Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag Party Weekend

• 21-02-2010 8:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Alright Lads,
    Need to organise a Stag party for a weekend in the spring.
    Have been to Stag parties in Newcastle and Prague and don’t really want to settle for how **** they can be. (Newcastle is a particularly sorry dump of a place with a load of half empty pubs, and hardcore trance nightclubs that are no craic, and a **** load or other ****ty, Lager lout stag parties running around.)

Looking for a city that has a good day activities, such as festivals, maybe a bit of local culture and music. A decent Strip club is also a must.

The Stag himself is kind of into Art, Photography, Cinema, Gambling, and is a big Drinker. He enjoys meeting tourists and wouldn’t really be into sporting events with the exception of maybe Heineken Cup rugby or an International (involving Ireland).

Would be willing to go to anywhere in Ireland, The UK or France and not too much further.

Has anyone been to any interesting destinations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Edinburgh is fairly close and does be good craic. No too expensive, but not sure about strip joints.

Munich is also fairly deadly if you'd be willin to head further afield.

+1 on Edinburgh

Also if you were willing to go just a little bit futher Barcelona is brillant for a stag.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Las Vegas.

Just dont steam Mike Tysons tiger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

pipelaser wrote: »
    Alright Lads,
    Need to organise a Stag party for a weekend in the spring.
    Have been to Stag parties in Newcastle and Prague and don’t really want to settle for how **** they can be. (Newcastle is a particularly sorry dump of a place with a load of half empty pubs, and hardcore trance nightclubs that are no craic, and a **** load or other ****ty, Lager lout stag parties running around.)

Looking for a city that has a good day activities, such as festivals, maybe a bit of local culture and music. A decent Strip club is also a must.

The Stag himself is kind of into Art, Photography, Cinema, Gambling, and is a big Drinker. He enjoys meeting tourists and wouldn’t really be into sporting events with the exception of maybe Heineken Cup rugby or an International (involving Ireland).

Would be willing to go to anywhere in Ireland, The UK or France and not too much further.

Has anyone been to any interesting destinations?

La Ramblas in Barcelona FTW. During the day, you can go see the Gaudi Cathedral for a nice fix of culture and a bit of photography. There's also a permanent Salvador Dahli exhibition down by the pier which he might be interested in. Plenty of tapas bars to choose from if you're peckish as well as Irish bars and a huge open air market that's great for haggling.

Also, La Ramblas happens to be a red light district! :D The hotel of the same name is situated between a strip club and a brothrel with a "department store of sex" at the end that offers peepshows in the basement. Around 7pm each evening, you can regularly see "ladies of horizontal refreshment" plying their wares ouside. Slightly full on but reletively harmeless. They're great craic, though-full of witty anecotes!

The weather is mild for spring and should be balmy enough as the place is close to a large port. Can't recommend it highly enough. Stayed there for a weekend about 2 years ago and I feel like I've been torn away from my home. Beautiful place, plenty to see and do and the people are so warm and friendly. :)

EDIT: word of advice: Do NOT stay at the Hotel Ramblas unless you're prepared to pay an extra €150 a week for a room at the front of the building.
    At the time of my stay, I was stuck in a back room next to the boiler that was literally two steps from the elevators so there was tons of foot traffic, making it impossible to sleep. Luckily, there are plenty of good hostels and B&Bs in the area so accomidation should be pretty easy to find. Just avoid La Ramblas. Rip off prices, bitchy receptionists and walls as thick as crepe paper.

Other than that, can't fault the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

berlin is supposed to be good too for a stag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Moved to Travel and Holidays.

changes wrote: »
    berlin is supposed to be good too for a stag

Another good choice. Good clubs, gargle, sights and such if your into that... wouldnt catch a rugby match though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

McChubbin wrote: »
    La Ramblas in Barcelona FTW. During the day, you can go see the Gaudi Cathedral for a nice fix of culture and a bit of photography. There's also a permanent Salvador Dahli exhibition down by the pier which he might be interested in. Plenty of tapas bars to choose from if you're peckish as well as Irish bars and a huge open air market that's great for haggling.

Also, La Ramblas happens to be a red light district! :D The hotel of the same name is situated between a strip club and a brotrel with a "department store of sex" at the end that offers peepshows in the basement.

The weather is mild for spring and should be balmy enough as the place is close to a large port. Can't recommend it highly enough. Stayed there for a weekend about 2 years ago and I feel like I've been torn away from my home. Beautiful place, plenty to see and do and the people are so warm and friendly. :)

EDIT: word of advice: Do NOT stay at the Hotel Ramblas unless you're prepared to pay an €150 for a room at the front of the building.
    At the time of my stay, I was stuck in a back room next to the boiler that was literally two steps from the elevators so there was tons of foot traffic, making it impossible to sleep. Luckily, there are plenty of good hostels and B&Bs in the area so accomidation should be pretty easy to find. Just avoid La Ramblas. Rip off prices, bitchy receptionists and walls as thick as crepe paper.

Other than that, can't fault the place.

See, I'd say Madrid instead of Barcelona. The city center is more compact and has more bars per capita (and most bars give you tapas with your drinks...well, except for the Irish ones). There is plenty of culture: you could spend an entire weekend just going through the Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofia (and, yes, I know that is not going to happen in this case! But just so you know...). There are several mainstream and art house theaters in El Centro, and tons of gambling halls. Madrid is also cheaper than Barcelona, and has more outdoor plazas to sit and drink in for hours; I've actually met loads of people from other countries sitting in the Plaza Santa Ana.

Barcelona is infamously more raunchy, but Las Ramblas has gotten out of control; pickpocketing is rife, and the "ladies" are scarily aggressive (although the city is supposedly cracking down). And I hope you were joking about how warm and friendly people are in Barcelona. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭DanGlee

I was in Budopest for a stag a few years back, great place. Went quad biking in the day, then drink, food and nakid wimmin!

Loads to do and see, plenty of culture and cheap enough to get there and stay!

Edit: 300th post! Woo! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

amsterdam !!!

beer, women...beer

PCPhoto wrote: »
    amsterdam !!!

beer, women...beer

not forgettin weed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭juanyjuans

I would second Madrid... I've been to Newcastle, Leeds, Latvia, Barcelona, Prague, Budabest, Liverpool... and Madrid was the best stag location out off all of them. Plenty of bars, good food, good shopping, strip clubs too, late opening, good weather and its cheapish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

amsterdam for sure, great beer, women, gambling, clubs and bars
    there is lots of culture here and lots to see and do and everything is within 10 minutes walk from the centre at most! such an easy city to get around