Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last day of the season.

• 27-02-2010 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭

Can't make it out tomorrow so I had my last day of the deer season today.
    Beautiful weather and great views from the hill I stommped up. The frosty ground gave me away two times and I saw white tails bounce away.
    I followed three deer that I spooked and came across them again.
    This time I managed to get the calf with a free hand shot. Of course at the furthest possible place in relation to the car. Weather was great and views where nice so the drag wasn't too bad. I was pleased with the way my new lightweight stock handles.
    View from the top.
    DSCN0351.jpg

edi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

ejg wrote: »
    Can't make it out tomorrow so I had my last day of the deer season today.
    Beautiful weather and great views from the hill I stommped up. The frosty ground gave me away two times and I saw white tails bounce away.
    I followed three deer that I spooked and came across them again.
    This time I managed to get the calf with a free hand shot. Of course at the furthest possible place in relation to the car. Weather was great and views where nice so the drag wasn't too bad. I was pleased with the way my new lightweight stock handles.
    View from the top.
    DSCN0351.jpg

edi

Today was my last aswell Edi..:(...I had an old buddie of mine with me who wants to get into stalking next season so I gave him the 7mm for the day and I was armed with the 300 winnie(hoping to blood it) And like your morning the ground was crunching away like walking on corn flakes...we had no success so of to Killarney for a bite to eat and a cold coke and back on the shoot for a 3 0clock session and a long walk up "THE HILL" to a nice clearing that has faired me well in the past..It was getting late in the afternoon when I glassed a nice doe 200 yds out grazing away none the wiser of our intentions for her...Well I gave my buddy the nod and he jumped into action with a nice skull shot at 150yds...A game shot for a first timer but he is very handy with a rifle..Well the rest is history for the doe and just the beggining for my old mate..It kind of left a good feeling giving up my last deer for the season to my mate and not getting a shot out of the new winnie... I just hope the little bollix appreciates it:D
    Heres a pic of the happy chap
    PIC_0023.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Two nice stories there lads. I'll be out tomorrow, hopefully close the season well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

dwighet wrote: »
    Today was my last aswell Edi..:(...I had an old buddie of mine with me who wants to get into stalking next season so I gave him the 7mm for the day and I was armed with the 300 winnie(hoping to blood it) And like your morning the ground was crunching away like walking on corn flakes...we had no success so of to Killarney for a bite to eat and a cold coke and back on the shoot for a 3 0clock session and a long walk up "THE HILL" to a nice clearing that has faired me well in the past..It was getting late in the afternoon when I glassed a nice doe 200 yds out grazing away none the wiser of our intentions for her...Well I gave my buddy the nod and he jumped into action with a nice skull shot at 150yds...A game shot for a first timer but he is very handy with a rifle..Well the rest is history for the doe and just the beggining for my old mate..It kind of left a good feeling giving up my last deer for the season to my mate and not getting a shot out of the new winnie... I just hope the little bollix appreciates it:D
    Heres a pic of the happy chap
    PIC_0023.jpg

pity you didnt get to blood your new boom stick but your mate looks happy. looks like a very clean head shot. no flies on him.

today is my last day and so far i slept out this morning , pressed the stop button instead of the snooze button, i'm not to bothered tho cos i'm sure i'll make up for it this evening , i'll try put some pics up

i'm down in kilarney and the sun is shining so it cant get much better than that:D

nice pic edi, i hope today goes as well for me . nice rifle. what does your rig consist of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Edi good end to the season and like me you have good views and with the weather to help you along.
    Good looking stock on that rifle when are you going into porduction??

Dwighet and his buddy met up at first light before we all headed off to different parts of the shoot for the mornings session to met back at 11am and get some lunch.

I took along for his first outting Nico13 and like the others we didn't have any luck in the morning. We met 6 deer but they had us copped long before we saw them.

It wasn't until the last light of the day when walking back to the car we got to shoot our only deer of the day. Sorry no photo's as I left the phone in the car.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Nico13

Very nice pic , love the hair cut on that deer :eek:and dont forget to bring ur waders the next time :D:D, thanks to u and dwighet for the fun (by the way i love the look of that 300). Clive, ur the man ! thank u for this memorable day and i hope to see u all in a near futur.

No shot, but wrapped up the season nicely this evening. After a long old slog in UCD (buggered the whole damn match) I headed out to a new spot I hadn't tried. Got in about four so I had a chance to give it a good walking over before I headed up to where I'd been told to expect deer. It's a lovely spot, mostly flat, some roll to the ground. Lots of pigeons and crows nesting, and some little copses with rabbit warrens and fox earths in them. I eventually laid up where I could see the field I'd been told to try and was glassing the surrounding fields, trying to see where the deer would arrive from, but couldn't figure it out. Seemed to be no obvious place or route. As light was starting to go and with no sign of any deer coming from anywhere, I started back to the car. I'd been sitting out in good sunshine, on a lovely day, in a nice place, and I'd been watching the rabbits play. Was a lovely end to the season all in all, and now I've seen the lie of the land and the amount of bunnies, it won't be next september before I'm back. :)

So IWM you have a wait now to blood your new gun but as you say you now have a better idea of the land you shoot over.

It's not too late for a couple of foxes yet. :D;)

clivej wrote: »
    So IWM you have a wait now to blood your new gun but as you say you now have a better idea of the land you shoot over.

It's not too late for a couple of foxes yet. :D;)

Nope, got some work to do over the next couple of weeks, farmer's unhappy with the number of foxes and crows. I'm happy enough to plink at crows and foxes. Definitely going to be taking the .22 out for a few of those bunnies. They seem in great nick after the hard weather, while on other permissions, they're like furry skeletons. The hunting doesn't stop now anyway, but I'm going to be out and working hard next september! The new gun needs a few deer to its name. It's strange. Places I've always seen deer have just been bare. I'm having to go further afield and really look, and I'm still not finding them.

thats it season over,
    i went out this evening full of confidence after a great season, but i was put back in my box fairly sharp. no luck for poulo ,

role on September.

thanks for all the support during the year, if anyone fancy's a fox during the year i dont mind the company.
    cheers

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    thats it season over,
    i went out this evening full of confidence after a great season, but i was put back in my box fairly sharp. no luck for poulo ,

role on September.

thanks for all the support during the year, if anyone fancy's a fox during the year i dont mind the company.
    cheers

I`ll be in touch mate....the 223 is in the shop at the mment getting spun for a t4 and a new trigger...gearing up for the foxe3s in a few months...

Nico13 wrote: »
    Very nice pic edi, love the hair cut on that deer :eek:and dont forget to bring ur waders the next time :D:D, thanks to u and dwighet for the fun (by the way i love the look of that 300). Clive, ur the man ! thank u for this memorable day and i hope to see u all in a near futur.

Nico thats not Edi.... Thats dan with the grin....Anytime you want to come along your more than welcome...ye Frenchies are a mad tribe!!!!!..

thats it season over,

role on September.

cheers

But the little shaggers will all be out tomorrow you bet :mad:

Deer-5_big.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭ejg

Thanks for the replies,
    well done Dan then (got mixed up too) on the first deer. Some smile on your face eh.

Dwighet, well done to get into the deer. How was the weight of the 300 on the hill?
    Was a pity we never managed to meet up.

Clive, well done on your deer. Did you say got the deer with the car or when you got to the car??:D
    except for the crunchy ground the weather just lovely. These last days in the sun just made my season.
    I've gone full time stock making now. The one I was using was the first one out of the new mould for a remmy 700 and made of almost 100% carbon fibre, rest kevlar. Weighs 750grams with buttpad, swivel studs and paint.
    Just made one that'll go to New Zealand that weighs 2 ounces less.

Poulo6.5, rig is a standard stainless 243sps with a 20moa rail and a 6.5-20x50 zeiss conquest. Actually my foxy rig that I'm using to develope a remmy stock. Good excuse to go out. For deer I normally use my custom sako 308 that has been in our family since 40 years.

edi

thats it season over,

role on September.

cheers
    bring on the bunnies now... longing for a rabbit stew..

dwighet wrote: »
    I`ll be in touch mate....the 223 is in the shop at the mment getting spun for a t4 and a new trigger...gearing up for the foxe3s in a few months...

look forward to it , i hope to spend some quality time with my tika tac .223. there are some red heads on the dance card.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Nico13

oooooooooops! sorry , i m not really good with name no offence i hope, i tell u one thing lads, i know why no one went for the curry in aldi now :D:D:D.Thanks dwighet,i hope i'll be geared up next time

look forward to it , i hope to spend some quality time with my tika tac .223. there are some red heads on the dance card.:cool:

Tikka tac..... very nice...A mate of mine had an older model and it was the dogs b ..........

its a better rifle than i'm a shooter, thats for sure.