Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greystones RFC Paddy Power Texas Hold Em Qualifier

• 16-02-2010 7:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Next Friday, Feb 26th in Greystones RFC, registration at 630pm,we are holding our inaugural Poker Tournament kindly sponsored by Paddy Power.

1. Registration is € 100.
    2. First 2 prizes include entry to the Paddy Power Irish Final in May.
    3. Prize Fund valued at €10k.
    4. 10 prizes on the night including cash and tickets to sporting events.
    5. Professional dealers.
    6. Entertainment on the night.
    7. Buy backs available.
    8. Pre book your tickets on social@greystonesrfc.ie
    9. More info on www.greystonesrfc.ie or email to the above address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭corigi

Sounds good but any chance of posting more details? Starting chips blind levels etc.Any money been withheld for the club?Max number of players?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.)
    2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.)
    3. Date and Location of event
    4. Registration and Start time of event.
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.)
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.
    9. Cost of registration
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    13. Starting Chips
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.
    15. Blind levels
    16. Blind timeframes
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules
    20. Is there a tournament director
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered.

Fill this out please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Monte Carlo Ent

1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.)
    Monte Carlo Entertainment & JP Poker on Behalf of Greystones RC

2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.)
    Fundraising Event for Greystones RC

3. Date and Location of event
    Friday 26th Feb at Greystones RC

4. Registration and Start time of event.
    Registration from 6.00pm. Start Time at 7.30pm Sharp.
    BBQ and Food being served between 6.30 & 7.30pm, then during the break.

5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.)
    In advance Preferably to avoid any disappointment on the night as there are limited seats of 150.
    Please call Eddie at 0868134364

7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)
    No Limit Holdem

8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.
    €100 Entry with 2 x Rebuys @ €50 each and 1 Top up @ €50

9. Cost of registration
    No Registration Fee

Attached File Shows the Prize Fund etc.

10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much
    NO
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.
    YES, see attachment for details

12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    2 Rebuys @ €50each over 1hr 40 min with 20 min levels.

13. Starting Chips
    2500 with extra 500 early bird bonus, if registered before 1st level of blinds are complete.

14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.
    Rebuy amounts 3000 each and Top up is 5000

15. Blind levels
    20min for first 5 levels to the break then 15min after that

16. Blind timeframes
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    9 places being paid

18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill
    Yes all professional Poker Dealers supplied.

19. Will there be a documented list of rules
    YES on each table

20. Is there a tournament director
    YES there will be 2.

21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.
    Tournament Director has final say.

22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered.
    Cash Game YES €6 - 8PP/Hr, and Sit and Goes. 10% of game.

I Hope this Helps you and Hope to see you and others on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

LOL is all I can say to this, maybe better with JP involved but again........ LOL!

That bubbles posting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭philcassidy

2. First 2 prizes include entry to the Paddy Power Irish Final in May.

what the hell does this mean tell me:eek::eek:
    irish opens on in april,
    so whats the paddy power irish final when its at home????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 K.....Tobin

gap you always ave something 2 say dont ya lol :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Hi All,

Just to clear a few things up.

1st & 2nd will win a seat into the Irish Open (Easter Weekend) as part of their prize.

The total prize pool is GUARANTEED at €10,000.
    Also this is the max payout.

Compared to a normal event the reg seems high as it is. However this is a fundraiser for a local sports club. It is also a dealer dealt game which is very good for a fundraiser.

The event is capped at 150 players but will probably get between 60-80 players. My guess is a high % of the field will be friends and family of the club so this game could be an easy option to winning a seat at this years Irish Open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭westlife2010

JP Poker wrote: »
    Hi All,

Just to clear a few things up.

1st & 2nd will win a seat into the Irish Open (Easter Weekend) as part of their prize.

Compared to a normal event the reg seems high as it is. However this is a fundraiser for a local sports club. It is also a dealer dealt game which is very good for a fundraiser.

The event is capped at 150 players but will probably get between 60-80 players. My guess is a high % of the field will be friends and family of the club so this game could be an easy option to winning a seat at this years Irish Open.
    So, if they get 80 runners, at an average of €200 per player the take in is €16,000, 100 runners = €20,000 and 150 runners = €30,000........ with a max payout at €10,000?
    Attached File Shows the Prize Fund etc..
    I'm glad you posted this JP as it was (incredibly!) not included in the poker format. This would cause you, and the orginisers, major probs on the night. And the actual cash guarantee is €8,650 with prizes. So the payout could be around 30%!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Afaik there is 2x €50 rebuys and an add on for €50 , so it is €250 per head.
    80 players = 20k/ 100 players = 25k.

2.5k starting chips for €100 is seriously bad value ,and the rebuy amounts are even worse value when you consider your gonna have to walk thru a minefield of farmer browns and aunt betty,s .
    Seriously JP have a word . We know its a fundraiser and nobody minds giving away a few euros , but this one seems pretty ridiculous.
    Just my opinion

I think JP might have been sub contracted for this one so prob very little imput to the make up of the event. And if Paddy Power are sponsoring this the likely cash back is MUCH less then i stated in my above post....... Sorry lads, I am not a posty mouner but...... and, who says you cant make money in tournaments! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 GrogoJones

Dont forget the blinds moving from 20 mins to 15 either.

hahaha why dont we all throw 250 into a pot, give us a ticket and do a draw for the IO seats.

maybe this could be changed to an all in or fold type game pay 250 on the door reiceve one chip each and hope for the best

starting stack too is a great incentive for players as well

LOL

maybe this could be changed to an all in or fold type game pay 250 on the door reiceve one chip each and hope for the best

LOL

I have been emailing the guy from greystones rugby club with numerous concerns that i believe most poker players would have in terms off this tournament. This is there first try at that this sort of thing so i understand that everything not going to be prefect.

I hoping he will get back to me tomorrow and hopefully they will seriously re consider the overall structure and pay outs for this.

Anyone any suggestions?(Yes i know where to start)

Instead of just having €100 euro entry without reg.
    Why not have it €85 + €15(high reg but allowing its for charity etc should be enough to cover all running costs)

Have all the €85 go into the prize pool and look to take x amount per rebuy.Maybe €15 - €20 per rebuy goes to the club.
    Considering its a small starting stack everyone most likely will either rebuy or top.

At the moment i cant imagine anyone from outside the club itself playing in this which will probably mean a loss/break even for the club.So hopefully they will realise this and change the format.

Just home from work so only getting around to this now.

As Phil stated earlied in this thread I have been asked to come in and TD the event. I've have no input on buy-in or prize pool. The only thing that I can ask as an organiser is that everyone know what they are getting into before they sit down to play.

The poster for the event which has been attached in the thread has been put up in the club weeks ago and everyone involved in the club know that what the prizes are in advance whether the game gets 10 players or 100 players.

It is clearly stated and transparent that all money collected above the €10k will go towards the club after the cost of running the event have been paid. Which from my point of view is all I can ask for.

Is this game good value to boards poker community? Probably not.

Is this game good value to friends and family of Greystones RFC? Yes I think so.

Regarding the starting chips and blind levels I have had some input on this. There is a time limit on the game of 1.30am afaik, will double check tomorrow becuase the game is been played on a licenced premises. Which is why I have suggested the above chips and blind levels.

I hope this clears up some of the questions.

Jp

JP Poker wrote: »
    Just home from work so only getting around to this now.

As Phil stated earlied in this thread I have been asked to come in and TD the event. I've have no input on buy-in or prize pool. The only thing that I can ask as an organiser is that everyone know what they are getting into before they sit down to play.

The poster for the event which has been attached in the thread has been put up in the club weeks ago and everyone involved in the club know that what the prizes are in advance whether the game gets 10 players or 100 players.

It is clearly stated and transparent that all money collected above the €10k will go towards the club after the cost of running the event have been paid. Which from my point of view is all I can ask for.

Is this game good value to boards poker community? Probably not.

Is this game good value to friends and family of Greystones RFC? Yes I think so.

Regarding the starting chips and blind levels I have had some input on this. There is a time limit on the game of 1.30am afaik, will double check tomorrow becuase the game is been played on a licenced premises. Which is why I have suggested the above chips and blind levels.

I hope this clears up some of the questions.

Jp

Cheers for the reply JP clears up some of the questions.

If they only get 60-70 players there were will be plenty of value for board players.If there 100 plus the value will be lost by the money withdrawn from the prize pool.

Would it be not better to drop the cash from 1st and 2nd and maybe add it to 5th -9th place as having €3500 ticket for 1st and 2nd is plenty without the added cash too.Would balance up the final table payout a bit better.
    (As opposed to been top heavy)
    I know you dont have input in regard to prizes just mite be an idea to suggest it on the nite.

corigi wrote: »
    Cheers for the reply JP clears up some of the questions.

If they only get 60-70 players there were will be plenty of value for board players.If there 100 plus the value will be lost by the money withdrawn from the prize pool.

Would it be not better to drop the cash from 1st and 2nd and maybe add it to 5th -9th place as having €3500 ticket for 1st and 2nd is plenty without the added cash too.Would balance up the final table payout a bit better.
    (As opposed to been top heavy)
    I know you dont have input in regard to prizes just mite be an idea to suggest it on the nite.

I will certainly suggest it.

There is no way you will get 60-70 players in Greystones to even play a €50 freezeout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

JP,

I'm not being bad but if you think that this game HAS TO be finished by 1.30 you are mistaken, Ive been to parties in that place til all hours and there is no way there would be any trouble staying until 3 or 4 AM.

I wish everyone involved the best of luck but you are going to need it.

eoghan104 wrote: »
    JP,

I'm not being bad but if you think that this game HAS TO be finished by 1.30 you are mistaken, Ive been to parties in that place til all hours and there is no way there would be any trouble staying until 3 or 4 AM.

Yeah this is true. It's a Rugby Club they can do what they want.

eoghan104 wrote: »
    JP,

I would have thought that myself as I have done fundraisers in GAA clubs in the past and was able to stay on late.

However when I was asked what structure to use and what chips to give players I asked how many players we would have and what time did it have to finish at.

I can only go on the information that I'm given.

Think you are preaching to the wrong man. In my experience when your dealing (no pun intended) with people before who have never run a specialised fundraiser like this, they dont really take on board what the proper and enticing way to run the tournament would be. These people do not deal with poker tournaments on a full time basis and I think their concern is getting a game that will run for approx 4-5 hours max. Yes it's a bad structure but their number one priority is raising money in a game where 90% of the people will be novices and JP going back to them explaining how bad the structure is for the POSSIBLE bordsies who might go to it will fall on deaf ears. At the end of the day the majority of punters there will be locals who dont understand, or give a dam, about the structure. As my posts show I dont like the capping of (not even cash) €10,000 on this event. With the potential turnover of €20,000-€40,000 I think they have been badly advised as to what would bring the Poker community to this game. Good luck to all concerned but......

A €30 freezeout 10 mins away doesn't even get two tables I really don't know how they will get these 60+ players. This will have a overlay imo unless JP gets a bus load out.

These Rugby and GAA things usually get a massive support from the local community. The fact that the local poker game does not get great support will have nothing to do with the numbers for this one. MEMBERS and their families will support this, even if they never played poker before. However if 20 people turn up with only €100 each please turn on the Bat light nd we will all be there! And what is the story with the poster??https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/211910/105432.pdf I think JP, Dave (now that he has got himself waxed top to toe..... eh, for science!) and Yifei should do a copy of this for the JP Masters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 goracing

wow sounds good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 greystonesrc

Hi everybody,

OP here, first of all, thanks to you all for your input, suggestions and advice.

As you all are aware, this is our first go at something like this and yes, there are bound to be mistakes, omissions and we take all of your comments on board.

So, a few things to clarify ;

1. I'm not one of the guys in the poster, we got the 1st team to do a novelty calendar for 2010 and as we were running the Poker night in Feb, we got the lads to ham it up for the shot.
    2. The prize fund distribution - as stated, the 10k is guaranteed, we most certainly will look at moving the cash prizes around to balance it out and give evrybody more incentive. I will discuss this with JP and Monte Carlo Entertainment.
    3. Finishing hour of the event will be around 130am unfortunately. There may have been occassions in the past when some of you might have been there until 3 or 4 am, we don't have a late licence on the night so it's regular hours I' afraid. We cannot do what we want.
    4. There is a perception that 100% of the cash is profit for the Club, we are paying for music, a BBQ, door staff, bar staff, dealers, tables and everything else, there is a fair amount of outlay required. That being said, yes, it is a fundraiser and we hope to make a decent return on the night, nothing however like some of the figures being mentioned here. In fairness to all concerned, I'm not going to divulge our costs for the night due to obvious senstitivities and I would hope that you will appreciate that too.
    5. Yes, you're all 100% correct in saying that most of the players will be locals who are novices and will probably be out in the blink of an eye. Therefore, for serious players like yourselves, it surely would represent an opportunity for you to win decent prizes ?

I do hope that we see some of you on the night and hopefully you can enjoy it, the Club can raise some funds and that you win some cash and come away with a positive opinion of GRFC.

Cheers

Hi everybody,

OP here, first of all, thanks to you all for your input, suggestions and advice.

As you all are aware, this is our first go at something like this and yes, there are bound to be mistakes, omissions and we take all of your comments on board.

So, a few things to clarify ;

1. I'm not one of the guys in the poster, we got the 1st team to do a novelty calendar for 2010 and as we were running the Poker night in Feb, we got the lads to ham it up for the shot.
    2. The prize fund distribution - as stated, the 10k is guaranteed, we most certainly will look at moving the cash prizes around to balance it out and give evrybody more incentive. I will discuss this with JP and Monte Carlo Entertainment.
    3. Finishing hour of the event will be around 130am unfortunately. There may have been occassions in the past when some of you might have been there until 3 or 4 am, we don't have a late licence on the night so it's regular hours I' afraid. We cannot do what we want.
    4. There is a perception that 100% of the cash is profit for the Club, we are paying for music, a BBQ, door staff, bar staff, dealers, tables and everything else, there is a fair amount of outlay required. That being said, yes, it is a fundraiser and we hope to make a decent return on the night, nothing however like some of the figures being mentioned here. In fairness to all concerned, I'm not going to divulge our costs for the night due to obvious senstitivities and I would hope that you will appreciate that too.
    5. Yes, you're all 100% correct in saying that most of the players will be locals who are novices and will probably be out in the blink of an eye. Therefore, for serious players like yourselves, it surely would represent an opportunity for you to win decent prizes ?

I do hope that we see some of you on the night and hopefully you can enjoy it, the Club can raise some funds and that you win some cash and come away with a positive opinion of GRFC.

Cheers
    On:
    Point 1: ok?
    Point 4: why would you be sensative about making your costs transparant? Nobody assumes that anybody is working for free and, the figures being mentioned are YOUR figures.... buy in €100 + 50 + 50 +50 even if only 100 people turn up and an average of €175 pp = €17,500.
    Your prizes are sponsored and the IO tickets supplied by your main sponsor Paddy Power! So you cash payout appears to be €1,750. (All approx costings)....Music - €500, BBQ - €1,000, door staff - €300, bar staff (bar staff? this usually comes out of the takens from the till) dealers & tables - €400/€800. €2,300 + €1,750 = €4,000 outlay! If you only get 50+ players you will still take in approx €10,000, with a 60% clear profit on the night... and that is your worse case scenario!
    Point 5: There is a snowballs chance in hell of an 'experienced player' taking this down with the structure as is. If there are 100 runners in this game, even if you had some of the poker greats playing like Phil Ivey or Phil Baker;), every player would be 99/1 to win it!

Sorry to be a moan, but im getting old!

if all the prizes are sponsored, then why is there only 1650 euro CASH being paid out (six runners covers that)
    some body call the poker police, theres a robbery planned for friday 26feb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭fab-frankie

LOL

i know of better home games.....
    at the end of charity games you wonder why you went.....
    and "HOW THE FCUK COULD HE CALL ME WITH A PAIR OF 7'S ON A KQJ7A BOARD!!!!"
    and the worst thing is you have no money left to buy a rope:):D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭fab-frankie

buy in 250, at least 9th gets 150, only down a hundred on the night!!!!

think i might go and play this game on friday now, has a great structure:D, with a great payout:D

seriuosly jp are you going to have your good name invovled with a farce of a thing like this mate????

think i might go and play this game on friday now, has a great structure:D, with a great payout:D

seriuosly jp are you going to have your good name invovled with a farce of a thing like this mate????

Hi Phil,

I'm having a meeting with someone from the club tomorrow.

I will speak to them about the issues raised here.

That said they have clearly stated the full details of the tournament, which from my end is all I can ask for.

The fact that this game doesn't represent good value to the boards community in it's current format is no reason for me to tell 10 of my staff that I now don't have a nights work for them.

I run a business and have always been fair to the Irish Poker Community, I also have to be fair to my staff

Phil, I can 100% tell you that JP has NOTHING to do with the organising of this game. This game is organised by an event company that has sub contracted JP and his staff to come in and do a nights work. It is a local fundraiser that someone has decided to announce on a poker forum. Giving JP grief over this is like giving out to the barman in a nightclub because the bouncer wouldn't let your friend in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

It's a sad fact of life, people... Poker T.D.'s often get called in by people (who don't have the first clue about how a poker tournament should be run) to run poker tournaments and as they are hiring the T.D., they can more or less call the shots. Sad fact of life.

No need to bite the head off the T.D. or his staff over it. The issue is with the organisers who want to just make as much money as possible and to hell with the punter.

Charity/fundraiser games are notorious anyway, but some moreso than others!!!

i wasnt having a go at JP, the man is regarded is the best TD and tourney organiser in the country.......
    i am simply worried about the potential rake by the house (prizes sponsered and only 1650E paid out) its probably going to cost 250E to play so you do the maths, altough having said that two people are going to get their hands on some irish open tickets very easily

DazMarz wrote: »
    It's a sad fact of life, people... Poker T.D.'s often get called in by people (who don't have the first clue about how a poker tournament should be run) to run poker tournaments and as they are hiring the T.D., they can more or less call the shots. Sad fact of life.

No need to bite the head off the T.D. or his staff over it. The issue is with the organisers who want to just make as much money as possible and to hell with the punter.

Charity/fundraiser games are notorious anyway, but some moreso than others!!![/QUOTE]

I must disagree with some of this statement .

I ran a fundraiser for Saint Lukes hospital recently. I got 34 players and raised in excess of €700 for a very worthy cause while still creating a prizepool of over €2.5k. I charged a €10 euro reg (total €340) and the room and sandwiches cost me €360 , so a monetary loss of €20 for me never mind the time put into it .
    Now put that in contrast to this rip off of a game for a rugby club who have all prizes sponsored and are not happy with making a few quid , they just want to screw everyone for all they can get . Surely morals have to come into it somewhere along the line.

We all no it's not down to JP .

Recently i was asked to run agame for a local club who wanted to only pay out 50% of the overall takings . I refused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

DazMarz wrote: »

Charity/fundraiser games are notorious anyway, but some moreso than others!!!
    DAMO72 wrote: »
    I must disagree with some of this statement .

I ran a fundraiser for Saint Lukes hospital recently. I got 34 players and raised in excess of €700 for a very worthy cause while still creating a prizepool of over €2.5k. I charged a €10 euro reg (total €340) and the room and sandwiches cost me €360 , so a monetary loss of €20 for me never mind the time put into it .
    Now put that in contrast to this rip off of a game for a rugby club who have all prizes sponsored and are not happy with making a few quid , they just want to screw everyone for all they can get . Surely morals have to come into it somewhere along the line.

We all no it's not down to JP .

Recently i was asked to run agame for a local club who wanted to only pay out 50% of the overall takings . I refused.

Should have included the addendum: 'some'... But it can be said that an awful lot of fundraiser nights do nothing but take money in and care nothing of the punter. I've been approached a fair few times but I only take the ones on where they realise (or come to realise) that they have to pay out most of the money that comes in.

In my opinion by running these type of games its telling them its ok to rip people off . It's very easy to say no and leave them to their own devices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

That's not fair Damo, noone is being ripped off unknowningly, and at these times it's not really an option to turn down work.

OMG you are openly admitting that you are ripping people off and you think thats it is ok because they know about it , and then try and justify it by saying you are providing work for someone in bad times.
    That is just disgusting and i wont be posting on this thread again . Good day and goodluck with your event sir. :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Hi All,

Just back from a meeting with two of the guys from the Greystones Rugby Club and they have agreed to make some changes to the game.

Firstly I would just like to say the guys are not poker players and weren't aware (until this thread) that the game represented such bad value. They asked for advice on the game and that is what they were giving.

So the changes.....

1: The Min Prize Pool will be €10,000. The first €10k will be paid out as already advertised. All monies collected above €10k will be spilt 50% into the prize pool and 50% to the club from which they have to pay for the following.

A: Event Management Co.
    B: TD (myself)
    C: 8 Dealers
    D: Extra security
    E: Entertainment (I think it's a band)
    F: BBQ
    G: Advertising (Fliers ect)

So for example if there is a total prize pool of €15k, €12,500 will be paid out.

2: Change in finishing time. I have been told that the bar will close at the normal closing hour, but the game will be allowed to continue on. That said it can't go on all night.

I will adjust the structure and chips to factor in the extra time we now have and will repost the whole thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 greystonesrc

Thanks JP for meeting with us earlier and highlighting where we had messed up and pointing us in the right direction. Hopefully the new structure will encourage more players to come down and enjoy the evening.

Fair play lads

CHD wrote: »
    Fair play lads

Glad to see the changes.

Hopefully should get a good turnout now.