Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Page Boy and Flower Girl outfits

• 14-02-2010 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭

Hey All,

Please settle an argument!

Who usually is expected to pay for the suit/dress of page boys and flower girls at a wedding (they will be nieces and a nephew)

I always assumed the bride and groom would buy a flower girl dresses and that the pageboy suit might be able to be rented from the men's suit shop- but himself is adament that it is the responsibility of the kids parents to provide suitable clothes? :O

Can anyone let us know how this normally works?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I bought the suit and dress for ours. I just assumed that was normal, after all we've bought all the other outfits for people wearing particular outfits. I did give the parents the money to buy the shoes as I wouldn't have a clue about buying kids shoes so asked them to do it but I definitely paid.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

It's the same as with bridesmaids and groomsmen, the bride and groom pay for their outfits. I think it would be a bit cheeky to expect the kid's parents to fork out for a flowergirl or pageboy outfit. I think most people tend to buy a dress for the flowergirls, but the pageboys suits can be rented from the suit hire shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dollybird2

I have bought the dresses & suits for our pb & fg
    I bought them in Debenhams, cost roughly the same to buy there as it would be to hire them a little suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭hazeler

We are paying for our page boy and flower girls dresses but I can see where the confusion comes in.

A friend of mine is getting married, in the states, she american and all their b'maids, grooms men, flower girls and page boys have to sort themselves out. She gives the colourway and a few examples of dresses that she likes and then they head off and get them. The lads were all told black suits, white shirts and that she'd have the tie for them.

IMO, I dont think this is fair as you have asked the person to be apart of your bridal party therefore you pay for their outfit. She didn't like it when I said that to her... but different strokes.

I think its customary in Ireland to pay for the bridal party outfits. Thats waht I wan to do so thats what we're doing! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

Bride & Groom, we paid for all of ours, we had 6 page boys and 3 flower girls, 2 of the girls were ours anyway but all the kids wanted to be a part of the day so since we told them they could, we bought their clothes. The boys parents looked after their shoes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

my fiance and i getting married in 2012 and we are buying the flower girl dresses and renting the pageboys. we are also getting the suits for best man and groomsman, because the way we see it we asked them to be a part of our day, and they shouldnt be out of pocket because of it.

my fiance is the best man at our friends wedding next montha nd we have to pay 150euro to rent his suit, we not impressed that we have to pay for it but thats just us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭32finn

I think you have got the answer from the previous posts.

It is most definitely up to the B & G to dress anyone that they have asked to be part of the wedding party imho. At least that way you know everyone in the party is going to look how you pictured on your big day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

If you want the kids to be formally part of your wedding party ie. little flower girl dress and same suit as the men then b&g should be paying.

If informally you have just asked the parents can the kids walk up the aisle or play some part in the wedding but you are not dressing them in the same suit or a flower girl dress ie. you are happy with them in their own clothes (whatever that may be) then their parents should look after this as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

my fiance is the best man at our friends wedding next montha nd we have to pay 150euro to rent his suit, we not impressed that we have to pay for it but thats just us.

Generally in Ireland the b&g look after the cost of the bridesmaid dresses and the renting of the suits.

I know in the States the bridesmaids all cover the cost of their dresses themselves. Generally they choose them themselves - eg they would just be given a color as a guide.

A friend off mine was a bestman in England. He had to pay for the renting of the suit himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

Common sense dictates that if you want them to be wearing something particular, then ye should supply it...