Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro Arms 40mm POM grenades

• 25-02-2010 4:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭

proarms-shell-96rdpom-3pcs_1_mark.JPG

http://shop.ehobbyasia.com/magazines/shell-cartridge-type/40mm-cartridge/pro-arms-96-rds-pom-40mm-grenade-cartridge-3pcs.html

Just thought I'd post up about these.

You may remember there was a series of plastic 40mm grenades by vanaras a while back, not available now afaik.

There are however the same type of grenade under the name Pro Arms, I dont know if they are the same manufacturer, but they look the same.

The differences between these and say a madbull for comparison are several, they are lighter, cheaper and made mainly of a plastic called POM, which I can tell you is quite tough from messing with these grenades.
    I got mine in a three pack, there are versions with 6 barrels or 12, with a respective number of bb's, I got the 96 bb model, the idea is one has more range, the other more spread, simple enough.

The grenades are by feel, maybe a third the weight of a madbull, I am not worried about scratching them either, the pretty finish on the metal grenade is not to my liking.

Price is feck all, I got three delivered for approx 40 euro iirc, and they all work fine. I have dropped them on tiles and chucked them around, they seem very tough and working fine so far.

I bought mine off ehobby.

Just a heads up, if you have a 40mm, get a pack or two of these, low weight and price, and seem fine, all three I have work.

Will try em out at a game this weekend, boof!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭johnnytiitlips

there are rebuild kits for them readily available too,which is nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

Why would you need a rebuild kit? I thought these didn't come apart or have bits like pins and stuff to lose. :confused:

ball bearings and o rings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

How easy are these to reset? I purchased some madbull nades a while back because other brand nades were very fiddly to reset and the madbull ones reset every time without fuss or the need to disassemble.

very easy

you can also get a rebuild/resetting tool thats makes it even easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Gamed these today, nice grenades, light and many, much better than a single expensive metal grenade.

Range with a full load of .25's was not great, but I had only used .25's as it was all we had. My friend used them to great effect with a lesser loading, I went for a full 96, using .2's I'd say its not too bad, but recommendation is to either get the 48 rounders, or just load the grenade less and aim up.

Seems to be standard enough practice.

Overall a great value purchase and an excuse to use a GL a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭ZeroSignal

Hmmm... Interesting. If these ever come back in stock I may have to find a GP-30 and pick some up.

Yeah it seems the 48 rounders are out sooner than the 96, but its not that hard to just half fill them.

There is a kind of concise review on my blog including the two here and some after thoughts, and a nice photoshopped image I did today :)

http://samsairsoft.blogspot.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Got these today, little beauts so they are! Stercus how do you reset yours, do you disassemble it or push in the pin because I seem to have to disassemble to reset it.

Edit: Found out how. Get these grenades if you own a GL.

Got these today, and so far the only thing I have a problem with is reseting them. I have already lost a bearing from one :( cos I took it apart to reset it.

Please tell me there is an easier way to reset these little beauties! :confused:

Also, did anyone else have a problem with BB's falling out of the little barrels while they're stored in the launcher

You have to push the bb's down a good bit, there is a rubber collar on the grenade that holds them in.

And resetting any grenade is a matter of unscrewing it a bit, and touching the pin to let it pop back, a bit of silicon oil helps too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Sometimes the o-ring retainer doesn't catch enough on the top bb to hold them in. An easy fix is to remove the o-ring with a seal-pick or similar and use a needle file to open the cut-out into the chamber from the groove side. Remember to do it evenly or it will have no effect.

Sam, give them a shot with the dreaded .12g rounds. You'll get a surprisingly good effectivity from the lighter frag.
    Personally, with any grenade, I recommend the 48 round ones as the best mix of range, capacity and power. Green gas pressure just can't push the bigger round capacities to great effect, especially with .25g or higher.

Aye, we were limited by what bb's we had in our brappers at the time :D

I will likely use a load of 3 bb's per barrel in future, just to get that range.

Cheers :D

I'll give that a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭mafiaboy

can c02 be used in the 203 nades if i got a adaptor for the co2 Gas it fit a green gas vale
    hope that made sense...

Probably could, though a few less bb's would probably do the same job.

I don't think it can take that pressure. The Madbull CO2 series are of a slightly different design to cope with the increased pressure, and they're cnc billet aluminium...
    I stand to be corrected, and be my guest to try, but I wouldn't trust anything higher than red gas/winter green gas in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭mr.jailbait

co2 will make ****e of these grenades
    for co2 compatability,you will have to spend $80ish on a madbull co2 nade
    even normal madbull nades will croak under co2 pressure

Given I use CO2 in my Madbull Mxxx-HP series grenades, I'd have to completely disagree. They make dedicated CO2 type grenades in that series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Right lads got one of these grenades today, everytime i try to put gas in it it just sprays back out straight away ?
    Any ideas ?

You need to reset them Damo, what I do is just get a pliers and shove one of the arms into the firing pin. If you do it right you'll here a click/snap.

Tryed it, and it aint workin.
    I tryed pushing a screwdriver straight down on the firing pin and it was going down but not clicking.

Unscrew it a few turns, not til its apart, then push the pin in with your finger, will click.

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    Tryed it, and it aint workin.
    I tryed pushing a screwdriver straight down on the firing pin and it was going down but not clicking.

EDIT: What he said ^^^

You'll need to take it apart so, the grenade splits in half using a thread, just simply screw it into halves. Now watch out for the valve, it is indeed on a spring so be very careful it doesn't fly out, basically you have three things (I think) to look out for, the valve, the spring and the small bearings in the valve. Just simply take out the valve and the spring, reassemble and bingo.

Do it in a box or on a towel so you don't lose the bearings.

Brilliant, thanks lads altough i think it reset itself :P
    I tryed putting more gas in it to see if i reset, and it went off LOL
    Nearly put a hole in my plasterboard wall since there was 3 bbs left in it haha

I disassembled it and the bearing fell put and can't get them to sit back in the hold properly.
    Is there only 2 bearings or more because theres only 2 in myne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

Depends on the nade Damo - can be different - though there are probably four.

Well there are 4 little holes but only 2 bearings so i reckon theres supposed to be 4 :o
    Would this affect the nade in any way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

Yip - it won't work!

Sounds like thats my problem so :rolleyes:

Anyone know where i could get replacement ball bearings for these?

Damo,

I have these yokes too and they're causing me nothing but heartache and pain. (Despite what I said earlier) :(

Have you lost all the bearings or just a few from each grenade, cause you could try and use the spare ones to make 1 or 2 good ones.

Nah i only have one of these, got one off someone last week and found out 2 ball bearings were missing, but he ordered me more of them so he should have them next weekend :D

How is the gas valve at the top holding up. Is the gas leaking out from there when you fill them. :(

Well i cant fill it with gas, because the ball bearings aint there, well thats what i heard anyways :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 oglon343

How is the gas valve at the top holding up. Is the gas leaking out from there when you fill them. :(

The gas is leaking out the valve on all 3 of mine:( These have caused me nothing but a pain since ive got them. Buy the good madbull ones is what i suggest.