Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dead Woman is Alive

• 19-02-2010 10:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/4/20100219/twl-dead-woman-comes-back-to-life-41f21e0.html
    A woman pronounced dead by doctors in Colombia has been rushed back to the hospital after a funeral home worker saw her move while preparing her body.

Noelia Serna was admitted to a Cali hospital on Monday after suffering a heart attack and was on life support before doctors declared her dead.

Speaking from the hospital, Dr Miguel Angel Saavedra said the 45-year-old showed no vital signs: "The electronic devices that she was connected to showed that there was no heartbeat nor arterial tension. Because of that, the respiratory therapist performed a test when she removed the respirator and the patient could not breath on her own. Sadly she was declared deceased."

Funeral home worker Jaime Aullon told reporters: "I stopped the process. And as soon as I stopped I started looking at her whole body and I noticed her midsection moving. I placed my hand here (pointing to his nose and mouth) and I felt her breathing. I told my partner that she should go back to hospital because she is alive."

It is being speculated that it could be a case of what is known as Lazarus Syndrome, a rare condition where heart rate and breathing drop below measurable levels before returning.

How fcuked up is that? I wonder if this happens more often than we think it does.. it makes you wonder. Thank god there's a Zombie Survival Forum :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

Thats it Im writing a mobile must go into my coffin in my will!!!

Twould be weird tho..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Don't forget to top up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

This is exactly the sort of thing that makes me paranoid about signing organ donor cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

She is pretty hot for a 45 year old zombie actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

cafecolour wrote: »
    This is exactly the sort of thing that makes me paranoid about signing organ donor cards.

Huh? Why is that?

One of my fears is being buried alive. I am sure this type of thing happens a lot more than we think, I have heard about several stories like this. Heard of one where the "dead" person was killed by the balming process (sp?). Can't remember the full details though :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Charco wrote: »
    She is pretty hot for a 45 year old zombie actually.

You'd do anything with a pulse. Oh wait........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

cafecolour wrote: »

This is why I WOULD!:o

If that lady hadn't shown symptoms before he caught her then she could have been buried alive (though I suppose the embalming would have seen to it that she was dead). The removal of my organs would ensure that I'm a complete gonner before going into any coffin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

Alive woman is alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

high heels wrote: »

Twould be weird tho..

Wonder is there any signal in a coffin? Maybe we should move this to the tech forum!

In medeaval times, when graves were reused after a couple of hundred years they sometimes found scratches on the insides of the coffin lids.

Doctors were a bit too quick to diagnose death in those days, and then they buried them the next day.

That's one of the reasons they have a week long wake in England, just to be sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

Twould be weird tho..
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    Don't forget to top up.

The person at +3538513.. has no credit and would like you to ring them.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Ash_M

It amazes me that someone's general alive-ness can go unnoticed in a hospital. I get that it can be Lazerus Syndrome, but still, kind of weird to think that they can declare an alive woman dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Bring the bells back in the coffins!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

That sentence hurts my brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    That sentence hurts my brain.

Christianity isn't the religion for you then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

In medeaval times, when graves were reused after a couple of hundred years they sometimes found scratches on the insides of the coffin lids.

Doctors were a bit too quick to diagnose death in those days, and then they buried them the next day.

That's one of the reasons they have a week long wake in England, just to be sure!

They also designed a "safety coffin" which included a device (sometimes a bell) which could signal to the outside world that the person in the coffin was still alive ... that's possibly where the expression "saved by the bell" comes from.

Edit: No it was boxing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,811 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Burns was rushed to a nearby hospital where he was pronounced dead.

He was then transferred to a better hospital where doctors upgraded his condition to alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 stvincent

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Don't forget to top up.

... and mention you might need a charger/powerpoint...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭Wossack

Twould be weird tho..

heard a story about this.. a young girls older sister dies, and at the funeral, she asks that she buries her mobile along with the body as she'd like to send her txts. The parents, thinking it might help the grieving process, agree. So every so often, little 10 year old Annie sends little messages to her favorite sister until eventually, the battery dies and the contract expires :(

At the aniversary of her death, lil sis sends another message... although unfortunately, it appears the phone companies recycle expired contracts' phone numbers and much to Annie's amazement/terror, she gets a response :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Dont you just hate it when you're getting ready for a nice night of necrophilia with your partner and then they go and self-resusitate :pac:

Wossack wrote: »
    heard a story about this.. a young girls older sister dies, and at the funeral, she asks that she buries her mobile along with the body as she'd like to send her txts. The parents, thinking it might help the grieving process, agree. So every so often, little 10 year old Annie sends little messages to her favorite sister until eventually, the battery dies and the contract expires :(

At the aniversary of her death, lil sis sends another message... although unfortunately, it appears the phone companies recycle expired contracts' phone numbers and much to Annie's amazement/terror, she gets a response :pac:

I know that sounds like an urban legend but I remember listening to somebody on the Ray D'Arcy show a few years back talking about it happening to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

The person at +3538513.. has no credit and would like you to ring them.....
    Imagine how that conversation would go " eh hello Jimmy thanks for ringing back?You'll never guess what?!!"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Must have been at the Dreamysleepynightysnoozysnooz...

LittleBook wrote: »
    ... that's possibly where the expression "saved by the bell" comes from.

Edit: No it was boxing :)

It's where the saying dead ringer comes from though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

kodute wrote: »
    Alive woman is alive

She was pronounced dead though. That's supposed to be a good indicator of not being alive

at what point is someone actually dead.. when the doctor says so?

anniehoo wrote: »
    Imagine how that conversation would go " eh hello Jimmy thanks for ringing back?You'll never guess what?!!"

"Ah I'm only after going and getting myself feckin' buried, amn't I? Jaysus, I'm some feckin' eejit me. The wife is going go through me for a shortcut when she finds out how much we've wasted on the feckin' funeral. Just as well she didn't adhere to my final wish to be cremated though, wha?...... Jimmy, are you still there Jimmy?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

It's where the saying dead ringer comes from though ;)

No, this is a dead ringer...

Saved by the bell...

http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/saved-by-the-bell.html
    There is a widespread notion that the phrase is from the 17th century and that it describes people being saved from being buried alive by using a coffin with a bell attached. The idea being that, if they were buried but later revived, they could ring the bell and be saved from an unpleasant death. The idea is certainly plausible as the fear of burial alive was and is real. Several prominent people expressed this fear when close to death themselves:
    "All I desire for my own burial is not to be buried alive." - Lord Chesterfield, 1769.

"Have me decently buried, but do not let my body be put into a vault in less than two days after I am dead." - deathbed request of George Washington.

"Swear to make them cut me open, so that I won't be buried alive."- Frederic Chopin's last words.
    Just as real were the devices themselves, several of which were patented in England and the USA. These were known as 'safety coffins' and designs were registered in the 19th century and up to as late as 1955. For example,
    safety-coffin.jpgThe Improved Burial Case. Patent No. 81,437 Franz Vester, Newark, New Jersey. August 25, 1868.
    USA Patents Office

There's no evidence to show that these coffins were ever put to use though and there's a similar lack of evidence of the phrase ever being used in that sense prior to it having been used in boxing circles.
    See also - dead ringer and graveyard shift.

WindSock wrote: »

Ha, it works on so many levels:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭honeymonster

Class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

She was pronounced dead though. That's supposed to be a good indicator of not being alive

at what point is someone actually dead.. when the doctor says so?

Yes, when time of death is called, that's the official time recorded on the cert. So it's up to a medical professional to call it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Don't Muslims still do this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Best thread title ever!!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

WindSock wrote: »

Saved by the bell...

http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/saved-by-the-bell.html

bull, everyone knows the phrase comes from screech, ac, belding et al.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

aDeener wrote: »
    bull, everyone knows the phrase comes from screech, ac, belding et al.

I've heard it comes from a night watchman in London back in the day when falling asleep on the job was a capital offence (and not in the sense that London is a capital) but was able to prove he hadn't slept because he had heard one of the church bells chime the wrong number of times.

cba looking it up btw