Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Returning to Running Questions Advice

• 02-03-2010 12:28PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads,

Was 97.4kg at Christmas and now 89kg. I mtb 3 times a week and I want to get back to running for the 1st time in about 10 years. Height 175cm. Age 34. Heart is strong from the mtb but running will require more muscles! My target is 78kg-80kg. So my running is for weight loss mainly.

Question:-
    • Am I still to heave to run? should I wait a bit more until I'm 80/85kg?
    • Should I get fitted for proper runners?
    • My 1st Gaol is 5km comfortably.
    • I have the option of onroad or offroad running as I live beside the Phoenix Park. Which would you recommend?
    • Any good sites for proper running technique and loggin progress etc.
    Thanks for any advice in advance.

Again main aim is to tone and loose weight.

M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

mtb?
    You should be fine running, as long as you take it easy, and yes, get proper runners. Go in to Elvery's or Runways where they can do a gait analysis.
    5k is a good goal, loads of people (me included) have used this plan. I found the free podcasts by Robert Ullrey to be very good too.
    Offroad running is easier on the joints than running on concrete, but there's more perceived effort. I prefer running on tarmac.
    You can log progress here - see the training logs section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

mtb - mountian biking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

Drapper wrote: »
    mtb - mountian biking.

you left out "thanks raycun."

hahah I gave you a thumbs up :-) but Thank You now too :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

I have just spotted the "thanks from Drapper" underneath Raycun's message....I didn't notice it earlier...apologies for that Drapper....

I will second Raycun's advice....important to get properly fitted for runners...I got mine in Elverys in Dundrum....
    I am also doing the C25K programme....it is well worthwhile...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭_sheep

Good runners are important, i started the c25k in a crappy pair of flat nikes just before christmas and found myself sore for days after the runs. Infact I never found myself stopping because I was tired during the c25k it was more because of sore feet/shins.

Some way through the program after repeating a few weeks I picked up a half decent pair of runners that suited my gait and ended up running a 10k instead of doing week 7 of the c25k and havent looked back.

Dont wait to lose weight to start running, I started not too long ago at embarrassingly close to double your target weight and havent had any problems at all in that regard.

thanks! all positive comments so far!
    is it good for weight loss in general?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

It uses more calories than pretty much anything else, unfortunately, I appear to compensate by eating enough to compensate but in theory if you can avoid this fatal flaw you should be good. There are various strategies for maximising the weight loss (running before breakfast, intervals, long slow runs, .....) each have their advantages and disadvantages but as a beginner, get used to running first, enjoy it and make it part of your routine. Then worry about the fancy stuff. Entering a race is a really good motivational tool. The great thing about running, is that there is genuinely every level catered for.

great words of wisdom there! I'll take all onboard!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well done on the weight loss, you must have changed your diet a good bit too.

What I found great for losing weight was circuit training, lost 2 stone over about 6 months last year going once per week.

What I have found about the running is that the longer runs would definitely cause me to lose more in a week.
    Aim for a long run a week, what ever that maybe, 5km, 10km, 15km.

Since Nov of last year I have gone from doing 5km a week to about 35km per week, throwing in some spinning and circuits to add a bit of variety.

Totally agree about the races, start with a 5km or an 8km as from my own experience, I started with a 10km and got blown out of the water due to inexperience and it nailed my confidence a little.

Also RECORD everything, its great to be able to look back and be encouraged by your times/distances etc.
    Also maybe record your measurements as you will plateau on the weight but you will be gaining muscle.

Best of luck with it also, enjoy it though :)

ok guys, did my 1st run last night. 4.53km in 32mins. Felt grand and the old knee injury seems to be okish as there was less weight on it since the last time. Droppped to fast walking about 3/4 times but did not stop. Guess I need to keep at it! :-) lower back a little stiff this morn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

great work.

I think stretching after running is so important! agree?