Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Couch to 5km running...arrrgh!

• 14-02-2010 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

Ok folks! Am getting fit! No excuses. Have turned into a lazy beeatch lately and am sick of it.

So, tomorrow is my first ever go of the Couch to 5km running planner. Ive crap runners and a very dodgy looking tracksuit. What time does it get dark?:D

Im nervous though. Its like theres two little devils goin "ah forgeeet about it" and the other is crackin the whip goin "treble chin alert get a move on"!!

Im goin to head over to the Fitness Forum tomorrow but then im in a whole different zone and its
    >all the way over there. Wish me luck!!!!*

*im basically lookin for AH to talk me out of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Best of luck!

I'm kinda in the same boat, the thing that I'm best at is sitting
    That fitness forum frightens the **** out of me though, training plans, diets etc etc

My new plan (starting this week of course) is to go for a good vigorous walk around our land every morning and stop looking at Croagh Patrick and go climb it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Nothing looks dodgier than a lad running at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

anniehoo wrote: »
    Ok folks! Am getting fit! No excuses. Have turned into a lazy beeatch lately and am sick of it.

So, tomorrow is my first ever go of the Couch to 5km running planner. Ive crap runners and a very dodgy looking tracksuit. What time does it get dark?:D

Im nervous though. Its like theres two little devils goin "ah forgeeet about it" and the other is crackin the whip goin "treble chin alert get a move on"!!

Im goin to head over to the Fitness Forum tomorrow but then im in a whole different zone and its

Its the Athletics, Running and Triathlon thread you need BTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

craggles wrote: »

especially with the sound of sirens in the distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

You're doing it the stupid way...

Bring the couch with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

That fitness forum frightens the **** out of me though, training plans, diets etc etc
    I know me too!! Long term lurker but swiftly come back to "safe territory" i.e here.

But..am goin to give it a go and said "out loud" to loadsa friends now that ill do the mini marathon in June :o

Somehow Mondays are always Day 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

It's easier if you join a team sport for the first few weeks. It's more fun than the monotony of a treadmill.

New Year's Resolution #3 was to get reasonably fit again. Ran 7km in one session last week :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

craggles wrote: »

Except for a lad running in the middle of the day. Especially if they're wearing a tracksuit. The serious runners wear shorts! Or in the case of the old man (seriously looked about 70) I saw last summer just a very itsy pair of speedos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Just get surgery. It's so much easier. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Stop now.

Dont even think about it.

I did this a few months ago and now im running further and further.

Ive lost weight and feel much better. Its like it some sort of gateway drug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭honeymonster

You'll be grand. When I started trainning I ran less than 1 km and nearly died. After a **** load of more months of training I ran a marathon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

aaaaaaaaagh excercise in AH

Runs away .......

My metabolism is so freakishly high that I haven't got a pcik regardless of what I eat or drink, I'm afraid if I run too much I'll bloody disappear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I woke up this morning full of energy,told myself i was gonna get up,go walking in the forest, come back,do some more exercises,clean the house and feel better for it...

What i ended up doing was-stayed in bed for a while longer,had a chocolate muffin for breakfast,fell onto the couch and stayed there for the rest of the day playing the Wii and watching tv.

And i feel so much better for it! No aching bones here i tell ya :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Thanks for posting this OP.

This really the kind of motivation I need.

*flips through Argos catalogue*

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I woke up this morning full of energy,told myself i was gonna get up,go walking in the forest, come back,do some more exercises,clean the house and feel better for it...

What i ended up doing was-stayed in bed for a while longer,had a chocolate muffin for breakfast,fell onto the couch and stayed there for the rest of the day playing the Wii and watching tv.

And i feel so much better for it! No aching bones here i tell ya :D

my daily routine! or at least was....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

aaaaaaaaagh excercise in AH

Runs away .......

But how can you run if you are in AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Wazdakka wrote: »
    You're doing it the stupid way...

Bring the couch with you.

If he crashes, his nuts are FÚÚÚÚÚCKED!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

replace them crap runners will good ones.your joints and shins will thank you for it, especially if you're running on concrete.

Started running recently again. Got my 10km time back down to 51 mins. Still a long way off the 48 mins I was at last May. Dam J1.

Could you please refrain from posting such posts in here, perhaps you would get a better welcome in the fitness and health forum.

I did 10k's in 3hrs55mins today <<Thats an AH comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Don't do it, eat lovely hot dogs and cream and .. Annie, annie .. you okay? Somebody call an ambulance :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Ugh all this exercise talk is making me tired

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

My metabolism is so freakishly high that I haven't got a pcik regardless of what I eat or drink, I'm afraid if I run too much I'll bloody disappear!

I hate you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I hate you.

I second this.

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I second this.

I third it.

My mate is 34 and still takes a 30 inch waist in jeans, the bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I third it.

That is..ridiculously skinny..why would anyone want to be skinny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

SV wrote: »

Because being fat is nasty? It's about proportion. I've a goal to get down to a 32" waist, but I'll still have a 48/50" chest.

Just realised Fitness is
    |
    |
    V Down there not
    >over there :p:o

I had a quick look..havent posted anythin yet!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Could you please refrain from posting such posts in here, perhaps you would get a better welcome in the fitness and health forum.

I did 10k's in 3hrs55mins today <<Thats an AH comment

I'm still timing myself from a week and a half ago....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ive crap runners and a very dodgy looking tracksuit.

Didn't I see you at the Square yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

I got Ripped in 4 Weeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

dilallio wrote: »
    I got Ripped in 4 Weeks!

Watch the porn, not the ads at the side of the page!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

[/SIZE]
    T runner wrote: »
    Its the Athletics, Running and Triathlon thread you need BTW

As T runner said: if it's just running information you're looking for, ask in the Athletics, Running and Triathlon forum, as they're probably more suited to you.

If it's more general fitness help you're looking for try the fitness forum, just read the stickies first, as most of the noob stuff is in there :) There are also some couch to 5K fitness logs, I believe.

Also if you're still scared, just post and say hi in the off-topic thread, we're not so bad once you get to know us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

I always find folks running in track suits odd looking!!! Like their yogging 80s time travelers! All they need is a head band and groovy luminous pink stripes! Man up and wear shorts that show of the skinny pastey legs :P

SV wrote: »

It was a joke made in an intoxicated state, I know of no such man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I third it.

I'm 25 and 30inch waist jeans are generally too big for me but I have to wear them cos so few places sell 28 inch :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Because being fat is nasty? It's about proportion. I've a goal to get down to a 32" waist, but I'll still have a 48/50" chest.

It's not about being fat..it's just about not being skinny.
    Yes there's an inbetween.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i've tried and failed to quit smoking AGAIN today. ffs.

maybe tomorrow i'll get up and go for a walk and never smoke again. (or maybe i'll just go back to bed)

the good intentions are here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I know this is against everything AH believes in, but I love running. I go out running pretty much everyday (until recently when I chucked my runners after 'tough guy' and waiting till next week to buy 2 new pairs to take with me to korea and have them new when I pack them)

If you start doing it you will grow to love it. It's not always easy to motivate yourself to go outside and run when it's pissing rain, but it sure beats listening to people talking about coronation street while they watch Emerdale.

cloneslad wrote: »
    I know this is against everything AH believes in

This made me laugh :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Thanks for posting this OP.

This really the kind of motivation I need.

*flips through Argos catalogue*

Flipping through the Argos catalogue is hardly exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

It was a joke made in an intoxicated state, I know of no such man.

So the man has a waist size of nothing, skinny bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Ah I love running,

I wish I was able to run again, hopefully wont be too much longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Flipping through the Argos catalogue is hardly exercise.

with 2000 pages it nearly is!!!!

Right i did it...and :eek::eek::eek: IM HALF DEAD! What part if any of this running craic is meant to be fun???

This better get easier i tell ya!

/yep ive been to Fitness and posted so 2 brave steps today.:p

Right i did it...and :eek::eek::eek: IM HALF DEAD! What part if any of this running craic is meant to be fun???

Kudos Annie, we're all very proud of you!

Unfortuantely I was up to my neck in it all day so didn't get a chance but I hope to be able to say different tomorrow!

Was it awful bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

maith an cailin!

well done you, keep it up anniehoo! :)

Was it awful bad?
    To be honest, the middle part was the worst as i was so out of breath.I cant believe how unfit ive let myself become. I used to love athletics etc in school.I really had too much fun in my 20s :o

I *kind of,only kind of* enjoyed the last 10 minutes. Ah..it hasnt totally put me off so it cant of been that bad.Its keepin the will power goin now thats goin to be the hard part. Right think ive bored yas enough ill head down to Fitness and see what they have to say!!

Right Week 1. DONE!!! Just thought id fill yis in!

Am so feckin proud of myself tbh. Cant believe im ready to start Week 2 of the programme tomorrow. This exercise craic is ...eh...kind of addictive. I swear i wouldve bet 50 quid last week i wouldnt have said that.:D