Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone but England' T-shirt

• 24-02-2010 1:37pm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/north_east/8533791.stm
    Police fears over 'Anyone but England' T-shirt

A company selling "Anyone but England" T-shirts for this year's World Cup has rejected suggestions it is racist after police in Aberdeen visited its store.

OK, how well would an "Anyone but France" T-shirt go down here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/north_east/8533791.stm

Why France?

That_Guy wrote: »
    Why France?

Why not! it's a T-shirt, nothing else! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Theres no need, this man has already shown those cheating french we don't like them.

http://newsfromireland.com/2010/01/irishman-urinated-on-french-bread-in-protest-at-henry-handball-court-told/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Id buy one of them:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

Theres no need, this man has already shown those cheating french we don't like them.

http://newsfromireland.com/2010/01/irishman-urinated-on-french-bread-in-protest-at-henry-handball-court-told/

I thought that was a p*ss take, no?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

Police fears over anyone but England t-shirt

Ive got a mental picture of a bobby cowering at the sight of a t-shirt.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

It'd be a handy way to identify the idiots amongst us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

im going to support england in the world cup as they are the closest country to us that has qualified, i hope they get france in their group and beat them with a hand ball!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

dvpower wrote: »
    It'd be a handy way to identify the idiots amongst us.

Although in pubs during the world cup that would be like electing to notice individual grains of sand on a beach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 aliroly

As a compromise they could make a t-shirt with:
    I don't hate England... My Grans from ****Usa* Algeria* Slovenia**** (delete as appropriate)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

im going to support england in the world cup as they are the closest country to us that has qualified, i hope they get france in their group and beat them with a hand ball!

The draw was made already, and France didnt get England.

Also, Im going be cheering on France in the world cup, Ive done so for every tournament since Euro 96, no need to stop now because of one cheating player.

I was over at the france game, any French person I talked to was ashamed at what happened but it doesnt change anything. On topic, silly t-shirt to have IMO, no need to stir up trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Gardai Anthony Flanagan told the court that he had been called to the store at 11.15 on the morning of November 25.
    “When I reached the shop, I was informed that Mr Larkin was causing a disturbance in the bread section and when I got there, he was urinating on the French bread section and stamping on a loaf. I later ascertained that the loaves were brioches, a sort of French bread.

lols

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

gavredking wrote: »
    The draw was made already, and France didnt get England.

Also, Im going be cheering on France in the world cup, Ive done so for every tournament since Euro 96, no need to stop now because of one cheating player.

I was over at the france game, any French person I talked to was ashamed at what happened but it doesnt change anything. On topic, silly t-shirt to have IMO, no need to stir up trouble.

No, it doesn't change the fact that they don't deserve to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

What about on that flips between England and France depending on which way you look at it

>_> Anyone but France

<_< Anyone but England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    No, it doesn't change the fact that they don't deserve to be there.

Robbie Keane only equalised for us over the 2 legs at the time, we were 1 nil up on the night, we were not going through up until the point of Henry's handball....we would have just gone to penalties.

I agree with you on the cheating part, it was so blatant it was absolutely gut wrenching, I think over the course of the 2 games we just shaded it on who played better and we created more chances and should have won but we didnt take our chances, unfortunately the French did, with a huge helping hand ( no pun intended) from Henry and two officials.

The whole thig is well done and dusted at this stage, get over it, move on and lets try qualify for the Euro's 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The great thing is, anyone wearing that t-shirt here will be back wearing a Liverpool/Manchester United/Chelsea/Arsenal jersey once the World Cup's over.

gavredking wrote: »
    On topic, silly t-shirt to have IMO, no need to stir up trouble.

How would wearing that T-shirt stir up trouble? Surely picking a fight with somebody over a T-shirt is stirring up trouble as opposed to, you know, wearing a T-shirt?
    aliroly wrote: »
    As a compromise they could make a t-shirt with:
    I don't hate England... My Grans from ****Usa* Algeria* Slovenia**** (delete as appropriate)

What they should do is get one with.....
    Come on
    Argentina or
    Algeria or
    Australia or
    Brazil or
    Denmark or
    Cameroon or
    Chile or
    Cote d'lvoire or
    France or
    Korea DPR or
    Germany or
    Greece or
    Ghana or
    Honduras or
    Italy or
    Japan or
    Korea Republic or
    Mexico or
    Netherland or
    New Zealand or
    Nigeria or
    Paraguay or
    Portugal or
    Serbia or
    Spain or
    Slovekia or
    Slovenia or
    Switzerland or
    United States or
    Uruguay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

The great thing is, anyone wearing that t-shirt here will be back wearing a Liverpool/Manchester United/Chelsea/Arsenal jersey once the World Cup's over.

I know. Double standards! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I think the tee shirt is a great idea, I know who exactly will be the easiest to wind up then.

I wonder if they do "only people with **** national football teams wear Anyone But England Shirts"? That should make the job even easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Shania

I don't know but I could get you some cheap Portsmouth shirts though if that's any help?

I could even get custom printing on them for you?

"Headed for South Africa Oblivion"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Shania wrote: »
    I don't know but I could get you some cheap Portsmouth shirts though if that's any help?

I could even get custom printing on them for you?

"Headed for South Africa Oblivion"

Ooh, that's a bit low. What's up, couldn't you get a refund on your flights to Jo'burg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

dont see whats wrong with the t-shirts just a bit of banter wouldnt buy one meself cos couldnt give a monkeys if they win it or not.BBC and ITV are the main reason why people want to see england fail the likes of motson constantly going on that its englands divine right to win the bloody thing and the patronising of other nations really is cringeworthy.

getting back to the t-shirts people need to stop been so sensitive!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

major bill wrote: »
    dont see whats wrong with the t-shirts just a bit of banter wouldnt buy one meself cos couldnt give a monkeys if they win it or not.BBC and ITV are the main reason why people want to see england fail the likes of motson constantly going on that its englands divine right to win the bloody thing and the patronising of other nations really is cringeworthy.

getting back to the t-shirts people need to stop been so sensitive!!!

Can you actually give me an example of where he (or any NON-TABLOID journalist) has done this? Shouldn't be too hard as it's so widespread, apparently, but I haven't been able to locate one...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I have to agree. I just don't get the "English commentators are so jingoistic" thing at all (I'm focusing specifically on TV commentators, not writers for the Sun etc).

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Can you actually give me an example of where he (or any NON-TABLOID journalist) has done this? Shouldn't be too hard as it's so widespread, apparently, but I haven't been able to locate one...

watch a bbc game and ye will know what im talking about or worse watch a ITV game!!!! doubt id be able to find a direct quote but the world cup draw i thought was funny '''we wont play them to the final''' very optimistic you have to say;)

anyway id be delighted if they won it cos the ghost of 66 would finally be put aside!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I have mine on order .. ;)

Linky

Dudess wrote: »
    I have to agree. I just don't get the "English commentators are so jingoistic" thing at all (I'm focusing specifically on TV commentators, not writers for the Sun etc).

Jingoism is a bit strong.

I hate listening to them though. Mainly cause I'm bitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

watch a bbc game and ye will know what im talking about or worse watch a ITV game!!!! doubt id be able to find a direct quote but the world cup draw i thought was funny '''we wont play them to the final''' very optimistic you have to say;)

anyway id be delighted if they won it cos the ghost of 66 would finally be put aside!!!

No - you tell me where you've seen or heard it, becaue i do watch BBC sport and it rarely happens. Not counting ITV tabloid feckers - no better than Hamilton when we played the Italians in 1994 and wer on the verge of a major international achieve after just 20 mins.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

lol

If you gave a crap about the World Cup, you would know the draw was made months ago and they aren't in the same group.

And again, supporting "England because they are close to us". This is nothing to do with football is it, you are just an attention seeker.

DB10 wrote: »
    lol

If you gave a crap about the World Cup, you would know the draw was made months ago and they aren't in the same group.

And again, supporting "England because they are close to us". This is nothing to do with football is it, you are just an attention seeker.

...whereas supporting ANYONE ELSE is a decision based on deep football analysis and taken purely to show that you are a highly sophisticated sheep human being.

I find English commentators to be either objective, self-deprecating, or in the event of them letting their guard slip, vaguely hinting they'd like England to win (rare - and not necessarily inappropriate) whereas I find Irish commentators much more likely to be biased, with the "our lads in green" stuff.

I could be wrong, but I suspect (and I'm not being smart - honestly) this perceived bias by English commentators is all in the heads of some Irish people... simply because these are English commentators?

No - you tell me where you've seen or heard it, becaue i do watch BBC sport and it rarely happens. Not counting ITV tabloid feckers - no better than Hamilton when we played the Italians in 1994 and wer on the verge of a major international achieve after just 20 mins.

ooh with that attitude NO!! as i said the world cup draw was nothing short of cracking open the bubbly, ''rarely happens'' com'on they make george sound sane!!! so sorry ikky poo and im right in saying alot of people are put off from the english team cos of overexpecting people like motson and the t1ts on ITV.

I'd also support England because it is close to us, not to be an attention seeker - and also because of all the great stuff to come out of there which I (and I'm sure you) enjoy. Valid reason IMO. Look at the millions of Irish descent living in England. Makes more sense to support them on those grounds than to support e.g. Germany because of its history v England - THAT to me is the attention seeking.

What Premiership team do you support?

ooh with that attitude NO!! as i said the world cup draw was nothing short of cracking open the bubbly, ''rarely happens'' com'on they make george sound sane!!! so sorry ikky poo and im right in saying alot of people are put off from the english team cos of overexpecting people like motson and the t1ts on ITV.

So, you come across a coherent argument and dismiss it as an "attitude".

This idea of English commentators thinking thet have a devine right to win is what is defined as an "urban myth": no one's ever actually seen it happen, but we all know it's true. Why...?

Because we WANT it to be true...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

That_Guy wrote: »
    Why France?

I am not sure, but I think it would have something to do with Thierry "the bastard" Henry?

Why these types of t-shirts need to be printed/sold is beyond me. Stupid really. Express your hatred of a whole country, fcuking morons wear these kinds of t-shirts.

I rather see a neighbouring country like England win the world cup than some South American team... yet again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭kingofburt

I can understand why a scottish company is printing these shirts, I've been living here for the last year and the media is very english focused, very noticable in the national press after rugby games, large english story, then wales and scotland.

Even buying a mars bar in scotland lets you know you're helping to sponsor the English team. TBH, its quite similar to most non dubs supporting anyone but Dublin in GAA due to the dublin based media broadcasting to the country.

I am not sure, but I think it would have something to do with Thierry "the bastard" Henry?

Why these types of t-shirts need to be printed/sold is beyond me. Stupid really. Express your hatred of a whole country, fcuking morons wear these kinds of t-shirts.

I rather see a neighbouring country like England win the world cup than some South American team... yet again...

its not hatred of a whole country!! it would be like liverpool fans buying t-shirts saying anybody but united(ABU) its rivalry and its football nothing more.

So what? Millions more Irish people live in Australia, will you be supporting them as well?

I think it is pathetic how so many people belittle our country and go out of their way to praise England which is such a wonderful place.

It fools nobody.

This idea of English commentators thinking thet have a devine right to win is what is defined as an "urban myth": no one's ever actually seen it happen, but we all know it's true. Why...?

Eh no unless you ignorantly ignore the British media headed by the likes of Sky Sports who hype up the English National team every 5 minutes.

Seriously open your eyes.

Why these types of t-shirts need to be printed/sold is beyond me. Stupid really. Express your hatred of a whole country, fcuking morons wear these kinds of t-shirts..

If I seen someone where the 'Anyone But France' T-Shirt this year in a pub, then I'm buying them a pint.

How would they be a moron?

It's good old rivalry and letting every French fan know that they are there not because they scored enough goals, but that a member of their team cheated.

Now before the "Get Over It.." brigade get their up on their high horses.

The moment that this whole debacle will leave my system is the moment I hear Motson say "And France are out..".

If they win the thing, I'll never get over it.

"Some people believe football is a matter of life and death,
    I am very disappointed with that attitude.
    I can assure you it is much, much more important than that."

its not hatred of a whole country!! it would be like liverpool fans buying t-shirts saying anybody but united(ABU) its rivalry and its football nothing more.

You know as well as I do, that this t-shirt won't be worn "for the laugh", you will find a group of uneducated "ra heads" wearing it.

What reason would you have for wanting any other country in the world, even france ffs, to win the world cup? Hatred...

There's no reason for us to want them to lose so badly, is there? We are not even in the fcuking world cup...

OutlawPete wrote: »
    If I seen someone where the 'Anyone But France' T-Shirt this year in a pub, then I'm buying them a pint.

How would they be a moron?

It's good old rivalry and letting every French fan know that they are there not because they scored enough goals, but that a member of their team cheated.

Now before the "Get Over It.." brigade get their up on their high horses.

The moment that this whole debacle will leave my system is the moment I hear Motson say "And France are out..".

If they win the thing, I'll never get over it.

"Some people believe football is a matter of life and death,
    I am very disappointed with that attitude.
    I can assure you it is much, much more important than that."

That's differant, we have a very very good reason to not want those feckers to win the world cup.

as i say i couldnt care if they win or not i dont support international football but i and im not alone struggle to watch a game on BBC or ITV due to the commentators patronising comments and little smart remarks on the game.

We are not even in the fcuking world cup...

Which is why I'll be wearing my French one .. ;)

I think it is pathetic how so many people belittle our country and go out of their way to praise England which is such a wonderful place.
    If not having a problem with England/praising all the great stuff to come out of there means "belittling" Ireland, then I think it's pathetic how so many people just will not let the past go...
    It fools nobody.
    Who's it trying to fool?

And you didn't answer my question: what Premiership team do you support?

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Which is why I'll be wearing my French one .. ;)

Sorry, I meant the ones for England. The way I precieve it to be is patriotism gone wrong. Hating the country because of the last 700 800 years or so.

You know as well as I do, that this t-shirt won't be worn "for the laugh", you will find a group of uneducated "ra heads" wearing it.

What reason would you have for wanting any other country in the world, even france ffs, to win the world cup? Hatred...

There's no reason for us to want them to lose so badly, is there? We are not even in the fcuking world cup...

its football, football is in a way ''hatred'' very strong word though id rather disliking

kingofburt wrote: »
    I can understand why a scottish company is printing these shirts, I've been living here for the last year and the media is very english focused, very noticable in the national press after rugby games, large english story, then wales and scotland.

Really!!!! What papers are you reading???

I think Scottish editions of papers tend to lead with the local stuff... Spl takes precidence over Epl (unlike here) and Scottish match reports ahead of English.

The mars bar thing is just because they are manufactured and distributed across the UK. Rather than England and Scotland seperatly.

Edit: Oops... Think I may have read that wrong. Yeah we are very sick of having to listen to the English.

So what? Millions more Irish people live in Australia, will you be supporting them as well?

It fools nobody.

What's pathetic is believeing british journalists to ultra jingoistic, failing to show any links whatsover and then using it as an excuse to cheer AGAINST a particular country. If anything, half of them go out of their way to UNDERMINE England's attempt to win.

No one's belittleing Ireland, why in the hell did you bring that up?
    Eh no unless you ignorantly ignore the British media headed by the likes of Sky Sports who hype up the English National team every 5 minutes.

Seriously open your eyes.

See above.
    as i say i couldnt care if they win or not i dont support international football but i and im not alone struggle to watch a game on BBC or ITV due to the commentators patronising comments and little smart remarks on the game.

...which you have again failed to locate again...?! Come on, it's not like I asked you to find Amelia Earheart!!

Anyway, if you want quality incisive informative commentary, I'm sure George Hamilton and Ryle Nugent will be doing thier best on RTE.

No one's belittleing Ireland, why in the hell did you bring that up?
    Duh... are you stoopid? Not having a problem with England and enjoying all the stuff that comes out of there (including football - funny that) equates to "belittling Ireland"/going all out to OTT praise England as "this wonderful place".