Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taken (2008)

• 22-02-2010 3:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭

Starring Liam Neeson and Maggie Grace.

I know it's a couple of years old now, but I only got the chance to see this for the first time last week. I'd be interested to read the thoughts and opinions of the posters on here about what they thought of it.

I thought it was a superb movie, I loved it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

It's AWESOME!!!

One thing i found was that Liam Neeson looks like the type of guy that could walk into a room with 10 armed men and snap all their necks and walk away!

The father and daughter relationship is touching also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Maybe I was in the wrong frame of mind, but I thought it was a little cheesy and laboured. Aside from this, why they chose to cast a 20 something as his teenage daughter is beyond me.

6 out of 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Only saw this recently as well.

It's Man on Fire on a budget but it's a solid, action movie.
    It's nice to see Oskar Schindler going vigilante.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

so who was driving the boat at the end??!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

so who was driving the boat at the end??!!

I'd imagine Liam Neeson killed the original driver and then drove to shore himself. Considering he has the ability to kill at least 100 people, driving a boat would surely be the least he'd be able to do :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Was recommended this movie by a friend. Told how excellent it was. Boy was I let down. The story is dreadful, it should have been called Cliche. Poorly acted, terrible dialogue. The action sequences are good but as a whole it is a pretty poor movie. 5/10. Popcorn action flick with zero substance. It has neither the class nor the cheesiness to make it truly enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

magma69 wrote: »
    Was recommended this movie by a friend. Told how excellent it was. Boy was I let down. The story is dreadful, it should have been called Cliche. Poorly acted, terrible dialogue. The action sequences are good but as a whole it is a pretty poor movie. 5/10. Popcorn action flick with zero substance. It has neither the class nor the cheesiness to make it truly enjoyable.

Now's not the time for dick measuring Stuart.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

I liked it also, a great action packed ride of a film. I'll admit it took me ages to place Maggie Grace to where I'd seen her before.

It's one of those movies that has a certain re-watchability I find also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I thought it was hilarious. One of the funniest films Ive seen in a long time. Liam Neeson Karate chopping left right and centre a la Captain Kirk in star Trek.........

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1eFdUSnaQM&feature=fvw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Now gp not the time for dick measuring is imo the greatest line of dialogue in any film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Hmmm, from the first onscreen shots it's not looking to awesome and more low budget direct to VHS DVD...

KSZnD.jpg

5YfD5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Its as good as crank. Its a modern masterpiece IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

utter and total hollywood leave your brain at home crap:rolleyes:

plot:

spoilt brat girl wants to go to paris

father says no

spoilt brat kicks up a hissy fit

father gives in but on condition she keeps vigilant

spoilt brat girl goes off to Paris and ......waa la with in a few hours of arriving she gets kidnapped:rolleyes:

father hops on plane to paris to find her and in the process kills about 50 bad guys without breaking into a sweat

father finds daughter brings her home and everything is honk dory again as if Paris was a minor mishap:rolleyes:

and just to add - Liam Neeson's american accent was utterly cringeworthy:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

What a film!!!!! Proper revenge flick, love it.

Don't care if the dialogue isn't gonna win academy awards, it's a popcorn flick ffs.

Gang kidnaps daughter, Dad hunts gang. Yes! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Awaits 'From Paris with Love' ..
    frompariswlove_1sht_a.jpg

Hmmm, from the first onscreen shots it's not looking to awesome and more low budget direct to VHS DVD...

KSZnD.jpg

5YfD5.jpg

Think you could be confusing Taken with the upcoming Tekken.

Jesus I hope so :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

great film!

enjoyed every minute of it

Leave her go now, ill leave you alone

take her, i will hunt you, i will find you, i will kill you!*

Go on Liam!!!!

*paraphrasing, may not be word for word correct you quote nazi's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Ah all this talk bout it makes me just wana watch it again!

OT
    There should be an award show just for awesome movies like this! MTV doen't count, twlight and Harry Potter and some Step-up and down dance flick usually dominates there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sleazus

A great action movie. Liam Neeson really lends it some gravitas, but it's kinda a shame that it probably means he'll be doing popcorn films for the rest of his career (okay, maybe Batman Begins was the start of this, but I think Taken cemented it).

Then again, if they're all this good... ((Looking at The A-Team here))

Now's not the time for dick measuring Stuart.

how about..."Jaun Claude i'll tear down the eiffel tower if i have too":rolleyes:

or this one..."I'll have 40 armed men here quicker than you can scratch your worthless balls":rolleyes:

My favourite part is when he shoots the completely innocent wife of the dodgy French bloke, completely OTT but he got what he wanted and thats all that matters.

Also, how lame does following u2 around on tour sound?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

fryup wrote: »
    how about..."Jaun Claude i'll tear down the eiffel tower if i have too":rolleyes:

or this one..."I'll have 40 armed men here quicker than you can scratch your worthless balls":rolleyes:
    :D:D

Liamo would kick Rambo's ass :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭oxygen

foxyboxer wrote: »
    Only saw this recently as well.

It's Man on Fire on a budget but it's a solid, action movie.
    It's nice to see Oskar Schindler going vigilante.

Oskar Schindler? Try Michael Collins, thats who its cooler to see kicking ass.

did anyone hear anything about a sequel? I thought i remembered reading about one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

My favourite part is when he shoots the completely innocent wife of the dodgy French bloke, completely OTT but he got what he wanted and thats all that matters.

Also, how lame does following u2 around on tour sound?

That or when he has one of his CIA buddies analyse the accents from the phone recording - and narrow down the accent to a village in Armenia or some ridiculous land!!!

Quality movie....watching it while not sober helps :)

PaulieC wrote: »
    That or when he has one of his CIA buddies analyse the accents from the phone recording - and narrow down the accent to a village in Armenia or some ridiculous land!!!

Quality movie....watching it while not sober helps :)

Oh yeah haha, it was actually Albania get it right Paulie!!

Everyone should read the Empire review of it, they gave it 1 star missing the whole point completely! Not unusual for Empire these days.

I'm on my itouch at the moment so i can't link to anything so if somebody would be so kind as to search and post up the youtube clip of 'Maggie Grace running' in taken it appreciate it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭AttackThePoster

What did Empire say out of interest? What was the whole point of the movie? That U2 lure young girls to dangerous areas? That the French eat baguettes?

The whole point of the film is that

a) Liam Neeson is a badass.

b)He can kill scores of men and tear down the whole of Paris without the police getting near him.

c)He's not interested in measuring dick's with Stuart.

http://www.empireonline.com/reviews/reviewcomplete.asp?FID=135695

The Empire reviewer failed to see these important points and tried his hardest to put across some tiresome anti-USA shite in his review.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭AttackThePoster

Review is pretty much bang on. He did fail to mention the cringeworthy U2 part of the film but other than that it's all there.

It's a terrible movie and an IMDB score of 7.9 should be ringing alarm bells already. Do not watch.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

but 7.9 is a high score, i've just lost all respect for IMDB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Review is pretty much bang on. He did fail to mention the cringeworthy U2 part of the film but other than that it's all there.

It's a terrible movie and an IMDB score of 7.9 should be ringing alarm bells already. Do not watch.

its a good - bad movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

KSZnD.jpg

5YfD5.jpg

title fail:D

thats TEKKEN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

The film is a cheesefest but I found it fantastically enjoyable!
    I don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don't have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that'll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don't, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Fredrick

Yeah really enjoyed this too. At the start i was a bit like jasus Liams getting on, then he knocks the **** outta that bloke in the car... go on ye boy ya ;)

kenon wrote: »
    I don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don't have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that'll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don't, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.

... Good luck.

I always enjoy Jim Norton's movie reviews,think He pretty much nails what I disliked about Taken :)

Contains spoilers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Loved this film! Saw it in the cinema when it came out, went with a friend and i was all "oh so what are we going to see" my friend "dunno, its called taken and the lads said its class and to go see it"

Sitting there, intro... i see "Liam Neeson" i let out a silent groan thinking awh no this is going to be crap....

whoa was i in for a surprise!!!! Whole new found respect for him!!! Hes so badass!!!! :D:D:D

Thought the end was a bit odd though i mean the girl seemed to get over her best friend being dead fairly lively! She didnt seem too traumatised considering her ordeal!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Movie is pants although Neeson is pretty charismatic. The only thing the film has going for it is of course this:

Although surely the writers could have come up with a better response than "Good luck"??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭uggy

Man, Liam Neeson doesn't take names in this movie...

Not a bad show, a pop corn mucher. Liam is such a bad-ass.
    Two great scene for me. The one on the phone as his daughter is kidnapped. And the other while torturing the guy with the nails in his thighs.
    Good stuff.

Also, you
    knew the movie was over when the Irish guy picks up a wine bottle to use as a weapon...