Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MCD - 'patrons had every right to complain'

• 28-02-2010 1:16pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/ireland/article7043888.ece

Very interesting article in the times today. From both sides it seems a former employee is being blamed for the problems at last years MCD big events (oasis/acdc/metallica/fatboy slim no mention of oxegen) and the employee is saying she's being made a scapegoat.

Mountcharles has said MCD can't use slane til the issues are fully addressed...

I want a proper discussion here, no tit for tat comments or pointless one liners.
    This is the only warning being given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nommm

So does this make Macca for Slane more realistic? Seen as he was apparently booked by other promoters :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭sabrewulf

Serious question: What were the security issues?
    I've been to 3 of the 4 shows mentioned and didn't notice any problems. (Been to AC/DC, Metallica and Fatboy Slim, have not been to Oasis).
    Oasis at Slane seemed to have been hell accessing the venue. I heard about 2 to 4 hours queuing times each for entering and leaving.
    The Metallica show only sold out half, so definitely no overcrowding there, Fatboy Slim seemed to be close to sold out, but I have never seen security measures as careful as on that night. Two checks on the entrance: full body check and metal detector check. I must admit that I left after half of the Fatboy Slim set, since I didn't like it, so I don't know what happened afterwards. Only issue I noticed was at the AC/DC concert in Punchestown: While we were queuing for the buses on the way back, the queue was not moving at all and it seemed like there were loads of empty buses waiting and the crowd could not see the reason why the security would not let them enter. So, after some time the mob crashed all the barricades and entered the buses at will. It was pure chaos, but worked fine. (I filmed parts of this, will try to upload it on youtube).
    This situation went out of control, but this is the only issue I remember from these 3 gigs. So... what was the matter with the other gigs?

cheers!

sabrewulf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

The AC/DC Punchestown aftermath was a disgrace. The Dublin bus fiasco.

All was going well. An orderly queue was well formed and people were getting on buses with no hassle until some idiots knocked down the barrier and everyone made a break to the buses. Security guards were an absolute joke that night. They stood there and let it happen.

No effort at all was made to stop people from barging forward. A load of people were falling due to the sheer number of people pushing forward and the crowd and NOT the security guards were helping these people up.

At one stage a security guard just told us to keep walking up the road and hope for the best. WTF?

It was badly organised and there was no enforcement. While myself and my dad were being crushed the security guards were standing around shrugging their shoulders. They hadn't a fcuking clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭creativedrinker

I was at 3 out of the 4, didnt go to oasis. I thought metallica and fatboy slim were grand, i drove and there were no troubles with the carpark or anything like that.... At ac/dc the bus's back to the park and ride were a joke, 2 hour wait i think it was... My dad was talking to one of the workers at the park and ride carpark and he said he also worked oasis and he was saying that the main reason for all the problems was the guards that they were cutting off the road so cars and bus's cudnt get close to the venue..

I heard the same about ac/dc that with the coaches the cops would only let the bus's out of punchestown race cource but not in which led to delays...

Im not sure if thats why the gigs were a cockup but they got the get their act together!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

The only one of these gigs I was at was Oasis @ Slane, and I have to say, I didn't experience what a lot of people experienced. I drove up, and got there early, at about 12pm. I, and my friend parked my car in a field about 1/2 mile on the far side Slane village. The field was only half full at this stage!! Drank a couple of cans in the car park, and headed into the gig (walking through the village) at about 2pm. Grand and relaxed.

Straight through the gates in 2 or 3 minutes. Had my ticket checked, had my bag searched. No problems so far!! Queued for about 10mins for 2pints (which is kinda standard time at a big gig, so didn't mind that)

Now, this is where the problems begin. We were supposed to be meeting my 2 brothers and other friends once we got in there.They had arrived via Dublin Bus at about 3pm, and were coming in through a different entrance to us.... When we finally met up, at 6pm, they told us that it had taken them 3 hours just to get through the gates.

They said thousands of people had been made to walk down a narrow pathway, hemmed in on both sides by barriers. They told me that girls were crying and fights were breaking out because people were getting crushed. They fully expected Hillsborough mkII to happen!!! They finally got through the gates when people started pushing barriers over to escape, and security removed the rest. They didn't have their tickets or bags checked at any stage!!

By now, my brothers and friends were pissed off, but we all just said "come on, were here now, lets enjoy the day". We then started to queue at the bar (my second time queuing, last time it only took 10mins) and we waited in line for an HOUR:mad: I missed the whole of The Prodigy.... Was RAGING:mad:.... had been having a great time up til then (although looking back, it was my choice to stay in the line, I could have just done without the drink!!)

After all this, made our way down near the front, and had a great time singing along and dancing to Oasis (I don't care what anyone says, I'm 31 and they were a defining band of my generation). Can't fault them at all!!

When the gig was over, the crowd I was with went our separate ways..... and this is another major difference in what we experienced.... Me and my friend planned to spend the night in the car, we waited til a lot of the crowds had cleared, walked back to the car in 20mins, and were all snuggled up in the car, with a spliff, less than an hour after the gig had finished.... Lovely!

My 2 brothers, on the other hand, couldn't get on a Dublin bus for love nor money (they had tickets) They walked MILES!! They got as far as a sign that said 'Slane 9km', before giving up and sitting down in a ditch. They said afterwards it was chaos, there were loads of empty buses, but no-one was being left on.They eventually got back to Dublin at 5.30am. They have vowed never again will they go back to Slane:mad:

In my opinion, the problems with buses and overcrowding/crushing at the gates (the gates that ALL the bus passengers were coming through), were caused by Dublin Bus and MCD being overwhelmed by the sheer volume of people who decided to use public transport..... I haven't heard about anyone that drove up themselves having any bother. Also, it seems if you got there early, like I did, then you were OK. Everyone seemed to start arriving about 3pm, and the crowds were too big to cope with. They really would want to sort it out, cos Slane really is a fantastic venue, just a pity that the access roads are so crap!!

I enjoyed my day, but the fact that my brothers and friends didn't would put me off going to Slane again.

Sorry if this turned into a bit of an essay, but just my 2cents worth......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Ac/Dc for me - o god where do i start -

I have pictures from that night, i am surprised no one was hurt or even killed

one bus was so full that UPSTAIRS people where pressed against the window. downstairs you could not see the lights for the amount of people,

Myself and my fianceé are never going to a mcd punchestown/outside of dublin event again,

I mentioned the above to a group of gardai who actually said back to me "not our problem", said it to security about the fences "not our problem" so if the gardai and sercurity for the event wasn't there problem who's was it?

Shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

I went to both of Metallica's recent Marlay concerts, i had no problems at all with the 2009 gig but the 2008 one was a fiasco, spent 2hrs queuing to get in the arena, is it this gig they're talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

think so scudzilla, was at both but arrived late for the 08 one and the 09 one was fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭RayCon

I think the most shocking piece of that story is :

Ridley, who is paid €167,000 a year

:eek: ..... Im in the wrong game.