Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honda Classic Bets

• 03-03-2010 11:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭

Who is everyone going with this week? Better field than the Phoenix Open imo...

Here are my picks:
    Love for a top 10 finish at 14/1
    Dufner for top 10 finish at 9/1

Usually don't back golfers to win but went with:
    McIlroy at 17/1
    Casey at 20/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Irishvillian

My picks are-K.J Choi and Y.E Yang ew double.:eek:

Chad Collins ew and Goggin ew.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Isn't Rory coming back after an injury.......I don't expect him to win. A top 10 would be great though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

stockdam wrote: »
    Isn't Rory coming back after an injury.......I don't expect him to win. A top 10 would be great though.

Apparently he was fully fit at the matchplay event.

He had a week off last week and was seen on the course with Dr.Bob! Reckon he's in great shape mentally and well up for this event. Physical shape we'll have to wait and see but I don't think he's carrying any injuries...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭postalservice

have a couple squid e/w on lowery, wagner, sauders, janzen and beem :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

stevire wrote: »
    Apparently he was fully fit at the matchplay event.

Fair point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭A New earth

Small EW bet on Duval @ 125/1 with Boylesports who are refunding all win bets if Harrington, McIlroy or McDowell win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

V.Taylor @70/1,e/w,will have another bet on Sat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mccutchie

E.W on Ernie Els and Mark Wilson

Rank Outside e.w Jeff Overton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I've gone for Robert Allenby again this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Good round by Graeme McDowell today, -2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭useurename

Rank Outside e.w Jeff Overton[/QUOTE]
    john duggan on today fm tipped this fella aswell.huge price.

useurename wrote: »
    Rank Outside e.w Jeff Overton
    john duggan on today fm tipped this fella aswell.huge price.[/QUOTE]

he's a big price every week,reason is the kid has no botle whatsoever and if i was pricing it up i'd let you pick your own price,+9,btw i'm not slagging the tip as you never know how you'll play on a give day
    however on a tough course like this i would probably back Ronan Rafferty to beat him,expect Jeff to do ok on an easy resort course as he can be streaky at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Aidric wrote: »
    I've gone for Robert Allenby again this week.
    Oh dear, should have went with Villegas.

Aidric wrote: »
    Oh dear, should have went with Villegas.
    was nearly goin to do him myself only for the price,his record here is excellent
    however it's like i always say these lads are no diff than you or me in terms of knowing how they're goin to play on a given day(bar Tiger maybe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭RocketRonnie

heavyballs wrote: »
    was nearly goin to do him myself only for the price,his record here is excellent
    however it's like i always say these lads are no diff than you or me in terms of knowing how they're goin to play on a given day(bar Tiger maybe)

Sick I missed him, 6/1 now....
    Too short, gonna have to go for Trahan or Kim now @ 18's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

I'd like to see the odds on Jeff Overton now!! +9 after day one...

All my punts are 1 - 4 over par... :mad:

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Watching a bit of this on Sky...
    I can't believe some of the shots to the par 3 15th....
    Ok, so it's 200 yards to the flag and most of it is over water but some of the players have plonked it into the pond about 40 or 50 yards from the flag and 30+ yards away from dry land... with a 5 iron. I mean, so bad if your 18 handicap buddy hit it this weekend you'd sneer at him (and he'd deserve it).
    Lovely bunker pin high on the left by the way... know where I'd be aiming it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Legwinski

Kim to hold out?

McDowells finish is some downer....even though my only coverage of the event is pgatour.com leaderboards :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Fair play to McDowell to call the foul on himself, and then having to get video evidence to verify it, but even if his club hit the water on a backswing (while taking his shot) is a ridiculous rule to inforce !!! What kind of advantage could he possibly get ?!?! :eek:

it's not a question of gaining an advantage all the time when it comes to golf rules,rules are rules,most make perfect sence ,some are pure stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Legwinski

Anybody hav a sopcast for this? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭postalservice

have a couple squid e/w on lowery, wagner, saunders, janzen and beem :D

maybe should have put more than 50c each way down (500/1:P)

prob finish 6th or something :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

any1 fancy anything in the final days odds?

heaviballs??

robbie1977 wrote: »
    any1 fancy anything in the final days odds?

heaviballs??

tbh i've been out all day,was in the bookies this morning early but didn't have the balls to back Camillo at 8/15,were very generous odds me thinks,bad week for me this week,only savin grace was backing KJ to finish ahead of JD in the euro event ith one of my mates

maybe should have put more than 50c each way down (500/1:P)

prob finish 6th or something :rolleyes:

i always say shop around when backing e/w,there are a few shops that will pay 6 places all tourneys,usually the independent ones,Spencers who have a few shops around(Bray,Kilcoole) and i think Pat Toolin in Greystones also,we need all the help we can get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Stuck my last €20 on Kim 10/11,Villegas 8/11 and O'Connell 11/8 to win there final round 3 balls and looking good with a few to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Watching the highlights here on sky, I have to say there is a warped pleasure in watching a top pro like Villegas missing a 3 foot putt for par....

Makes me realise it happens us all!:D