Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Dance Act would you like to see at Oxegen this year? (that arent on the bill)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭JDee

I'll start the ball rolling - it would be nice to have seen these guys on the bill ;)

Any excuse to dig this video out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Ricardo Villalobos, Jakwob, Sebastien Leger, Jack Beats, Caspa, Skream, Crookers, A-Trak, SebastiAn, 2manydj's, Justice, or Modeselektor... (haven't seen the line up, so apologies if any of these acts are already on the bill)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

eZe^ wrote: »
    Ricardo Villalobos, Jakwob, Sebastien Leger, Jack Beats, Caspa, Skream, Crookers, A-Trak, SebastiAn, 2manydj's, Justice, or Modeselektor... (haven't seen the line up, so apologies if any of these acts are already on the bill)

Come to snowbombing!

1263298665lineup4website-12jan.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

i wouldnt like to see anyone else to be honest. its full of crap acts and attended by a crap crowd.

why waste talent on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭b45

Táck wrote: »
    i wouldnt like to see anyone else to be honest. its full of crap acts and attended by a crap crowd.

was thinking this myself , but if you were to book , say : derrick may , surgeon , ancient methods , klock/dettmann , levon vincent , exium , steffi , PAS , carl craig , oscar mulero , autechre , rob hood , shed , villalobos , boris divider , aux 88 , luke vibert , weatherall .... i could go on , basically some good electronic acts that arent purely for the skins crowd i might be tempted to brave the horrible crowd one more time : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Oxegen 2010 is the first ever mainstream pop music festival....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭hedliners

what is the full line up does any 1 know ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Oxygen = knackerfest wouldn't go near it with a barge pole:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭badboyblast

Táck wrote: »

You hit the nail on the head there!!! Rain, 18 yr olds, **** beer just rethrashed bollix...bring back homelands!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭badboyblast

b45 wrote: »
    was thinking this myself , but if you were to book , say : derrick may , surgeon , ancient methods , klock/dettmann , levon vincent , exium , steffi , PAS , carl craig , oscar mulero , autechre , rob hood , shed , villalobos , boris divider , aux 88 , luke vibert , weatherall .... i could go on , basically some good electronic acts that arent purely for the skins crowd i might be tempted to brave the horrible crowd one more time : )

Wrong country !!!ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭johnny_rambo

I'd love to see Underworld again....they were very good in Marlay Park a few years back when they supported Basement Jaxx.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭lanyonwhites

dave clarke

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭lanyonwhites

underworld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

blackout crew.

although it would actually increase the amount of credibility Oxegen has at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Tiesto, Calvin Harris, and Van Buren. Just to make sure they don't waste any spaces on the EP line-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭burkey85

Never happen but some proper house djs.
    Kerri Chandler, Jimpster, Danny Tenaglia, Charles Webster.
    Would also be deadly to get Villalobos or maybe Richie Hawtin as part of his Plastikman tour.
    But if you don't play electro, you rarely play Oxegen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

yeah jimpster and charles webster would be real interesting to see at something like oxegen. be nice to have music with deepness and subtlety to offset the noisy electrohouse over the topness of the average oxegen dance arena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Get Tiesto in, that would ensure pretty much all the undesireables in the country would be in the one venue for the weekend, a well placed bomb then....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Daft Punk, Leftfield, Orbital, Underworld to name but a few.

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Daft Punk, Leftfield, Orbital, Underworld to name but a few.

Leftfield are very likely to play Electric Picnic. Orbital I'd guess will go to Oxegen, because they're touring and they played EP last year. Daft Punk won't be anywhere this summer.

Cheers for all of the replies and emails.

Winners were:

for BLAKE BAXTER, NELSON RAMALHO & DJAMEL @ TENTH PLANET (@ The Good Bits)

Kat Buckley and Richard Regan

and for 515 PRESENTS ADAM BEYER FRI 26TH FEB @ TRIPOD well done to Patrick Meenaghan

Facebook Fanpage all about the show here -> http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-GrooveBox-with-Jason-Dee-on-RTE-Pulse/453751790625?ref=mf

Groovebox page updated here soon -> www.jasondee.com/groovebox

Looking forward to hearing Faithless at oxegen after listening to this weeks essential mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭why so serious?

jonnny68 wrote: »

Kanckerfest? Where are you from?

I hope, for the sake of humanity, that you're not arguing that Oxegen isn't a knackerfest?

I was there in 2007, had a great time, and saw Daft Punk, which was incredible, but it's a complete knackerfest. Anyone who goes to any other festival will realise this, along with realising that in terms of non-musical activities and facilities, Oxegen is a joke compared to most festivals. Its only saving grace is the fact that it gets the most popular acts every year, out of nearly any festival in Europe, and the fact that you'll probably see all yer matez there, and yizzil have a deadly time ourra yer bin together. At least I did. Didn't go back though, and I don't understand those who do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭daniel91

deadmau5 and Daft Punk.........they have to be there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 kilmovee

Crystal Swing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Definetly deadmau5.
    Is it just Faithless that's playing or is it Faithless sound system ?? Their essential mix last week was brilliant :D

Standard Faithless set afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

jonnny68 wrote: »

Thanks Jonny, i was there myself last year for one day/night. I was with some good people and we had a brilliant time.

Tiesto, Calvin Harris, and Van Buren. Just to make sure they don't waste any spaces on the EP line-up.

Calvin Harris was excellent lear year, so good that I went to Marley Park (lets not talk about that day again) to see him with Fat Boy Slim, with Calvin as my no. 1 for the day but the prick played at about 4 that day just as the place was starting to fill up and shagged off to do a festival in Spain, or so I heard. A lot of people were rightly pissed off with him cause of that so he can get the slow boat to China as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    A lot of people were rightly pissed off with him cause of that so he can get the slow boat to China as far as I'm concerned.

Why on earth would you get pissed off with an artist because of timeslots?

You DO realise there's agents and promoters involved too?

They don't just all rock up to the stage with their bags and toss coins about who gets to finish up last you know... It's not a gaff party in Santry.

Why on earth would you get pissed off with an artist because of timeslots?

You DO realise there's agents and promoters involved too?

They don't just all rock up to the stage with their bags and toss coins about who gets to finish up last you know... It's not a gaff party in Santry.

Amadán head line acts are supposed to play near the 'end of the gig'. Gaff, party, Santry :confused::confused: Not 'Executive' enough for you, sure besides you are Best to stay down in the countryside where it's nice and safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Wouldn't it be great if there was a "serious" dance music forum and one for "the kids" on here....

Some people's perception of value for money seems to be hearing orbital, faithless, basement jaxx and co slopping out the same old crap year in year out, same bloody set every time. How can anyone want to hear any of those live sets again? Just download a recording of one, and it'll be the same for every festival they do for the summer.

And as for oxegen not being a knacker fest? Seriously, come on now...

Amadán head line acts are supposed to play near the 'end of the gig'..

Calling someone amadán for pointing out your mistake...
    And yet, stunningly, failing to see that that act has virtually nothing to do with the time they end up playing.

You're to be taken seriously alright.

Calling someone amadán for pointing out your mistake...
    And yet, stunningly, failing to see that that act has virtually nothing to do with the time they end up playing.

You're to be taken seriously alright.

Of course not; my view = 0% ;)

sure besides you are Best to stay down in the countryside where it's nice and safe.

lololol

Are you from Cork bay?

He's not one of ours.

Nah - he just referenced a mildly sarcastic (bordeline trolling) comment I made on some AH thread a few weeks ago, just thought it was odd, no offence to me south coast bredren!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Anyone going to this? It wouldn't want to be for the dance lineup anyway:

Friday 9th July

Simian Mobile Disco
    Erol Alkan
    Vitalic*
    Aeroplane
    Fred Falke*
    Primary 1*
    Ou Est*
    Dublin Streets*
    Dj Gordo + Dj Church*

Saturday 10th July

Armand Van Helden
    A-Trak
    Louis La Roche*
    Dj Villa*
    French Horn Rebellion*
    Bitches With Wolves*
    Steve Aoki
    David E. Sugar*

Sunday 11th July

Steve Angello
    Chase & Status
    Fake Blood*
    Jesse Rose*
    The Golden Filter*
    Popof*
    Al Gibbs*
    Vogue*

Pretty much the hottest mainstream acts of 2007. Out of the lot, the last four on the Friday night are probably the only ones I'd considering dandering over to.

This thread prompted me to look at the line-up.

The red bull stage actually looks reasonably good.
    The rest of the festival line-up looks like a ball of sh1t.

Don't think there's a single act in the dance arena that I'd cross the road to hear.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Anyone going to this? It wouldn't want to be for the dance lineup anyway:

Pretty much the hottest mainstream acts of 2007. Out of the lot, the last four on the Friday night are probably the only ones I'd considering dandering over to.

Bitches with wolves and Dublin streets ffs :(

wixfjord wrote: »
    Bitches with wolves and Dublin streets ffs :(

Dublin Streets is a photo blog for Sth William Street hipsters, so they're eminently qualified to play a DJ set at Ireland's biggest festival.

This thread prompted me to look at the line-up.

The red bull stage actually looks reasonably good.
    The rest of the festival line-up looks like a ball of sh1t.

Don't think there's a single act in the dance arena that I'd cross the road to hear.

Chase & Status will be fun.

• daft punl of course and david holmes in his hey day

Thank god Plastikman isnt playing Oxegen. I thought he was a dead-cert after he was named for TITP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

I might wander over and see Popof. Maybe.

If I was going of course. Which I'm not. Because it looks ****.

Thank god Plastikman isnt playing Oxegen. I thought he was a dead-cert after he was named for TITP.
    Why would it actually matter to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

Well I'm not going, but if I was, Plastikman would definitely be one I'd be hoping to be announced. Of the acts that are playing; Popof, Chase & Status and Erol Alkin would be ones I'd be looking out for.

Well because if he was playing Oxegen that would mean that I would have had to fork out money to those ***** MCS for a day ticket to that cuntin festival and having to suffer all those dirty trampish knackers shouting 'wuh, wuh, wuh' and 'yip ouvvah' during Hawtin's set.

Do you understand what im saying?

Well because if he was playing Oxegen that would mean that I would have had to fork out money to those ***** MCS for a day ticket to that cuntin festival and having to suffer all those dirty trampish knackers shouting 'wuh, wuh, wuh' and 'yip ouvvah' during Hawtin's set.

Do you understand what im saying?
    I hear ya.

I thought you were aghast (as some fanboys would be) at the thought of Hawtin sacrificing his musical integrity by playing Oxegen.