Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dresses.ie

• 16-02-2010 8:08pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Has anyone bought anything from this site? Some of the stuff looks kinda tacky :o reminds me of boohoo.com.. one or two nice ones but I'd be worried about the quality etc..

www.dresses.ie

Anyone have any experience with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭litup

Bought a couple of dresses from them a while ago. Delivery etc was good. Dresses were ok quality, I'd say similar to what you would expect from boohoo.com.

Although I did get a mail from them a while ago saying they had been bought by new people and the style of clothes has changed a bit since then, so maybe the whole operation has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭MissMotivated

I've bought a couple of bits, I like alot of the stuff and wouldn't be that bothered by quality to be honest, I wear a few times and get bored so as far as I'm concerned the lower the price the better!! Saying that they have gotten more expensive, sent a few dresses back as they were that clingy stretchy shiny material (haven't a clue what it's called). Pity they don't give the material the dress is made from on the site. Delivery is very fast, I usually receive order the next day

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I've bought a couple of bits, I like alot of the stuff and wouldn't be that bothered by quality to be honest, I wear a few times and get bored so as far as I'm concerned the lower the price the better!! Saying that they have gotten more expensive, sent a few dresses back as they were that clingy stretchy shiny material (haven't a clue what it's called). Pity they don't give the material the dress is made from on the site. Delivery is very fast, I usually receive order the next day

Yeah 2 dresses I got from Boohoo were like that, totally clung to me so I never wore them but they looked lovely on the website :rolleyes: never bought from them again after that.. Also a few little satin vest tops, again, looked lovely on the site, bought them in my size and they were floating on me, horrible yokes, and they were sale items so 'no return'.. feck that..

Although, I must say, I do like this http://www.dresses.ie/dress-havanna-G9120215 fabric looks safe enough aswel.. nice for Holidays.. Hmmmm

Shame they don't do accessories or shoes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

VISCOSE! I hate that stuff so much. Why do so many shops use it in their clothes? Topshop and ASOS are number 1 offenders. You see a lovely dress and then you pick it up or zoom in and you see it's this horrible, itchy, static-y viscose material :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭MissMotivated

That's the stuff, it's desperate material.It gets annoying sending things back so I'm trying not to buy off the site, although I do love going home to a parcel waiting for me!!!:D
    xzanti that dress is lovely,fab clours and looks like the material might be good! there's a few dresses on there now that I like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

Oh gawd the dresses look desperate. Looks like someone took the dresses out of those "Fab" and "Sugababe" shops with the thumping music and started selling them online

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Oh gawd the dresses look desperate. Looks like someone took the dresses out of those "Fab" and "Sugababe" shops with the thumping music and started selling them online

Check this one out http://www.dresses.ie/dress-bruxelles-G9030212 :eek: :o

This one's supposed to be an 'evening dress'

http://www.dresses.ie/dress-tokyo-G8990212

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

litup wrote: »
    Although I did get a mail from them a while ago saying they had been bought by new people and the style of clothes has changed a bit since then, so maybe the whole operation has changed.

..........for the worst I would imagine as they have been bought by the same people behind Car Buyers Guide/Menu Pages/Page 7 Media (see here).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Those dresses are awful, and the model is appalling too. The pictures look like they were taken with a disposable camera in someone's garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

The prices are way to high for clothes that look to be mediocre quality and on such an unprofessional looking website.

At least on boohoo the prices are low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭lala stone

exactly like the "Sugababe" Tack!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭deisebabe

dresses look cheap allright. Also, although a poster mentions this site is now owned by diff people I'd like to point out that previously they were trolling on here....that wrecks my head and turns me off any business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

Im sorry I didnt see this post sooner. I ordered dresses from them and they were very snobby about sending out my order. Asking me personal questions to see "why" I was buying dresses. Then when they eventually checked with my bank that i was not into Fraud they sent the dresses.

I didnt see an itemised bill. By the time they dispatched my order a dress i ordered had gone from €49 to €29. I was well pissed off. To further add insult the dresses were cheap material and i found them on lots of other websites for €15 when I had paid €49. I definitely wouldnt buy a car from these people.

Heres the websites I found selling the exact same dresses for so much cheaper:

http://www.quizclothing.co.uk/trends-products/new-nautical/
    http://www.axparis.co.uk/index.php?c=1 (one dress had this label)
    http://www.prodigyred.com/Dresses/c1/index.html?view_all=1
    http://www.peacocks.co.uk/Womenswear/JUST_ARRIVED/View_All/STRIPE_SCOOP_NECK_DRESS_-56422010.html (i spent €49 on this one, £14.99 here)
    http://www.missguided.co.uk/Dresses/c3/index.html?view_all=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Flip - the model in this one looks like she got hit with the oompa-loompa truck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

We should have a competition to find the worst dress on the site. Im going with
    http://www.dresses.ie/dress-saniyah-G5901209
    or
    http://www.dresses.ie/dress-starlight-black-G10100224

haha look at the picture of the back of the dress. Dear lord

http://www.dresses.ie/dress-5672-qc-G10610309

Ive bought so many things from the Internet, and sometimes I get it wrong on ebay, but this website was the worse, most difficult and complicated I came across. They sent an email saying my order had been approved. My bank card was debited...but it took them 2 weeks to figure out if they could send it, in case it was not my bank card. I told them just use Paypal etc or contact visa directly. I never felt so angry and frustrated in my life.

They rang, I was busy at work, so I missed my mobile call. I sent them an email saying if they had any problems to feel free to contact me by email. No answer...I thought everything must be fine. A week went by, no dresses. After no show of dresses I rang and left a message.

The woman rang back...asked me personal questions, what my job is...(nothing to do with bank details). She said I seemed normal and she would talk to her manager. She said they would ring in the afternoon....the manager never rang. I rang them the next day and left a message (i thought the dresses were out of stock at this stage...plus they were all being reduced in price). The woman rang back saying, oh you told me to ring you immediately?? I just said, yeah I was wondering if the dresses could be dispatched, otherwise I wanted my money back. She said the manager would ring me in afternoon. Still no phonecall from manager. I rang again, and woman said ok hold on (she ring she would ring me back in 5 mins) ....5 mins went by (i cant have mobiles on me where i worked...so i literally had to sit by the phone and was missing out on work). After about 30 mins went by, I rang again. The same woman answered and more less tried to get rid of me again (id never bought anything from them before so I thought they had just taken my money and done a fast one).

So finally I told her, if you dont either send the dresses or give me my money back I would call the Gardai. The manager came on immediately and took my bank details for a credit check (it took 5 mins). I dont know why they couldnt have done that in the 1st place. I said one of the dresses had been reduced in the meantime from €49 to €29 and if I could get it for that price. She said no. I thought after all the hassle, they might have done something. I told her I had given my opinion of their service on the internet (other sites). She said it was slander. I told her, it was just my honest opinion on how badly I felt the customer service was.

So i know its long...but i never had such bad customer service and felt so ripped off. I will taking my business elsewhere and most likely to the websites which sold the same dresses for less.

Miss Dresses.ie 2010

• Are you 18-25?
    • Are you 5 foot 7 or more?
    • Do you have an interest in fashion?
    • Would you like a dresses.ie wardrobe worth 500 euros?
    • Entry into Miss Universe Ireland 2010?
    • Would you like a modelling contract with a top agency?
    • Would you like to model for www.dresses.ie?
    I really would not trust this website to get me anywhere in a modelling career. The dresses are see through,cheap, light material and definitely have to wear leggings underneath. How would they cope if you wanted to actually make an order for that much. I doubt any of their current models are over 5ft 7

Actually, I take it back, this one wins the oompa-loompa competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

dudara wrote: »

If you zoom in on her face I'm pretty sure that it's been airbrushed to pieces to look like an ACTUAL barbie face. And I don't mean that in a flippant way - it really looks like they superimposed barbie on there. Love the poses :D

The only thing that looks real is her nails. Seriously, the dresses on the site, I think are suited for a certain type of profession and lets just say its not modelling, to be polite about it. They are not stylish at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

pookie82 wrote: »
    If you zoom in on her face I'm pretty sure that it's been airbrushed to pieces to look like an ACTUAL barbie face. And I don't mean that in a flippant way - it really looks like they superimposed barbie on there. Love the poses :D

Well, it's a pity they didn't turn their photoshopping skills to the frocks. On that tokyo dress, the creases in the under-dress are as clear as day. It really is a shambolic site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Little D

Hey everyone,
    just wondering has anyone ever ordered off this site before its an irish site and takes laser card also has next day delivery, just wondering does anyone have any info on it and if its safe to use??
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Threads merged.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

oh my god the state of the photos on that site! Why have they done up some of their models in really bad blackface? White lips + deep tan = bad. Also, is seeing the models thong and navel piercing through the dress not a sign of really dreadful quality tat?

G15200519_XL.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

This site is hilarious "as seen on stars", my brother could do photoshop better than those pictures too.
    The 'celebrity' dresses are dresses with celebrity names??

This must be a contender for one of the worst on that site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

This is my favourite. IDEAL for meeting your boyfriend's parents, going to a wedding, christening, or just going for Sunday lunch somewhere nice.

G16160608_XL.jpg

some of their handbags are quite nice was thinkin of getting this one
    http://www.dresses.ie/handbag-St-Tropez-Bz910232-P140110
    their dresses seem to all be made with that horrible spandex material

Re: the scary looking model, a poster emailed them before to say the model was really putting her off, and apparently the website is just provided with the pictures from a company in Germany. They've asked the company to stop using the model, but they just keep using her. They've apparently had several emails about her!

well, the model probably wears that much makeup so that she won't be recognised in real-life and associated with those hideous dresses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Faith wrote: »
    Re: the scary looking model, a poster emailed them before to say the model was really putting her off, and apparently the website is just provided with the pictures from a company in Germany. They've asked the company to stop using the model, but they just keep using her. They've apparently had several emails about her!
    well, the model probably wears that much makeup so that she won't be recognised in real-life and associated with those hideous dresses.

She has a fantastic body and is probably a pretty girl under all the fake tan, but it's the combination of the Jordan makeup and dresses that look like they came from a clearance sale in "Japan" in the Ilac Centre that put me off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

Magenta wrote: »
    This is my favourite. IDEAL for meeting your boyfriend's parents, going to a wedding, christening, or just going for Sunday lunch somewhere nice.

G16160608_XL.jpg

Gorge, I also love the way the belly button piercing is off centre with the beautiful detail in the middle.

I WANT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

G9100215_res.jpg

She looks embarrassed. I would be too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

She looks like transvestite barbie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

G9100215_res.jpg

She looks embarrassed. I would be too!

This girl was in my school. Does a lot of Miss ... Competitions I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Sapsorrow

That site is loads of fun got some great laughs there, dear sweet jesus though they are some ming'n models. What is with the air brushing? I'd imagine they have quite a narrow target market with their whole style angle, no need to specify who.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

God those models look dreadful! I think one is Pippa O Conner, Could
    she possibly be wearing any more fake tan? The photography is pretty
    bad too.

Personally really dislike their clothing, The quality is terrible.

That cant be true one their models is Suzanne Jackson and she is from north county Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Little D wrote: »
    That cant be true one their models is Suzanne Jackson and she is from north county Dublin
    What they actually said was that they tried to do their own shoots but because they couldn't keep up with the amount of clothes they were getting in some of the photos used are the ones from the supplier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

You can see a difference in fairness, the photos with the scary drag queen have a different background.

Those dresses are :eek:, and they bring back terrible memories of a christening I was at a while ago! white stretch hummers and bikinis all round...

janeybabe wrote: »
    What they actually said was that they tried to do their own shoots but because they couldn't keep up with the amount of clothes they were getting in some of the photos used are the ones from the supplier.

Thanks, couldn't find the original post about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 bellieella

ananas wrote: »
    Gorge, I also love the way the belly button piercing is off centre with the beautiful detail in the middle.

I WANT!!

CLASSY !!

Thanks, couldn't find the original post about it!

Or maybe they couldn't find anyone to model them! :p

Little D wrote: »

the ones with the scary model are from a wholesale company called
    queen of catwalk in germany I think. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

Christ on a bike they have some tack! Who on earth wears clothes/dresses like that?!:eek:

As for the fake tan and make-up:eek:

*Shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

They should open a shop down here in Rathkeale and it would do booming buisness!
    I'm cringing cos I actually wore dresses like that when I was in my late teen's :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

G16170608_XL.jpg

Can't control myself....the credit card is coming out of the bag....this dress will be an investment, i'll make loads of money if i wear it!!