Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renault Megane Hatch/Coupe?

• 22-02-2010 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭

Stay with me. I've got a 98 Ford Fiesta and about 17000euro. Now I'm not a new car type of person but with some of the scrappage offers around I've decided to dive in.

I tested the new Megane today. Dynamique 1.5 dci 86 bhp. Good smooth drive, not as noisy as I thought it would be. Gear box seemed a bit 'tinny' is the best I can describe it. All in all though I liked it. 16000 including metallic paint and delivery.

A few questions: Is this good offer? Would I be better buying used? At risk of taking some flak, is the coupe for 800 euro more a better offer? Or what about the Kia Pro'ceed?

It's probably obvious but I'm not big into my cars so any help would be appreciated as it's a fairly big purchase and want to be totally happy with it.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Macca3000 wrote: »
    Stay with me. I've got a 98 Ford Fiesta and about 17000euro. Now I'm not a new car type of person but with some of the scrappage offers around I've decided to dive in.

I tested the new Megane today. Dynamique 1.5 dci 86 bhp. Good smooth drive, not as noisy as I thought it would be. Gear box seemed a bit 'tinny' is the best I can describe it. All in all though I liked it. 16000 including metallic paint and delivery.

A few questions: Is this good offer? Would I be better buying used? At risk of taking some flak, is the coupe for 800 euro more a better offer? Or what about the Kia Pro'ceed?

It's probably obvious but I'm not big into my cars so any help would be appreciated as it's a fairly big purchase and want to be totally happy with it.
    Thanks.

Depends what your priorities are IMO, do you need the extra practicality of the hatch, or would the better looks of the coupe appeal to you more in the long run? I would find the coupe way better looking btw

Definitely test drive the pro-ceed though, personally i'd go for that over a megane, just the whole feel, look and perception of the car would swing it for me, completely different feel of car to the Renault. Longer warranty too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Macca3000

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Depends what your priorities are IMO, do you need the extra practicality of the hatch, or would the better looks of the coupe appeal to you more in the long run? I would find the coupe way better looking btw

Definitely test drive the pro-ceed though, personally i'd go for that over a megane, just the whole feel, look and perception of the car would swing it for me, completely different feel of car to the Renault. Longer warranty too!

I do prefer the look of the coupe alright but are they a bit girly or is that just my perception of them?

I'm going looking at the pro-ceed tomorrow. Really like the look of it and checking their website I could pick one up for about 15000. Not sure what spec though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

The coupe is in another league to the hatch looks wise and from being inside they still have a decent amount of room in the back.

Be prepared to wait a while though, i ordered my Megane coupe last month and they told me I still have about 12 weeks of a wait till I get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

I do prefer the look of the coupe alright but are they a bit girly or is that just my perception of them?

Girly shmerly, if you like it, get it!

Personally prefer the look of the Grande Megane, a bit more practical too, and the same price as the hatch.

Renault-New-Megane-Sport-Tourer-car-wallpaper.jpg

Renault wait times are outrageous at the moment I've heard.

Ye Renault waiting times are a bit crazy alright. I was told 12 - 14 weeks today. That's the end of May. Half the year would be nearly over. Surely that's part of the fun in having a new car.

Random bump just to get a few more opinions.

Didn't get in to look at the Kia today, but hopefully Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭TheColl

are the megane and the pro_ceed the only cars you're lookin at? if so, i'd be goin for the pro_ceed, drove one myself back in october when i was lookin at cars and it was a very nice drive, and decent interior for the money. cant beat that warranty either!

They're the only 2 that I can stretch the budget too unfortunatly. A Ford Focus zetec would be my first choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

There are also good scrappage deals on the Fiat Bravo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I haven't looked a the details of the Kia warranty but is there much of a difference taking Renaults extended warranty into account, is there a limited mileage clause in the former ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Ye Renault waiting times are a bit crazy alright. I was told 12 - 14 weeks today. That's the end of May. Half the year would be nearly over. Surely that's part of the fun in having a new car.

I'll get you one quicker ;)

Mods if thats a problem then just do what you gotta do :)

what about an i30?

Hyundai i30

Mito available for €14995 apparently

Mito

Or Fiat Bravo as suggested above.

Jip wrote: »
    I haven't looked a the details of the Kia warranty but is there much of a difference taking Renaults extended warranty into account, is there a limited mileage clause in the former ?

It's 150,000kms for Kia, 100,000kms with Renault

TheColl wrote: »
    what about an i30?

Hyundai i30

Mito available for €14995 apparently

Mito

Or Fiat Bravo as suggested above.

The Hyundai looks ok, but limited spec for my price range. The Mito gets a straight no.

I must look into this Fiat Bravo more. You get the impression when you go into garages that you must buy now. This is why I want to take my time and look around. Don't want to be pi**ed off with my new car in 6 months time.

Nah, the extended warranty for Renault is unlimited, the figures you give there are part of the standard 3 year one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is the extended Renault warranty not unlimited mileage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

According to this page, the Megane warranty can be extended to 5 years/unlimited mileage for 449 quid. It's 349 quid to extend to 5 years/100,000 kms
    http://www.renault.ie/images/services/warranty/LeafletFinal.pdf

Yep, my mistake. The extended warranty is unlimited mileage.

The Hyundai looks ok, but limited spec for my price range. The Mito gets a straight no.

I must look into this Fiat Bravo more. You get the impression when you go into garages that you must buy now. This is why I want to take my time and look around. Don't want to be pi**ed off with my new car in 6 months time.

yeh ur prob right about the specs... last thing you want is a new car with nothin to be excited about! what kind of spec wud u be lookin at on the megane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭ciaran75

Hi Macca,
    Am i correct in understanding you are getting the Megane Dynamique 1.5 dci 86bhp with metallic and deliver for 16,000 all in.

I am about to order one tomorrow but could only them down to 16,250.
    What garage is that with?

Thanks,

Ciaran75

It's the Renault garage in Navan. Took a little bit of haggling but it was worth it. All in for €16000. Waiting time is 12-14 weeks though, but someone earlier in the thread said they could get one in quicker.

I still want to check out the Kia Proc'eed before I choose. It's got a lot of favourable reviews and looks kinda sportier. More power too, 106bhp. Pushes it to €156 for tax but that's still a lot better than €310 for the fiesta.

thanks for that, i'll give them a ring and see what they can do for me.

the guys in renault blanch say about 4 weeks but could have it as soon as 2 as apparently there is a huge shipment coming over now and the fact they sell so many they should get one no problem. well so he said anyway.

Ours better be on that shipment in 2 weeks ! That actually ties in with the date we were giving a while ago actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

You can get a diesel Leon for about 19k. Take scrappage into account and I'm sure it would come in close to budget...

just rang the guys in navan and spoke with enda

he gave me the same deal 16K all in for megane hatch dynamique 1.5dci delivery & metallic. he's also throwing in full tank of diesel and floor mats and should have it delivered within a week to 10 days.

all good. only another bit driving my heap of sh*t

cheers for the post macca, you should give him a ring.

Nice one, I take it your going with the scrappage scheme ?
    Although just to point out they come with floor mats as standard afaik anyway.

yeah, have an old citroen.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

One of the guys here at work landing his on 5th March, was waiting 12 weeks. But they must all be coming in at the same time!! :)

The Grande looks like a nice motor but the Coupe looks very nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Had a look at the estate yesterday - there is a surprising amount of legroom in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Rafloution

Ciaran did you get the extended warranty lumped into that too?

no didn't even think about asking him.

whats that about 500 extra for 5 years rather than 3?

ciaran75 wrote: »
    thanks for that, i'll give them a ring and see what they can do for me.

the guys in renault blanch say about 4 weeks but could have it as soon as 2 as apparently there is a huge shipment coming over now and the fact they sell so many they should get one no problem. well so he said anyway.

I wasn't rang about this :(

I'll ring Bill Cullen himself if it means I get my car sooner :p

Bill Cullen has nothing to do with Renault Blanch afaik, Renault control the distribution in Ireland now although he does have a couple of dealerships under the Bill Cullen Motor Group or Citygate, whatever it's called, Airside and Liffey Valley are two of them anyway.

Ugh just got off the phone with them I'm still waiting till the end of April at the earliest

I might have missed this, but is this Blanch ? And for what car and when did you order ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭anneboleyn

I bought the coupe last July - first car I bought in years as I'd had company cars.. absolutely love it - Have two dogs and can easily use the boot as a hatchback when I take the parcel shelf out - not a huge amount of leg room in the back, so definitely a car for a single or couple rather than a family car. Bought mine from Bill Cullen at Liffey Valley you could also try Joe Mallon in Naas, my Dad's bought cars from him for years ..

I might have missed this, but is this Blanch ? And for what car and when did you order ?

i ordered one today from navan and am getting it within a week to 10 days.
    i was lucky as they ordered in a few in anticipation of them selling well.

the guys in blanchardstown renault told me the other day a megane dynamique 5 door 1.5 dci would be about 4 weeks but they expected it to be sooner like 2 weeks but couldn't confirm. maybe try these.

So have a test drive in the pro_ceed booked on Monday. For the 1.6CRDi 115bhp, 3 edition, metallic and delivery I got quoted 16455 including all scrappage, bonuses and bargaining.

And I don't know why I do this to myself but I went into Ford garage today. For the Focus style 1.6TDCi, bluetooth, alloys, metallic and delivery - 19000euro. Outside my budget but I would in a heartbeat if I could find the money.

Fiesta 1.4TDCi, with the above for 14500. Although the new model is very nice, after driving a fiesta for 8 years now I want to move up a level if you get me.

i ordered one today from navan and am getting it within a week to 10 days.
    i was lucky as they ordered in a few in anticipation of them selling well.

the guys in blanchardstown renault told me the other day a megane dynamique 5 door 1.5 dci would be about 4 weeks but they expected it to be sooner like 2 weeks but couldn't confirm. maybe try these.

What colour did you order? I was looking for Ocean Blue and this seemed to be the reason I would have the long wait. If I wanted the ash grey (standard forecourt display car) I could pretty much drive one away there and then.

I ordered a coupe on the 27th of Jan from Liffey Valley. I was busy so I got mammy to ring they told her they're trying to up their delivery but the next delivery is mainly hatches and not coupes

What colour did you order? I was looking for Ocean Blue and this seemed to be the reason I would have the long wait. If I wanted the ash grey (standard forecourt display car) I could pretty much drive one away there and then.

i got the black.

i think that black/silver/ash grey are the most popular ones by far and much quicker to get. anything other than the normal takes more time unfortunately.

i got the black.

i think that black/silver/ash grey are the most popular ones by far and much quicker to get. anything other than the normal takes more time unfortunately.

Just gor a call from Renault in Navan. They're expecting a big delivery but as you said only in those colours. At the time I did mention black and he said with this delivery I could have by next Saturday or a fewe days after.
    Very tempting but I'm going to wait to test the pro_ceed first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

You'd get a really well specced 09 1.6 tdci focus up north with low mileage for less than 17,000 incl vrt (€2840). I'd put that way ahead of a slightly newer renault/kia. The focus is a fantastic car. Just a thought

http://www.usedcarsni.com/search_results.php?make=7&model=908&search_type=1&dealer=&age_from=2009&age_to=2010&fuel_type=2&keywords=&location[]=-1&location[]=85&location[]=86&location[]=87&location[]=88&location[]=89&location[]=90&price_from=0&price_to=15000&sortby=&trans_type=0&grtkey=1267194837_73e38c438ec81a84fb038c7f4caf4333

Just copy and paste that entire link to see plenty of examples. Here's just one example at what you could get:

http://www.usedcarsni.com/31733664?grtkey=1267195510_64c124766e0f27663432044612c36267

€13,000 for the car
    €2,000 VRT

Beautiful 09 focus zetec for €15,000 and €2000 left over and whatever you can flog the fiesta for privately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

GStormcrow wrote: »
    You'd get a really well specced 09 1.6 tdci focus up north with low mileage for less than 17,000 incl vrt (€2840). I'd put that way ahead of a slightly newer renault/kia. The focus is a fantastic car. Just a thought

http://www.usedcarsni.com/search_results.php?make=7&model=908&search_type=1&dealer=&age_from=2009&age_to=2010&fuel_type=2&keywords=&location[]=-1&location[]=85&location[]=86&location[]=87&location[]=88&location[]=89&location[]=90&price_from=0&price_to=15000&sortby=&trans_type=0&grtkey=1267194837_73e38c438ec81a84fb038c7f4caf4333

Just copy and paste that entire link to see plenty of examples

Does that really sound like a bargain to you? Or are you just a sheep who believes that NI is the land of Milk and Honey?

There are plenty of used 2009 Focus's on Carzone which could be had for €17,000 or less.

But that's beside the point - they are looking at new cars, not imported used cars.

R.O.R wrote: »
    Does that really sound like a bargain to you? Or are you just a sheep who believes that NI is the land of Milk and Honey?

There are plenty of used 2009 Focus's on Carzone which could be had for €17,000 or less.

But that's beside the point - they are looking at new cars, not imported used cars.

If you bothered check carzone before posting your assumption that anyone who looks up north for a car is a "sheep" and somehow deluded into thinking that NI is the be all and end all for used cars you wouldnt have found a 09 zetec for 15. You'll get a lower spec style for about 16 grand alright but the uk cars are usually specced better.

You sound like you're just one of those anti-uk/ni people. Keep the money in the south blah blah. Sorry but if I can get a better car for cheaper up north then thats where I'd go.

No NI is not the solution for all cars and there are many examples where buying from the south is better but in this case I think the OP is better off looking at an 09 model focus. They have said they really want a focus but cant afford it so does it not seem like a reasonable suggestion.

Excuse me for trying to be helpful. Next time, think before you post :rolleyes:

It's just your opinion that it's a better car, doesn't make it fact.

Yes thats my opinion. I have driven both the new 2010 coupe and an 09 focus and the focus was imo better. Both good cars though and I quite like the diesel megane coupe. Would I buy either if I had 15k to spend? No. But I was suggesting it based on the fact that the OP mentioned on more than one occasion that the focus would be their car of choice if they could afford it. Just another option I thought they could consider if they really wanted the focus :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

If you bothered check carzone before spouting your drivel you wouldnt have found a 09 zetec for 15. You'll get a lower spec style for about 16 grand alright but the uk cars are usually specced better.

You sound like you're just one of those anti-uk/ni people. Keep the money in the south blah blah. Sorry but if I can get a better car for cheaper up north then thats where I'd go.

No NI is not the solution for all cars and there are many examples where buying from the south is better but in this case I think the OP is better off looking at an 09 model focus. They have said they really want a focus but cant afford it so does it not seem like a reasonable suggestion.

Excuse me for trying to be helpful. Next time, think before you post :rolleyes:

€15,000 wasn't the point. €17,000 landed is where you were looking. That can get you a nice Zetec, or maybe a very late 09 Style with all but an armrest. Advertised prices on Carzone are not what people buy for, but Advertised prices on Autotrader NI are more or less what you pay.

Ford UK and Ford Ireland cars are now aligned to a certain degree. The UK get more engine options and a couple of extra models, but standard specification is generally similar. However, I've just checked Ford.co.uk and Bluetooth and Heated Front Windscreen are both extra on the Style whereas they are standard in Ireland. This is the case with a few Manufacturer's now with higher spec in Ireland.

I don't need to think before I post, I know because it's my job as well as an interest. Perhaps you need to research a bit more before making suggestions?

Anyway, back to the topic of how cheap Renaults are and how good Enda in Joe Norris is ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 highlow

Sorry not trying to hijack this thread. I’m thinking too of getting a Megane, the 1.5 Coupe to be exact. What I was wondering is this whole scrappage thing. I’ve got a 9 year old car so wont be able to avail of the government allowance, so I have to trade in my banger for the €3,100 trade in allowance I take it? And than everyone gets the scrappage allowance of €1,500 that Renault are offering, as well is it? So I’ll have to they want roughly €16,300 of me? Have people found that we a bit of haggling the dealers will take a bit more off?

Sorry with the elementary questions just want to ask them here instead of looking like a fool in front of a car dealer!!

Just copy and paste that entire link to see plenty of examples. Here's just one example at what you could get:

http://www.usedcarsni.com/31733664?grtkey=1267195510_64c124766e0f27663432044612c36267

€13,000 for the car
    €2,000 VRT

Beautiful 09 focus zetec for €15,000 and €2000 left over and whatever you can flog the fiesta for privately.

Where I'd have no real problem with buying in the North( we joined the EU for a reason) I'd just be worried that if something went wrong with the car I'd have difficulty getting it fixed in a Ford dealer in the south. And Don't really fancy traipsing up North if things go wrong. Of course Ford are in the main reliable, we've always been a Ford driving family and never had any serious problems, so in general it probably wouldn't be a problem. It's just the notion of what if.