside lane is for north bound M50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It's not much of a new income stream if they didn't fine you though, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    It's not much of a new income stream if they didn't fine you though, is it?

Ahh yes true but like most scams they prey on the weak willed, a percentage will probably just pay a fine and not look to question the situation they find themselfs in, especialy against the garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Ah, the Gardai. Just like when they magically had time and the resources to plant a van on the quays in Dublin to catch motorists going over the new 30km/h limit on its first day of operation.

Its all about safety, not revenue, did you not get the memo? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I noticed the same as well today driving home through Corduff. Gardai everywhere & pulling cars over causing slowdowns in traffic flow. 4 Gardai cars, a Garda motorcyclist and 4 on foot, so I thought there was a major crime in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I noticed the same as well today driving home through Corduff. Gardai everywhere & pulling cars over causing slowdowns in traffic flow. 4 Gardai cars, a Garda motorcyclist and 4 on foot, so I thought there was a major crime in the area.

Corduff?.. Of course there was major crime in the area - Westie's anyone!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I would hate to live in Dublin , It seems that the Gardai are everywhere fcuking with the jacks. Serves ye right for all the culchie baiting.

NORTH1 wrote: »
    Its nice to see the Garda helping out the government coffer’s this morning on the Navan road opposite the Blanchardtown centre. Three lanes of traffic crawling along the inside lane is the bus lane and two lanes of regular traffic. After the bus lane sign at the end of the slip road, there is three signs gone up showing the inside lane is for north bound M50 traffic, so the cars filter into the bus lane as per the signs. This morning after the last sign we had two Garda’s pulling in the cars in the bus lane.

I assume its tax and insurance and roll we to the Garda, roll down the window and the Garda asks me do I know I’m driving in the bus lane? I say I do but I was just following the signs on the road. The Garda says what signs? And I indicate to the sign 20 meters back up the road from him. He walks up to the sign, takes a looks at it, walks back up to me and tells me to carry on. I look in the mirror to see him pulling in the car behind me.

It’s a new earner for the government to direct cars into the bus lane then fine them for driving in the bus lane!!

LOL how many tickets had he handed out before you told him about the sign I wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

One eejit a few years ago told me I had no NCT cert on my car. I told him that it wasn't due yet but he continued to point out to me that I had to have it displayed on my windscreen until I pointed out to him that my car was only 3 years old :rolleyes:.

He went around the front and checked my reg plate. It was a 03 car back in 2006 and then he let me go with a "Oh right, carry on so".

I was in stitches after I drove off :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

D_murph wrote: »
    One eejit a few years ago told me I had no NCT cert on my car. I told him that it wasn't due yet but he continued to point out to me that I had to have it displayed on my windscreen until I pointed out to him that my car was only 3 years old :rolleyes:.

He went around the front and checked my reg plate. It was a 03 car back in 2006 and then he let me go with a "Oh right, carry on so".

I was in stitches after I drove off :D.

This has happened to me too. When the Garda realised he was wrong he told me to turn off my front fog lights as they were on an energy conservation drive and were getting people to turn fog lights off....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I was once told by a Garda in 2008 I think it was, to remove the tints from my tinted windows on the car. He said a new law was passed and I had to get them removed.

I asked, what law? He just answered, "the law that was passed the other day". I asked again to name it and he answered the same phrase again. So instead of getting hassle and pursuing it, I said 'I'll get them done tomorrow" to get rid of him.

I still have the tints :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Shane732 wrote: »
    This has happened to me too. When the Garda realised he was wrong he told me to turn off my front fog lights as they were on an energy conservation drive and were getting people to turn fog lights off....

LMFAO :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

Garda once pulled me over cos i beeped at a car in the wrong lane on a roundabout..

Bare with me here... 2 lane roundabout I entered in the right hand side lane wanting to go straight on car on my left wanted to take the 3rd exit from the roundabout... needless to say we got in each others way... I blared a them... que garda chase after me, I say to the gaurd go back and look at the sign entering the roundabout (which clearly states from entering in the left lane you can ONLY go left or straight through) (right lane go right or straight through)

Gaurds response... "the signs dont matter" then proceeds to tell me how im whats wrong with young drivers today..., and i should go back and read the rules of the road again

Grrr ill never get over it
    :mad: