Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renault Clio 2010 3 Door

• 18-02-2010 5:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭

As you have seen from the advertisements Renault are/were selling a 3 door Clio with their scrappage deal for 8990 before delivery and paint.

I have recently tried to avail of this offer which is heavily advertised across various media types. However it has been pulled by Renault Ireland as the interest was too high.

I have visited 3 showrooms in Cork and Dublin and none of them have any left till the end of the year they say.

Rang Renault Ireland and they say the offer has been pulled till 31/03/2010 and they cannot source one.

1 dealer says that they only had 150 to start with and then they pulled it.

As soon as I walk into a dealer they are trying to sell me a 5 door Clio which 2grand dearer is a no go.

So just a heads up Renault have no 3 doors left and if anyone knows where one is give me a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Odd that a 5 door should be 2 grand more, by the same conditions of the 3 door, shouldnt the 5 door only be 500€ dearer?

Never mind, http://www.renault.ie/services/pricelist.html

It does say €11, 280 for the 5 door, hardly seems fair though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Odd that a 5 door should be 2 grand more, by the same conditions of the 3 door, shouldnt the 5 door only be 500€ dearer?

It is on th elist price, for some reason when you look at the list price they have a high trade in price for the 3 door than the 5 door, not sure why. €3180 for the 3 door Vs €1500 for the 5 door.

Personally I wouldnt be interested in the 3 door. My mother is still tryign to convince herself to upgrade the 00 clio and the 3 door wouldnt be considered.

http://www.renault.ie/services/pricelist.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Presumably the twingo is still available for 8,950 but the clio would be a much better car, a panda for €6999 makes more sense than the twingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Rafloution

Lovely marketing plot by Renault Ireland as the current price list is due to expire at the end of March to coincide with the 3 door being released again.

Now looking at a Kia Rio hatch I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

Rafloution wrote: »
    Now looking at a Kia Rio hatch I think

Whats your top budget?

Check out the 1.3 Suzuki Swift if you can stretch for it, starting at 10,700 with scrappage http://www.suzuki.ie/scrapandsave/scrappage.html

And I'd second the Panda... http://www.fiat.ie/FIAT_IRELAND/uploads/PB_TMPL_NEWS/1074063264/20100217/EcoPlus_Price%20List.pdf

Been offered the Rio at a good price not as goos as 10 k for a 3 door clio but still good enough to go with the KIA for the 7 year warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Been offered the Rio at a good price not as goos as 10 k for a 3 door clio but still good enough to go with the KIA for the 7 year warranty.

You can get an extended 5 year warranty on the clio for €400 extra or so.

Aye if you can buy a 3 door in Ireland this side of March, I would have gone for the extended warranty. However see earlier post Renault have pulled all 3 door Clio's it wouldnt be worth it otherwise. The 5 doors are priced the same as Fiesta's, Corsa's, Hyundai I20, and Mazda 2's so not all that special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭dizzydiesel

So what are they going to do with orders already placed but delivered/registered after March?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭thebiglad

Ordered a 3 door clio 3 weeks ago, told when went back in few days later to finalise it we were told that the stock had now run out and ours would be one of the last ordered in that dealership (it wasn't a sales pitch, we were already on order anyhow).

I said to OH then that I cannot believe Renault carry on their advertising campaign of Clio from €8,990 when it is simply no longer available at that price - surely false advertising!

Renault really caught themselves out with this one!

Well the obviously decided to sell x amount of 3 doors at a loss so to speak then obviously the hype will carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Aye if you can buy a 3 door in Ireland this side of March, I would have gone for the extended warranty. However see earlier post Renault have pulled all 3 door Clio's it wouldnt be worth it otherwise. The 5 doors are priced the same as Fiesta's, Corsa's, Hyundai I20, and Mazda 2's so not all that special.

I know someone looking to buy either a 5-Door Clio or 5-Door Fiesta and the difference is currently €2k (the fiesta being the dearer).

The 3-Door Clio won't be available until August or something, so this is out of the question for her. Renault should stop advertising the 3-Door now.

I'm not sure the best deal is, the Fiesta or Clio with €2k difference? The Clio came out in 2005 and the Fiesta only came out last year, so the Clio should be due for replacement soon, thus devaluing the car sooner than the Fiesta. The Fiesta to me would be a far superior car in every way anyway, but does this justify €2k?

I don't have the exact prices but it's definitely €2k in the difference.

I have been offered the 3door style at 14 k straight. It is higher than the Clio, the ford guy was saying ford pulled the extra grand off incentive at the start of Feb and he is hoping they will bring it back in as its dead.

You would get another grand off that if you took ford finance over 2 years the apr works out at 500 quid if you borrow minimum which is 5,000. So 13.5 k all in still slightly high on my budget but you are getting a newer model

I have been offered the 3door style at 14 k straight. It is higher than the Clio, the ford guy was saying ford pulled the extra grand off incentive at the start of Feb and he is hoping they will bring it back in as its dead.

You would get another grand off that if you took ford finance over 2 years the apr works out at 500 quid if you borrow minimum which is 5,000. So 13.5 k all in still slightly high on my budget but you are getting a newer model

Is this part of the scappage deal? The 3-Door Style at €14k straight seems very high. I know a person getting the 5-Door for less than this. I'll have the exact price and the name of the dealer for you later.

Cheers the price I quoted was cash price not part of any trade in or scrappage. I was offered 14,495 in other places went to 3 in total

This probably explains it so as you you're not availing of the scappage scheme. Pity you don't have a banger to trade in. I know someone that got quoted €12,700 for the 5-door Style under the scrappage scheme (includes del. and met paint). It might even be cheaper now as she went to more dealers. The 3-door is €600 less I think.

Actually there were big differences in prices between the Ford dealers so I'll get the name of the cheapest one later.

Yes a pity I cannot avail of it the dealers were saying they couldnt pass down fords discount on scrappage to straight cash deals obvious the goverment scrappage they couldnt. Some other makes could like kia opel and even renault.

The 5-Door Fiesta Style is €12,700 with lots of black and silver in stock (ready to pretty much drive away).

The 5-Dorr Clio is €10,700 with certain colours in stock too.

The above prices are part of the scrappage scheme, but if you're not availing of the scheme there's no reason why the dealers shouldn't be offering you their own scrappage allowance (this is only a discount anyway). So just add €1500 to the above prices and this is what you should be getting them for, if not cheaper. The above prices also include delivery and paint etc.

Rafloution I sent you a pm with the name of the dealers that are offering these prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

<Ollie> wrote: »
    The 5-Door Fiesta Style is €12,700 with lots of black and silver in stock (ready to pretty much drive away).

The 5-Dorr Clio is €10,700 with certain colours in stock too.

The above prices are part of the scrappage scheme, but if you're not availing of the scheme there's no reason why the dealers shouldn't be offering you their own scrappage allowance (this is only a discount anyway). So just add €1500 to the above prices and this is what you should be getting them for, if not cheaper. The above prices also include delivery and paint etc.

Rafloution I sent you a pm with the name of the dealers that are offering these prices.

Just to point out that it's not always €1,500 scrappage. The scrappage allowance is a VRT rebate of up to €1,500. If there is only €1,200 of VRT on the car then that's all they can give you.

Not sure what the VRT payable on the Clio & Fiesta is, but I seem to remember reading that it's less than €1,500 on a Clio (may be on the 3 door though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

are the Clios technically flexifuel cars hence the low VRT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

colm_mcm wrote: »
    are the Clios technically flexifuel cars hence the low VRT?

The 1.2's seem to all be listed as E85 so should already be getting up to €2,500 VRT relief. Wonder if this is factored in to the advertised RRP, or are Renault saying it's discount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Dunno the actual VRT figure, but in the case of a hybrid there's still a minimum VRT amount (2 or 3 hundred), and the scrappage comes out of the VRT left so who knows?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Dunno the actual VRT figure, but in the case of a hybrid there's still a minimum VRT amount (2 or 3 hundred), and the scrappage comes out of the VRT left so who knows?

According to Renault the VRT on the basic Clio is €320.

thebiglad wrote: »
    According to Renault the VRT on the basic Clio is €320.

There is a govt. VRT allowance of €2500 on flexifuel cars, so in total the VRT would be €2820 (€2500 + €320) for the 3DR Clio.

VRT payable is only €320 after allowance is subtracted.

There is a govt. VRT allowance of €2500 on flexifuel cars, so in total the VRT would be €2820 (€2500 + €320) for the 3DR Clio.

VRT payable is only €320 after allowance is subtracted.

So the 2009 price of the Clio was discounted by €2,500 due to flexifuel allowance and there is a now further 2010 discount of €320 under the new scrappage scheme?

Effectively does this make the true discount for 2010 scrappage €320 anyhow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Guys ,whats with all the giving out about Renault. They stole a march on everybody giving huge reductions on cars, introduced a scrappage scheme before the government and its because of them that other brands are following with promotions of their own!!!!! C'mon guys.....

thebiglad wrote: »
    So the 2009 price of the Clio was discounted by €2,500 due to flexifuel allowance and there is a now further 2010 discount of €320 under the new scrappage scheme?

Effectively does this make the true discount for 2010 scrappage €320 anyhow?

I don't know when the €2500 rebate began....2010 or 2009? Not sure.

Renault can claim 2500 for each car sold.
    They also can claim a further 320 if your can qualifies as scrappage.
    Effectively the VRT balance is zero after both discounts.

The remaining 8,990 list price is 100% value of the car including VAT.

In theory, if paying with cash (no trade-in) you should be able to get all the discounts excluding the €320.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 thecarman

i have just bought a 3 door clio, from a renault dealer in drogheda they are available, why not contact them, very friendly to deal with and great service.